Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"The Noughties" a decade of memories

• 21-12-2009 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭

Having watched the RTE Sports Awards put me thinking to my rugby memories for the year and then I thought what about the last decade.

I hope I have these in the correct year becasue of some rugby competitions bridging two years.

2000 - Munster beating Saracens in Thomond Park, the start of a golden era :D and out first H/C final in Twickenham ending in defeat :(

2001 - The try that was disallowed, John O'Neill in Lille, never to be forgotten. Woodie scoring in Lansdowne Rd to deny beat England in the 6Ns

2002 - Beating Castres in the H/C S/F in France and our first trip to a final in the Millennium Stadium, will I ever forget the hand of Back:mad:

2003 - Beating Leicester in the Qtr/Final in Welford Rd, what a game. Beating Neath to win the Celtic League in the Millenium Stadium.

2004 - Winning the Triple Crown, the first in yonks and Munster's heartbreak in the H/C SF in Landsdowne Rd to Wasps, probably the best match of the decade

2005 - Celtic Cup final in Lansdowne Rd, Gaffney's going away present.

2006 - Need I say, the Millenium Stadium and the H/C Final, winners at last. Stringer's Try :D

2007 - Beating England in Croke Park

2008 - Another successful trip to Cardiff, beating Toulouse the King's of Europe :D

2009 - How kind the Millennium Stadium has been to my memories, beating Walses in Cardiff to win the Grand Slam.

Overall, a good decade for Irish Rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Horgan's Try in "Twickers" for me ... 2006

weeks on, i was still hurting over the France game, where we blew it in the first half, and was stinging that we'd lost the 6N earlier that day, and my heart was almost not in it.
    But then, it just became about that one single game. nothing more, nothing less. A great moment.

The year after when we hockeyed them was amazing too, but there's something inordinately cathartic about victory in the face of defeat.

Edit: the Toulouse game taht same year was so special too, but memory has faded that slightly after our no-show against munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

phog wrote: »
    2003 - Beating Leicester in the S/Final in Welford Rd, what a game. Beating Neath to win the Celtic League in the Millenium Stadium.

I think you mean quater-final, Munster lost to Toulouse in the semi-final :(

2004 - Ireland beating England in Twickenham.
    2008 - Munster coming within 2 minutes of beating the All Blacks (loudest game in Thomond Park)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Bukman13

O'Driscoll's hattrick against France in 2000, first time we beat the French in donkeys years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

My favourite part of the Munster/All Blacks game was actually Paul Warwick's drop goal. Unbelievable. And i love the way there isn't a hint of emotion on his face when he does something magic like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Bukman13 wrote: »
    O'Driscoll's hattrick against France in 2000, first time we beat the French in donkeys years!

That was quite a moment alright, who would have guessed where Brian would have taken us over the next 10 years? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Posters who may be aged 16-19, may only have vague memories when Irish rugby was not aflush with talent and success. The decades failures in the rugby arena were treated with suprise, as opposed to resignation.

If we were posting on this thread 10 years ago, the tone would be quite different. Between January 1995- April 1999 Ireland only beat Wales in the Five Nations. We were mauled on several occasions by England, Scotland and France. In 1998 we were whitewashed in the championship, and were wooden spoon recipients on a regualar basis.

In friendly matches, Ireland faired little better. In November 1997 The All Blacks hit us for 63 points, while in 1998 the Springboks beat us 34-0. Australia disposed of us with ease. So bad was the 1990s, that Ireland lost to Namibia, Western Samoa, and Italy (thrice).

Two victories over England, and a gallent performance in the 1991 World Cup against the Wallabies doesnt mitigate for the sheer failures of the 1990s.

Ten years on we have seen

-The Introduction of a predominantly Ireland based group of players to the panel
    -The 44-22 Victory over Scotland. The springboard for our great successes
    -The 60-13 Victory over Italy. Our highest victory in the competition
    -O Driscoll's hattrick, culminating in our victory over france
    -Munster's qualification for the Heino Final
    -Ireland's biggest ever win. 83-3 vs USA

-Our victories over France and England.
    -That Superb Keith Wood Try
    -The John Kelly debacle
    -Leinster throwing away a glorious chance at European Cup glory
    -Foot and Mouth disease
    -O Driscoll's try against Australia for the Lions
    -Gatland's sacking
    -14 Man Leinster winning the first Celtic League Final

-Thumping 54-9 victory over Wales. Paul O Connell's first cap
    -Neil Back's deceit in Cardiff to deprive Munster of a cup
    -A wonderful victory over the Wallabies in Lansdowne Road

