Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American bringing my backpack to Ireland

• 20-12-2009 8:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

hey all

i'm coming to Ireland in a few days and i was wondering about my orange backpack. i know the color orange isn't really a big deal anymore but would i look out of place walking across town with a orange backpack? i hate looking like a tourist when i'm traveling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

brandonous wrote: »
    hey all

i'm coming to Ireland in a few days and i was wondering about my orange backpack. i know the color orange isn't really a big deal anymore but would i look out of place walking across town with a orange backpack? i hate looking like a tourist when i'm traveling.

Backpack = Tourist. No way around that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 brandonous

haha, i suppose your right about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Yeah the colour is irrelevant apart from sounding really conspicuous ...you will stand out like a sore thumb by the sounds of it ...but sure you wont get knocked down by a car for lack of visibility ...hopefully !(Standard of driving isnt great here ...)Id be surprised if you didnt get at least one 'smart alec' shouted remark ...Id advise a more 'discrete' colour .Not meaning to put you off or suggest that Ireland is an especially dangerous ,unfriendly place ...Have a great time !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

ytareh wrote: »
    Yeah the colour is irrelevant apart from sounding really conspicuous ...you will stand out like a sore thumb by the sounds of it ...but sure you wont get knocked down by a car for lack of visibility ...hopefully !(Standard of driving isnt great here ...)Id be surprised if you didnt get at least one 'smart alec' shouted remark ...Id advise a more 'discrete' colour .Not meaning to put you off or suggest that Ireland is an especially dangerous ,unfriendly place ...Have a great time !
    Why?

the bags not like one big neon orange nightmare, it's a kinda rusty orange swiss army bag.... very stylish...

i'll probably just leave it, though. i got it for free and it's never really been my style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

the bags not like one big neon orange nightmare, it's a kinda rusty orange swiss army bag.... very stylish...

i'll probably just leave it, though. i got it for free and it's never really been my style.
    You'll be fine with your orange backpack, dont worry about the colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

eh...what?

You being American and just by evidence of this thread alone you're probably gonna stand out anyway man. To be blunt.

I mean seriously, wtf are you doing going on the internet asking if you'll stand out because of some orange back pack in another country. Did someone tell you that people in Ireland only wear greys and dark colours or something?

What would you say if you saw a post from someone from Ireland on an American forum asking the same thing? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

i'd have to agree with keira on this one, i'm Irish and tend to carry a backpack everywhere, (laptop bag) many people carry backpacks for a variety of reasons, the thing that gives tourists away is not a backpack it's, 1 the different accent, and 2 the stopping to take pics every 2 meters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    eh...what?

You being American and just by evidence of this thread alone you're probably gonna stand out anyway man. To be blunt.

I mean seriously, wtf are you doing going on the internet asking if you'll stand out because of some orange back pack in another country. Did someone tell you that people in Ireland only wear greys and dark colours or something?

What would you say if you saw a post from someone from Ireland on an American forum asking the same thing? :confused:

Woah chillax cunny-funt, i know i always check out what the locals are like when i'm travelling, sure my accent might give me away, but i try to blend in as much as possible when abroad, criminals often prey on those who are unaware of their surroundings and those who look like they don't naturally belong in an area.

Yeah I mean hell walk down a street in town in Dublin and half the people walking past you will have backpacks. People go to college etc or laptop bags etc.

I mean if this is some massive terminator back pack with neon lights and stuff I'm sure it might turn a few heads but like.....

yeah....:confused:

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    eh...what?

obviously i know i'm gonna stand out when i talk but i usually blend in really really well when i travel... until i speak.

i asked about the backpack because i know about the history of orange in Ireland. i don't want to bring something that doesn't really fit, since i hate looking out of place when i travel. there are things i wouldn't recommend an Irish person visiting parts of America to wear. not that it would be dangerous or something dumb like that, but it just wouldn't fit... but whatever, if it doesn't matter it doesn't matter. i figured as much, but i just wanted to be sure.

foinse wrote: »
    Woah chillax cunny-funt, i know i always check out what the locals are like when i'm travelling, sure my accent might give me away, but i try to blend in as much as possible when abroad, criminals often prey on those who are unaware of their surroundings and those who look like they don't naturally belong in an area.

