Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people on the dole

• 11-12-2009 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

should these people be made work a few hours a week in order to get the dole. i often think they should be made go out and brush up the streets or fill up the pot holes or go visit old people sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

But how would they get all their nixers done then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

riverstick wrote: »
    go visit old people sometimes.
    lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

You mean they'd be working in the public sector like the street cleaners, old people nurses, and help the council maintain roads, in order to earn a wage, in this case the dole?

You do realise that that's a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

First off who are exactly are 'these people' ? All the unemployed?

Big difference between someone who has avoided work for 15 years and someone who has been made redundant and is now unemployed for the first time their life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

should these people be made work a few hours a week in order to get the dole. i often think they should be made go out and brush up the streets or fill up the pot holes or go visit old people sometimes.

Much prefer if they would brush up the pot holes or fill up the old people or go visit the streets sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Power-surge

I know plenty of decent people who lost their jobs in the recession, and would tell you where to go with your suggestion. Would you go sweep the streets of your local town if you lost your job in order to get the dole?? would you f*ck!! Pointless thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

business in pubs on monday's and wednesday's is already down. if they were made to clean the streets the pubs would be double fucked, and the monday club would be a thing of the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

No. They should be organised into crack vigilante squads tasked with hunting down people who post imbecilic threads and beating them to a pulp. They should be paid bonus dole for their trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Noelisgod

What a tosser - 'they' could be you next year riverstick - happy new year;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

OP have you not been paying attention lately? Did you not read the Butterfly Effect thread?

Can you tell me what do you think would happen to the people already working the jobs you mentioned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joePC

+1 :rolleyes:

PRSI (Social Insurance)

"Sweep the streets" - meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Are you going to come and sweep the streets too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Feckin people on the dole :mad:............. *shakes fist*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 carey

touchy subject at the moment, the doles not just for layabouts anymore and job seekers allowance cut too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Must resist calling the OP a trolling idiot, must resist...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

Whatever about being made to, do you not think there is something to be said for something like this at community levels, such as odd jobs about the place; preparation for tidy towns etc
    I'm sure people who find themselves suddenly out of work would find it de-motivating waiting for the economy to pick up, at least helping the local community would be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

visit old people sometimes.

Them feckers have loads of cash under their beds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Yes, perhaps they could be given the tricky task of teaching basic grammar, sentence structure and capitalisation to semi-literate imbeciles. :)

(Apologies if English isn't your first language)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

I'm on the dole, I'd love to do some volunteering, but I'm not allowed :( I asked in the Social Welfare office and was told that I wouldn't be available for and actively seeking work if I was volunteering.

As for sweeping streets, apart from the butterfly effect, I can see an argument for this if someone has been on jobseekers for ten years and hasn't managed to get a job, but OP, I think you lost the argument by generalising wildly. There are lots of people on the dole now that really really don't want to be there, we spend our time trying to get work and our jobseekers payment is basically claiming on the social insurance that we've been paying into for years.

I truly hope that you don't find yourself unemployed, I wouldn't wish it on anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Ara sure fuck it, while where at it we might aswell gas everyone thats on the dole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jesus, I thought mods locked troll threads and banne trolls for this?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ebmma

My dole is 22 quid a week. Should I sweep the streets less than somebody on 100+? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Thats a great idea, lets give the people on the Dole Jobs.

riverstick for Taoiseach.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Jesus, I thought mods locked troll threads and banne trolls for this?

I thought posters reported posts that they had a problem with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

Please don't lock this thread I need someone posting something stupid to be angry about today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭dragonbet

djk1000 wrote: »
    I'm on the dole, I'd love to do some volunteering, but I'm not allowed :( I asked in the Social Welfare office and was told that I wouldn't be available for and actively seeking work if I was volunteering.

Why not go see your local tidy towns commitee, or the samaritans or whichever charity operates locally, using the Social Welface Offices quote is just a way of justifying your lack of effort and saying that you "would love to do some volunteering"..... I cant see the guards raiding Oxfam to drag the volunteers before the courts for benefit fraud....!! Get real

Cadiz wrote: »
    Please don't lock this thread I need someone stupid to be angry with today :(

Attack the post, not the poster.

Folks it's Friday, I would prefer not to have to ban or infract anyone so:

No back seat modding
    No calling people trolls, report the posts.
    No insulting posters, comment on the posts.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭hacked

I genuinely think there's some merit to what OP is saying. I don't think it's fair to make people work for the DOLE. But i dont know, say long term social welfare claimers (depending on their situation and ability of course) could do a bit of community service to help out.

I've been on social welfare for over a year now, and if I wasn't pregnant wouldn't mind doing a bit of volunteering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

Actually they should spend their time looking for work, after all thats why its called 'jobseekers' benefit/allowance not Public Service Benefit/allowance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

They say you cant legislate for stupidy but if ever there was a case to at least try, riverstick has just proven it.
    I have a good job in the private sector and still struggle to survive daily ,every day I thank god/superman for that job and hope I never become a smug git.
    When and if things do change we are all only 3 mortgage payments/rent payments from the street . They will come after us .
    Pride is obviously something Riverstick doesn't understand and knows the price of everything and value of nothing .

You have a very interesting idea OP, one that could do with a little bit of work but it certainly is interesting.

Folks the OP was not trolling IMHO. However due to the timing of the thread it might be best if the thread was closed for now.

Thanks.