Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new to running

• 14-12-2009 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭

As the title says im new to running. I go the gym and mostly light weights and cardio session (crosstrainer, rowing, some treadmill work) but I wanna be able to run, im not talkin running 20km or anything but running 3miles would be a startin point. I got on the treadmill the other day and could barely do 2km. I struggled and I was wrecked, not very nice when your 22 yrs of age!

Im looking for tips and advice on how to improve my distance, and if you guys have any links to running programmes, id be very grateful!

thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

First off, we all struggle at the start unless you've been running all your life. I wouldn't worry about that in the slightest. My first time on the treadmill, I lasted 5 minutes and my colleagues wanted to call an ambulance when I went back to the lab. 12 weeks later I collected my first Dublin City Marathon medal. You'll be amazed how quickly you improve

Second, get good shoes. I really should write a "always wear sunscreen" song with good shoes as the message.

third, the couch to 5 km (http://www.c25k.com/) has a lot to recommend itself for beginners as has any walk/run programme (run until you are out of breath, then walk a bit before starting to run again).

Finally, watch your speed, Have you ever seen Mr Bolt run a mile, no, because he runs really fast! Moderate your pace and you'll get a lot further for your energy buck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Omega28

ye it felt terrible when i couldnt run 2km!
    thanks for the info, ill try that programme u sent me
    I have a decent pair of asics, they cost me 100 euro, i got them in elverys!
    how often should i be running? i try to do 3-4 days a week but my legs n joints feel the pain ha It's really tough at the moment, stamina just isnt there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    ye it felt terrible when i couldnt run 2km!
    thanks for the info, ill try that programme u sent me
    I have a decent pair of asics, they cost me 100 euro, i got them in elverys!
    how often should i be running? i try to do 3-4 days a week but my legs n joints feel the pain ha It's really tough at the moment, stamina just isnt there!

Try not to over do it to start with, enjoy the runnning and increase slowly if you can get out 3 days a week to start with and maybe go for a walk on the others thenbuild up over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭DU.LLAHAN

My first time on the treadmill, I lasted 5 minutes and my colleagues wanted to call an ambulance when I went back to the lab. 12 weeks later I collected my first Dublin City Marathon medal.

Is this right you completed the Dublin City Marathon after just 12 weeks running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

If you stick around and read a bit Dylan you will soon realise that Hunnymunster is not of this earth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

DU.LLAHAN wrote: »
    Is this right you completed the Dublin City Marathon after just 12 weeks running?
    yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭neonman

I'm also new to running I'm using this program only into the second week of it but finding it really good as you build up slowly. Start off with 1 min running 2 min walking repeating 10 times and inbetween the running days you walk for 30 minutes.

Check it out.

http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-261--9397-0,00.html

Neon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

DU.LLAHAN wrote: »

Just picking up on that...

It is pretty mental to attempt to go from a standing start to a marathon in one training cycle but it can be done. I went from pretty much nothing to a marathon in 15 weeks, for example. HM did it in 12 weeks. There was that student who walked this years marathon off no training. I'll bet there are hundreds of examples of that in the DCM every year - people who think "how hard can it be?", launch into a program and just do it.

And if all you want to do is finish, if time isn't a priority, if you are happy to walk parts of it, if you are willing to risk injury and are comfortable with the thought that it will hurt like hell on the day and for days afterwards then why bother with the long, extended lead up?

But just because something *can* be done doesn't mean it *should* be done. Your chances of not making the start line are huge if you don't have a running background prior to marathon training. And it is a miserable experience, soul and body destroying, trying to do a marathon off limited training. And the fact that I came close to doing serious damage to myself doing what I did is one of the reasons I'm so adamant that runners should build to the marathon slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

yes.

This, I did not know :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭DU.LLAHAN

yes.
    It is pretty mental to attempt to go from a standing start to a marathon in one training cycle but it can be done. I went from pretty much nothing to a marathon in 15 weeks, for example. HM did it in 12 weeks. There was that student who walked this years marathon off no training. I'll bet there are hundreds of examples of that in the DCM every year - people who think "how hard can it be?", launch into a program and just do it.

Fair play to ye lads, i think its mental that people would attempt that with only 12 or 15 weeks training. I dont think i would do it with 10 months training alltough its on my to do list