His comments about the colour orange seem a bit strange to me, not just wondering about back packs.

**edit**

i asked about the backpack because i know about the history of orange in Ireland.

:eek: Omg. Have a google there and check out what colours are in the Irish flag. You're visiting Ireland yeah? And not Northern Ireland? Even so , unless you some how wander into the middle of an orange order march that's just yeah... you won't have to worry... bring your back pack.

did someone tell you it was dangerous to wear orange in ireland or something? lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The matching shell suit, trucker hat and camera around your neck is more likely to give you away tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

I gather that OP's concern is about carrying something orange and that this might be construed as objectionable on some parts of this island.

I'd like to assure the OP that he has absolutely nothing to worry about in that regard. Even during the height of the troubles, walking around with an orange backpack would not have been an issue. The only people you might have trouble with are the fashion police :D

Also, don't be concerned about your accent. The American accent is one we are very familiar with in this country thanks to American shows on TV here. One of our well known comedians here is Des Bishop who has a distinct New Jersey accent as he was born there and only moved to Ireland when he was a young teenager. You'll probably find that as you make your way around certain areas of South Dublin that you think you are back in the States when you get talking to some of the local girls :rolleyes:

OP, just come on over and enjoy yourself. Just remember that Dublin is a large city and like all large cities, you'll get good and bad people. Keep your wits about you and don't do anything naive and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

By 'back pack ' to you mean a huge hitch hikers' /mountain climbers' metal framed thing to carry ALL your possesions for weeks on end or just a small bag like you might take for a light work out at the gym?
    I assumed you meant the first , in what I also assumed to be day glo orange ...(I thought you would be walking round like a giant tangerine)in fact I think I mixed it up with a 'rucksack' ...anyway enjoy your stay...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

If it's big and orange nobody will attempt to walk out of the pub with it when your up at the bar ordering an 'Irish Caw-Fee'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Haha at the amount of people who didn't understand the OP, is everyone a bit hungover or just slow on the uptake.

OP as has been pointed out, orange is fine to wear. I, nor anyone I know, would have even associated the colour (check out that 'u' there :P) with The Troubles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Naos wrote: »
    Haha at the amount of people who didn't understand the OP, is everyone a bit hungover or just slow on the uptake.

OP as has been pointed out, orange is fine to wear. I, nor anyone I know, would have even associated the colour (check out that 'u' there :P) with The Troubles.

+1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Naos wrote: »
    That's a testament to how much this is a non-issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Ha, ha very good Weirdo. I do thank the OP for trying to avoid offending the sensibilities of the natives. As pointed out, don't worry orange has no connotations other than being hard on the eyes at least in the south. Even in the North you'll only be executed after torture in certain areas for offending the locals. But they're well signposted:D

To answer your implied underlying questions. No you really don't have to worry too much about offending people here by what you wear or what you say. Being American means you can get away with all kinds of stuff. We kind of expect it and get great amusement from some Americans saying the wrong thing at the wrong time in the wrong place. Even some of them thinking they are visiting the United Kingdom.:eek: Seriously!:rolleyes:

We only have a few weird customs, it's not like Japan or some middle eastern or African country where everyone has all sorts of protocols and rituals. In truth you can get away with a lot more than you can in certain parts of America.

But you do realise that having asked this question, you will undoubtedly be recognised when you come over. Some boardist will spot you and say to himself 'That's yer man off boards, the Yank with the orange pack. Let's have some fun'. Then you'll be subjected to our particular brand of humour. Just be warned.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Im too hungover, post retracted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Me thinks we need a thread on here. "spot the yank with the orange backpack"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I hope the OP likes Apple Juice because we dont serve orange juice round these parts no more.

We dont take kidnly to people that take kindly to drinking OJ round here
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I hope the OP likes Apple Juice because we dont serve orange juice round these parts

Youre forgetting the OP is American and therfore according to all the common stereotypes (which is what this thread is mostly about right ?) may have difficulty comprehending the humorous intent.

