Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

War of the Buttons

• 20-12-2009 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

Anybody watch War of the Buttons 2day its a funny flick about rich kids and poor kids who go to war over buttons,The film got me thinking about my own childhood.Nearly every summer me and a friend would have waterfights with a bunch of lads from our neighbourhood,baically we were the poor kids who hadnt pennys to our names against rich kids who would have supersoakers 500 yet we wud nearly always kick ass ,It would drag on all summer long whether its was making camps to hide in or making rafts or when money was tight that we had to try a cellotape used waterballoons so we could re-use them it was great craic!!!Anybody else have experiences like this or were ye stuck inside for the summer with yer megadrives!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Long summers of championship manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I used to holiday in West Cork when I was a kid. Our holiday home was next to a farm and 4 little farm kids lived there. We used to play with them. All those make believe games, and going to the rockpools or climbing the hay bales. Actually, they are all extras in the film and it was the most exciting news to hit the place. There are scenes set in Castle Freke, I used to go there all the time to run around the castle grounds and play in the woods. Good times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

used to go off and adventure into the local forests with mates with only a sandwich and our imaginations (and big F'off sticks), can't imagine kids having the same freedoms these days, parents would be too worried.

its sad really, wish i could go back to that time....a simpler time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

I recorded it today, must watch it over the xmas. Havent seen it in years, great film tho:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I was just reading about that movie the other day. The parents of one of the child actors pulled him out of the movie after they filmed the scene with the boys running naked after the rich kids. They accused the director of making child porn :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

orourkeda wrote: »
    Long summers of championship manager

That Alexandersson chap never fulfilled his potential and Everton were always ridiculously good. That said Bakayoko and a good 5-3-2 on the attacking side rarely steered me wrong. Took me 15 seasons to get Crystal palace to win the Champions league. It was totally worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Yeah, we had little youth gangs making Peg guns and stuff! :D Great fun I have to say, though it nearly killed me a few times!

we were building a secret camp in the 5 Islands in Mahon, and I fell into the water, One of my brothers friends pulled me out, I was soaking and barely able to breath. I was only about 8, but we had the run of the place!!!

Used to build camps all over actually! Had a few where there is a large shopping mall now which sucks TBH. We were creative as children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Small groups of us used to build treehouse "fortresses" and defend them with peg guns. Also, holes would be dug around the base of the tree, filled with cow sh1t and pointy sticks and then covered over

Luckily, we had grown out of this by the time I had acquired a Black Widow (catapult) and some other lads had acquired pistol crossbows :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Going for adventures over the fields, climbing trees, building dens, falling out of trees, wrecking other dens, battering the ****e out of each other, fighting, biking, weekly battles with the parkies (we were townies), leaping off tree houses to see who could jump from about 15ft in in the air and not have sore feet/legs when you landed and penny sweets.

That was it was to be young. If I knew then, what I know now, I'd have made some deadly dens. If I worried as much then as I do now, I'd have heart failure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 shuwaahh

Oh that was a great film, brought back some memories. Was nice to see what it was like to be young again (not that im old) and what we had to do to amuse ourselves as children cos we didnt have a quarter of what the kids today have!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    There are scenes set in Castle Freke, I used to go there all the time to run around the castle grounds and play in the woods. Good times :D

Thats closed to the public now :(.Great film though,Had'nt seen it in yrs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Peg guns

Now that brings me back,I used to make them all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Yeah its the village where my grand dads from((He was the guy who commissioned the bridge at the start to be built:D))

Might get a bit of a kick out of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xB6ZCm5xGc

Seloth wrote: »
    Yeah its the village where my grand dads from((He was the guy who commissioned the bridge at the start to be built:D))

Might get a bit of a kick out of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xB6ZCm5xGc

haha thats brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

been while since i seen that. Hmmm might download it. Good film

haha thats brilliant.

heh thanks,it emerged out of a random joke between a friend and myself.When showing friends they either end up in a fit of giggles or dumbstruck...and the laugh going wtf :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I think its sh!t

So's your face!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

That Alexandersson chap never fulfilled his potential and Everton were always ridiculously good. That said Bakayoko and a good 5-3-2 on the attacking side rarely steered me wrong. Took me 15 seasons to get Crystal palace to win the Champions league. It was totally worth it.

