Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Union bullying.

• 09-12-2009 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭

Second year student here. After paying my registration fees this year I noticed an extra charge, €38, which I apparently owe. Enquiring in the Registry, I was informed that this additional amount is the subscription fee for the DCU Students Union. I do not wish to be a member of this organisation for my own reasons, so I told them I would not be paying this fee.
    The situation came to a head when last week DCU put a financial block on my account and barred my access from the campus computer network, DCU's email service and Moodle (none of these facilities are operated by, funded by or affiliated with the SU).
    I was told that my access to these services would not be released until I paid the SU registration fee, and furthermore I had incurred a 'late fee' of approximately €150 additional to the SU subscription.
    Is anyone else outraged that DCU's Student Union forces you to join whether you want to or not? Not only is this unconstitutional (the constitution enshrines our right to associate or disassociate with any union we wish), but it is illegal under the employment equality acts! Any organisation which resorts to extortion to bolster it's membership is not an organisation I wish to be part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

rigumagoo wrote: »
    Second year student here. After paying my registration fees this year I noticed an extra charge, €38, which I apparently owe. Enquiring in the Registry, I was informed that this additional amount is the subscription fee for the DCU Students Union. I do not wish to be a member of this organisation for my own reasons, so I told them I would not be paying this fee.
    The situation came to a head when last week DCU put a financial block on my account and barred my access from the campus computer network, DCU's email service and Moodle (none of these facilities are operated by, funded by or affiliated with the SU).
    I was told that my access to these services would not be released until I paid the SU registration fee, and furthermore I had incurred a 'late fee' of approximately €150 additional to the SU subscription.
    Is anyone else outraged that DCU's Student Union forces you to join whether you want to or not? Not only is this unconstitutional (the constitution enshrines our right to associate or disassociate with any union we wish), but it is illegal under the employment equality acts! Any organisation which resorts to extortion to bolster it's membership is not an organisation I wish to be part of.

DCU is rife with this ****e. The SU is probably the worst in the country. I couldnt take anymore of the place, I got the **** out, Transferred to DIT, much better set up.
    Unfortunatley you will have to pay it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

pay the money or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Sounds funny....but you should talk to the Students Union. Simply tell them you're not interested, I'm sure they'll help if they can.
    Registration aren't know for their helpfulness, but try to get to talk to someone.
    You realize you may be inhibited from attending events/bar nights etc. unless someone brings you as a guest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Ah, another one these posts. This issue has come up before way back in 2005 (link here) and unfortunately for you, the replies will more than likely be in a similar vein.

Just to reiterate so...
    • The €38 which makes up the capitation fee goes towards paying for SU, SPC and SCC related costs. Are you saying you won't be going to any events in DCU, haven't joined any club or society and don't wish to use the facilities in the Hub?

• It is not unconstitutional.

Oh and Kona, nice jump from not liking the SU to it having a detrimental effect on your eduction to having to leave the college. Please keep this debate on topic. Any attempt to derail it will result in the usual action.

gizmo wrote: »

Oh and Kona, nice jump from not liking the SU to it having a detrimental effect on your eduction to having to leave the college. Please keep this debate on topic. Any attempt to derail it will result in the usual action.

Detrimental? Im on course for a much better degree from DIT as a result. I also said DCU as a whole is full of ****e, SU is a part of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

kona wrote: »
    Detrimental? I also said DCU as a whole is full of ****e

That explains the smell then.

Totally going DIT now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

In fairness the SU is a comlete joke. Everything seems to be for their benefit. USI anyone?

Other than the whole USI thing though, The Mezz moving to it's new location not far from Mr.Keegan's office seems to have only suited one person, imo...

mehfesto2 wrote: »
    In fairness the SU is a comlete joke. Everything seems to be for their benefit. USI anyone?

Other than the whole USI thing though, The Mezz moving to it's new location not far from Mr.Keegan's office seems to have only suited one person, imo...
    I'm not sure whether you're trying to be funny or just trolling but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

The SU is not a joke in any shape or form, just because you have not found them useful doesn't mean they are useless. This has been brought up countless times before and refuted an equal number of times. I suggest you go through old threads to see the reasoning behind this. Even from someone looking in from the outside though, this years SU seem to have been doing great work especially with regards getting the bar back up and running.

What do you mean "USI anyone?" ? Are you saying we should rejoin? Do you know why we left in the first place? Are you aware it would the cost the student body more (via an increased capitation fee) to join?

Bringing the Mezz into it is silly as this is/was a CSD project and had nothing to do with the SU. If you want to know why it has been moved then I'd suggest asking them about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

So the SU is a joke this year?

