Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

G&G gun jamming on certain BBs.

• 13-12-2009 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭

My G&G gun keeps jamming with the 'gunfire' .25g bbs but fires fine with 'devil' .2g bbs. Ive heard that different brands off BBs have slightly different diameters? which should feed well in a G&G gun (sig 550)?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

bb can have slightly different diameters but its more down to the consistency of the bb, the reason why you should only use high quality bbs as your tolerances are going to be a lot smaller with a tight bore

there have been a couple of threads on bbs, but your normal fine with g&g, madbul, never had a problem with excels myself, never used devils myself, but you seem to answer your own question in a way :) alwasy best to go with the best with bbs

the cheaper end bb normal have imperfections, seam lines, oval instead of round and even extra material along with dirt and rubbish in the packaging that can not help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

I'd imagine G&G use G&G BBs when designing and testing their guns and therefore the answer should be obvious enough. Thankfully they're good quality BBs.

What weight and whether bio or non-bio is a matter of taste and site requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Silent Death

I use Excel myself, they never jam on me. Devils are good too, Try around with different brands untill you find the best. If you got a G&G you have the money to get different brands ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Devils are blaster brand, and rather good I find. G&G bbs tend to be larger size diameter than most which is thier way of making them more accurate. Which gfc ones are you using out of interest? Bio or non? Bio are slightly larger.

Not sure how tech minded you are, but check where they jam... you may have too much hopup on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭General Grobel

To Firekitten, The GFCs I tried were non-bio. The odd thing is that they tend to jam when the hop up is off and it double feeds and sometimes it just stops shooting altogether. If I remove the magazine and let a few BBs fall out of the magwell and then reinsert it shoots fine oddly enough, though I'm not happy with the performance when using them.

To Puding, yeah I do realise that I kind of answered my own question but I just wanted to see what other BBs I could use;)

Its an aeg... bbs will nearly always fall out of the magwell when you remove the mag... they are the ones in the feed tube that are unfired.... hence why realcaps feed 26 rounds, not all 30.

This sounds more like a hopup issue than the bbs. The GFC plastic range are some of my favourites for accuracy, so I find it hard to fathom they are causing jams like this... If you're compitent enough, take your hopup out, and make sure the rubber is aligned properly inside the unit... if it gets dragged a little, it will double feed, not fire far, and missfire, eventually leading to it forcing the air nozzle... an big money repairs. Take it down, reassemble, and check the whole hop unit for the correct seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭lochdara

from my experience which isnt so much but enough to comment on this is, dump them gunfire.. spend a few cent more and get a greater distance and better quality bb for your G&G aeg. You cant even get an accurate chrono reading with gunfire.

for bio G&G in hobby airsfort approx €20 for 4000. TnT quality 5000bb for about €16 or 0.25 for €18 ish and they are great. Available at the qualityairsoftsupplies thread and online shop.

Currently fundraising for Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association

In Memory of my fab Wife www.sinsin.ie

lochdara wrote: »
    from my experience which isnt so much but enough to comment on this is, dump them gunfire.. spend a few cent more and get a greater distance and better quality bb for your G&G aeg. You cant even get an accurate chrono reading with gunfire.

for bio G&G in hobby airsfort approx €20 for 4000. TnT quality 5000bb for about €16 or 0.25 for €18 ish and they are great. Available at the qualityairsoftsupplies thread and online shop.

Firstly, theres nothing wrong with gunfire bbs... actually, if hes jamming on those, hes DEFFINATELY going to jam with the larger diameter g&g bbs.. It sounds like a gun problem.

Plus hes using plastic gfc bbs, not the bios you guys use at the club...

As for not being able to get a good crono reading... well, actually, thats bull... I was gobsmacked when I ran the gfc through a SKAN crono I used once and was getting accuracy between shots within a margin of error of 0.1m/s, which to date, trumps most I've tried or cronoed with. so not true... Buy a better quality crono ;)

Also, arent TNT 'quality' bbs rebranded gfc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭lochdara

as i said from my experience plus the opinion of very experienced airsofters on site also.
    My last bbs was G&G. I have used a lot of them. Im told the tnt are excellent quality, regardless of what the brand is.