Seriously though OP apart from being rather conspicous (in the purely visual sense) it really isint going to be an issue,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

hey all

Don't worry about the orange backpack.
    Just avoid wearing all black, especially if you happen to be sloppy with your mochaccino......... a square dollop of white cream on your collar will alert the local lynch mob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

OP the fact that it took us all several posts before realising your concerns re: orange were to do with religion, should give you an indication of how prominently it features in our minds :p

Maybe in some Ballygobackwards parts of the North there might be some recidual moronicism, but that's about it.

You'll be fine. Come on over and enjoy yourself walking around in the cold and rain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Come on over and spend your big fat dollars! :D We need it. Orange? Horrid colour, but other than that, you will be fine! :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Come on over and spend your big fat dollars! :D We need it. Orange? Horrid colour, but other than that, you will be fine! :)

Awww, poor self-loathing ginge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

chughes wrote: »
    I gather that OP's concern is about carrying something orange and that this might be construed as objectionable on some parts of this island.

I'd like to assure the OP that he has absolutely nothing to worry about in that regard. Even during the height of the troubles, walking around with an orange backpack would not have been an issue. The only people you might have trouble with are the fashion police :D

Also, don't be concerned about your accent. The American accent is one we are very familiar with in this country thanks to American shows on TV here. One of our well known comedians here is Des Bishop who has a distinct New Jersey accent as he was born there and only moved to Ireland when he was a young teenager. You'll probably find that as you make your way around certain areas of South Dublin that you think you are back in the States when you get talking to some of the local girls :rolleyes:

OP, just come on over and enjoy yourself. Just remember that Dublin is a large city and like all large cities, you'll get good and bad people. Keep your wits about you and don't do anything naive and you'll be grand.

+1 on these points - good advice here from chughes.

DamoDLK wrote: »
    +1 on these points - good advice here from chughes.
    Except that Des Bishop is described as a comedian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

hey all

Just don't start the "I'm Irish....my mother's grandfather's uncle's cousin's dog was Irish" and you'll be fine ;)

Awww, poor self-loathing ginge.

I'm not ginger! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

An American coming to Ireland? There are only three things you should keep in mind:

1. Leprechauns are not real.
    2. No really, Leprechauns do not exist.
    3. Stop asking us where to find the Leprechauns.

An American coming to Ireland? There are only three things you should keep in mind:

Don't be a fool! We can make money off them! All we need is a few midgets! and some gold-foil chocolate!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

You're absolutely right.

3. Stop asking us where to find the Leprechauns. I shall take you to them for a small fee
    FMP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well done to a few posters on deciphering the OP's actual "issue"; I'd never have even thought that that was what he/she was on about!

I have never had any adult, american or otherwise, ask me if leprechauns are real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Don't be a fool! We can make money off them! All we need is a few midgets! and some gold-foil chocolate!!!

Or some funny mushrooms ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

OP, bring me some Dairy Queen..... or else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I have never had any adult, american or otherwise, ask me if leprechauns are real.
    Drunk Yanks on Paddies day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I can't believe the OP is being so insensitive! After all we went through he wants to swan in here with an Orange colored back pack!

You might as well crap on our flag and have sex with Michael Collins corpse while your at it :mad:

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Or some funny mushrooms ?

Well, there is a golfcourse near my house....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Apologies to the OP for the less than warm welcome received here in the AH forum.

You will be quite welcome here in Ireland. Perhaps avoid talking about US Foreign policy or past US presidents though, as most Irish seem to have a strong dislike for Mr Bush and what he did. Obama though is quite popular here :D. At least for the moment.

As for religion or the Northern Ireland troubles, 99% of people here couldn't care less. Religion doesn't have the stranglehold on our society that it once had, and Northern Ireland is of no concern to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

.....and Northern Ireland is of no concern to us.

Expect when it comes to buying Christmas booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

In reality though OP, we love the colour here. Get yourself off to eBay and pick up one of these. They are glorious.
    cgi.ebay.ie/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200401789724
    This was the first thing to come to mind when I thought of orange causing offence in the Republic of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Feckin yanks with their orange bags. T'aint right i tell ya.