Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women cats dogs men ?

• 08-12-2009 6:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭

This old cheastnut.

while a brief serch of the wording leads to lots of threads none of them fair at times other time's its just palin silly to read. So Hopefully in here we can have some one what of a mature dissscousin with out the finger pointing and maybe iron out some things to :).

A lot of Irish men refer to them as being well every word under the sun that most people wouldnt call there own mother.

Is it fair that Irish women get slated bye Irish men, for there atitudes?
    Is it fair that when an irisih man approachs a irish girl and she gives him the cold shoulder or a verble assult?
    Are Irish women tough hard to talk to? maybe even make the man slightly narsasitic towards her?

"I was once told that women have been targeted bye men there hole life (Im sorry if thats crude). Their quick on the draw and have no issue with kicking you to the curb. Whcih would make sense. " Or something similier. to a degree Id say this makes a lot of sence.

but what is it that makes these women click into this front of not interested?
    Is it the fact that many irish men just want some rock and role and then vanish like a virgin on a proam night ?

So Im going to revert back to us the male's.
    I know one lad who never had look with women He says this, women want one thig, a ring on the finger or there just b!tchs, very narrow minded but it makes for the perfect example/case.

personally I don't think Irish women are all that B!tchy, I see the majority of them as pretty laid back ladys, with good personalitys and up for a laugh there's very little evidance to say, the least well actually there are some experence's but not enough for me to cast judgement.

So its down to a number of things.

Women sick of men approachging them with stupid lines?
    Women sick of men just wanting the rock and role?
    Or
    the one I'm begining to really see,
    Irish men beheave like idiots and get what they disserve laughing at there own jokes which arnt really funny and genrally thinking there the man, they no best, no room for compramise its thee way or the high way they no best which ive seen be the down fall of a reletionship.
    Or she lets him do what he wants but controls him in other ways ? :confused:

either way what do you think....

I realsie all women arnt B!tchs or anything else, Im just really curious to see what womens think. As well as men with out being have dumb ass about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Before I started going out with my girlfriend I approached a few women before, just to have a chat or whatever.

Some girls were grand to talk to but a few girls I have spoken to were very dismissive.

My first thought was "what a bitch", but when you've got female friends around you, you start to understand a little bit better why some are so dismissive.

A female friend of mine told me that some girls are dismissive because they're so sick of guys coming up and spouting stupid chat up lines and for being too forward.

Having said that, that's only the opinion of one girl but to me it seems the most logical.

A few of my friends find it difficult to talk to girls on a night out or anywhere in general because they think they'll get rejected.
    I think it helps if you've got female friends and can talk to them on a regular basis it becomes a little easier.

The majority of girls I've talked to have been nice but there is the odd few that are just cruel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

There are several very long threads elsewhere on boards where Irish men/women point out the flaws in Irish women/men while ignoring their own similar flaws. Those threads never seem to come to any satisfactory conclusion beyond providing an outlet for bitter people to spout generalisations based on their limited personal experience.

Hopefully those threads aren't representative of Ireland at large. Let's just not go down the same path here :(

There are several very long threads elsewhere on boards where Irish men/women point out the flaws in Irish women/men while ignoring their own similar flaws. Those threads never seem to come to any satisfactory conclusion beyond providing an outlet for bitter people to spout generalisations based on their limited personal experience.

Hopefully those threads aren't representative of Ireland at large. Let's just not go down the same path here :(

I've read plenty of stupid posts on threads like that.

"They're not good looking"

"They don't put out"

"They're all bitches"

Pfft. I think people who say things like that are the ones who have had one bad experience and therfore generalise everybody to be the same.
    One bad experience shouldn't knock you back and result to stupid generalising because I'm pretty sure the good outweighs the bad.

If people are gonna be very forward in talking to girls and then give out because they don't put out well then some people aren't mature enough yet and need some growing up to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

It's kind of turned into a viscoous circle, and at the risk of sounding sensationalist - it's all down to drink.