As for the chrono yeah your right.. there both in the bin...they are crap.

But i used a different chrono too and got differrent readings when using gunfire and g&g.

Thats probably all i can add. He asked a question and I answered. Its not a debate.

Currently fundraising for Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association

In Memory of my fab Wife www.sinsin.ie

lochdara wrote: »
    as i said from my experience plus the opinion of very experienced airsofters on site also.
    My last bbs was G&G. I have used a lot of them. Im told the tnt are excellent quality, regardless of what the brand is.

As for the chrono yeah your right.. there both in the bin...they are crap.

But i used a different chrono too and got differrent readings when using gunfire and g&g.

Thats probably all i can add. He asked a question and I answered. Its not a debate.
    Its a forum... it is a debate, or it would be a quiz show and your name would be Anne Robbinson.

I'm going off memory here, but what with my memory telling me that TNT bbs are GFC in different packages, and gfc being well... gfc...

How can one be crap, in the esteemed view of yourself and the other experienced airsofters down your way, and the same thing, be brilliant? get your story straight.

You are the weakest link... Goodbye

Firekitten wrote: »

The back of the bag has a bioval logo on it iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

My G&G gun keeps jamming with the 'gunfire' .25g bbs but fires fine with 'devil' .2g bbs. Ive heard that different brands off BBs have slightly different diameters? which should feed well in a G&G gun (sig 550)?

Thanks.

Have you tried the gunfire 0.20's as opposed to the 0.25's?
    It's difficult to compare bb performance when you're using 2 different weights.

From personal experience I find brand name bb's usually perform well in their own brand of guns.

Each to their own, some swear by Q-Bullet, other's Blaster, some Excel. Some brands work well with 1 gun and not another. It's trial and error.
    It happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

Firekitten , when you say that a gun jamming on GF will definitely jam on larger BB's , you are wrong.Several of my guns were jamming or double firing on GF and without any alterations or cleaning , but simply replacing with G&G or TNT the guns would work perfect.I for one have thrown out nearly 30,000 GF BB's because of this problem and when nearly everyone you talk to has the same opinion about something , they are usually right.

se conman wrote: »
    Firekitten , when you say that a gun jamming on GF will definitely jam on larger BB's , you are wrong.Several of my guns were jamming or double firing on GF and without any alterations or cleaning , but simply replacing with G&G or TNT the guns would work perfect.I for one have thrown out nearly 30,000 GF BB's because of this problem and when nearly everyone you talk to has the same opinion about something , they are usually right.

They were bio not plastic. Have you tried the plastic one's Keith?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

I personally love GFC BB's. Both bio and non-bio. But I don't really like excels. So its really down to what works in your gun. You may have to try a few different brands to find the one that suits you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭P.K

Thanks.

out of curiosity, where you using mids or hicaps??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

Firstly, theres nothing wrong with gunfire bbs... actually, if hes jamming on those, hes DEFFINATELY going to jam with the larger diameter g&g bbs.. It sounds like a gun problem.

Plus hes using plastic gfc bbs, not the bios you guys use at the club...

As for not being able to get a good crono reading... well, actually, thats bull... I was gobsmacked when I ran the gfc through a SKAN crono I used once and was getting accuracy between shots within a margin of error of 0.1m/s, which to date, trumps most I've tried or cronoed with. so not true... Buy a better quality crono ;)

Its a forum... it is a debate, or it would be a quiz show and your name would be Anne Robbinson.

I'm going off memory here, but what with my memory telling me that TNT bbs are GFC in different packages, and gfc being well... gfc...

How can one be crap, in the esteemed view of yourself and the other experienced airsofters down your way, and the same thing, be brilliant? get your story straight.

You are the weakest link... Goodbye

Have to dissaggree with you there.

Ive tested Bio bbs from plenty of different manufacturers on a couple of different Chronos & i can tell you without a shadow of a doubt that GFC Bios are pure shíte.