-The four in a Row wins in the 6Nations, before succumming to a superb England in a Grand Slam Showdown
    -Leinster's signature of Fillipe Contepomi, Munster's signature of Chris Cullen
    -The gritty win against Argentina in the RWC, and the gallent miss against the Wallabies
    -Lansdowne Road hosting the European Cup final between two French giants.
    -Geordan Murphy's injury
    -Keith Wood retires

-The Triple Crown
    -Girvan's try
    -Gordon Darcy's re-emergence.
    -Victory over the Springboks, and a gritty victory over the Argies

-Brian O Driscoll's super skills to skip around England's defence for a game winning try.
    -Umanga's spear tackle on O Driscoll
    -Ireland's representation fails to shine with the Lions in New Zealand

-The Second Triple Crown.
    -Shane Horgan's last gasp try against England.
    -Victories over the Wallabies, Springboks, and the Pacific Islanders
    -Munster v Leinster round 1
    -Munster's massive victory.
    -Installation as 3rd favourites for the RWC 2007
    -The Leinster v Ulster Showdown 31st December 2006 "The Last Stand". Final game at Lansdowne Road.

-The Third Triple Crown
    -The first game at Croke Park
    -France's last gasp victory.
    -Ireland's crushing 43-13 win over England in the game of the decade for Ireland
    -Last minuite loss of the Championship to France
    -That Friendly agaisnt that French team which was a confidenceesapper
    -O'Sullivan's extended contract
    -The shocking performance against Georgia.
    -The limp defeats to France and Argentina.

-Our worst 6 Nations finish since 1999
    -Munster's second triumph
    -O Sullivan's departure
    -Victory over Argentna guaranteing seeding for the RWC 2011

-Championship victory/Triple Crown victory
    -Victories over France, England, Wales, Scotland, and Italy
    -Munster v Leinster Round 2
    -Leinster's Big Victory
    -Churchill Cup winners
    -Victory over World Cup winners
    -Draw with the Wallabies.
    -14 Players selected for the Lions Tour

Its been a rocky road. But it has been a sight to behold. If you had told me 10 years ago that we were about to witness the type of revolution which we have just seen in the noughties, I really dont know how I would have reacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Het-Field wrote: »
    Posters who may be aged 16-19, may only have vague memories when Irish rugby was not aflush with talent and success. The decades failures in the rugby arena were treated with suprise, as opposed to resignation.

If we were posting on this thread 10 years ago, the tone would be quite different. Between January 1995- April 1999 Ireland only beat Wales in the Five Nations. We were mauled on several occasions by England, Scotland and France. In 1998 we were whitewashed in the championship, and were wooden spoon recipients on a regualar basis.

In friendly matches, Ireland faired little better. In November 1997 The All Blacks hit us for 63 points, while in 1998 the Springboks beat us 34-0. Australia disposed of us with ease. So bad was the 1990s, that Ireland lost to Namibia, Western Samoa, and Italy (thrice).

Two victories over England, and a gallent performance in the 1991 World Cup against the Wallabies doesnt mitigate for the sheer failures of the 1990s.

-The Introduction of a predominantly Ireland based group of players to the panel

I remember that Scotland game like yesterday.

I was at that Italy game. Went with the mother. Great birthday present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Macsimus

1. 43 - 13 - Horgan try
    2. Hickie try at Toulouse 06
    3. Heaslip step v france 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭heno55

peter stringers ankle tap on jason robinson to prevent a certain try,not sure of the year but i think it was 2004 and a triple crown win in twickenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

14 man Leinster beat decent Munster playing some great rugby in the first Celtic League final. 30,000 at an interprovincial game that just a few years back would have only had 500. The biggest Derby in European Rugby has begun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

heno55 wrote: »
    peter stringers ankle tap on jason robinson to prevent a certain try,

absolutely, especially as it was to deny England a grand slam and I was in the company of a group of Englishmen!!

also:
    Beating Australia and South Africa (x2) (all reigning world champions) in AIs, particularly one in absolutely diabolical rain where we seemed to defend our own line the entire time and held out

Bad memory:

Thousands trooping out of Bordeaux stadium in complete silence in after Georgia game in RWC 07; such a cloud was over the rugby supporters for some time; its great that we turned it around and makes the success of this year even sweeter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Leinster did nothing memorable for the whole decade? :(

danthefan wrote: »

it pretty much shows how they have underperformed in the Heineken Cup; they are certainly making up for it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Munster's win in Perpignan was great, as was the HCup wins and the wins over Gloucester and Leinster. My favourite Munster win of the decade was against Sale in Thomond park. Yes there have been better games, bigger crowds, but for raw emotion and atmosphere that night was special.
    Who could forget the hits on Chabal? Barry Murphy skinning Jason Robinson for his try. Munster gave their fans so many great HCup moments since 2000 it is quite unbelievable.

