Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BBC sign up Mrs Brown's Boys (Brendan O'Carroll) for series

• 18-12-2009 6:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

Mrs. Browns Boy's has been commissioned as a TV series by BBC1
    RTE Television who were involved in the production with the BBC announced earlier this week that they intended to screen the Pilot over the Christmas Period this year!!!

We have now been advised that the Mrs. Browns Boy's Pilot will air as a New Year Treat on Sunday January 3rd, 2010 at 9.30 p.m. On RTE 1! The BBC will also be showing the pilot later next year ahead of the screening of all six episodes but we have no confirmation of dates as yet.

Brendan has said of the news that he is "delighted that RTE are involved.." as Mrs. Browns Boys was originally aired on Irish Radio Station 2FM as a five-minute comedy slot. Brendan went on to say that he "didn't want RTE to be excluded and this way we have the best of both worlds".

RTE 1 is available on Sky Ireland Channel 101 and UPC/NTL Channel 101. We will keep you posted but if you want to know before everyone else you can register with us today!

spotted this on http://www.mrsbrownsboys.com/Mrs_Brown/Welcome.html

Never heard about this on the Irish media. I know a lot of people hate Brendan O'Carroll, but I have to say the DVDs were a hell of a lot funnier than Val Falvey, though some of it was very amateurish. What y'all think?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Great, now what will the British think of us???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

Well this constitutes a step backwards for Anglo-Irish relations. The last thing we need is comedy that makes us look like we're stuck in the past, especially when it's being shown outside of Ireland. You would think the BBC would have snapped up a more relevant irish comedian.

Actually you wouldn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Do we even have a more relevant Irish comedic talent?, besides Pat "The Plank" Kenny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

There must be some. I assume there are some obsure circuit comedians who would fit the bill. As if stands in the mainstream though; I see your point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Do we even have a more relevant Irish comedic talent?, besides Pat "The Plank" Kenny?

Of all of the irish sitcoms, if you can call them that, I thought that this sort of parochial Dublin humour would be the least likely to travel. But I think I heard O'Carroll saying that foreign audiences do get the humour. Still very surprising though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

maybe it only has to travel as far as BBC NI ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

Great, now what will the British think of us???

Who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

why o why!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Is this the peak of Irish Comedy still left in the country? If so, forget the recession, the country is beyond repair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I am guessing this is a BBC Northern Ireland/RTÉ Co-production.

I am guessing it will be as funny as TBBT :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Has to be BBC Northern Ireland. I would be surprised to see this **** get a UK wide airing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

::facepalm::

We have to be subjected to this when there is stuff like 'hardy bucks' out there - this is ripe for a tv series - best irish comedy by far (catch it on youtube)

But no - we get stuck with Val Falvey and Mrs Brown .. dear god... is everyone making decisions over 50!

I think you mean: Is everyone under the metal age of 8 making decisions?

In fairness 8 years old and 70 years old would have more cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,750 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The Nordies seem to love this sort of CarryOn style ensemble comedy.

The Give My Head Peace / Whole In The Wall Gang ran for what seemed like about 10 years (and it was actually quite funny in parts :o).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

parasite wrote: »
    maybe it only has to travel as far as BBC NI ...

Even O'Carroll > 99% of anything BBC NI output as comedy.

I'll watch this before posting further comment. I have a bit of faith in the BBC to produce non-turkeys, even if they claim responsibility for the like of My Family or Gavin & Stacey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

O Carroll is an absolute skidmark on Irish comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Bertiebasher

this on RTE1 now and why am I finding myself laughing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

That was woeful.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

In fairness O'Carroll did have the odd good line, but the other actors were diabolical. Worse than Fair City standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 jimmyjon

The nightmare vista is upon us. Brendan O'Carroll is on TV. It was on RTE last night, featuring such lines as "Did Dad always come early?", (a delicious pun on the word "come", groundbreaking stuff!) Have BBC actually signed this programme up? It just doesn't make sense, the apocalypse is nigh, run!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

The only rationale I can think of is that this filled a quota for 'domestically produced comedy' in RTE / BBC statistics.

Execrable, retrograde, 1985 style production, poorly scripted, shot & directed.

Broad, populist comedy has its place but this failed to be even mildly amusing.

Wonder who commissioned it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

are they having a laugh, are they having a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

jimmyjon wrote: »
    Have BBC actually signed this programme up? It just doesn't make sense, the apocalypse is nigh, run!!

Don't forget that BBC Northern Ireland don't have a good track record for comedy. Give My Head Peace anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Juice Terry

Such begrudgery on here. The show was commissioned by the Beeb hierarchy in London and will air on BBC1 this year. Fair play to Brendan O'Carroll and good luck to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

The show was commissioned by the Beeb hierarchy in London and will air on BBC1 this year.

