Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wogan Retires

• 18-12-2009 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭

O god!!

The man who salvaged a bit of irish dignity on the mainland is retiring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Dartz

What?

He bought new tires for his Rolls Royce?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

he meant to say hes really tired but the op is chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,914 ✭✭✭✭Penn

He retard? Physical or mental?

[/Borat]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Fear not, we still have Jedward!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Ahh, he was great. I missed him on Eurovision this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Voltex wrote: »

It might be your mainland, but by God it's not mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Fair play to him for recognising that people can overstay their welcome in certain cases. As he said "I don't want to end with the tide going out". Intelligent man, never listened to his station but it's the end of an era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

He has a great voice. Wish I spoke like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭Voltex

mikom wrote: »
    It might be your mainland, but by God it's not mine.
    ah..in fairness...we do kinda belong dont we??
    sure don we talk the talk..walk the walk??
    ...sure arent we really just British..except in name?
    ....God Save the Queen!!!
    He has a great voice. Wish I spoke like him.
    Bargintown ads will never be the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,914 ✭✭✭✭Penn

No

And you live where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

His farewell this morning if anyone wants to hear it.

Take that.

Naas

Take that.
    thats just dirty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

O god!!

What are you talking about!? He's about as Irish as the queen, he declares himself as british.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭TheRealist

He's practically english.

Naas

?

Naas

Meeting place of the kings
    It's meeting place of the kings........... not queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Bring 'em down to bargintown, the prices are only famous :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

mikom wrote: »
    And you live where?

Voltex - I wouldn't answer that. There'll be guys around in the morning to kneecap you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

O god!!

The man who salvaged a bit of irish dignity
    !

....by taking full British citizenship....
    on the mainland

"Mainland" my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Irish Nationalism - Serious Business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Those British B&stards, bad enough they ruled us for 800 years,

but then they stole our best TV presenters...Terry Wogan, Eamon Andrews, Henry Kelly, Dara O'Brian, Graham Norton etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

fryup wrote: »
    Those British B&stards, bad enough they ruled us for 800 years,

but then they stole our best TV presenters...Terry Wogan, Eamon Andrews, Henry Kelly, Dara O'Brian, Graham Norton etc etc

We still have Joe Duffy, thank God, we won't give him up without a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

OPENROAD wrote: »
    We still have Joe Duffy, thank God, we won't give him up without a fight.

Nah, they can have him:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

fryup wrote: »
    Nah, they can have him:cool:

no way!!

We are blessed to have Joe on our airwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

O god!!

Isn't he still doing a show on Sundays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

Love Wogan! Always has a smart ar*e remark to make on the Eurovision. His radio show was class, and he's a very eloquent, kind, jovial, witty man. He never seems to go too much overboard with the 'We Irish are great craic'* thing, I think that's why he's liked so much in Britain

*we're great craic when we can slag someone without getting slagged back. The sh*t truly hits the fan when we're slagged back

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Isn't he still doing a show on Sundays?

yes he is, its called....

A semi-retired Irishman licking up to the Brits whilst taking a fat cheque Show ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Dempsey wrote: »
    Troll

If you have an issue with a post, report it. Don't drag a thread off-topic otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

If you have an issue with a post, report it. Don't drag a thread off-topic otherwise.

Sorry Averie Loose Ballistics didnt mean to try derail the thread or anything but in my defense with so many people commenting on that post and not the topic, I thought that someone might have reported it or staff dealt with it. Anyways, tis not important! :o

Back on topic, was Wogan that popular in the UK? Was he like a Sean Moncrieff of DFTG fame or was he a Gaybo for scale purposes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Dempsey wrote: »
    Back on topic, was Wogan that popular in the UK? Was he like a Sean Moncrieff of DFTG fame or was he a Gaybo for scale purposes :)
    Just had a check on some of the shows he did, he had a few shows on tv - blanketly blank, a chat show and also hosted children in need. Would say he was popular enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Bargintown ads will never be the same!

Ah will you stop, seriously.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

The Wogan is a Leg End

PROOF!!!

His flute must be at least 4ft long