The Irish grand slam win was good too but give me Munster any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

zenmonk wrote: »
    The Irish grand slam win was good too but give me Munster any day.

I'm gobsmacked at someone putting Munster ahead of an Irish grand slam...After going through a decade of comparitive underachievement with Leinster, I'd not for 1 second put our Heino win ahead of Grand Slam glory. Thankfully I don't know many Munster fans like you. :rolleyes:

Yeah, I think a title of "The Noughties" a decade of Munster and Irish memories would be more accurate. Not sure how stuff like Leinster winning the inaugural Celtic League trophy in 01, the Magners win in 07/08, games like Toulouse v Leinster, Lansdowne Rd semi in 06, and the Croke Park semi in 09 could be omitted from any review of Irish rugby memories of the decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Beating Bath away was another one, losing to Perpignan in 2003 (hell, losing the HEC in 2003 when it was on a plate for us) also but for the wrong reasons. Never mind winning the HEC last season.

shawpower wrote: »
    I'm gobsmacked at someone putting Munster ahead of an Irish grand slam...After going through a decade of comparitive underachievement with Leinster, I'd not for 1 second put our Heino win ahead of Grand Slam glory. Thankfully I don't know many Munster fans like you. :rolleyes:

You might be surprised!

That's ok though, it's the way I am. The day of an international even if I am at the game for me is quite enjoyable. The day of a Munster HCup game I am like a briar until I get to the ground, I rarely "enjoy" the experience until the game ends. Can't really explain it. If they even lose a ML game it takes aday to get over it. If Ireland lose maybe an hour.

PS did you really type Heino?
    PPS - I watched Leinster win the HCup this year in Portugal and rooted for them, I even welled up a little at the presentation. So peace man.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Yeah, I think a title of "The Noughties" a decade of Munster and Irish memories would be more accurate. Not sure how stuff like Leinster winning the inaugural Celtic League trophy in 01, the Magners win in 07/08, games like Toulouse v Leinster, Lansdowne Rd semi in 06, and the Croke Park semi in 09 could be omitted from any review of Irish rugby memories of the decade.

I personally would hold Leinsters Heineken Cup win, and specifically the Munster and Leicester games as my favourite memory of the last few years. Above the Grand Slam tbh. Although that may have something to do with the slagging I recieved over the years being an 'outside the Pale' Leinster supporter, and the fact I was at both of these games and havent the money or the contacts to get to an Irish 6N game.

So many great memories though.
    When Shaggy scored in Twickers and getting a bottle in the head in the pub!
    Tolouse- HICKIE FOR THE CORNEERRRRRR!
    BOD's try against England last year.
    Munster Wasps in Landsdowne
    Beating Tolouse and Leicester two years ago in the RDS.
    Munster finally winning the Heineken.
    Of course Stephen Jones' leg muscles not having enough in them aint a bad one!
    What a great decade.

You might be surprised!

That's ok though, it's the way I am. The day of an international even if I am at the game for me is quite enjoyable. The day of a Munster HCup game I am like a briar until I get to the ground, I rarely "enjoy" the experience until the game ends. Can't really explain it. If they even lose a ML game it takes aday to get over it. If Ireland lose maybe an hour.

I feel exactely the same. The nerves before a Leinster game are unreal. For an international Im bad, but not as bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

wixfjord wrote: »
    I feel exactely the same. The nerves before a Leinster game are unreal. For an international Im bad, but not as bad!

It varies for me really. During the England game this year i nearly had a nervous breakdown.

edit: and after the Leinster game, i did.

why would a Munster fan have great memories of a leinster performances over the decade?

surely its up to leinster fans to post them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

When it comes to memories, its only natural that people comment on their own memories. Why should a Leinster 'moment' be a memory for a Munster fan, or vice versa. Its not a reason for people to get upset, very few of my memories of the noughties involved anyone but 'my' teams.

