Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I need your help... Car locked shut.

• 20-12-2009 4:38pm

Hey All,

I have a BMW e30 and the drivers door is stuck in double-lock since I tried to open it thursday morning in the cold.. I've tried wd40 and it wont work.

I can only get access to the boot and I know that remote looking kits can be fitted in the boot so that could be an option if someone in Galway had a kit and was willing to help.

I'm working Christmas Eve and need the car to drive home to Monaghan that day.. And I'm moving house at the end of the month so it needs to drivable.

Is breaking my window and climbing in the only option? Even then, I don't think the doors can be opened when the drivers door is double locked.

Any help massively appreciated.. thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

this is 2 threads I've seen on peoples doors being locked shut and not being able to be opened..
    happened to me with the keys inside and engine running..

Only thing I could do?
    http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/1294/007gz.jpg
    http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/7527/006tw.jpg :rolleyes:

Sorry I can't help you..it's just bloody weird how common this seems since it happened to me :P

I've a feeling I'm gonna have to do the same.. Altho, I think I'll duct tape the whole window before I smash it :P

Now to choose which window to break, back left probably.. Worst thing is I'm garaging it at the end of the month at home so I won't even have a chance to fix the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Hold on a sec - do you still have they key or is it locked inside?

I have my keys.. It's the tumbler that's feked. Once the drivers door is double-locked, the other doors can't be unlocked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

You got windscreen cover on your insurace policy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

I have my keys.. It's the tumbler that's feked. Once the drivers door is double-locked, the other doors can't be unlocked :(

is the lock trying to move ??

as in is it the metal thats frozen or is it the electronics that gave up ?

for the love of god dont break the window just yet !!!!! its tooo cold and also think of robbery !!!

I'm not sure.. But I have to drive three and a half hours once I break it so it will be a back window :P

My biggest worry is the fact that even when I get into the car, the lock is still feked.. Is it possible to unlock it from inside the door panel? If not, that door is shut for good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

How is the tumbler "fecked"? Does the key simply turn round and round or not at all?

robbie_998 wrote: »
    is the lock trying to move ??

as in is it the metal thats frozen or is it the electronics that gave up ?

for the love of god dont break the window just yet !!!!! its tooo cold and also think of robbery !!!

It's not frozen anymore..

Currently, it's at 9 o clock which is double-lock.. I can get it to 11 o clock and it just stops. It just cant get past there.. If I could the double-lock is off and everything would be grand.

I'll be breaking the window on Thursday, driving it home, garaging it and worrying about fixing it ina few months.. I can't stand to look at the car I'm so pissed of at it!

It's not frozen anymore..

Currently, it's at 9 o clock which is double-lock.. I can get it to 11 o clock and it just stops. It just cant get past there.. If I could the double-lock is off and everything would be grand.

I'll be breaking the window on Thursday, driving it home, garaging it and worrying about fixing it ina few months.. I can't stand to look at the car I'm so pissed of at it!

well if you get in through a window your going to be getting out of the window most likely... only use it as a very very last resort !

You do actually have a good chance at fixing it.

did you try using the key in the lock ?

really you just need to find a way of warming up the lock and it should be all good

mike65 wrote: »
    How is the tumbler "fecked"? Does the key simply turn round and round or not at all?

Turns around until the point where the double-lock would normally come off..

I'm gonna go out and try it ina few mins. Maybe the wd40 sitting in it for a couple of hours would help it. Hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hit the tumbler with a soft faced object - got one of those light weight plastic-head hammers?

well if you get in through a window your going to be getting out of the window most likely... only use it as a very very last resort !

You do actually have a good chance at fixing it.

did you try using the key in the lock ?

really you just need to find a way of warming up the lock and it should be all good

I've tried the main and spare keys in it.. Why would warming it up help? My dad told me to do this about twenty mins ago!

Your not my dad are you? lol :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It's been pretty much freezing for the past few days and this could well be the problem. Have you tried plugging in an extension lead and using a hair dryer on the lock, or warm water, or worst case scenario dropping your fly?

I've tried the main and spare keys in it.. Why would warming it up help? My dad told me to do this about twenty mins ago!