The can give readings of up to 30fps lower than a decent quality brand & their effective range is a good 20ft less than most other brands.

The discrepencies between them when measured with a micormeter are ridiculous, id rather uses Q-bullets in my guns & thats saying something.

As for the TNT bbs being a re-brand of the GFCs i can assure you they are not, they are not the same colour, texture or (in)consistancy.
    If you had any experience with them at all youd see that straight away.

I dont know who the manufacturer is but they are of a decent quality & id happily buy them again, unlike GFCs.

Id rather put 3in1 on my hop rubber.

To answer the OPs question, try a few different bbs, see what the gun prefers & stick with them. Learn from your mistakes.
    KSC, G&G, Excells, TNTs are all decent bbs but guns may be fussy especially if running a TB.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

T&T are Bioval made.,

Its an aeg... bbs will nearly always fall out of the magwell when you remove the mag... they are the ones in the feed tube that are unfired.... hence why realcaps feed 26 rounds, not all 30.

This sounds more like a hopup issue than the bbs. The GFC plastic range are some of my favourites for accuracy, so I find it hard to fathom they are causing jams like this... If you're compitent enough, take your hopup out, and make sure the rubber is aligned properly inside the unit... if it gets dragged a little, it will double feed, not fire far, and missfire, eventually leading to it forcing the air nozzle... an big money repairs. Take it down, reassemble, and check the whole hop unit for the correct seat.

I know that bbs are meant to fall out, I never said it was a problem I was just being thorough. The gun jams, I take out mag and reinsert, fires fine. It might be the mag that's the issue here, perhaps too many bbs are pushing into the hop chamber or somthing, I dunno. Im getting new mags and new BBs so Im all set now.

Edit-I also don't think the diameter of the GFCs are the issue here, with the hop up fully off, bbs roll out of the barrel AND jam oddly enough. The devil bbs on the other hand are fine.

P.K wrote: »
    out of curiosity, where you using mids or hicaps??

Im using the standard 30rd midcap at the moment.

Have to dissaggree with you there.

Ive tested Bio bbs from plenty of different manufacturers on a couple of different Chronos & i can tell you without a shadow of a doubt that GFC Bios are pure shíte.

The can give readings of up to 30fps lower than a decent quality brand & their effective range is a good 20ft less than most other brands.

The discrepencies between them when measured with a micormeter are ridiculous, id rather uses Q-bullets in my guns & thats saying something.

As for the TNT bbs being a re-brand of the GFCs i can assure you they are not, they are not the same colour, texture or (in)consistancy.
    If you had any experience with them at all youd see that straight away.

I dont know who the manufacturer is but they are of a decent quality & id happily buy them again, unlike GFCs.

Id rather put 3in1 on my hop rubber.

To answer the OPs question, try a few different bbs, see what the gun prefers & stick with them. Learn from your mistakes.
    KSC, G&G, Excells, TNTs are all decent bbs but guns may be fussy especially if running a TB.
    I disagree with you there... I've used a huge number of bio bbs in my time, and gfc by no means register down there... I apear to be wrong on the TNT front... mind must be playing tricks with me... *sigh* my bad... Although I'd be interested to see your testing process... I saw a great consistency in gfc bio and precision bbs... bioval .2s suck quite badly, though thier .25s run quite nicely...

Out of interest, what are the cronos you're testing all these bbs on? they are more likely to cause inconsistency issues...

to the op: I still think this is mechanical rather than bbs... but buy new mags if you wish.

I disagree with you there... I've used a huge number of bio bbs in my time, and gfc by no means register down there... I apear to be wrong on the TNT front... mind must be playing tricks with me... *sigh* my bad... Although I'd be interested to see your testing process... I saw a great consistency in gfc bio and precision bbs... bioval .2s suck quite badly, though thier .25s run quite nicely...

Out of interest, what are the cronos you're testing all these bbs on? they are more likely to cause inconsistency issues...

to the op: I still think this is mechanical rather than bbs... but buy new mags if you wish.