For the record, the demolition of England at Croker tops it for me. The whole emotion of the occasion, the necessity to put the France match behind them, and then to put in a performance like that. Was in Waxie O'Connors in London for the game, top floor, very low intricately carved roof. When Girvan went over, my fist shot up in celebration and two knuckles made it back down in more pieces than they went up. Next try, same feckin thing happened. An awesome day, but my hand has never been the same since!! My second memory is Edinburgh this year, watching leinster finally reach their potential, albeit they were dragged there by an aussie. And a personal memory, watching my club finally claim a Leinster Provincial Towns Cup!! Having 6 trophies in our clubhouse, including grand slam, heineken and towns cup together was special for us.

Yep. Thought I'd fully live up to the stereotype sitting here in my ladyboy D4 high heels etc etc. :)

(Not sure why I did type that, cause it's not something I'd normally call it. :rolleyes: )
    PPS - I watched Leinster win the HCup this year in Portugal and rooted for them, I even welled up a little at the presentation. So peace man.

Fair play. I always did the same for Munster. I don't get people putting foreign teams over Irish ones. Yes, the rivalry between the teams is strong, and I hate losing to Munster, but I'd not cheer for Leicester/Wasps/Toulouse over them. Unfortunately that seems to be creeping in more and more though.

I've been to pretty much every home match Ireland have played over the past 10 odd years, including the Canada one in Thomond last year (although somewhat bizarrely not the Fiji one in the RDS :confused: ). Perhaps that is why I felt such joy at the slam, where if you are saying you don't make the games maybe you don't have that same connection?

Riskymove wrote: »
    why would a Munster fan have great memories of a leinster performances over the decade?

I guess. Maybe I saw it more as a review of the decade rather than a list of great memories. But I guess that is what the OP said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

for me, the decade was about the emergence and re-emergance of Brian O'Driscoll -

It began with his natural free flow midfield running , followed by the hat trick in Paris , his partnership with Henderson ..

and then the possible end , following that "nasty" spear assault in New Zealand , his re-emergence as a different type player , a more physical near beast of a midfielder / cum flanker - culminating in an amazing 2009

Yep. Thought I'd fully live up to the stereotype sitting here in my ladyboy D4 high heels etc etc. :)

(Not sure why I did type that, cause it's not something I'd normally call it. :rolleyes: )

Fair play. I always did the same for Munster. I don't get people putting foreign teams over Irish ones. Yes, the rivalry between the teams is strong, and I hate losing to Munster, but I'd not cheer for Leicester/Wasps/Toulouse over them. Unfortunately that seems to be creeping in more and more though.

I've been to pretty much every home match Ireland have played over the past 10 odd years, including the Canada one in Thomond last year (although somewhat bizarrely not the Fiji one in the RDS :confused: ). Perhaps that is why I felt such joy at the slam, where if you are saying you don't make the games maybe you don't have that same connection?

Unfortunately I only get to one or 2 internationals a year (England and SA this year) More down to inability to secure tickets and financial reasons than anything (Following Munster can cause poverty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Beating Bath away was another one, losing to Perpignan in 2003 (hell, losing the HEC in 2003 when it was on a plate for us) also but for the wrong reasons. Never mind winning the HEC last season.

That one was a gutting, Perpignan were nothing special that year(away from home) and could easily have beaten Toulouse in the final. Munster losing by a point to Toulouse in the semi after the highs of beating the bollix off Gloucester and Leicester on the way made it a bad year all round for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Probably nothing mainstream that really attracted the national consciousness. Same could be said of Ulster.

I would throw in 'The Toulouse Game' as one of the highlights of the decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Of course Stephen Jones' leg muscles not having enough in them aint a bad one!

Every time I watch replays of this my chest still tightens up and I get really nervous.

Of the greatest moments of the decade and it's a very Irish thing, not to put our fate in our own hands :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Het-Field wrote: »

-Our victories over France and England.
    -That Superb Keith Wood Try
    -The John Kelly debacle
    -Leinster throwing away a glorious chance at European Cup glory
    -Foot and Mouth disease
    -O Driscoll's try against Australia for the Lions
    -Gatland's sacking
    -14 Man Leinster winning the first Celtic League Final

-Thumping 54-9 victory over Wales. Paul O Connell's first cap
    -Neil Back's deceit in Cardiff to deprive Munster of a cup
    -A wonderful victory over the Wallabies in Lansdowne Road