(Some) Irish men in particular simply do not know how to make a woman interested in them. They don't know how to talkto women, have a normal conversation. We're seen as this other species that you sort of have to trick to get them to like you. We don't actually want sex (no women do, of course, we're all frigid virgins) so we have to be tricked into that too.

And so, some guys get absolutely destroyed with drink before they'll even approach a woman. This is a mistake.

I've had men openly feel me up without so much as a hello. I've had friends have to peel a guy off my face as he was snogging me, despite me saying no and telling him I had a bf. One or two of these experiences is too many, tbh. When certain guys won't take no for an answer, you HAVE to be blunt.

So for men, it's a case of a few twats ruining it for the rest of you... But that breeds this variety of girl who just cruelly puts down anything vaguely male that deigns to talk to her. She's so up her own hole that she thinks every man wants to get her in the sack, and responds with this horrible rudeness that's putting men off approaching at all.

Those women are ruining it for the rest of us.

Maybe, just maybe, if we could take 'courting' outside of pubs and clubs, if we were capable of putting ourselves out there without a ton of drink down our throats first, we'd have more success and dating would be friendlier and more amicable.

Or, the nice among us could abandon pubs and clubs as mating grounds and leave the drunkken leches and catty bltches to it. We'll go off and have coffees and picnics instead :):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

I know one lad who never had look with women He says this, women want one thig, a ring on the finger or there just b!tchs, very narrow minded but it makes for the perfect example/case.

personally I don't think Irish women are all that B!tchy, I see the majority of them as pretty laid back ladys, with good personalitys and up for a laugh there's very little evidance to say, the least well actually there are some experence's but not enough for me to cast judgement.
    That_Guy wrote: »
    One bad experience shouldn't knock you back and result to stupid generalising because I'm pretty sure the good outweighs the bad.

First of all, Snow Monkey, your friend doesn't have any luck with women because of his attitude. If he thinks they're bitches, well that's just what they're going to be. He's already made up his mind, so anything a woman does will be twisted to make it look like she's a bitch.*

You on the other hand get on with women because you have a good attitude towards them and they obviously pick up on it.

There are definitely women out there who are plain old bitches for no reason whatsoever, and these should be avoided like the plague. But as That Guy said, a few knock backs shouldn't end in stupid generalising because things haven't gone as expected.

*I've a female friend who has no luck with men. She had some bad experiences, and now all men are b*stards in her eyes. There's no talking to her, and unfortunately she's going to have a long lonely life unless she changes her attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

There was a programme on RTE recently called Battle of the Sexes. One episode focused on Irish women and was chaired by Miriam O'Callaghan. The men's episode was chaired by Ray D'Arcy. It was very interesting and you can still watch it online:

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/battle_of_the_sexes.html

I think that both Irish men and Irish women lack confidence and there's a lot of machismo with the lads and some women come across as harsh because neither want to appear vulnerable. Meeting when you're off your face drunk isn't good at the best of times, but the Rape Crisis Centre described a typical rape in Ireland and both parties would have been off their faces drunk when it happened.

The problem is that we don't have a tradition of interacting with the opposite sex in Ireland. A good few Irish people were educated in same-sex, religious schools which left them ill-prepared to interact with the opposite sex later on. In the old days it was worse - those dreadful 1950s Ballroom of Romances with men on one side of the hall, women on the other and the parish priest either standing on the sidelines or waiting outside with a big blackthorn stick!

Before that it was worse again, the matchmaker put people together based on land ownership and in the woman's case, the ability to provide at least seven strong sons and work like a navvy on the land for nothing. The use and abuse of alcohol has been with us throughout all this.

A friend of mine who went to a convent school said that the nuns told them to marry somebody better than themselves. What a negative message! It was telling them they weren't much good themselves and encouraging a snobbish, gold-digging attitude into the bargain. The legacy of this is that many Irish women have a list of essential qualities in a man that you could wrap around the equator! He must be this, he must be that... anyone who falls short doesn't get a look in.

