Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bargain for the brave?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I don't see why you'd have to be brave to buy that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

not a bad deal that at all!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Saw one of them on the road recently, not a bad looking car and seemed to move quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

nice looking car! the back looks like an aston martin DB9! :) dont pay the asking price though! Are you looking at coupes only? was just on carzone, you would get an 07 bmw 320 coupe for that price, the petrol has 170bhp and does 42.8 mpg and the diesel 177 bhp and 58.9 mpg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

SV wrote: »

Let's just say you'd want to hold on to it for a good while, and factor in the cost of trips to the chiropractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I priced that garage for an ordinary laguna a few weeks back and quoted his ad off carzone only to be told that my car wasn't eligable for a scrappage scheme and some other crap that they took out of their heads. They are advertising prices that they will only give to you on a straight deal. If you have something to trade they will put you to the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

reilig wrote: »
    I priced that garage for an ordinary laguna a few weeks back and quoted his ad off carzone only to be told that my car wasn't eligable for a scrappage scheme and some other crap that they took out of their heads. They are advertising prices that they will only give to you on a straight deal. If you have something to trade they will put you to the wall.

Most garages advertise the cash price. If you have a trade-in the only price that matters is the cost to trade up price, not the advertised price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I'd say 20k cash will buy it seeing as 2010 is only a week and a bit away. Lot of car for the money and more than 2 years warranty left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Pretty if not a little alfa or VW esque. I'd buy it but only if I were sure I'd be happy to keep it for a long long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Idbatterim wrote: »
    ... an 07 bmw 320 coupe for ...petrol has 170bhp and does 42.8 mpg

Now that, I don't believe. 43mpg from a petrol 6-cylinder ?? I'm open to correction, but I'd be glad if I was !

[O/T] though, I see the ad quotes It is dublin registered but has delivery mileage only Ha! I love the 'but' !! :p:p

...indeed......goddamn D-reg'd car-jockey's.......:P :P [O/T] ducks......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Jaysus would ye really pay that amount just for 150bhp? Me bike has more than that, Im not starting a bike V car thing just incase ya think I am. Surely you can get a car with that amount of power for way less than that yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

seanybiker wrote: »
    Jaysus would ye really pay that amount just for 150bhp? Me bike has more than that, Im not starting a bike V car thing just incase ya think I am. Surely you can get a car with that amount of power for way less than that yoke.

For that money you could get a car with 600+ hp

but the point isn't power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

seanybiker wrote: »

I think you are missing the point, this is a cruiser, and a pretty distinctive one, and don't get hung up on the bhp, there is plenty of torque here to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭useless

New this is 35,800 ex works, according to Renault.ie
    http://www.renault.ie/vehicles/lagunacoupe/lagunacoupe_options.asp

That's some pretty savage depreciation in one year...

FWIW, Car Magazine ran one of these (the 180bhp higher spec one) as a 'long-term' car, i.e. had it in their fleet for 6 months, and they've slated it. Apparently the ride is rock hard, and it doesn't feel quick enough.

I think it's a good-looking car. If it depreciates at this rate, maybe wait another 3 years and pick one up for 5k, with another 5k put aside for the inevitable repairs and car hire :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

What the hell is going on here?

People are screaming for deals and good value so what's the problem?

Whatever people think of Renault THIS IS VALUE FOR MONEY!!!

Im going to need a car in the new year for work and I would very happily consider that car, hell I would cycle to Sligo to collect it for 22K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Berty wrote: »

Im going to need a car in the new year for work and I would very happily consider that car, hell I would cycle to Sligo to collect it for 22K.

Well then

Highnelly.jpg

On yer way:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭rohatch

YEa, its a good deal. Was in renault liffey valley when it was launched and it is very pretty, how they avoided getting sued by aston martin, because in the flesh this car really looks like a DB in the rear quarter.

156 tax a year.

Was registered in July or August.

Whats the reliability like though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

rohatch wrote: »

Whats the reliability like though?

From Honestjohn

"Reliable

Since its launch in October 2007, Renault’s third-generation Laguna has achieved its build quality objectives. After several customer studies and the release of independent agency publications (most recently ADAC’s 2008 results, where Laguna III ranked in second place), the results for quality and reliability show that Laguna is in the ’TOP3’ in terms of quality for product and services. The 3 year/100, 000 mile warranty is yet further proof of the company’s belief in Laguna III as a class leader in terms of quality and reliability."

Stekelly wrote: »
    From Honestjohn

"Reliable

Since its launch in October 2007, Renault’s third-generation Laguna has achieved its build quality objectives. After several customer studies and the release of independent agency publications (most recently ADAC’s 2008 results, where Laguna III ranked in second place), the results for quality and reliability show that Laguna is in the ’TOP3’ in terms of quality for product and services. The 3 year/100, 000 mile warranty is yet further proof of the company’s belief in Laguna III as a class leader in terms of quality and reliability."

I had a new laguna in 95 as a company car for a couple of months and they were light years ahead of the competition. Glad to hear that the reliability is up.

Do we get the 3 year warranty here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

yep, 3 year warranty

Great value, even at the asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I was sitting in a Coupe as few months ago while my cousin was doing the sums on a new Megane. Salesman came over and was chatting about it. Only for I knew the big red lights and sirens would start flashing on the computers if I tried to get finance I'd have driven one away that day.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

SV wrote: »

Not really for the faint hearted or those keeping a close eye on their bank balance come trade in time though: -
    useless wrote: »
    New this is 35,800 ex works, according to Renault.ie
    http://www.renault.ie/vehicles/lagunacoupe/lagunacoupe_options.asp

That's some pretty savage depreciation in one year...

If depreciation won't really be an issue as you intend to hang onto it for a long while and it turns out to be anything like my Megavan was (which died a young enough death) your in for more problems and heartache....blown headgaskets, overheating, airlocks, lots and lots of black smoke, oil dripping out nearly as fast as you put it in, dodgy electrics, tinny panels etc. In hindsight I would have being better of parking the blessed thing up and walking away long before I did.

Never knew before now that there was a Renault Laguna coupe all the same though.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    yep, 3 year warranty

Great value, even at the asking price.

It is great value, and it is a fab looking car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Berty, if that suited your needs I'd have a serious look. If the reliability is decent with the new model it's a bargain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

EPM wrote: »
    Berty, if that suited your needs I'd have a serious look. If the reliability is decent with the new model it's a bargain

Im in Sligo over New Year. Maybe they will be open on the 30th. I wont hold my breath though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Im in Sligo over New Year. Maybe they will be open on the 30th. I wont hold my breath though.

Dealers I've been talking to are closing up tomorrow and back in on the 2nd Jan. Can't imagine the days between Christmas and New Year are big days for car sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I would spend a bit more and get the Monaco model rather than the base model. But I'm not generally a huge fan of these saloon derived coupes, TBH I prefer the Laguna hatch :eek: Also, from what I've read the ride comfort of the coupe is bad, a major flaw in a car of this type and in a mid sized Renault.

Also not sure what is going on with the emissions on the Laguna these days. In the UK the car has had a mild facelift and the 150 bhp diesel would now be in Irish band B when previously it was in band D (hatch) and scraped into Band C in the coupe. I see no mention of this change on Renault's Irish website.

In any case, relaibility of newer generation Renaults is excellent and has been for a few years since the previous model Laguna and Megane got their facelifts in around 2005. Warranty is also good, 150,000 km or 3 years on the Laguna III. This is one of the best warranties after Kia and Fiat.