Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag in Cardiff

• 07-12-2009 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭

I couldn't find any 'Stag or hen' cmmunity therefore i'll try here!:)
    I'm organising my brothers stag for March next year, currently Cardiff is top of the proposed list, we'd plan to fly fro Knock to Bristol, but I have a few questions can any of you answer?

- Is it difficult to get from Bristol to Cardiff? From my research it looks like a Taxi from Bristol IA to train station in town then an hour train to Cardiff Central, do I have it correct?
    - Accomidation in Cardiff, can anyone recommend a good central spot 3-4 star?
    - Is Cardiff any good? we'd plan to go the weekend Ireland play Whales in 6 nations..
    - Also is Cardiff a rough spot?

If all this fails we'll got for number 2 on the list - Kilarney... but dont have me putting up with them kerry bouys for de weekend...

All help greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

To get from Bristol to Cardiff - go by bus www.nationalexpress.com, just over an hour.

Cardiff can be rough. If Ireland beats Wales I wouldn't feel too safe in an Irish jersey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭MotteDai

Magnus wrote: »
    To get from Bristol to Cardiff - go by bus www.nationalexpress.com, just over an hour.

Cardiff can be rough. If Ireland beats Wales I wouldn't feel too safe in an Irish jersey...

Thanks for that, this crew has survived limerick and Glasgow, but in the latter didnt over enjoy it as there was a feeling of a rough element and caution so it can take an edge off a stag.

Thanks for the advice..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭SQ2

I disagree with this, been over a few times to Cardiff and never felt in any danger or seen any problems either. Rugby internationals are good humoured whether there's a win or loss involved, especially with the Welsh and Scots... unless you've seen something specific?
    How many are going? Would it make sense for you to rent a car at the airport? Book your accommodation as early as possible to get something central. Cardiff is a great spot imo, it's a small city and the main pubs get packed early on match day, so get into line at about 10am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

MotteDai wrote: »
    I couldn't find any 'Stag or hen' cmmunity therefore i'll try here!:)
    I'm organising my brothers stag for March next year, currently Cardiff is top of the proposed list, we'd plan to fly fro Knock to Bristol, but I have a few questions can any of you answer?

- Is it difficult to get from Bristol to Cardiff? From my research it looks like a Taxi from Bristol IA to train station in town then an hour train to Cardiff Central, do I have it correct?
    - Accomidation in Cardiff, can anyone recommend a good central spot 3-4 star?
    - Is Cardiff any good? we'd plan to go the weekend Ireland play Whales in 6 nations..
    - Also is Cardiff a rough spot?

If all this fails we'll got for number 2 on the list - Kilarney... but dont have me putting up with them kerry bouys for de weekend...

All help greatly appreciated!

Cardiff can be rough, Swansea is much better.

Have ya thought about North Wales? 80 euro return on a Rail and Sail with Irish Ferries to Bangor, it's a 40minute train ride from Holyhead, and even better than that, it's a big University town, plenty of pissed up nice Uni chicks ;););) 3 clubs,loadsa pubs and damn cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I thought Ireland v Wales was on in Dublin next March?

finbarrk wrote: »
    I thought Ireland v Wales was on in Dublin next March?

It is in Dublin, we'd be going to get the atmosphere on the oppositions side...

Loots of good information though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭overthebridge

I've been to cardiff a few times for rugby games and have had no trouble at all. The main st is called Mary st and is pedestrianised on a saturday night. It is well marshalled by police who are at nearly very corner !
    There are plenty of bars about to keep a group of lads entertained.

We have flown in to Bristol twice and 1st time we got a train in which is a bit of a pain as you have to get a bus from airport into Bristol station and then get a train into cardiff, 2nd time we hired a mini bus that collected us from airport and dropped us to hotel. Google will help you find one

We stayed in the travel lodge both times which is as central as you can get right on Mary St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It is in Dublin, we'd be going to get the atmosphere on the oppositions side...

Loots of good information though,

Well isn't Dublin the obvious place to go for the stag then as the game is on there? Seeing as you are intrested in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Been to Cardiff quite a few times for cup finals and semi finals when they were held there.

Have to say absolutely loved it, great selection of bars.

Depending on your budget the Hilton is superb, right bang in the centre, try and get a Castle view room if possible and if your budget allows it an Executive room.

http://www1.hilton.com/en_US/hi/hotel/CWLHITW-Hilton-Cardiff/index.do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭juanyjuans

Cardiff can be rough

I don't agree. Having lived there I never had any trouble. In fact they love the Irish ( I would not be wearing an English Jersey though ). I get a taxi from Bristol airport to the train station. It can be a rough journey with a hangover. But Cardiff is good crack.

