Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which episode of father ted starts with a baby on the doorstep?

• 16-12-2009 05:14AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭

There's one episode of Father Ted which has a short intro before the theme music, in which they find a baby on the doorstep and think it's been left there for them but actually it hasn't been left there at all.

Anyone know which episode this is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

A Christmassy Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

^ I don't think it is, doesn't that one start with his romantic dream being interrupted by Dougal's peanut offer, and then resuming with Ted being chased down a hill by three giant peanuts with legs? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

There's one episode of Father Ted which has a short intro before the theme music, in which they find a baby on the doorstep and think it's been left there for them but actually it hasn't been left there at all.

Anyone know which episode this is?

"Ted wishes for an uneventful, ordinary Christmas. Seemingly on cue, the doorbell rings and Ted finds a baby on the doorstep; however, the mother quickly removes the baby, having mistaken Ted's house for someone else's. Ted wonders if having a baby around the house could have led a number of humorous situation, but Dougal quickly convinces him that nothing interesting would have come of it at all."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Christmassy_Ted

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Ah good aul Father Ted.

One program they got right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Ah good aul Father Ted.

One program they got right.

Not really, didn't RTE turn it down and it went to Channel 4 instead?

Edit: This is actually a load of b*llox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

I forgot my Feckin' Trousers hahahah Good old father ted:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

not the place lads, etc...

Thank you for reminding me of the Xmas special, I'm gonna go entertain myself now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I love watching this episode on Christmas Eve.

Fr. Todd Unctious, what a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Naos wrote: »
    Not really, didn't RTE turn it down and it went to Channel 4 instead?

Ah just six posts in and this old chestnut has been thrown up. That must be a new record.

*ahem*

I'll say this again. Now pay attention everyone as I might not say it again.

RTE never, Never, NEVER turned down Father Ted. They were never offered it. Graham Linehan and Arthur Matthews were pretty successful comedy writers in London when they wrote it and so went straight to Channel 4 with the show.

Did you hear that down the back?

Good.

Now, carry on with the Ted appreciation.

"The largest lingerie department in Ireland"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I miss Father Ted. Christmas without those characters is just not as fun.
    I hope they show the Christmas one on RTE christmas night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 merc998

Father Ted send her on cant wait to watch it over xmas!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

mental07 wrote: »

I was on a Ryanair flight into Dublin last year when I spotted Fr. Todd Unctious down in the back seat wearing a trilby. He was trying to blend in but noticed me looking at him and gave me a wry smile. The divil. Who knows how many golden clerics he had in his carry-on bag. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'm having great success converting Belgians and Americans to Father Ted. They love it.

Christmas special was pure win. Especially loved the bit where Ted is imagining all the humerous japes they'd get up to with the baby.

And Mrs Doyle's tea machine.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Ah just six posts in and this old chestnut has been thrown up. That must be a new record.

*ahem*

I'll say this again. Now pay attention everyone as I might not say it again.

RTE never, Never, NEVER turned down Father Ted. They were never offered it. Graham Linehan and Arthur Matthews were pretty successful comedy writers in London when they wrote it and so went straight to Channel 4 with the show.

Did you hear that down the back?

Good.

Now, carry on with the Ted appreciation.

Upon actually googling this 'fact', I can concur that Anonoboy is correct. Damnit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Did ye know that the dead guy from the Bee Gees had one of the scripts from Father Ted put into his coffin? It was his favourite show.

Upon actually googling this 'fact', I can concur that Anonoboy is correct. Damnit.

Bow to my superior knowledge of this one specific fact! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

RonMexico wrote: »
    Did ye know that the dead guy from the Bee Gees had one of the scripts from Father Ted put into his coffin? It was his favourite show.

He was lucky he didn't get the last rites from Fr. Dougal:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

What? You mean you were checking up on him? Well holy god!

Ooops, wrong Irish comedy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I believe you are thinking of the greatest Lennord Nimoy movie of our generation:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm having great success converting Belgians and Americans to Father Ted. They love it.