I think you're a bit behind the times.. It was on the radio this week that BBC have commissioned a second series. The first series is currently being shown on RTE, the second episode was on RTE ONE tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

Skidmark indeed...the mother had this on the tv tonight and words fail me in describing how bad it is... No begrudgery, fair play to Brendan as he's somehow managing to do well but why should you have to say something like this is good when it really REALLY isn't.

I think you're a bit behind the times.. It was on the radio this week that BBC have commissioned a second series. The first series is currently being shown on RTE, the second episode was on RTE ONE tonight.

I thought the first series hadn't been shown yet on BBC?

Up-n-atom! wrote: »
    Skidmark indeed...the mother had this on the tv tonight and words fail me in describing how bad it is... No begrudgery, fair play to Brendan as he's somehow managing to do well but why should you have to say something like this is good when it really REALLY isn't.

Fair point and I respect your opinion, it's the needless jump on the band wagon attitude of some that annoys me. I appreciate this show may not go down in the annals of classic comedies but it was the same pervading attitude when Ted first aired on Channel 4; people who can recall that time and attest to the alternative are just being dishonest.

Such begrudgery on here. The show was commissioned by the Beeb hierarchy in London and will air on BBC1 this year. Fair play to Brendan O'Carroll and good luck to him.

I really think this is pathetic and predictable on boards. Juice Terry I don't mean to pick on you specifically. Ditto JA.

Irish people really have this inferiority complex about themselves. I amn't a fan of this show. It's not because it was commissioned by the BBC but it is because so far (after 1 episode) I amn't impressed. I can (like with Kinnaskully and Last of the Summer Wine) see why people would enjoy this type of comedy, however it really isn't my cup of tea.

IMO really begrudgery is when people have come on boards to slate Kinnaskully when it has a large following. Indeed if the BBC had commissioned Kinna many on here would praising the ground that Kinna was produced on.

Indeed I am generally a supporter of Irish Drama and script comedy weather its on RTÉ, TG4, even TV3, ITV and the BBC. Well done to all for get it to the stage of televised drama a hard task in any country. However I will if I want be critical of such comedies and dramas because unfortunately that is the nature of such programming. (And to the producers take no offense everyone has an opinion).

Also long before Kinnaskully and Mrs. Browns Boy TG4 where producing CU Burn, a light hearted comedy about an undertaker in Donegal.

To everyone on Mrs. Browne's Boy all the best and congradulations on getting a commission from both RTÉ and the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

+1, it's probably going to be watched by the same people who like Killinaskully (which I can't stand either), Keeping Up Appearances etc - gentle middle-aged comedies (although there's a lot of swearing for that kind of audience!) - something to counteract the Hardy Bucks I guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 smurf110

To be honest, I really am liking the show. I find myself laughing out loud which a comedy series has not been able to do for some time.

Leaving in the wrong lines, camera-man not moving in time...these all add to it.

And as said above, Fr. Ted was not well received in Ireland the first time it was shown, people felt it was paddy-whackery, and now look at it's success.

Fair play to the show for being picked up for a 2nd series!

smurf110 wrote: »
    To be honest, I really am liking the show. I find myself laughing out loud which a comedy series has not been able to do for some time.

Leaving in the wrong lines, camera-man not moving in time...these all add to it.

And as said above, Fr. Ted was not well received in Ireland the first time it was shown, people felt it was paddy-whackery, and now look at it's success.

Fair play to the show for being picked up for a 2nd series!

Fr. Ted was really well received it had 900,000 viewers on Network 2 when it premiered there after having already debut on Channel 4. Why do you think RTÉ 2 continues to repeat it so much?

I really can't see this being a Fr. Ted. It is reliant on old jokes, bad innuendo and then a sprinkling of sentimentality. None of which existed on Fr. Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 GazzyWazzy

I just saw Brendan in a xmas promo on BBC 1.

The BBC are dead to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

They weren't dead to you after they made a whole series of Brendan O Carroll's show? Why now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 GazzyWazzy

I didnt even know he'd made a show for them until I saw that ad.

I am glad for Brendan though.He's paid his dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

smurf110 wrote: »

but its not genuine.... its done on purpose and its stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,230 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I have tried to sit through an episode. Absolute tripe. So so forced is the humor that I cannot find it at all funny. And, coarse and smutty for the sake of it. Useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

I watched it for the first time 2 weeks ago, to be honest the humour is so subtle, nuanced and gossamer like that I think most of it went over my head, very reminiscent of mid period P G Wodehouse I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

very reminiscent of mid period P G Wodehouse I'd say.

More Jizz & Wanker than Jeeves & Wooster.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I quite like it. It's one of these things where you shouldn't really be laughing but it's hard to stop yourself!