Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you dreaming of?

• 16-12-2009 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

Let's say you are fortunate enough to get in. What or where would you like to end up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 VictorRolf

Derry City for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭unistudent2009

want to be in and around the mean streets of belfast and ultimately would love to be a dog handler anywhere, although its tough to get there!

von clinkerhoff, what about u?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jclegs

I would probably like to be in and around Belfast/Lisburn area and ideally be in CID/TSG/Traffic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 rollinstone

South Armagh or Fermanagh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 von clinkerhoff

Think I'd like to be in a large neighbourhood area aroung Belfast city or another large town. Somewhere busy without massive amounts of driving would be good.
    Was in Belfast tonight people watching, not sure about the big yellow coats but do hope it's my turn this year!

Think I'd like to be in a large neighbourhood area aroung Belfast city or another large town. Somewhere busy without massive amounts of driving would be good.
    Was in Belfast tonight people watching, not sure about the big yellow coats but do hope it's my turn this year!

I cannot wait to get a yellow coat and I just hope it happens sooner rather than later. This waiting around is the hardest thing I've ever had to do.

Do you want to move away from "uniform" after probation Von Clinkerhoff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭poppysox

Ideally I'd like B District (south & east belfast) and would eventually like to go into MIT or RCU. Although that could all change once we get our wee chats from the different departments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Valky

Belfast/Lisburn area would be my preference too and dog-handling. But i hear that's a hugely in demand area and like you also said. I suspect I don't yet know half the specialisations out there yet! On this note, does anyone know if we get any input at all into what district we spend our probation in or is it just a lottery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭poppysox

Our districts are decided by operational need, I think we get to list 3 choices but they are under no obligation to take these into account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Rob-117

4 choices, about 75% usually get your first or second choice.

As for dog handlers I can almost guarantee you won't get in during your 35 years let alone straight away after the 2 year probation. They recruit about 2-3 positions every 5-7 years and about 2000-3000 apply for it.

CID isn't all it's cracked up to be, I was sure that's what I wanted when I joined but it's all paperwork and witness interviews, 90% of the time they won't even attend a scene.

Don't want to be crushing your spirits or anything but you WILL be stuck in response for about 5 or 6 years by the time any of you guys get in and the 440 a year intakes stop........ You'll be over-worked and under-appreciated, good craic though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 nursey

Rob-117 wrote: »
    4 choices, about 75% usually get your first or second choice.

As for dog handlers I can almost guarantee you won't get in during your 35 years let alone straight away after the 2 year probation. They recruit about 2-3 positions every 5-7 years and about 2000-3000 apply for it.

CID isn't all it's cracked up to be, I was sure that's what I wanted when I joined but it's all paperwork and witness interviews, 90% of the time they won't even attend a scene.

Don't want to be crushing your spirits or anything but you WILL be stuck in response for about 5 or 6 years by the time any of you guys get in and the 440 a year intakes stop........ You'll be over-worked and under-appreciated, good craic though :)
    Well guess thats our spirits well and truly crushed....but we can keep dreaming of the ideal. Mr Baggots job sounds good!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Rob-117

nursey wrote: »
    Well guess thats our spirits well and truly crushed....but we can keep dreaming of the ideal. Mr Baggots job sounds good!!

Yeah you need 2 years service in another force if you want the big job

Rob-117 wrote: »

Yeh I spoke to a dog handler a few years ago who told me how tough it was but its the dream and all I can do is apply.

Rob, how long you been in and more importantly, do you enjoy your job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Fatony

I would love to get into the Traffic side of things. I already have a strong interest in cars and motorsports and this would be a dream job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 carmadman

Fatony wrote: »
    I would love to get into the Traffic side of things. I already have a strong interest in cars and motorsports and this would be a dream job!

Im with you Fatony.. Traffic would be my 1st choice...possibly CPU next, if i ever get the call..lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 peter_green

I'd love to get into Dunmurray Station, i've seen pretty mean looking semi marked cars in there which i'd imagine is some kind of pro-active traffic unit. Bar that i'd like to the get into regular traffic or TSG anywhere around Belfast/Lisburn in the long run. Although, i imagine at the minute the most feet are being put into the areas in Craigavon/Fermanagh where they're needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭MRLAZY

alright lads, are any of ye from the republic? i am and im thinking of applying for the next recruitment campaign??
    would us lads from down south be treated any different???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

MRLAZY wrote: »
    alright lads, are any of ye from the republic? i am and im thinking of applying for the next recruitment campaign??
    would us lads from down south be treated any different???

Thread about this here.