Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 Months for Dancing on top of the Fountain in Cark

• 10-12-2009 8:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭

3 months seems a bit harsh considering the length of other sentences for other very serious crimes, but he did resist arrest and the had to bring down and pay for a fire truck to get him down. But sure he's only having a bit of dance, like...

So legend or Idiot?

Not as impressive attempt:

Legend or Idiot 52 votes

Legend
    0% 0 votes
    Idiot
    30% 16 votes
    Cork is Awesome
    69% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Dont really give a god damn about that gobs&^te on top of the fountain, the first vid though was fairly well made though! :p

My opinion.....idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

That's a great fuckin Song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

VERY harsh sentence in fairness, I know a girl who got 4 month for assaulting 2 guards, resisting arrest and a few other charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

he gets 3 months for having a laugh and child abusing catholic scum get off scot free
    makes sense:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Yes, Cork is awesome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Harsh sentence but yet he is an idiot so hard to feel sorry for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Lizzzard

Complete gobsihte, deserves what he got. With the amount of drunk idiots on the streets its about time someone got locked up for carrying on like this. Hope he's having the worst time of his life inside haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

haha beat that Bollocko!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

You serious?

People are always in that stupid fountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

I think its the appropriate sentence that that carry on should receive but I also think its well harsh in comparison with the lenient sentences handed down to those convicted of more serious crimes.

I love the second video though, it is quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Langer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Hope they're not that strict right here in Galway or dr.bollocko's fucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Think a fine would have been more appropriate. He didn't hurt anyone, just cost the state a few shillings. Now, by locking him up, he's going to cost the state a few more!

OP, is there a link to this story? Is there a background we're not aware of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

He repeatedly exposed himself as well, pulling down the front of his underwear to show off his junk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I hate drunk* people.

* stupid idiots who drunk too much drink drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

dotsman wrote: »
    Think a fine would have been more appropriate. He didn't hurt anyone, just cost the state a few shillings. Now, by locking him up, he's going to cost the state a few more!

No link i can find as of yet but apparently TodayFM are reporting he got 3 months.

Happened last Saturday night as far as i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I have a scar on my hand from being pushed into the fountain on Grand parade - I put my hand down to stop getting wet and it was cut by broken glass..... the guy is an idiot - and a drunken one at that.

Everyone loves having a laugh - but making an a$$ of yourself is the second lowest way of getting a laugh (the lowest being sarcasm).

if he wants to behave like that then its his perrogative - but he doesnt have to annoy/show off in front of others....would he do the same if there was no-one around (assuming he was still drunk).

Actually now that you say it, its very convient that their are very well placed high quality cameras placed up on buildings and in the crowd...me thinks this was pre-planned.

Nice song tho which they have to be given credit for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

source?

He didn't get three months for dancing on the fountain.

He was sentenced for exposing himself in public and engaging in conduct likely to lead to a breach of the peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

My guess is he has a less than clean history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

he is an idiot.the guy who made the first youtube video is a legend however.Three months is too harsh but the judge is probably making an example of the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

He didn't hurt anyone but I can understand why he was given a harsh sentence. There are far too many drunk idiots about the place who have little or no respect for the law. You can't do whatever you want when you want. He made a nusiance of himself and now he's paying the price. Yes it may cost the state more money but it's making a statement. Hopefully it'll deter other people from acting like prats.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Is there any source for this story OP?
    I wouldn't give him 3 months for that. Maybe an infraction or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Thrill wrote: »

He was sentenced for exposing himself in public and engaging in conduct likely to lead to a breach of the peace.
    But that's not a good AH thread title, is it?

Is there any source for this story OP?
    I wouldn't give him 3 months for that. Maybe an infraction or something.

Only heard it through word of mouth at the moment that it was reported on TodayFM...nothing on the Evening Echo or Irish Examiner websites as of yet.

Getting a little nervous are we?

EDIT: The story is supposedly on page 3 of today's examiner.

Hazys wrote: »
    Only heard it through word of mouth at the moment that it was reported on TodayFM...nothing on the Evening Echo or Irish Examiner websites as of yet.

It's in the paper version of the evening echo. It says...
    "Cooke was bare chested and he dropped his trousers. He was wearing red underpants. He pulled down the front of this several times, exposing his penis to the crowd of 300 to 400 people.

He also bent over and exposed his buttocks to the crowd. He washed the centre part of his buttocks." Garda sargent Aidan O' Connell told the court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

some lad through a egg from a car blinded a women in one eye and got a fine...,the women refused to accept any apology or compo from the guy, so the judge just made him pay it to charity. the sentence for the above malarky was so harsh because he disobeyed a police order, judge always put the police above people's wellfare

EDIT: The story is supposedly on page 3 of today's examiner.

Nervous is for pussies.

It's in the paper version of the evening echo. It says...

Does it confirm the sentence of 3 months?

Yep...
    He jailed Cooke for three months for exposing himself in public and engaging in conduct likely to lead to a breach of the peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Nervous is for pussies.

real men get naked at the spire in dublin:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Was that last Saturday night? I saw a guy do the same but I saw no Santa hat, scarf, umbrella or indecent exposure, someone definitely did it though! He was up there ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Lia_lia wrote: »
    You serious?

People are always in that stupid fountain.
    Yep, constantly... so there's obviously more to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭omerin

typo on the poll leg end or idiot. i'd vote him a leg end.

harsh sentence though, i would have got him to clean the fountain ...... with a toothbrush

real men get naked at the spire in dublin:pac:

Real men laugh at sailors.
    /glares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Don't be worrying ,Doc.
    The judges in Galway are much more lenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

people are always on top of the fountain, I just assumed that's what it was there for. To be fair, it's only asking for trouble where it is, it should move down the road a bit.
    3 months, ridiculous.
    Cork IS awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My buddy saw this last weekend and emailed me the link to the youtube vid.

Three months is FCUKING crazy. Absolutely ridiculous.

People with child porn on their pc's, people being convicted of rape and people in possession of large quantities of drugs are getting suspended sentences FFS.

Judge must have been on his period or something.

A fine would have been more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Don't worry about it Dr. B, I'll pay the Prison Officers to provide some lube while you're locked up :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

I think Dr.Bollocko is paying people on boards to post about people getting done in galway so he can get out of it:D

**MODS- feel free to put this in the conspiracy forum?**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

Two things came to mind when I watched the video, first I assumed this was in the summer and can't believe it was last week, he must have been frozen to the bone.

Secondly, he can't have been all that drunk to maintain his balance as well as he did, especially when he dropped his trousers round his ankles.

Gob****e, but the sentance was harsh when you see the bastards that walk free.

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    I think Dr.Bollocko is paying people on boards to post about people getting done in galway so he can get out of it:D

**MODS- feel free to put this in the conspiracy forum?**

You all think I'm gonna pussy out of it.
    You obviously don't know me well enough.