-The four in a Row wins in the 6Nations, before succumming to a superb England in a Grand Slam Showdown
    -Leinster's signature of Fillipe Contepomi, Munster's signature of Chris Cullen
    -The gritty win against Argentina in the RWC, and the gallent miss against the Wallabies
    -Lansdowne Road hosting the European Cup final between two French giants.
    -Geordan Murphy's injury
    -Keith Wood retires

-The Triple Crown
    -Girvan's try
    -Gordon Darcy's re-emergence.
    -Victory over the Springboks, and a gritty victory over the Argies

-Brian O Driscoll's super skills to skip around England's defence for a game winning try.
    -Umanga's spear tackle on O Driscoll
    -Ireland's representation fails to shine with the Lions in New Zealand

-The Second Triple Crown.
    -Shane Horgan's last gasp try against England.
    -Victories over the Wallabies, Springboks, and the Pacific Islanders
    -Munster v Leinster round 1
    -Munster's massive victory.
    -Installation as 3rd favourites for the RWC 2007
    -The Leinster v Ulster Showdown 31st December 2006 "The Last Stand". Final game at Lansdowne Road.

-The Third Triple Crown
    -The first game at Croke Park
    -France's last gasp victory.
    -Ireland's crushing 43-13 win over England in the game of the decade for Ireland
    -Last minuite loss of the Championship to France
    -That Friendly agaisnt that French team which was a confidenceesapper
    -O'Sullivan's extended contract
    -The shocking performance against Georgia.
    -The limp defeats to France and Argentina.

-Our worst 6 Nations finish since 1999
    -Munster's second triumph
    -O Sullivan's departure
    -Victory over Argentna guaranteing seeding for the RWC 2011

-Championship victory/Triple Crown victory
    -Victories over France, England, Wales, Scotland, and Italy
    -Munster v Leinster Round 2
    -Leinster's Big Victory
    -Churchill Cup winners
    -Victory over World Cup winners
    -Draw with the Wallabies.
    -14 Players selected for the Lions Tour

Its been a rocky road. But it has been a sight to behold. If you had told me 10 years ago that we were about to witness the type of revolution which we have just seen in the noughties, I really dont know how I would have reacted.

I would have called the men in the white coats ;)

Hopefully the next one is where we maintain our status as a rugby superpower or even improve it further. The 90's were cruel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Cuchulain

And what a way to sign off the decade with Munsters magnificent win against Perpignan at the weekend.

Even as Leinster man I have to say that was one of the best performances by any Irish province in the last decade. Absolutely astounding.

Teferi wrote: »
    Every time I watch replays of this my chest still tightens up and I get really nervous.

Of the greatest moments of the decade and it's a very Irish thing, not to put our fate in our own hands :rolleyes:

Yeah I was watching the Grand Slam programme a few weeks ago and then the Sports Personality of the Year awards there Sunday night and each time the hairs were standing up and the heartbeat rose!

Also did anyone else hear Tony Ward sounding like a little girl with his 'Yess!' for the first time during the Grand Slam programme! I dont think many heard it the first time! Hilarious!

Actually another memory I have is of Heaslips try against France last year, and Nugent's "JAMIE HEASSLIP!" Funny how the shout of a commentator can be ingrained on a memory!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Cuchulain

Also did anyone else hear Tony Ward sounding like a little girl with his 'Yess!' for the first time during the Grand Slam programme! I dont think many heard it the first time! Hilarious!

And his woohoo after the yes. Its great to see a commentator express his emotions like that. We forever see impartial, concrete commentating without any hint of emotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Riskymove wrote: »

Well, Munster's achievements are among my favourite Irish rugby memories of the decade.

Nothing can even come close to the Grand Slam for me though. Country over club every time for me. Thrashing England in Croke Park was brilliant, but I think that perhaps beating England in Twickenham was a bigger achievement given they were world champs at the time. I won a last minute ticket to that, and was sort of expecting a pasting.

It seems like so long ago that not getting the wooden spoon was a good result for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

eoin wrote: »
    Well, Munster's achievements are among my favourite Irish rugby memories of the decade.

Nothing can even come close to the Grand Slam for me though. Country over club every time for me. Thrashing England in Croke Park was brilliant, but I think that perhaps beating England in Twickenham was a bigger achievement given they were world champs at the time. I won a last minute ticket to that, and was sort of expecting a pasting.

It seems like so long ago that not getting the wooden spoon was a good result for us.

For me its provence almost everytime. I think the fact that it s more local, they play more regularly and you often know a couple of the players personally makes it easier to get wrapped up in it.

