Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do with nearly 200 teddy bears?

• 16-12-2009 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭

Looking for advice on something from fellow boardsies.

I have in my possession app 180 teddies of all shapes and sizes at the moment, which are a private collection of a family member which are no longer wanted. About half are brand new (without labels) and the rest are very good condition.

I guess that at this time of year, someone could make very good use of these, but I have no idea what to do with them. Hospitals wont take them, and I would rather they be given to a charity that will distribute them to kids before Christmas, rather than one which will just leave them to rot in some charity shop where they are unlikely to ever be bought.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to a proper and real charity in the Leinster/Dublin area that might be interested in taking these away free of charge and passing them onto some kids somewhere?
    I am NOT leaving them on the doorstep for those scammers with their plastic bags and their poor grasp of diction as I seriously doubt they go to charity.

I had toyed with the idea of creating an army, but alas I couldnt find a way to get them to live. The whole Frankenstein thing just doesnt work on creatures made out of foam and stuffing, they tend to catch fire.

They are a collection of many, many bears, squashy cartoon characters, and all kinds of stuffed animals such as pigs, sheep, giraffes, hippos etc.

Any advice would be very welcome.

Mods, apologies if this is totally not the right forum, but I honestly had no idea where to post this somewhat weird request.

Thanks everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Have a teddy bear picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Teddy porn films are looking for extras for an orgy production. Sounds like a good match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Im sure Gary Glitter would have a use for them . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Sew them together to make a impenetrable Armour of Teddy bears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Reinact the famous "X Rated Superted episode"....y'know, the one where Spotty gets what he always wanted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Leave them in random areas around your village and attach clues as to where to find the last one, which will be a Pedobear holding a picture of Maddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Santa Strike Force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Take a look here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=419
    there might be something useful for you!!

or at the Samaritans website. Every year they do Operation Christmas Child, where they send toys to less fortunate children elsewhere in the world. Don't know if it's too late in the year for that though!

You could also ask in creches and such if they want some!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Build a teddy bear concentration camp and play "Tednic cleansing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Put them in a giant circle, each of them mounting the one in front, breaking the World Record for largest teddy bear orgy.

/sings
    Todays the day, the Teddy Bears have their d*ck licked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Sew them together to make a impenetrable Armour of Teddy bears

With +6D6 cuteness bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

You only need 166 to replace all the td's in the country.

I say we give the teddy bears a chance at running the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SupaDupaFly

Sell them!!!give the money to charity...or give them all to me...i love teddies :-) haha only joking. Was thinking you could bring some to your local hospital but they are gone very strict on hygiene etc :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Related to Oscar Lomax from Psychoville by any chance?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Stitch their hands together side by side in a row and put red LED lights where their eyes are. Then in the middle of the night, put them across ur road...from one kerb to the other.

Thats got to freak the Milkman out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭BDR

I'd like to see these teddies..so pics or GTFO?

Give each bear a name and individual personality, You now have 200 friends for life. You'll never be lonely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Play restaurant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Archeron wrote: »

I have in my possession app 180 teddies of all shapes and sizes at the moment, but I have no idea what to do with them.

Construct three large shelves running all the way across one wall of your bedroom
    Fill these with teddy bears.
    Pick up a lady in a pub or nightclub, and bring her back to your bedroom.
    Kiss her lightly on the lips.
    Continue to kiss; as the passion builds.
    Lifts her in your arms and lay her on the bed.
    Make hot, steamy love.

After your night of raw passion, and as you lie together, the lady may ask "Well, how was it?".......... you can then look deeply into her eyes, and say: "Help yourself to any prize from the middle shelf."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

Heya Acheron, am a children's nurse and I know that hospitals wont take them for infection control reasons, (I know, mental...), but, same with us...but if they are new I would love a few to give to the kids for Christmas, I work in a home for disabled and terminally ill children and could take some for a worthy cause...(settle AH, will not post anything so sentimental again, I know it goes against the spirit that is AH, but a teddy is not just for Christmas!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

shuvly wrote: »
    Heya Acheron, am a children's nurse and I know that hospitals wont take them for infection control reasons, (I know, mental...), but, same with us...but if they are new I would love a few to give to the kids for Christmas, I work in a home for disabled and terminally ill children and could take some for a worthy cause...(settle AH, will not post anything so sentimental again, I know it goes against the spirit that is AH, but a teddy is not just for Christmas!).