Christmas special was pure win. Especially loved the bit where Ted is imagining all the humerous japes they'd get up to with the baby.

And Mrs Doyle's tea machine.

They're showing it in South Africa now, though sadly not dubbed into Zulu like so many older comedies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭fullback4glin

I think is goes a litte more like this

It's Irelands biggest lingerie section I undertand

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

One of my favourite shows. Went to Dermot Morgans funeral. I went to the same school as him, so his funeral was around the corner. Went as representatives of the school.

"Are those my feet?"
    "Rats! Hairy Japanese bastards"

Best line ever:

"These are small, but the ones out there are far far away..."

I think is goes a litte more like this

It's Irelands biggest lingerie section I undertand

Oh.... ehhhh.........

RTE never turned it down though. :(

Oh.... ehhhh.........

RTE never turned it down though. :(

Don't beat yourself up, you specified you just knew one specific fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

OP, the episode was "Night of the Nearly Dead". The one with Eoin Mc(G?)love....

I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

IRcolm wrote: »
    OP, the episode was "Night of the Nearly Dead". The one with Eoin Mc(G?)love....

I think.

It was definitely "A Christmassy Ted"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

and now, off to ride mrs. o reilly

edit: it was definitely a christmassy ted, ted opens the door and see's the baby on the doorstep, he goes to pick it up and the mother butts in and asks him directions, he gives her the directions and goes back into the house. mrs. doyle is putting up decorations and falls from the window ledge

"Huh, Protestants. Up to no good as usual"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

"Father Hank Tree. Father Hiroshima Twinkie. Father Stig Bubblecard. Father Johnny Helzapoppin. Father Luke Duke. Father Billy Furley. Father Chewy Louie. Father John Hoop. Father Harry Cakelinem. Father Rabulah Conundrum. Father Pee-wee Stairmaster. Father Tri-Peglips. Father Jemimah Ractoole. Father Jerry Twig. Father Spodo Komodo. Father Canabramalamer. Father Todd Unctious. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

mental07 wrote: »

*punch punch punch punch*

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Agricola wrote: »
    I was on a Ryanair flight into Dublin last year when I spotted Fr. Todd Unctious down in the back seat wearing a trilby. He was trying to blend in but noticed me looking at him and gave me a wry smile. The divil. Who knows how many golden clerics he had in his carry-on bag. :D

In fairness, he was probably more concerned about the weird terrorist looking guy staring right at him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

"And now Jurassic Park, the directors cut... with extra dinosaurs"

"Look at the way he works the altar."

"Ted how did you know I wanted a matador outfit"
    "Well I have noticed those little clues you've been leaving around"
    Camera cuts to outside the house where on the roof is a massive banner with "Ted, please get me a matador costume for Christmas".

Roll on Christmas Eve for the Christmas special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

"They say it's as big as four cats. And it's got a retractable leg so it can leap up at you better. And it lights up at night, and it's got four ears - two of them are for listening and the other two are just kind of backup ears. And its claws are as big as cups, and for some reason it's got a tremendous fear of stamps. And Mrs Doyle was telling me it's got magnets on its tail, so if you're made out of metal it can attach it to you. And instead of a mouth it's got four arses"

I watched A Christmassy Ted the other night, absolutely fantastic.
    I know quite a few people here who've never heard of it :eek: :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

NUNS! NUNS! REVERSE! REVERSE!

"God, Ted. D'you remember that feller who was so good at fashion they had to shoot him?"

TEA? FECK

"Tea?"
    "No no. I have a rare disease whereby if I drink tea I'll die"
    "Ah but you'll have one cup"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

What do you say to a cup of tea

feck off cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    not the place lads, etc...

Thank you for reminding me of the Xmas special, I'm gonna go entertain myself now. :)

Why are you telling us that you're going for a ****?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ride me sideways was another one

It's on tonight at 9 on RTE2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)