Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No spins this weekend then?

• 17-12-2009 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭

MetEireann wrote:
    It will be cold over the weekend and well into next week with very frosty nights. Some wintry showers at times, but good periods of dry weather also. Friday night will be very cold and frosty with some icy roads. Lowest temperatures zero to -6 C., - coldest over Munster and south Leinster. Some wintry showers of sleet and snow are likely too, mainly in northern half of the country. Saturday will dawn cold and frosty, but sunny spells will soon develop. But a spell of rain will develop over Ulster during the morning, and will push southwards in the afternoon and evening, giving some sleet in places. Some snow is likely later as it clears southwards, this early in the night in most places, especially so on high ground and mountains, but some at lower levels also. Saturday night will be very cold and frosty in its wake, with some icy roads. Some dry clear spells, but some further wintry showers will affect parts of Ulster and Connacht, north Leinster and west Munster, with some further snow in places. Lowest temperatures zero to -5 C. Sunday will be cold, bright and quite breezy, with sunny spells and occasional wintry showers, with these mainly affect the northern half of the country, and also western coastal counties. Very cold and frosty overnight with icy roads. Most places dry but some further wintry showers possible on northern and western coasts. Monday and Tuesday will be very cold days, with frosts early and late. Some sunny spells by day but scattered wintry showers also, with coastal counties of the west and north most at risk.

That puts my plans for a spin on hold. Anyone heading out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

uberwolf wrote: »
    That puts my plans for a spin on hold. Anyone heading out?

I plan to head out. If the roads are snowy I might use the cross bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I'll see what its like on Sunday morning..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

mountain bike weather.

i done a spin the other nite on forest roads .very enjoyeble, till i lost one of my 4 dogs on the hill in the fog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Bah, was planning on a decent spin on Sat afternoon. I'll probably still head out but I'll be avoiding the hills now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I now have all the components from this bike

th_2009-02-07_10.jpg th_2009-02-07_14.jpg th_kinesis_2.jpg

So think I'll be on for a spin

th_2009-02-07_03.jpg th_2009-02-07_04.jpg th_2009-02-07_02.jpg th_2009-02-07_01.jpg th_2009-02-07_19.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pbull69

Ye could cyclo-cross in Virgina in Cavan on sun. I'm doing my 2nd ever cross race!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Am planning on, will be my first cross race. Still have Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I might go out, but the turbo is becoming more and more appealing.

I don't have a cross bike and would be too slow/uncomfortable on the mountain bike on the roads.

Also, party tomorrow night!

Where were you planning on heading out Uberwolf?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm off to Madrid at the weekend. Weather forecast is worse than here though. Lows of -11 and light snow showers on the way apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Snowed here overnight, roads will be a nightmare this morning.
    Higher up the snow isn't going anywhere, definitely one for the hardcore mountain bikers!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

jwshooter wrote: »
    mountain bike weather.

i done a spin the other nite on forest roads .very enjoyeble, till i lost one of my 4 dogs on the hill in the fog.

Erm... did you get him/her back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Was going to cycle into work this morning but decided not to. The roads seem fine and footpaths are not slippy.
    If it is no worse than this at the weekend I plan on heading out saturday and sunday, bug will probably wait till late morning before getting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

DirkVoodoo wrote: »

Where were you planning on heading out Uberwolf?

hadn't got that far! 2 - 2 1/2 hr spin starting from city centre. My principal exit point is the Phoenix park - which won't defrost for hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Sunday is mountain bike day, oh yeah.

Light snowfall and icy conditions in parts of the country have left roads in a treacherous condition, motorists have been warned.

Conditions were bad in parts of Dublin, Kildare, Wicklow, Cavan, Carlow, Tipperary and Wexford, with road temperatures below zero on most routes, AA Roadwatch said.

The motoring organisation urged motorists to drive with extra care, slow down and keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front.

In Wicklow, gardaí have urged motorists to avoid the Sally Gap.

The Road Safety Authority (RSA) received a weather warning from Met Éireann advising of a cold spell this weekend and into the early days of next week.

"This will bring showers of sleet and snow in many areas. The northern half of the country and western counties are most at risk. There will be widespread severe frosts leading to icy roads," the RSA said.