Your not my dad are you? lol :P

maybe you should try it so ;)
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    It's been pretty much freezing for the past few days and this could well be the problem. Have you tried plugging in an extension lead and using a hair dryer on the lock, or warm water, or worst case scenario dropping your fly?

I was gonna say hairdryer too but i didn't want to look like an idiot :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

try a hair dryer, could just be frozen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I'm gonna go out and try it ina few mins. Maybe the wd40 sitting in it for a couple of hours would help it. Hopefully.

I hope you didn't put WD-40 into the lock!

The problem is that WD-40 is oil based, and will (slowly mind) dissolve plastic. Repeated use will make the plastic components in the lock brittle and break. What to use is a silicone based water dispersant.

If the lock is frozen, you're wasting you time with any water dispersant. They'll remove liquid water, but not ice. If the lock is frozen, the only solution is to put heat into the lock by heating the key, hair dryer, hot water, piss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

IBTL...oh wait :(. /I'm very sorry had to be done...runs and hides. Heat ftw though, some good suggestions so far. I'd hate to have to break a window, there has to be a way to avoid it.

mike65 wrote: »
    Hit the tumbler with a soft faced object - got one of those light weight plastic-head hammers?

This is for you Mike!

love-heart.jpg

Went out and the lock was moving a bit easier from the wd40.. I give it a few whacks with my bottle of coke, still nothing. I put in more wd40, give it another couple of firm whacks with the coke and hey presto, it opens :D:D:D:D

Never been so happy, relieved and thankful to boards in all my life!

Happy_Face_Mug.JPG

Seriously, thanks alot lads.. I had given up on it after the first go earlier. I would have ended up breaking the window only for seeing more suggestions. :)

Who said you had to break a window :rolleyes:
    SV wrote: »
    this is 2 threads I've seen on peoples doors being locked shut and not being able to be opened..
    happened to me with the keys inside and engine running..

Only thing I could do?
    http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/1294/007gz.jpg
    http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/7527/006tw.jpg :rolleyes:

Sorry I can't help you..it's just bloody weird how common this seems since it happened to me :P
    brightkane wrote: »
    You got windscreen cover on your insurace policy?

For shame :P

Congratulations OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Great news, but whats to say it won't happen again? I would take the door card off and apply some grease to the vunerable parts. Of course Mikes idea will probably work again too :P.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Great news, but whats to say it won't happen again? I would take the door card off and apply some grease to the vunerable parts. Of course Mikes idea will probably work again too :P.

I'm going to use the passenger side door lock for a while and order a remote locking kit tomorrow of ebay.. Fit that and worries are gone!
    Perfect cheap present from the parents for Christmas. Think they're about 40euro.

It's been a while since I've felt this sort of relief..

Just goes to show that anything can be fixed with either duct tape, wd40, giving it a thump or by switching it on and off.

Who said you had to break a window :rolleyes:

For shame :P

Congratulations OP :)

Dunno why you quoted my post! I never said he had to break the window, I said it was the only option for me :D

it was a type of suggestion...

and you shouldve asked us first :)

it was a type of suggestion...

and you shouldve asked us first :)
    It was no type of suggestion at all.
    Should have asked ye what?

what to do rather than smash the window,

but hey no point in arguing about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Yes you should have left your running car by the side of the street and come post on the internet :p

Although even joyriders have enough cop on to know not to nick a Renault :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭erictheviking

Sounds like the mechanism froze. If it happens again heat the key with a cigarette lighter:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just goes to show that anything can be fixed with either duct tape, wd40, giving it a thump or by switching it on and off.

Interestingly, in our modern age, this is not very far from the truth.

Glad you got sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

Some cars you can open the windows with a remote,If you hold the door open button it can open the windows, not sure of it will work with a BMW.

Great you got the car opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

dingding wrote: »
    Some cars you can open the windows with a remote,If you hold the door open button it can open the windows, not sure of it will work with a BMW.

Great you got the car opened.

A lot of modern cars have this feature alright but the OP's car is an 80's or very early 90's 3 series. Very handy feature though.

Fair play for getting it opened BTW