Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 held over fatal stabbing in Tipperary Town

• 19-12-2009 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1219/tipperary.html

"Gardaí say Mr Stokes, a married father, was stabbed a number of times while sitting in his van shortly after 6pm yesterday."

"It is understood he had not previously come to the attention of gardaí."

"The motive is still unknown, but one line of enquiry is that the killing may be linked to an ongoing feud between members of the Traveller community in Waterford and Tipperary and may have been planned."

Absolutely shocking.
    Can you imagine walking down the street at 6 o'clock in the day and witnessing this !?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Very sad especially so close to Crimbo.

At least they have people in custody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Waterford knackers will win :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's not even a random drunken attack after a nightclub at 2am.
    Not that's acceptable either but this was 6pm with shoppers around. Eh, I've made my point badly, hope you get it

Tipp town is the greatest hole in the country. Even PrimeTime Investigates used it as a documentary in 2005.
    Being from Tipperary, I'm allowed say that but realy, few would disagree. Was voted worst town in the Tipperary forum also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Absolutely shocking.
    Can you imagine walking down the street at 6 o'clock in the day and witnessing this !?

I was about 2 mins away from witnessing a murder in broad daylight (about 2:30pm in april) in one of the main shopping streets in sligo, guy was shot while sitting in his van. Thank god the lads were slow as hell in tesco getting drink for the night ahead or we could have seen that go down.

I wonder what you would do if you witnessed it, cack yourself, run, stand there shocked, or cry your eyes out.....I think I would be a mix of them all with possibly some urine thrown in for good measure :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

cloneslad wrote: »
    I was about 2 mins away from witnessing a murder in broad daylight (about 2:30pm in april) in one of the main shopping streets in sligo, guy was shot while sitting in his van. Thank god the lads were slow as hell in tesco getting drink for the night ahead or we could have seen that go down.

I wonder what you would do if you witnessed it, cack yourself, run, stand there shocked, or cry your eyes out.....I think I would be a mix of them all with possibly some urine thrown in for good measure :o

Oh yeah,that was mad. And his wife and baby were in the passenger seat if I remember correctly.
    She was supposed to have ran screaming down the street with the baby.(shown on re-enactment)
    That was fcuked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Oh yeah,that was mad. And his wife and baby were in the passenger seat if I remember correctly.
    She was supposed to have ran screaming down the street with the baby.(shown on re-enactment)
    That was fcuked up

And from what I recall one of his brothers jumped into the van and drove it through the town and up to the hospital, didn't wait for the ambulance to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

cloneslad wrote: »
    And from what I recall one of his brothers jumped into the van and drove it through the town and up to the hospital, didn't wait for the ambulance to arrive.

You could be right.But I know that something like that definetly happened the first time him and his brother was shot.
    They were both shot at in an estate march 2004 ,and managed to drive up to A and E. before he was murdered in 2005
    Just remember seeing it on RTE news.

It would be scary as **** to witness something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Is this a feud between nomadic and formally nomadic citizens?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Fecking Deise men. Jesus lads, twas only a game of hurling!