Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dexter blamed for causing 2 real life murders (not a spoiler)

• 07-12-2009 11:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭

http://www.examiner.com/x-27339-Cincinnati-Pop-Culture-Examiner~y2009m12d7-Dexter-show-blamed-for-murders
    The Showtime series 'Dexter' has been blamed for a second murder. With both suspects claiming they were influenced by the show's star, saying the series was to blame for their crimes.

Indiana teen Anthony Conley has been charged with the murder of his 10 year old brother Conner. The 17 year old youth stated to the authorities that the Showtime's series 'Dexter' inspired him to kill his brother.

Accesshollywood.com reported that Anthony Conley allegedly strangled to death his younger brother Conner after watching the popular series on Showtime. Authorities reported that Conley turned himself in the following day.

Accesshollywood.com also stated that the local ABC news stations said "He analogized the murder to when someone wants a hamburger..That when some one wants a hamburger they've just got to have it." It was also revealed the teen had been reported having problems sleeping and that he was recently pulled out of school. The circumstances behind that was unknown.

This is the second similar situation allegedly linked to the popular shows character. Mark Twitchel 29, who also arrested and stated to be an avid fan was reported to have imitated the show in his alleged killing of 39 year old Johnny Altiger in 2008. Showtime representatives have yet to be reached for comments on the allegations.

What do you make of that?

I think that the 17 year old may have been influenced by the show to kill his brother.

I think clearly the vast majority of people who watch it won't be influenced that way, but that a few people might be.

I read somewhere that it's shown as early as 8pm on broadcast tv in some states in the USA now (with some scenes cut). I don't agree with that.

I really like the show. I think that they may have humanised the character a bit much since the first series. He's becoming more of a flawed hero character than a psycho with inhibitions.

The show does glamourise serial killing, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Anyone got a big rocket car I can borrow? I can't promise to get it back to you in one piece but once I sue Richard Hammond I'll make sure you're well compensated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

I want to drive around the country in a GMC black van, with Semi-automatic rifles, shooting at everyone and anything, but never hurting anyone. If I accidentally kill anyone i'll turn myself in, and all of my gold chains.

I'll also pity people. Mostly fools, but i'll often blur the lines between fool, and unusual genius.

I'd love to do it in america, but i'm afraid to fly so I can't get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

People who imitate movies, or other entertainment, in this way are laughable idiots, at best. The argument is not that people in general will act this sort of way. The argument is that a few people might be influenced in this sort of way.

A lot of people missed in the irony in Fight Club, and some of them went as far as setting up real life fight clubs where they beat each other up. Idiots, but at least they're just beating up other idiots.

There's a significant amount of imitation of gansta rap style mentalities by certain kinds of people. They go around acting the maggot and committing crime, and in their heads they're conforming to an imagined view of themselves.

People in business often seem to ape behaviour from the last apprentice episode.

The ludacrisy of such behaviour is not what's being debated here. Of course it's completely absurd. But the fact is that a minority of people do act this sort of way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

These kind of psycho's will find some way to go insane and kill people if thats the kind of maniac they are, trying to blame a certain movie or show is a just a cop out.

Just give them the electric chair asap.

How is this a spoiler for next week btw?? ( i havent clicked the link btw because i dont want to know any spoilers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Only people with severe mental problems would be stupid enough to imitate a fictional serial killer... and only people with more severe mental problems would blame it on a tv show...
    Needless to say there'll be a ton of American "activists" out picketing for the cancellation of the show now... dumbasses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

thousands upon thousands of people go around dressed like star trek characters or elves with swords and magic wands, believing that there are real things such as vampires and magic and so on. It's never blamed on the book/film/tv series etc yet when someone who's a little unstable and takes that and kills someone then all of a sudden they blame the entertainment source.

wolfric wrote: »
    thousands upon thousands of people go around dressed like star trek characters or elves with swords and magic wands, believing that there are real things such as vampires and magic and so on. It's never blamed on the book/film/tv series etc yet when someone who's a little unstable and takes that and kills someone then all of a sudden they blame the entertainment source.
    What harm do they do if they belive in magic or think they are in star trek?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

none at all but the thing is that stories can pull you into them and make you believe you're in them. People who let themselves get pulled into the story are the issue... not what the story is about that they naturally carry out. I think you missed the point of my post

Is your point that this sort of person should be identified and dealt with before they have a chance to see dexter etc?
    Profiling? Of children probably?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

What I love about these articles is that they always sensationalize an aspect such as the kid saying he was affected by Dexter and gloss over other "minor" details such as:
    It was also revealed the teen had been reported having problems sleeping and that he was recently pulled out of school. The circumstances behind that was unknown.

The kid had issues, clearly. But as usual, it's easier to blame a TV show, movie, video game, etc than for the parents taking responsibility or getting the kid any help with the real underlying issues in the first place. Instead, it's the old chestnut of "<insert random movie/video game/TV show here> made me do it" - complete and utter nonsense IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

pwd wrote: »
    http://www.examiner.com/x-27339-Cincinnati-Pop-Culture-Examiner~y2009m12d7-Dexter-show-blamed-for-murders

What do you make of that?

I think that the 17 year old may have been influenced by the show to kill his brother.

I think clearly the vast majority of people who watch it won't be influenced that way, but that a few people might be.

I read somewhere that it's shown as early as 8pm on broadcast tv in some states in the USA now (with some scenes cut). I don't agree with that.

I really like the show. I think that they may have humanised the character a bit much since the first series. He's becoming more of a flawed hero character than a psycho with inhibitions.

The show does glamourise serial killing, I think.

Its TV.

Does he watch programme about solving global warming and want to do that also?

Its TV for Gods sake... people need to cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Blame the tv show, big court case, big pay day.