Test comprised of 100 bbs from each bag, measured in micrometer, put 50 through a fairly consistent AEG & 50 through a spring SVD.
    25 were put through two chronos lined up together, one Madbull & one Xcortech 3200, the other 25 were used to measure 5 shot group sizings @ 25 yards..

I know neither chrono is as accurate as a Skan but they give readings relative to the other bbs used & the out come was that the GFCs scored noticably lower in fps, consistency, accuracy & distance.

The madbull maybe not, but the Xcortech i have compared myself and its spot on.,:)

It could be a magazine jamming issue, I've never used GFC but I know the Raptors I got from RedBarn the first time I went there jammed the hell out of every non-hicap mag I put them in.

Test comprised of 100 bbs from each bag, measured in micrometer, put 50 through a fairly consistent AEG & 50 through a spring SVD.
    25 were put through two chronos lined up together, one Madbull & one Xcortech 3200, the other 25 were used to measure 5 shot group sizings @ 25 yards..

Just curious, was this test on the GFC bio bb's or the plastic ones's?

yeah wouldnt be a big fan of the Madbull now myself, can be inconsistant & tempermental, looks nice thought.:)

Bios but just did a quick fps comparrison between GFC Precission .25 & Excell .25s, both non bios.

50 shots:
    GFC 245-284 fps
    Excells 264-276 fps

That's rather odd... My own tests using gfc precission's got fps variance within 2-5fps... Excel's within 5-10 (smaller diameter bb) Considering that variance is in both your guns frank, ditch the crono or there's something up with your gun.

Well I wont be a patronisingas to wonder what your test consisted of but 264-276 fps witht the Excells would be a varience of 5-10fps.
    chrono was brand new xcortech.

If it was the gun or the chrono that doesnt explain the difference in varience between the GFC but not the Excells.

Got one or two flyers of 190ish fps with the GFC but i discounted them for arguments sake.

If they are so good why arent all the forums alight with rave reviews of this "super accurate 2-5fps varience/margin of error of 0.1m/s bb"?

To be honest I couldnt give a fúck, I know what they're like, players down this way know what they are like, I wouldnt ever use them again, im just trying to give advice on my own personal experiences with them to a chap whos gun is jamming on one particular brand of bb, but if others want to use them, let them off.

No, players down 'your' way, know what the bios are like... I'm not saying that my word is gospel unlike some, Simply pointing out i got different results.

Perhaps this is new to you.. but in academic circles, different results are discussed, and welcomed, It provides scope, and bredth to a study or discussion, allowing a more complete picture to be drawn.

My point is, that using my gun, in a chronograph that is proven precice, my results were different to yours. Not better, not worse, not singing the umpah lumpah song... just different.

Please forgive me if i don't grovel at your feet Frank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

I haven't bothered chrono'ing as there was no point.

I'm a G&G user and GFC bio 25's were a complete fail. I had to empty all my mid caps after 5mins play and refill with another brand. BB's were dropping after 15-20ft. Other players on the same day with GFC got great range. My G&G guns don't like them.

Raptor BB's were even worse. My G&G guns (and other tight bore barrelled guns) jammed instantly with them.

Blaster have the same effect as Raptor in my G&G.

I can use Excel, G&G and now TnT without problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Devils caused me a world of hurt at the Take aim cup, failing in my mp7 and my masada, which indicates they are ****e since my masada and tm use tightbore setups.

Had the same problems with the raptors.

Luckily Biohazard had G&G BB's on hand and they worked fine.

I picked up a bag of gunfire from the shop during the week and was kinda nervous considering id tried their Bio BB's which we utter ****.

They seem to feed fine with hop up intact on the BB but i wont know till im out sunday what they are really like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

TheDoc wrote: »
    Devils caused me a world of hurt at the Take aim cup, failing in my mp7 and my masada, which indicates they are ****e since my masada and tm use tightbore setups.

Had the same problems with the raptors.

Luckily Biohazard had G&G BB's on hand and they worked fine.

I picked up a bag of gunfire from the shop during the week and was kinda nervous considering id tried their Bio BB's which we utter ****.

They seem to feed fine with hop up intact on the BB but i wont know till im out sunday what they are really like.