Swansea is also a great destination for piss ups!
    Bristol - not great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

I'm living in Cardiff over 3 years now - agree with the 'not rough' opinions.
    From Bristol airport I've always taken the railair bus (very frequent) to Bristol Temple Meads train station and then the train (also fairly regular). The mini bus option could be worth a look for a group though.
    Price of drink is excellent compared to Dublin (/Ireland). Swansea's a bit smaller than Cardiff, I've been there a few times but not for a night out - I think there's more options in Cardiff. If ye didn't get into Oceana in Swansea I'd imagine ye'd be fairly stuck.
    As the match is in Dublin you don't need to be in the pub by 10am. Cardiff fills up with lots of people there for the day on home match days, the athmosphere is still excellent on their away days but there's not the same urgency. They love their rugby - if Ireland win and have played better they'll say fair play, if we've played rubbish they'll take the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 keio

Going on stag in March to Cardiff but flying from Cork directly into Cardiff.

Flights with Aer Arann - 45 euro return per person - Fri to Sun
    Marriot hotel - 4 star - 2 nights - Cardiff city centre - booked with hotels.com for 170euro for the 2 nights

Total per person - 130 euro for the two nights.

Not bad,
    we're coming fro the west so we're going through bristol. Arranging a bus etc.
    Sourced a hotel @ £35 pppn sharing 3 per room.
    Anyone know the Wynford hotel?

To be honest the research has come back favourably on the town so looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭overthebridge

Not bad,
    we're coming fro the west so we're going through bristol. Arranging a bus etc.
    Sourced a hotel @ £35 pppn sharing 3 per room.
    Anyone know the Wynford hotel?

To be honest the research has come back favourably on the town so looking forward to it.

I stayed there for the heineken cup final in '06. It's pretty basic. But rooms are clean it has a grand bar with pool table - the nightclub, which is part of the hotel, is different shall we say. You'll know when you see it.

It's 10 mins walk from mary st which is where it all happens.

Enjoy !

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

If there's a crowd of ye's its probably cheaper to book a minibus from the airport to Cardiff . If not it's about £9 return from the Airport to Bristol Temple Meads train station and then about £15 return on the train but you can get the train cheaper if you book in advance.

I studied there 2 years and never once had any trouble, rugby nights can be mad but since the match is in Dublin this year it shouldn't be too rough afterwards. You'll be absolutely fine in your Ireland gear too as there's plenty of Irish people living there who are always out.

Hotels: For a cheap but decent stay I'd recommend the Park Inn (not Park Plaza) and the Big Sleep, both are 5 mins from the city centre.

Cardiff's great for a good night out too. The city centre is compact and packed full of nice bars and a decent selection of clubs too. I took my brother out there once and we just did a pub crawl trying whatever Welsh ales we could find in each different pub before headin to a club. The price of drink too is excellent.
    Recommended pubs in city centre:
    Queen's Vault - Has loads of rugby stuff in it, does cheap pints of Brains(welsh ale) and has 3 pool tables.
    The Cottage - Traditional Welsh pub, always has Brains stout on draught.
    The Goat Major - like above ^^
    Owain Glyndwr - Always busy on rugby days. Sells local Welsh beers.
    Zero Degrees - Microbrewery that does great food and lovely beer made next door to the bar.
    Copa - Continental beer bar, sells about 20 different draught beers, most from Europe. Always has hot staff. Well worth a visit.
    can't think of any else at the min...

irish_goat wrote: »

Hotels: For a cheap but decent stay I'd recommend the Park Inn (not Park Plaza) and the Big Sleep, both are 5 mins from the city centre.

Cardiff's great for a good night out too. The city centre is compact and packed full of nice bars and a decent selection of clubs too. I took my brother out there once and we just did a pub crawl trying whatever Welsh ales we could find in each different pub before headin to a club. The price of drink too is excellent.
    Recommended pubs in city centre:
    Queen's Vault - Has loads of rugby stuff in it, does cheap pints of Brains(welsh ale) and has 3 pool tables.
    The Cottage - Traditional Welsh pub, always has Brains stout on draught.
    The Goat Major - like above ^^
    Owain Glyndwr - Always busy on rugby days. Sells local Welsh beers.
    Zero Degrees - Microbrewery that does great food and lovely beer made next door to the bar.
    Copa - Continental beer bar, sells about 20 different draught beers, most from Europe. Always has hot staff. Well worth a visit.
    can't think of any else at the min...

Great advice Irish, thanks a Million, currently trying to organise our accomidation.. the Park inn looks good but no late bar, trying also the Wynford Inn, has anyone hear about it.. tripadvisor advises not a place to bring Mrs on a romantic break so Im guessing it should be okay for a stag.

Anyone here know a good bus transfer company to take 30 to cardiff?

Bus is sorted,

However we may have a problem, the sheer size of our group may mean us not all getting into places etc.. theres 25+ going on this.. what are boozers like there will they stop at doors etc..

I hate to think I'd have to book a space in one pub, can that even be done. It is a female thing and not really a stag thing to book a space but maybe they are right? Any advice would be much appreciated on this one!

Had a great Stag, Wynford was a sound place for a Stag, rough area but very central.
    Great weekend for all the lads, many many pints drank...