Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where will it all end?

• 13-12-2009 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭

Cut the dole - great idea!

Give bankers carte blanche to do as the like- brilliant!

Lets all start fighting over who is getting what, and what you are not getting- why not!

Watch your work colleagues and report them over minor indiscretions so as you can keep your job!

Blame public servants cos they have security- do they really? What happens when Ireland goes broke!.

The thing is this country is now lacking one big factor, motivation to succeed. Without this we are not going to get out of this mess and this mess is the most serious threat to life as we know it.

When confidence goes, panic rises. What happens next year if the government cant keep confidence in the banking system as the job losses mount and the individuals seep deeper into debt. Then there will be a rush on the banks.

Is your money safe in the Bank? No of course not. Where is it safe? No where really as the thing is when this country goes down the pan an the IMF moves in things will go belly up.

The recession is not just a recession its a depression and the people of Ireland are depressed more then most, although Eastern Europe is a mess , they have no hope there at present.

We lack a strong leader to motivate the people, social unrest is around the corner of that there is no doubt.

I hope I am wrong but I doubt it very much.
    user_online.gifreport.gif post_thanks.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

As with anything else we will muddle through eventually. There will be no social unrest. In the 80s I remember there was nothing going on in this country, there was feck all money in the place and some people literally could not afford to feed their kids. We're in a much better position this time around to get through this period of national whinging - we need to balance the books but that's doable with a couple of reasonably hard budgets.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Motivation to succeed and a strong leader are all fine, but they're no good unless you make the necessary correction to the economy.

For example, a strong leader would have cut the government's finances down to size over 2007/2008 and would have allowed the banks to fail. That is the kind of tough decision that should have been made. The current tough decisions are not actually that tough, but rather the minimum amount of tougness necessary to keep the boat afloat.

Simply wishing we were in a better position will not magically take us there, and not even the governor of California is strong enough a leader to fix our problems.

One more thing - beware false dawns. Getting people's hopes up before time will only set them up for a fall. Confidence will only come when there is something to be confident about. You can't manufacture it, anymore than you could manufacture prudence in the bubble years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

What beggars me, is where we would find such a strong leader.

Linehn has started to make the right noises, but he was ridden bareback by the banks when they appointed their own people in spite of the diktat, when that worm Fitzpatrick was allowed to swan off to the iberian peninsula, in spite of his creative accounting and downright lies, when the decision was made to recapitalise Anglo, and to a lesser degree, the others, when an overly high valuation was laid down on loans by NAMA, when that other odious creep Michael Lynn can sit in Spain in comfort and secure from any fallout, when Cowen himself refuses to take any blame for his role in getting us to where we are, and when Harney herself, despite riding the gravy train in health for years, and without instituting any real benefits, is left there to take the heat off FF?

Make no mistake, Garlic has a long way to go yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

Just reviewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

The natural order of things ensured we got our arses kicked in for being pompus stuck up twats with cheap money...the same natural laws will ensure we achieve a fair return to a sustainable economy over time.
    Its called natural justice!...and mother nature has her hand in economics aswell as the natural world..thats for sure.