Having said that the Grand slam and Bowes try against Wales in particular is the most excited I've ever been about rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

For me the Grand Slam is the best but it is also a culmination of all those acheivements so excellently put together by the previous posters. The team and the country have evolved over the decade.

The other highlights for me:

Leinster vs Toulouse 2006 - Winning away, against the odds in such a great rugby city, we played with such style and flair, bit like the French really and they were such gracious losers and hosts, the night in Trevs bar after was something else.

Horgans last minute try vs England 2006- Thought we had blown it, ROG's chip, great hands, out to the right again and in the corner. I went mad in the stands as all the Henry's looked at me in a amazement, claiming BOD was in front of the kicker!

The 1st Croker game was a great occasion and so too the France game this year which made me finally beleive we could do it, but there is nothing quite like winning away. You go to the opposition manor, wearing your colours and take great pride in being Irish and turning them over, I still live for those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Its tough, but I'd have to go national.

What I love most about club rugby is how intense and gritty it can be, epitomised by the Munster and Leinster Derby (The best in WORLD rugby imo! :) ).

But what I love about out national team has only really been unveiled over this magnificent year. To see these players that would fight tooth and nail against each other come together into such an obviously close unit gave me a lump in my throat and made me proud to be Irish.

Long may it continue.

ronan-o-gara-irela_1370472c.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

for some reason david humphreys missed drop goal against australia in the 2003 world cup seems to stick very strongly in my mind when i think back over the last 10 years!
    i was sure it was over but it drifted away. it prob sticks in my head cos of what other posters have said about how bad ireland used to be in the 90's.

leinster winning away in bourgoin and away in bath. i think it was in 2006. we had to go to bath and win in the last game of the pool stages of the heineken cup to get through, we did with a great last minute try.

leinster winning away in harlequins last year was a good memory too. really gritty stuff, hard to watch, not pretty but great cos we had been written off after losing away to castres and wasps in the pool stages.

munster winning away against toulouse in the heineken cup. not sure what year, early in the decade i think. munster had got to a point were they were 14 or so points ahead and everyone was half celebrating. i was so worried cos toulouse were far from buried and came back with a try themselves.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

CatFromHue wrote: »
    leinster winning away in bourgoin and away in bath. i think it was in 2006. we had to go to bath and win in the last game of the pool stages of the heineken cup to get through, we did with a great last minute try.

You're getting your games mixed up. The year Leinster beat Bath with a last minute try they won all 6 of their pool games. The year they had to beat Bath away in the final game was the following year where they absolutely obliterated them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

I started this thread, I don't own or mod it, if you or others want to add memories then by all means do but please don't wait for me to mention memories of a province that I only support as a passive supporter.

After reading Het-Field's post I realised in my rush to post I had ommited as many memories as I had posted. The biggest one for me that I left out was Munster V The All Blacks last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

The Keith Wood try sticks out for me, because I remember that for the rest of that season, every single team would try that move three or four times. And both teams would have the same call- Woody ball.:D

The loss to Leicester still rankles me. I remember balling my eyes out for a good hour after the game. Never was able to forgive Neil Back either. I know deep down that they deserved to win, but I would have liked some poetic justice in the form of him being decked at least. I also dislike Leicester as a team since, and even though I have been to Welford Road a few times, and their fans are some of the most likeable in the game, I always find myself disliking them just a bit for that game. Hell some of them probably didn't know what a rugby ball was at the time.

The first Heineken Cup win for me is something very special. I remember thinking after the Bobo try...here we go again. But we pulled it out of the bag, and the mountain had been conquered. I think I was on a natural high for a good month after it.

The second Heineken Cup win for me was slightly different. I'd had to sell my tickets due to an exam that day, and to make it worse, the exam was to end half an hour after kick off. We were still buzzing after the defeat of Leinster, particularly because we were written off. A great memory is being just a few yards from O'Gara when he celebrated 'that' try....as much as he denies it, he knows he enjoyed rubbing salt into the wounds. Like good little munster fans we went into the exam decked in jerseys, scarfs, hats, etc. An hour in to the three hour exam we left to find seats at the local. The celebrations that night went on long into the next day. Passed the exam too.:D

The Grand slam was something different though. I remember in Jan placing a bet on Ireland to do it at something ridiculous. I just had a feeling this would be our year. I remember watching the penalty, and as it was about to be taken, my mother rang telling me not to do anything silly if it went over. It didn't, and my flatmate and I nearly broke the television in our 'jubilant' celebration. Was an unreal day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

RTE have a decade of Sports in Pictures here.