Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is Donegal's Greatest Person?

• 09-12-2009 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭

Who do you think either living or dead is the greatest Donegal person?
    I vote for John Toland. A philosopher and freethinker. Born in 1670 near Ardagh Inishowen.
    His best work is from 1696 called Christianity Not Mysterious:
    He said there is nothing in the Gospel contrary to Reason, or above It: and that no Christian Doctrine can be properly called a Mystery
    Great Stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

Yes, The revelation of saint john is very lucid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,555 ✭✭✭✭muffler

There should be some interesting replies so perhaps people should refrain from mentioning Daniel O'Donnell :eek:

Seriously it would be impossible to select or suggest the "best ever" as their contribution in a particular field would be very important.

Anyhow let the people speak :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

I'd say Isaac Butt, is the first one that comes to my mind, a bit of a character it would seem - which comes with the territory I assume;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

Jerry Robinson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭theblueirish

rory gallagher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

St. Colmcille

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

ME!!:o

Johnny Doherty!

Johnny Doherty OR John Doherty

http://www.iol.ie/~ronolan/doherty.html

!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Cul a cnoic

Hard to say but one very interesting person was Maude Jane Delap 1866-1953 who was born beside Maghery, see link below.
    http://www.universityscience.ie/pages/scientists/sci_janedelap.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Packie Bonner has to be on the list
    3274339127_7ceb923b06.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Senna wrote: »
    Packie Bonner has to be on the list
    3274339127_7ceb923b06.jpg

Sorry, but I would have him firmly rooted to the bottom of the list.

Anthony Molloy for being the only Donegal man to do the following

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Paddy Harte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Leonid

Sean McGinley

If this thread is to be remotely enjoyable Id suggest that people post the name of the person together with the reason why they consider that person to be Donegal's greatest person.

For example: Who is Sean McGinley? - some relation or other of Dinny's?

Try to keep a bit of maturity to the suggestions please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

muffler wrote: »
    Think Braveheart muffler. ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Se%C3%A1n_McGinley

smashey wrote: »
    My original question about him was CHEtongueEK :D Get it?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Hard to say but one very interesting person was Maude Jane Delap 1866-1953 who was born beside Maghery, see link below.
    http://www.universityscience.ie/pages/scientists/sci_janedelap.php

Great replys thank you all.

I loved Cul a cnoic's its fun to find people for Donegal you went on to do great things.

Keep posting folks

muffler wrote: »
    If this thread is to be remotely enjoyable Id suggest that people post the name of the person together with the reason why they consider that person to be Donegal's greatest person.

Try to keep a bit of maturity to the suggestions please.

I'd like to think everybody knows who Paddy Harte is :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

deman wrote: »
    I'd like to think everybody knows who Paddy Harte is :P

Anything to Mickey Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

I'm actually best of friends with Paddy Harte. I must inform him of this declaration bestowed upon him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

1 Packie Bonner
    2 Shay Given

no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Anything to Mickey Joe?
    Uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Glenman

In my Opinion it is Daniel "Ranty" Doherty of the Clonmany Tug of War club. World champion at 58 years of age (Italy, Feb 2008) and looking to retain his title this coming Feruary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭sesswhat

Glenman wrote: »
    In my Opinion it is Daniel "Ranty" Doherty of the Clonmany Tug of War club. World champion at 58 years of age (Italy, Feb 2008) and looking to retain his title this coming Feruary

Certainly got an 'air of greatness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Bomany

<SNIP>

Bomany wrote: »
    <SNIP>

Wha???:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Mister 100 caps himself
    Shay-Given-001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭irish1967

Bomany wrote: »
    <SNIP>

Someone just cut the tug o war rope :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

nobody you people suck. enya is good i think tho

Get the scissors out again.

nobody you people suck. enya is good i think tho

Just back from the pub I see. You have a good night??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Durnish

Shay Given, shurely?

How are you going to tie this up, Muffty?
    post a list of the ten-most-mentioned and then do a poll? (bit like BBC Sports personality?)

I Wonder if Shay will figure there, now Tiger is out of the running as overseas personality? I think Sue Barker likes him, so I do.

Here's the list so far-

John Toland - philosopher and freethinker
    Daniel O'Donnell - singer
    Isaac Butt - politician
    Gerry Robinson - businessman
    Rory Gallagher - musician
    St Colmcille - erm... saint
    John Doherty - musician
    Maude Jane Delap - marine biologist
    Packie Bonner - footballer
    Anthony Molloy - gaelic footballer
    Paddy Harte - politician
    Sean McGinley - actor
    Shay Given - footballer
    Daniel Doherty (no link) - Tug of war world champion
    Dave Gallaher - rugby player
    Moya Brennan - singer
    Enya - singer
    Ray McAnally - actor
    Aodh Rua Ó Domhnaill - erm... king

Any more?

Ah guys we forgot about Danny. Ye remember him? You know the guy who was the fisherman. He hung round with a few local lads and your man from Co. Down. Crawled over the beach down by St. Johns Point one stormy night. Jeez he was a big guy. Never found out What the bundle was he carried. I think he's the guy we should vote for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭icescreamqueen

Fergus Cleary. A living day saint. The world needs more self-less, charitable people like him.

Suppose Dave Gallaher, born in Ramelton, first man to captain the All- Blacks would deserve a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Definitely Dave Gallagher. All Blacks Forever!

Red Hugh O'Donnell if we are going waaaaaaaaaaay back in time. Last king of Tir Connaill

There's good ole Bridie Gallagher.

Plus Neil McBride (can't spell it in Irish) poet who I do believe was imprisoned for having his name in Irish on his cart!! Going back in time a bit there too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Macroom Man

Frank McBrearty who brought about more reforms to An Garda Siochana since it was founded than anyone else.

Patrick McGill, the navvy poet, sure they even have a monsson season school named after him in Glenties.

Spose Field Marshall Montgomery is out of question? (seemingly not a nice person, anyways, but he is famous)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

Fergus Cleary. A living day saint. The world needs more self-less, charitable people like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 deadinterest

Slightly off topic, but I heard on today fm one orning that the singer Prince has family ties to Glenties, think going back to his great grand father. Anyone else hear this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Got to be Enya , she's a unique Talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭millyvanilli

What about Roy Mc Nulty (Sir ) from Raphoe hasn't he now got something to do with the London Olympics ..might get us all tickets:D

What about Pat 'Nora' Gallagher.? for all the work he did in the past for the Mary From Dungloe..

I'm still voting for Shay Given. He must have recorded the fastest 100metre dash in Irish history when he ran to the ref after the Hand of Henry goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 donegaldaniel

for donegals greatest, we need look no further than Dave Gallaher. Rameltons finest was the founding father of New Zealand rugby and their first and most famous captain. still held in the highest esteem, he is regarded as the finest 'all black' of all time - the greatest leader of the greatest rugby nation ever.
    Apart from his prowess as a rugby player and leader of men, he was a highly decorated war hero in the Boer War and in the great war of 1914-18. He died in 1917 in Belgium - a piece of shrapnel hitting him on the head.