Two words...Cherno Samba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Which village was it filmed in ?

Union Hall was where the main guys were from...and I think the other place was Skiberian but I could be wrong.

Me and my cousins were obsessed with the film when we were younger so when I was 12 and we were down there for a family reunion we went in a fit of excitment like"Thats where that happened...theres that castle..omg thats the boat house thingie ......ahhhhhhhhhh!*Head explodes"

One of the pubs down there has quite a few pics of them filming and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Union Hall
    Is that place with all them half wrecked trawlers back in the eighties

No idea heh,Tis a fish village though,really nice place...some of the houses((Like my grandads)) were backed up against the water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

DecTipp wrote: »
    Anybody watch War of the Buttons 2day its a funny flick about rich kids and poor kids who go to war over buttons,The film got me thinking about my own childhood.Nearly every summer me and a friend would have waterfights with a bunch of lads from our neighbourhood,baically we were the poor kids who hadnt pennys to our names against rich kids who would have supersoakers 500 yet we wud nearly always kick ass ,It would drag on all summer long whether its was making camps to hide in or making rafts or when money was tight that we had to try a cellotape used waterballoons so we could re-use them it was great craic!!!Anybody else have experiences like this or were ye stuck inside for the summer with yer megadrives!!!

My auld lad used to do that type of thing when he was a kid. It wasn't water bombs though, he has a scar on his face where he got an arrow through his cheek.

And this is the man who used to give me grief for the occasional ruck when i was a boy?

Madness.

Gang wars as kids were always fun,happened only cause they could!

Happened to be the leader of one side quite allot lol.Once we were against guys that were like 9 and 10 when we were 6-7..was a ight war indeed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MVPSI Steve

I have the green bus that was used in the film, must get it back working again, would be a nice showpiece. That film was brilliant but i dont think any of the kids went on acting after it was finished, One of them drives a taxi around Cork city!!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

One of the kids in that lived behind me around the time it was made.

Spoilt little sh*t he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Ah Union Hall, "A drinking village with a fishing problem", love that place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

i lived in a ****ty little east galway town/village for a large part of my childhood and for some reason the surrounding town was full of abandoned farmhouses.

All you needed in summer was a bike and a few boys and an old country road until you found some gem of a house no one lived in for years. The houses were amazing, a lot of them still full of furniture, every one of them with a freaky sacred heart of jesus/mary picture on the wall. Around every corner was a ghost

One image that is still with me, and i have dreamt about, was one house we went into that was pretty empty but full of dust and cobwebs and mice. We went into one bedroom where there was a wardrobe and took a peek inside and there was this perfect tweed suit for a little boy hanging up with cobwebs spanning out to the side of the wardrobe. Most frightening surreal image I had ever seen, we ran outta there screaming like little girls!

The only time we'd fight with other boys was when it was time to collect for bonfires. We robbed every farm yard within a five mile radius, cycling our bikes down the road with a tire on each side of the handle bars and one under the saddle. We'd have to stand guard over our stash until night time to stop the boys from the other side of the village stealing our bounty

Brilliant times, great place to be a kid. Still glad I got outta there as a teenager though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MVPSI Steve

Its amazing to walk around that area now, nothing much has changed and in every village in Ireland the same story happens, the rivalries between villages in both gaa and on the streets, the fact that almost everybody knows everybody else.

Great to see this film still being played on RTE every christmas and there have been several calls for it to be released on DVD.

Would be interestng to see if anyone here knows any of the actors, and what theyve ended up doing for a living. Dont think any of them went into acting athough i could be wrong.

Iv managed to get a few pieces from the film over the years, and managed to get the bus thats used in it, so its being done up at the moment. Mad how you come across these things in the wierdest of places!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Union Hall was where the main guys were from...and I think the other place was Skiberian but I could be wrong.

It's spelt Skibbereen :) (from there, still haven't seen the film :rolleyes:.. I remember it being made alright, I was about ten at the time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭annabellee77

lol this thread made me youtube War of Buttons and sure enough the film is on there!!! Cool!

I jsut rememberd actually,Two close friends father was the guy who taught them how to ride horses and stuff :D

and yeah theres a abandond house next to mine,and once when a bunch of us went in there when we were 10 my neighbour in the house behind saw us and went up saying "Get out" ina a ghost voice and we all pegged it back to mine :D