Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PIN has been changed (and i didn't do it)

• 13-12-2009 1:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

Ok i need some help, sorry but i posted this in the banking section but this place gets more people in.

I was trying to take out money today but there was a message saying incorrect pin entered. I am 110% sure i did not mix up any digits or anything and i never forget my pin number.

I rang the 24 hour banking and got through and they said that the only message that was coming up for them that i entered the wrong pin number 5 times which i did at 2 different pass machines. I went to a second pass machine when there first one didn't work.

Help! What happened here? I am with AIB and went to a bank of ireland and ulster bank machine to take out money. Is there a new thing that i can't take out money from other bank's machines or what?

Has my card been copied? I still have money in the account. Nothing has been taken out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It was me, I changed it for the craic! Sorry! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Your bf's a thief? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Atwork

lisajane wrote: »
    Ok i need some help, sorry but i posted this in the banking section but this place gets more people in.

I was trying to take out money today but there was a message saying incorrect pin entered. I am 110% sure i did not mix up any digits or anything and i never forget my pin number.

I rang the 24 hour banking and got through and they said that the only message that was coming up for them that i entered the wrong pin number 5 times which i did at 2 different pass machines. I went to a second pass machine when there first one didn't work.

Help! What happened here? I am with AIB and went to a bank of ireland and ulster bank machine to take out money. Is there a new thing that i can't take out money from other bank's machines or what?

Has my card been copied? I still have money in the account. Nothing has been taken out.

cancel the card straight away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

I am 110% sure i did not mix up any digits or anything and i never forget my pin number.

You don't seem that great with numbers in fairness...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭lisajane

Can i have some serious answers please? Im really worried. But can the shower of bastards that use atm skimming, change pin numbers or what? Should i cancel the card to be safe anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Can i have some serious answers please? Im really worried. But can the shower of bastards that use atm skimming, change pin numbers or what? Should i cancel the card to be safe anyway?
    Yes cancel it asap. Better to be safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Atwork

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

I can't imagine skimmers would go the bother of changing your pin.
    It would just alert you to a problem.
    I hope it's just some glitch in the banks system but best cancel as previously advised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

This is AH...

We tried to get a 17 year old laid with someone much older.....

Cancelling is the best option, but the bank should be helping you on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Yup, cancel the card.

Depending on how little your bank cares about you, you should get a replacement in about 2-3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,815 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Just cancel it, they'll send you a new one in the next few days. No biggie. You can go into the bank to take out money if you need it. Bring your bank details and ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Cancel it immediately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

cancel the card and break it in half so its 100% useless most banks have an emergency number you can contact on a sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

wudangclan wrote: »
    I can't imagine skimmers would go the bother of changing your pin.
    It would just alert you to a problem.
    I hope it's just some glitch in the banks system but best cancel as previously advised.
    unless of course theyve already cleaned the account and just wish to act like gobshytes.

Contact your bank's theft department Immediately.
    of course they can change your number! When they skim your card, they can get an exact copy of the card, and when they have your pin! They have your Pin! Its as simple as that. As far as the ATM is concerned, they are you. They can do whatever the hell they want with your money and your card and your pin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

OP, please cancel the card. It's better to be safe than sorry. I recently had to cancel my card, and the replacement only took 3 days to arrive.

It could be a new scam that the banks haven't caught on to yet, and if they do everybody will be alerted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No ifs, buts or waiting, cancel the card right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

What's with all the serious answers? This is AH, poor show lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Put the card in an envelope and send it to the prince of nigeria.

Seriously... Its very unlikly scammer's would do this and not take money out. See the reply in banking and insurance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Don't cancel the card. The thief could need the money to pay for emergency surgery of the forehead.

Give it a few more weeks until after Christmas and then cancel the card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Whatever happens, it's either the Governments, the Public Services or the Banks fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Go on the shoulder surfing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

OP this happened to me only about 2 weeks ago. I am with Bank of Ireland and I was sure that I didn't enter the wrong PIN. I went into them about it and they just reset the PIN for me. Nothing has been taken from my account. It is weird though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

****ing hell, that's scary!

Let us know how you get on OP. Hope it works out :eek: :eek: :confused:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Anyone skimming a card would have no need to change a pin number.
    You've gone and forgotten your pin is what you've done. No shame in it. I did it myself. But it ain't gonna be anything more sinister than that. Unless of course you have another personality that kicks in when you think you're sleeping. But if that's the case I presume you'll be so busy with fight club for the next while that you probably won't need that card anyway so I'd just cancel it. Or blow up the bank building. Also a good idea to start listening to the Pixies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

am..... do you work in public service..?? Because I think thats one of the lesser mentioned policies in the new budget........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭lisajane

MizzLolly wrote: »
    ****ing hell, that's scary!

Let us know how you get on OP. Hope it works out :eek: :eek: :confused:

I think i am getting alzeimers. It turns out i really did forget my PIN, got the digits in the wrong order. But i was full sure i hadn't forgot it. It worked fine the day before and then i just forgot. How can that happen? Oh the shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I think i am getting alzeimers. It turns out i really did forget my PIN, got the digits in the wrong order. But i was full sure i hadn't forgot it. It worked fine the day before and then i just forgot. How can that happen? Oh the shame.

You know you could have stuck with the skimming story or said it was a technical fault at the atm to save face.

Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Its a good excuse but it I've heard it before.

I want me tenner back....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

DoubleFacePalm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Pass machine noob :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

:( aw no offense but I was waiting for a WAY more exciting ending!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Thread fail. Could you just delete your post and make up a more entertaining conclusion to this whole sorry saga?