Anyone been to the bar this year? like it better last year before the current SU?
    Am not a huge fan of the SU tbh but they did deliver with the bar and I'm thankful for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭rigumagoo

bubbleking wrote: »
    pay the money or GTFO

get out of here alan keegan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

According to the thread title, the SU are bullies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

kona wrote: »
    Detrimental? Im on course for a much better degree from DIT as a result. I also said DCU as a whole is full of ****e, SU is a part of this.

OT, but what faculty did you move to? No need for specifics, but was it science-y?

For the SU to work in both bad times and good, it's necessary for its funding to be mandatory. No point have to build up an SU from scratch every few years when a big event/occurance/incident requires a representative body for the students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭JennaJameson

I don't think the bar is enough to carry the Union. I'm not saying they haven't done any good anywhere else in campus, I'm just saying one victory doesn't make the whole Union a success.

rigumagoo wrote: »
    get out of here alan keegan

LOL if you wernt such a tight arse you wouldnt be stuck for an extra €150. now calling me Alan Keegan really hurt but im sure the €183 that you will EVENTUALLY pay will hurt more.

sunnyjim wrote: »
    OT, but what faculty did you move to? No need for specifics, but was it science-y?

Engineering.
    sunnyjim wrote: »
    For the SU to work in both bad times and good, it's necessary for its funding to be mandatory. No point have to build up an SU from scratch every few years when a big event/occurance/incident requires a representative body for the students.

Thats true, but the students aint getting value for money and IMO, the current SU in DCU wouldnt be missed.
    Then again it could just be me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Your a bit of a whinger. Because of your bad experiences with DCU its now a ****e college and we should all move to DIT.

I dont study engineering, but many people have told me that employers take very kindly to DCU engineering graduates, moreso than other rival colleges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 PixyChick

Why are the anti-SU threads or those that just question the SU always taken off topic by those who attack the individuals rather than the topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

gizmo wrote: »
    I'm not sure whether you're trying to be funny or just trolling but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

He posts something you don't agree with so you throw in a sly little 'troll' dig? Real nice that :rolleyes:

I will say this regarding the relocating of the Mez. I used to go there every once in a while last year in the restaurant, really handy location and me and a few lads spent a good few hours collapsed on the couch playing some Xbox just taking it easy.

The first time I went back there this year, in the Hub, was the middle of October. I'm not going to name names, but let's just say a certain SU member wasn't particularly fond of us staying there. Don't ask me what his/her problem was; the place was open and we were the only ones there. Of course I'm not going into details but I haven't been back since.

I have my own issues with this years SU in general as well, none of which I would dream of discussing here though.

I don't think the bar is enough to carry the Union. I'm not saying they haven't done any good anywhere else in campus, I'm just saying one victory doesn't make the whole Union a success.

Quite true, however some of the posters feel that in the what, nearly 3 months they've been in power, they're supposedly a joke. My point is, with the semester not even finished they've managed to do something which most people doubt they would be able to do. In fact, if I remember correctly most people rubbished the claims that they'd be able to do anything about the bar around election time. See, it's sometimes nice to be proved wrong. :)

And yes, Leif_Erikson is correct. While I didn't do Engineering myself I do know that both the Computing and Engineering courses are highly regarded by employers in general. Now, while you may have had bad experiences Kona that doesn't mean the college or your course is in any way ****e.
    Daysha wrote: »
    He posts something you don't agree with so you throw in a sly little 'troll' dig? Real nice that :rolleyes:
    Not in the slightest actually, his post made absolutely no sense if considered logically therefore my next assumption was that he was simply joking and/or trolling. I'm also sure the rest of my post outlined the reasoning behind this so I'm not sure what the problem is.

Anyway, back on topic please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Gman1

The SU is a joke, its run by a tight group of people and only they really benefit from it. Money is wasted on such meaningless things and events. Honestly, If the SU suddenly disappeared, it wouldnt bother me and most other people.

+ DCU TV and DCU FM is a waste of money, our money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Gman1 wrote: »

can_of_worms.jpg

Gman1 wrote: »
    The SU is a joke, its run by a tight group of people and only they really benefit from it. Money is wasted on such meaningless things and events. Honestly, If the SU suddenly disappeared, it wouldnt bother me and most other people.

Right, any more rubbish posts like this and I'll have to lock the thread. Last warning, keep it on topic or it's gone...

Ye its clearly a rubbish post. Great moderation

why dont the people here that are doing so much giving out actually run for a position in the SU and actually try and make a difference??

Personally I couldnt be arsed so i just let them get on with it. some of you make me sick - keyboard warriors always trying to point out flaws without having anything constructive to say

People have tried to get voted into and make a difference. But their campaign was no where near as big as the friends of the SU. So how can u do anything if you cant even get elected?

are you trying to say that only friends of current SU will get voted in next year? sigh :rolleyes:

Given the complete irrelevance of subsequent posts, the silly and pointless insults/claims and the fact that the OPs point has been completely refuted I'm going to lock this one before it is dragged completely off the rails.