Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electronic Fox Caller

• 08-12-2009 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭

Alright lads, I'm having a bit of bother getting foxes to commit to my calls. I've been using the WAM caller, Foxcall UK and Polysterene off glass. They're showing an interest but not nearly enough. 3 sat about 250 yards from me last night and would come no closer, this is happening a bit (way) too often.

So can anyone recommend a good electronic fox caller. I only intend on buying the once so I'll stretch to a fairly high end one... The one we used with JohnGalway was right and good but I cant remember what the name was- so if you're out there John! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Glensman wrote: »
    Alright lads, I'm having a bit of bother getting foxes to commit to my calls. I've been using the WAM caller, Foxcall UK and Polysterene off glass. They're showing an interest but not nearly enough. 3 sat about 250 yards from me last night and would come no closer, this is happening a bit (way) too often.

So can anyone recommend a good electronic fox caller. I only intend on buying the once so I'll stretch to a fairly high end one... The one we used with JohnGalway was right and good but I cant remember what the name was- so if you're out there John! :p

250 yards!:eek:-its shooting time:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

250 yards!:eek:-its shooting time:D:D

Not when you only have a .22 Magnum and shotgun :(

Hope to have a .270 by this time next year but in the 6 counties they wont give you anything above 22-250 without doing exams and stuff... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mrposty

hey i use a LOCKVOGEL digital caller has a chip in the back with 8 different calls its brill an owl even took a swing at the caller one night with the rabbit in distress call

mrposty wrote: »
    hey i use a LOCKVOGEL digital caller has a chip in the back with 8 different calls its brill an owl even took a swing at the caller one night with the rabbit in distress call

Do you have a link to somewhere that sells them mate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭boc121

I have one of these great yoke, remote is very handy.

http://www.shoot.ie/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_33&products_id=133

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

send Johngalway a PM I was shooting with him a few weeks ago and his caller is the dogs nuts.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Do you have a link to somewhere that sells them mate?

Tom (062) 63106

Will call tomorrow, could you tell me who I'm calling and where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭lucy333springer

The Glen,
    I think there were lamped to many times, and shot at the same, at too great a distance, cause the young bugger's seem to stand to the light and show plenty of interest, the poly on glass is ideal, great for bringing them in, it must be the mama's and papa's your calling, and they're too crafty.

aye 333,

At this time of year a lot of the greener foxes have wised up. At the same time when we were usin John's call in Conamara when a fox committed to a call it woulda ran thru rivers to get to ye... I seen one run so far so fast I'd say we were doin it a favour givin it the bullet! :D They're not doing that for me and I'm scared of educating foxes rather than shootin the feckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

i bought a cass creek mini caller on e bay for e12, havent used it yet,sounds ok though dont know what the foxes will think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Did you try dimming the lamp down a lot as the fox then believes that you are farther away and may come closer to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

dwighet wrote: »
    send Johngalway a PM I was shooting with him a few weeks ago and his caller is the dogs nuts.....

Sad day when people are looking for advice offa me :p

PM sent on callers :)

I'd also second Clives dimming the lamp suggestion, less light is often more. Just remember to power up when he's in range for the shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Have you tried the little butler creek mouse squeek. Find it quiet good when button whistle or digital caller isnt workin also a variation in the lenses you use on your lamp could be benificial, i.e if you use red tonight maybe amber the next night just so they dont hear same calls and see same red beam to them = exit stage left:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Primos make a mouse squeaker as well, to be honest if you've a squeaky kids toy it's not so dissimilar. I've only called in one fox, from downwind as well, with mine so far but it's a useful addition to the arsenal.

I ordered a variable Lightforce 140 and when it arrived there was very little variable about it. :mad: Think I'm gonna bite the bullet and buy 2 Deben dimmer switches :(

Does anyone know of any websites that sell them a bit cheaper than Deben?

I ordered a variable Lightforce 140 and when it arrived there was very little variable about it. :mad: Think I'm gonna bite the bullet and buy 2 Deben dimmer switches :(

Make sure you have it connected correctly, it will dim down to zero.

Opticswarehouse sell the dimmer for about £29 for a 50watt lamp only.

If your not happy with the 140 I'll buy it off you:D

johngalway wrote: »
    Primos make a mouse squeaker as well, to be honest if you've a squeaky kids toy it's not so dissimilar. I've only called in one fox, from downwind as well, with mine so far but it's a useful addition to the arsenal.

I second that as it works well. they don't know what the sounds is but it drives the foxes mad.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

ronn wrote: »
    i bought a cass creek mini caller on e bay for e12, havent used it yet,sounds ok though dont know what the foxes will think

Could you let us know how it goes for you please Ronn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

http://www.survivalsuppliesireland.com/

Good firm to deal with in Mayo.

Well I ended up biting the bullet, in a way...

I've ordered 2 dimmers, one for each backpack. The brother carries a 170 and me the 140 which is scope mounted, my big 240 I use from the car is the variable model.

I also went ahead and got a second hand Logitech I-pod dockin station which runs on batteries and has a remote- and I've put loads of rabbit distress call on the i-pod including a 20 vixen call which will hopefully work this time of year.

Should take a week before everything is delivered then I'll let ye's all know how i got on... This shootin is one expensive sport! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Could you let us know how it goes for you please Ronn?

i just seen another one on e bay, just search for cass creek mini fox call, hav a look see what you think,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭happyjack

Have you tried the little butler creek mouse squeek. Find it quiet good when button whistle or digital caller isnt workin also a variation in the lenses you use on your lamp could be benificial, i.e if you use red tonight maybe amber the next night just so they dont hear same calls and see same red beam to them = exit stage left:D

Me to, the mouse squeeker is mighty, foxes love it, I even brought badgers in from 400 yards away, no joke, the mouse squeeker is the business. Some times foxes stop at a distance because/- 1 the ground is too wet for them to advance any further, 2 They are lamp shy cause some clowns shot and missed them, 3 One of the foxes is coming around your rear to wind you while the others are keeping you looking straight ahead. 4 There is something else going on, they have a rabbit already or bitch in heat is the main interest etc. 5 They can smell you already as the wind is blowing from you towards them and they even know what brand of ciggys you smoke! 6 theirs some thing good on on the fox channel and they're watching their favorite soaps on the box, ok only kidding.

HJ:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭happyjack

This shootin is one expensive sport! :eek:[/quote]

Nope, you'd spend more pissing it against the wall down the pub, at least hunting you have happy hunting memories and great craic, plus lamping gear lasts years
    if you look after it, Golf, now thats an expensive sport, cant understand lads dressing up in pink trousers and silly hats whacking a little ball around the gaff, they dont even bring a dinner home and women arent allowed, I brought my missus lamping and she loved it!

HJ:)