Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Romanians stealing bank cards!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

It just said Romanian, No mention of gypsy at all. Anyways, no matter what race you are, this is just beyond wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/three-charged-in-connection-with-stolen-debit-card-spending-spree-437578.html

She spent 40,000 on some old womans laser card??

They probably paid for the house with money from their 'jobs'. :mad::mad::mad:
    How did they get the pin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Who the fúck keeps 40,000€ in their current account? Seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

shoulder surfing ... according to the article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

As quoted in article
    Gardaí have claimed a gang operated a so-called shoulder surfing scam – mostly targeting an older woman – by taking note of the shopper’s PIN number at supermarket checkouts as they paid for goods.

“They then approach their target in the supermarket car park and cause a distraction while an accomplice steals the card from the lady’s handbag,” said a garda spokesman.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/three-charged-in-connection-with-stolen-debit-card-spending-spree-437578.html#ixzz0ZPWeA4dl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

trout wrote: »
    Damn my laziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

She spent 40,000 on some old womans laser card??

They probably paid for the house with money from their 'jobs'. :mad::mad::mad:

Unless the woman usually splashed out thousands at a time, there's no excuse as to why the bank didn't spot an anomaly and disable the card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

trout wrote: »

That old lady must have been strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

i strongly believe we need to throw out the feckers who commit offences like this.

ie. foreign nationals who commit crimes in this country should be barred from the country.

Irish Nationals who commit crimes like this should be locked up (for lengthy sentences - with little or no luxuries .... no sky TV, Internet, etc)

The judicial system doesn't actually see the physical and mental trauma that victims suffer when they are the victims of crime....the vast majority of judges in this country dont know what happens to victims of crime - how they are treated by gardai and how they are treated by emergency services ? psychiatrists, psychologists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Anyone surprised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Here's a question - if I'm withdrawing cash, and I think someone is too close to me, I'll say loudly and politely "Would you mind stepping back until I'm finished please?"

If you were 3rd or 4th in a queue, and you felt that the second person was shoulder surfing, would you say anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Easy there Mister Cowen.

Thoie wrote: »
    Here's a question - if I'm withdrawing cash, and I think someone is too close to me, I'll say loudly and politely "Would you mind stepping back until I'm finished please?"

If you were 3rd or 4th in a queue, and you felt that the second person was shoulder surfing, would you say anything?

yes .... have not accused anyone of shoulder surfing but have shouted give the girl/guy some room.

as for the first part - I use one hand to cover the pinpad and second hand to press the digits - so pretty hard to see my pin - this includes using my laser card in shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

PCPhoto wrote: »
    i strongly believe we need to throw out the feckers who commit offences like this.

ie. foreign nationals who commit crimes in this country should be barred from the country.

Irish Nationals who commit crimes like this should be locked up (for lengthy sentences - with little or no luxuries .... no sky TV, Internet, etc)

The judicial system doesn't actually see the physical and mental trauma that victims suffer when they are the victims of crime....the vast majority of judges in this country dont know what happens to victims of crime - how they are treated by gardai and how they are treated by emergency services ? psychiatrists, psychologists.

Prison cells have sky tv and internet? Feck that, I'm off to rob an old lady!

dlofnep wrote: »
    Prison cells have sky tv and internet? Feck that, I'm off to rob an old lady!

not in the cells - but they have communal areas - with computers (with internet as far as I know)

as for TV ..... I've been told they have access to most channels...but are restricted in viewing times.

I've said it on other threads - convicted criminals shouldn't qualify for dole money (or should get reduced payments) ..... however another poster argued that this would only further push them into crime and their criminal career.

my personal opinions are that repeat offenders (criminals) should be dealt with properly - sentencings should be a lot tougher and there should be NO remission,

FFS how can a criminal automatically get good behaviour reduced off their sentence - 20% taken off - for not causing hassle in prison (yet its still taken off for those that are convicted of crimes while in prison..ie. Mountjoy rioters/St Pats Rioters.... each of these criminals release dates were not changed before/after the riots)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭freelancerTax

is it just me or did my post just disappear??

i noticed that too - should have been in between my posts.... infact my post was kind of a response to yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

In Castlebar there were some Romanian girls shoulder surfing to drunk young lads then offering them cheap BJ's. Whilst performing the act the wallet would easily be swiped

They're as cute as aul nick I tells ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭freelancerTax

my disappearing post.....
    their dole should be stopped for a start.......
    then ship em back to whatever rock they crawled out from
    at least in castlebar you get a cheap bj for your cash, that auld wan got nothing in return!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

well, i do, but it's just resting there, honestly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Unless the woman usually splashed out thousands at a time, there's no excuse as to why the bank didn't spot an anomaly and disable the card

They were probably clever enough to use the card over a weekend, and in places with a high enough floor limit to get away with the card not being queried before everything reporting to the account on the Monday morning.

Thankfully the banks have all changed how Laser cards debit an account now anyway, so it wouldn't work these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

dar83 wrote: »
    Thankfully the banks have all changed how Laser cards debit an account now anyway, so it wouldn't work these days.

I wouldn't be too sure about that. This case is only recent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Well the change only came in recently enough, because of things like this. ;)
    But it debits the Balance of the current account when the transaction is processed, which is not what used to happen. Thats how getting away with stuff like this was possible over weekends.