Nice one. Private message sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

give them to snyper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Give the teddies to the local kennels. Dogs love humping teddies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

eBay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I'm sure there are collectors out there that will be happy to take them

Feck infection control, thank you so much from our kids! I will now hand you all back to the proper AH forum for business as usual....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

A veritable Teddycotta Army....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Thank you everybody and thank you Boards.ie

My army of bears has found a worthy home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭eimear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

temple street childrens hospital?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Get them into a pile and pour petrol on them.

Then set them alight and watch as 180 teddy lives are extinguished and they call out from the flames for help but alas, nobody is coming to save them. And the last sight they will see is your smiling face, as you bask in the heat and the glow of the flames, smiling back at them while there faces melt away into nothingness.

Mwahahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Construct a teddy bear "wicker man" and see what weirdos you attract, then just follow the craic from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Go to schools, put bears heads on pikes and set on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Beldaria

Hiya,

I thinks it is a very good idea to give them away.
    A lot of people lost everything during the recent floods. Get in touch with Saint Vincent de Paul (SVP) or Bernardos or Womans' Aid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Two words which very rarely are seen together, but are glorious.
    Teddy Bonfire!

Children's charities and hospitals will not take second hand soft toys due to health and safety risks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭baubl

Archeron wrote: »

I have in my possession app 180 teddies of all shapes and sizes at the moment, which are a private collection of a family member which are no longer wanted. About half are brand new (without labels) and the rest are very good condition.

I guess that at this time of year, someone could make very good use of these, but I have no idea what to do with them. Hospitals wont take them, and I would rather they be given to a charity that will distribute them to kids before Christmas, rather than one which will just leave them to rot in some charity shop where they are unlikely to ever be bought.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to a proper and real charity in the Leinster/Dublin area that might be interested in taking these away free of charge and passing them onto some kids somewhere?
    I am NOT leaving them on the doorstep for those scammers with their plastic bags and their poor grasp of diction as I seriously doubt they go to charity.

I had toyed with the idea of creating an army, but alas I couldnt find a way to get them to live. The whole Frankenstein thing just doesnt work on creatures made out of foam and stuffing, they tend to catch fire.

They are a collection of many, many bears, squashy cartoon characters, and all kinds of stuffed animals such as pigs, sheep, giraffes, hippos etc.

Any advice would be very welcome.

Mods, apologies if this is totally not the right forum, but I honestly had no idea where to post this somewhat weird request.

Thanks everyone.

Christmas Market
    Car Boot sale
    This is the time to do it
    Sunday marked,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

St Vincents De Paul are actively looking for toys in good/new condition. Great cause.....they really helped my family out when I was young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Glue them to a raft and put them out to sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

Our charity has the same rules but we have a lot less money this year so I am going to take the kind offer and run...(violin playing, and angels over my shoulder)...not..just feckin reality of kids that dont have parents...end of...have a merry christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Our charity has the same rules but we have a lot less money this year so I am going to take the kind offer and run...(violin playing, and angels over my shoulder)...not..just feckin reality of kids that dont have parents...end of...have a merry christmas.

Ya better make sure to disinfect each teddy before you give it to whatever child. Those rules are in place for a reason!!
    You wouldn't want to get in trouble with your boss or make a kid more sick:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

give them free in jumbletown.ie, always loads of people looking for toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

mikom wrote: »
    After your night of raw passion, and as you lie together, the lady may ask "Well, how was it?".......... you can then look deeply into her eyes, and say: "Help yourself to any prize from the middle shelf."

It's rare that I want to thank a single post multiple times but that was one of those times:)

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Ya better make sure to disinfect each teddy before you give it to whatever child. Those rules are in place for a reason!!
    You wouldn't want to get in trouble with your boss or make a kid more sick:eek:

Ha feckin ha...am dying laughing here...not ...Always one sad eejit who has nothin better to do...was a waitin so surprise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Ha feckin ha...am dying laughing here...not ...Always one sad eejit who has nothin better to do...was a waitin so surprise...

For someone who claims to be a nurse, I'm surprised at your reaction to a reasonable post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

What are you talking about....? :confused:

Are you not a nurse of some kind and will be taking these bears to kids in your charity/hospital?

I was just saying that if you do and you know it's breaking the rules but want to give the kids a nice present. Then it's your responsibilty to at least disinfect them!

And I aint a sad eejit. Thanking you.

Banned for personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

and there goes another teddy bear thread... reduced to petty squabbling, and name calling.... :(

When will you people learn...

gotta love AH!

Doop wrote: »
    and there goes another teddy bear thread... reduced to petty squabbling, and name calling.... :(

When will you people learn...

gotta love AH!

It's no picnic.:(