Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Panic Attack

• 18-12-2009 1:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭

sorry if this was posted before, i checked but couldn't see it
    I saw this great little piece of CGI film before which was made for $300 and i was reading in the paper this morning that big Hollywood studios have given him $30 million to make a proper full scale film, not sure if it is going to be on the same story but it should be interesting to see what he can do with that kind of money

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dadPWhEhVk&feature=player_embedded#

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

BBC wrote:
    The movie Mr Alvarez has been asked to produce is a sci-fi film to be shot in Uruguay and Argentina. He says he intends to start from scratch and develop a new story for the project.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/8417789.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fatjebus

Maybe it's a 30million budget? seems that's a bit excessive for a 1st time paycheck?

Although I have to admit in that short clip on youtube, (made for 300 quid?) it looks better than most of the stuff coming out of hollywood in the 100million range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

$300 my hole

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

OMG!!!!!!!!!!.....this is WAY better then Avatar!!!!!!!

I'm not kidding, it blew my mind!!!....the CGI is utterly amazing, screw you Cameron with your 300 million!...look what 300 bucks gets you!!!!!!

It's very similar to this, Kerry Conran piece which earned him the right to make the full movie Sky Captain, another revolutionary step in CGI effects:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44I8sCrA4fs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I dont buy it.

Sounds like some very clever, albeit very early marketing to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I can't believe he was given a $30 millon budget from just this video alone! :eek:

Some clever 3D work and compositioning but not a damn single original idea there to be worthy of the level of praise it's received. (The shameless Independance Day money shot at the end is a fine example.)

An impressive looking film done on the cheap no doubt, but a Hollywood success story? Get outta here!!

It may have been done before, but it does have a District 9/Cloverfield/Indepenence Day feel to it....his editing a shaky cam was good, thankfully not as stomach upsetting as Cloverfield.

I think he has somethig there, $30 million is pennies these days, an episode os Lost or Heroes costs $3 million. He could do alot with the money, much like Cloverfield. I've read blogs that the guy + $300 is legit. He's not a rookie, he works in tv production/makes videos etc.

He's not some kid on a Mac, so he has some media background. But the fact is for the budget it's damn impressive!

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I can't believe he was given a $30 millon budget from just this video alone! :eek:

Some clever 3D work and compositioning but not a damn single original idea there to be worthy of the level of praise it's received. (The shameless Independance Day money shot at the end is a fine example.)

An impressive looking film done on the cheap no doubt, but a Hollywood success story? Get outta here!!

Yer man from District 9 got his Halo advert and movie the same way, making shorts...so did Kerry Conran.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This was filmed in Uruguay, so $300 is more like $1000.

Aye...ergo, $30 mill will go A LONG WAY!...he could hire thousands of extras for a few quid per day, or a trip to McDonalds!...and Uraguay i bet has some excellent locations to shot.

I'd say it's goona be a district 9/Cloverfield....but with robots :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Archimedes wrote: »
    I dont buy it.

Sounds like some very clever, albeit very early marketing to me.

+1 sounds very likely

So cynical...i love it!!

We've been raised on The Sun and The Daily Star...we're all jaded and uber cynics :-)

Yer man from District 9 got his Halo advert and movie the same way, making shorts...so did Kerry Conran.

Yea but that guy (Neill Blomkamp) had previously worked on TV shows like Smallville and Stargate SG-1. Plus those Citroen ads of the dancing transformer robot were his.

That and his Alive In Johannesburg short was an interesting concept, as was Kerry Conran's short. Panic Attack is a pretty much every alien invasion film we've seen before with the novelty of it being done on a relatively small budget.

Still, fair play to the guy. I know I'd be a happy bunny if I was in his shoes. Something doesn't seem right, though. He posted the video on YouTube and litteraly within days Hollywood gave him a $30 million cheque? Hmmmmmm.......

Didn't know he did Citroen ads, they were great...the CGI was better then Tranformers, a Vancoover company did the CGI.

He posted it on a Thursday and by Monday he had tons of emails from Hollwood types wanting to sign him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Well done for a low budget short but its just a ripoff of Sky Captain and ID4/WOTW/every alien invasion movie ever, blatantly rips off even specific shots, nice effects work though

Didn't know he did Citroen ads, they were great...the CGI was better then Tranformers, a Vancoover company did the CGI.

Yeah, Neil is a fairly accomplished CG animator himself.

Sam Raimi's company apparently are the ones who picked this Panic Attack guy up. Seriously, this is beginning to sound like a parody of Peter Jackson and District 9. :pac:

^striking paralells indeed....but District 9 was a very good movie, can't fault the CGI.

I love this whole sense of wonder every time a short film seems to come out of nowhere and get picked up by Hollywood. Both Fede Alvarez and Neill Blomkamp have been working in the effects industry for years and both ahve been creating shorts for as long. Neill Blomkamp actually got his start when Sharlto Copley hired him to work for his company making adds.

Panic Attack is also cost a a lot more than 300 dollars to make. When you factor in equipment, man power, time invested, ect, ect it all ads up. Saying it cost just 300 is naive, many low budget films are sold on the how cheaply they were made when in fact the post production budget is massive.

He had access to hardware i assume, plus his personal time, rendering etc. - wouldn't that all be free?
    Maybe the $300 went on the extras + bus fare and happy meals?

Any updates on this project?