The authority warned road users to be "extra alert" and said greater levels of observation, anticipation and concentration are required when driving in snow or icy conditions.

Met Éireann said scattered wintry showers will continue to parts of east Leinster this morning. It will be mostly dry elsewhere with sunny spells after a frosty start. Highest temperatures will be just 1 to 4 degrees.

Meanwhile, in Galway, the opening of the M6 motorway will take place at 11am and the road will be open to the public by 3pm. Some 56km of dual carriageway will be opened between Galway and Ballinasloe.

it doesn't get any better

I can confirm that the coast, as usual, is snow and ice free

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

It's snowing right now in Inchicore.

el tonto wrote: »
    It's snowing right now in Inchicore.

You guys get all the fun. I think I saw one snowflake on the way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Snowing a bit here, sky has that ominous deep blue-gray meaning more snow to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

was snowy and still snowing not so long ago in Blanchardstown. This weekend will be chaos around here with the shopping centre right in the middle without the snow ... so with the snow will be ... ( what's worse than chaos?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

This weekend will be chaos around here with the shopping centre right in the middle without the snow ... so with the snow will be ... ( what's worse than chaos?)

Full-on biblical Armageddon. If you look carefuly you can just make out Eddie Rockets in the background:

armageddon-bible.jpg

Lovely run in the snow at 6am this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

72hundred wrote: »
    Erm... did you get him/her back?
    I need to know this too!
    I won't be able to enjoy my morning coffee until I can get rid of the mental image of a dog, lost and miserable, up in the Featherbeds or some such place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Did an hour of hill repeats this morn (limited to an hour due to school play season) to build up strenght. Fingers were numb going up and the rest except for torso (God bless Gore Windstopper) was frozen on the short descent. If it doesnt snow tonight it will freeze solid later. Snow wont be the problem> Frozen compacted snow is lethal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Was out for a hour and half this morning round north county dublin. Roads were covered in slush which is going to freeze over most likely. Got pelted with hail for half the ride too.

Very annoying about Sally Gap. Was hoping to cross their on Sunday :(

Ryaner wrote: »
    Was out for a hour and half this morning round north county dublin. Roads were covered in slush which is going to freeze over most likely. Got pelted with hail for half the ride too.

What part did you cycle in? I've two rides planned for the weekend.

Raam wrote: »
    What part did you cycle in? I've two rides planned for the weekend.

From the back of the airport out towards OldTown. The roads that get a fair bit of car traffic were fine, just the quieter ones were in bits.

Ryaner wrote: »
    From the back of the airport out towards OldTown. The roads that get a fair bit of car traffic were fine, just the quieter ones were in bits.

Cheers dude. Those smaller roads are my usual route. sure we'll see how it goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Raam, you going out with the club in the morn?

bcmf wrote: »
    Raam, you going out with the club in the morn?

Nope, on me own

this has all become a little academic for me. CRC were supposed to provide me gloves and overshoes. Ordered Monday evening. No sign yet

CRC seem to be very behind on the orders over the past few weeks. A lot of stuff getting delayed.
    Saying that my order from Monday arrived yesterday but it did go with Parcel Force 24 as it was a fair bit of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

You will definitely need the overshoes. I went up the Dublin mountains this morn, glencullen over to Stocking Lane and then up towards Glencree. Roads were grand until got as far as the top before the road starts to descend to Glencree and had to turn back due to snow/slush covering the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Over shoes, pah..

BLACK%20BINLINER.jpg

ftw

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Limestone1 wrote: »
    You will definitely need the overshoes. I went up the Dublin mountains this morn, glencullen over to Stocking Lane and then up towards Glencree. Roads were grand until got as far as the top before the road starts to descend to Glencree and had to turn back due to snow/slush covering the road.

Yeah, a bunch of us ended up at the Liam Horner Memorial for our annual Holly Run (collect holly on the way up and lay it at the memorial). It was extremely icy and snowy from there up to the top and around glencree. Half a mile down the road it was fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Feed+the+World+Do+They+Know+It%27s+Christmas+cover+1984.jpg