Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exam Timetables

• 10-12-2009 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭

I noticed on the academic calender
    http://www.dcu.ie/timetables/ac_08_09.shtml
    it says
    SEMESTER 1 EXAMINATIONS Mon 19 Jan - Fri 30 Jan

That leaves ****loads of time to study is that for all courses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Yeah, and the timetables are up on your portal page now.

I've none till the 25th :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Got the one on Wednesday 20th, continuous assessment all the way!

*don't hit me*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've no exams :cool:

*tries to take the heat off Daysha*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Got a very handy timetable myself this year, exam on the 19th and 20th then 3 day gaps between the next two \o/ Lots of cramming time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭BogMonkey

Only 2 exams came up on my portal page they're both semester 1 modules do you only do 1 exam for the year long modules at the end of the year? With that much time to study for just 2 tests I'm sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

BogMonkey wrote: »
    Only 2 exams came up on my portal page they're both semester 1 modules do you only do 1 exam for the year long modules at the end of the year? With that much time to study for just 2 tests I'm sorted.

do you go to any classes?

they usually tell you when exams are on...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I've 4 exams, 20th, 21st, 22nd and 28th.

Great craic

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

podge57 wrote: »
    do you go to any classes?

they usually tell you when exams are on...
    Rarely. I go to the tutorials and labs but don't go to the lectures much because I can learn 5 times as much in an hour by just reading the books. I'll go to them next week and see what the crack is though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Kenny_G

BogMonkey wrote: »
    Rarely. I go to the tutorials and labs but don't go to the lectures much because I can learn 5 times as much in an hour by just reading the books.

I'm more or less the same, I end up losing interest in lectures but I can study better by myself.

Kenny_G wrote: »
    I'm more or less the same, I end up losing interest in lectures but I can study better by myself.
    Yeah sitting in front of a computer with wikipedia and google open while your reading the book is a much more effective method of learning isn't it. On top of that you can find lectures on about anything on youtube which beats actually being at the lecture cuz you don't get to rewind the lecturer when you miss something in real life. Fair play to MIT for putting all their courseware online
    http://www.youtube.com/user/MIT
    http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/web/home/home/index.htm
    the only other college I've found that does that is Berkeley
    http://www.youtube.com/user/ucberkeley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭DeadMoney

I have 4 but I should have 5 (got exempt from one :) ). Timetable looks pretty nice, have a good week off in between the first and last 2. Finding it damn hard to get stuck in to study though with all this xmas buzz. So many drinking sessions and reunions, think I just have to face facts that I'm gonna get **** all done until after xmas when things die down. Should be enough time though to get busy with study. Best of luck to ye all and have a happy xmas!