You're assuming you'll get to fire a single shot on Sunday. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

No idea what your getting yourself into mate

Didn't the IAA Use GFC bbs at Salute and love them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

I do believe they did, as far as I remember on the Sunday not one AEG jammed whilst using them.

I wouldn't say "loved", but they worked ok. Im not entirely sure if they were actually GFC BBs or not though, I tuned up the guns before handing them over the day before and they were working perfectly but they dont have high quality tighter barrels.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭madmaxi

The bb's used at the Salute show were Gunfire plastic bb's and all reports back were that they worked fine with no feeding problem at all.

I gave my G&G MP5 as a rental for the skirmish site that day and it didn't like them, (I didnt know what brand they were until now but they were terrible in mine good gun)., not 100% sure from memory but it had either a a standard G&G barrel or a Madbull black Python in there.

My XM177 was used also with similar problems but not as prevalent as the MP5.

Masada wrote: »
    I gave my G&G MP5 as a rental for the skirmish site that day and it didn't like them, (I didnt know what brand they were until now but they were terrible in mine good gun)., not 100% sure from memory but it had either a a standard G&G barrel or a Madbull black Python in there.

My XM177 was used also with similar problems but not as prevalent as the MP5.

Cheers for the feed back Masada. :) We'll let the lads in GFC know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

ive been playing around trying to figure out what bb will work with my G&G raider. I originally thought it was my mags, until i started reading this thread. I was having problems with my kit jamming but this thread gave me an idea that it was the BB's. So here is my 2 cents -

Raptors -pure cr4p - splatter, jam, etc

Blasters - not too bad, 2.0s where better then 2.5s in my G&G, however, still a bit of jamming/misfiring - worked a little better with some oil, but still jamming mostly.

gunfire - lots of jaming on 2.5's - brand new pack - sickened!

today, i tried G&G 2.5 and not a single jam or misfire. they were such a dream to use.

I will be melting a full pack of 2.5 Gunfire, a bottle of raptors and a bottle of 2.0 blasters or if someone wants them, just shout - they are yours. To be honest, I felt really confident playing with the G&G BBs - i knew my gun would shoot when I pressed the trigger.

I'm not saying other brands wont be fine, but for me - G&G all the way.

Eric

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

I found raptors were grand in my MP5k but then again that gun would feed anything successfully- even the yellow .12g ones with visible seams... I currently use .2 and .25 G&G BBs in my guns, but am going getting some .28 Blaster or some thing like that to test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

After re-reading my own and several other posts , I think it needs to be said that while several posters including myself have had problems with GF Bio BB's , the problem is with the BB's and not any suppliers.It is all down to personal experiences and if I don't like GF , I won't use them , but if they work OK for someone else , then that is great for them.
    P.S. I still think they are crap.LOL

Today found G&G .20s worked perfectly in a absolutely ****ed M4 at GTAC 2. They also worked perfectly in a TM MP5SD with Guarder Hop and Prommy tightbore. LOL mid game I had to hinge off the upper to clear a jam caused by the gearbox getting stuck (gearbox is ****ed) and the entire highcap emptied through where the air nozzle loading doodad is located. I laughed so much! It was hilarious! Then had to reload mag... Oh Corrib Tackle has Blasters in stock apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Would using the 'wrong' type of BB in my gun cause my recent problems with mis-firing, double feeds, jamming etc???

Yes. Different guns like different type of BB. What gun you using, and what BBs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Phractal wrote: »
    Yes. Different guns like different type of BB. What gun you using, and what BBs?

I have a stock 416.

I'm using a mix of Blaster .2 & .25 along with store 'own brand' .2 & .25.

I would say the own brand are causing the jams... No offense meant to the store. But Blaster happen to be very reliable in my experience. Try some G&G .2 and .25s in it- they should not cause problems. Or put a wrap of tape around the mag where it seats into the magwell- it helps provide a more snug fit and in my experience helps STANAG weapons feed far more reliably.

Got new mags, All my BBs feed but the GFCs still feck up every now and then for some reason.