If anybody was watching The Savage Eye last night you might remember Dave McSavage saying that during the property boom Irish houses were like Irish women, they think they're a lot better than they actually are. I would like to add that some Irish men tend to think that non-Irish women are better than they actually are when the reality is that women are much the same the world over. Even so, certain Irish men have an attitude that any non-Irish woman is better than an Irish woman and we're all branded as status-obsessed, frigid, uptight Catholic beeches. On different occasions I've been mistaken as Dutch/German/East European/Russian :confused: and the fellas were all charm but once I opened my mouth it was obvious where I was from and their attitude changed completely.

I can understand why guys find it hard to approach girls in a group. At least one of those girls is likely to have a dismissive bitchy attitude and those girls will quickly shoot down a guy who approaches them, and they will shoot the same guy down out of jealousy if he approaches one of their friendlier mates. No wonder they have a few pints first. Unfortunately nobody shows their best self when they are hammered drunk, and this is the major stumbling block for Irish men and women when they want to get together. In an alcohol fuelled environment common decency often goes out the window, so we end up thinking the worst of each other.

What's the solution then? Meet outside the pub, but we have to talk to each other without alcohol as a social lubricant and therein lies the problem.

shellyboo wrote: »
    It's kind of turned into a viscoous circle, and at the risk of sounding sensationalist - it's all down to drink.

Well to be honest it's the only place men and women really do chat each other up.

I was reading a thread elsewhere on boards and a girl was approached by a guy who sounded genuine enough, who actually ran after her and told her that he found her to be gorgeous and asked her out for coffee to which she declined.

It seems to a be a lose-lose situation sometimes for men.
    You could chat up a woman in a night club and she could turn out to be nasty and belittle you.

or

You could chat a girl up in the street and ask her to go to coffee and have her reject you because it's seemingly "not normal" to chat a girl up in the middle of the day with no alcohol on you.

It's hard to know sometimes what women want. I guess it all depends on the woman you talk to I suppose.

Well to be honest it's the only place men and women really do chat each other up.

I was reading a thread elsewhere on boards and a girl was approached by a guy who sounded genuine enough, who actually ran after her and told her that he found her to be gorgeous and asked her out for coffee to which she declined.

You could chat up a woman in a night club and she could turn out to be nasty and belittle you.

or

You could chat a girl up in the street and ask her to go to coffee and have her reject you because it's seemingly "not normal" to chat a girl up in the middle of the day with no alcohol on you.

It's hard to know sometimes what women want. I guess it all depends on the woman you talk to I suppose.

Well, exactly. Nobody ever said there was a winning formula, like. Just because yer man chased her down the street doesn't mean she fancied him, or was obliged to say yes, like.

All I know is that I personally would be a million times more open to an approach in a coffee shop, a bookshop, on the bus, etc etc etc than in a pub or club. I'd be more on my guard on a night out and there's a definite perception of meat market about them.

Also, any woman who'd turn you down for approaching her outside a nightclub, or think you're a weirdo for doing it is probably the EXACT type of woman to be a snotty cow to guys in clubs. Basically, the type of woman you wouldn't want to go out with anway - right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Seonad

shellyboo wrote: »
    Also, any woman who'd turn you down for approaching her outside a nightclub

People already in relationships or those who aren't ready for them also fit into this category.

Sometimes it's just a case of the timing being off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

or

To be fair, I remember that thread and the guy ran down the street and kind of grabbed her by the hand, which made her a bit wary of him. It is a bit disconcerting to be walking down the street minding your own business and have a stranger grab you.

Plus, just because someone asks you to go with them for a coffee doesn't mean you have to go with them. One person has the right to ask, the other has the right to refuse.

Seonad wrote: »
    People already in relationships or those who aren't ready for them also fit into this category.

Sometimes it's just a case of the timing being off

That's not turning you down for approaching them outside a nightclub. That's turning someone down because you have a boyfriend or aren't ready for a relationship.

I was talking about someone who'd say yes/no solely based on the way you asked them. Which is mental.