Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: 4x11 - "Hello, Dexter Morgan" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 07-12-2009 9:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭

TheTVdb.com summary:
    Dexter's worst fears have been realized. Because of Debra's unrelenting pursuit, Miami Metro is just one step away from discovering the identity of the Trinity Killer. And Dexter can't let that happen. Arthur's arrest would not only deprive Dexter of a satisfying kill, it would also expose the secret life Dexter's been leading in his pursuit of this monster. Dexter must take drastic action to buy himself time to deal with Trinity in his own fashion. Meanwhile, Rita decides to confide in Dexter, which doesn't go as well as she'd hoped. LaGuerta and Batista's breach of ethics paints them into a very tight corner. And Arthur, who still can't understand why Dexter didn't simply turn him in, begins his own bloody investigation into Kyle Butler.

http://www.thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=79349&seasonid=41602&id=1230331&lid=7

I'm expecting great things at this stage - can't wait to watch the episode later on :).

* And poll made public by popular demand :D.

What did you think of 4x11, "Hello, Dexter Morgan"? 62 votes

Epic.
    0%
    Very good.
    45%
    ][cEMAN**Mr Ephoenix2181Amzbizmark[Deleted User]NichololasSherifu[Deleted User]DingDongDevil5434adoxevil_seedCorkfeenKamiKaziL31mr0dThe DonAmtmannAlso Starring LeVar Burtongpapa 28 votes
    Meh.
    48%
    Mossy MonkOur man in HavanaJohnKEKRIUQlordgoatZentoadJ-blkpwdAuverstvnutzsmellthegloveTristramMadPatrickOctavarIanMikeC1015starpoolRVD420goodolegillDouble CProwetod 30 votes
    Bad, just plain bad.
    4%
    FearDarkHardrainFedEx 3 votes
    Suck-tacular.
    1%
    Bubs101 1 vote

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Meh.
    Not as good as last week's, the finale looks interesting....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Very good.
    I thought it was quite a bit better than last week's episode. Number 11 was an episode of constant escalation. I believe Dexter made a serious mistake in framing the truck driver, as only someone in the Department could have done it,
    and I think Trinity will be found out in the The Getaway. Ominous, too, that neither Rita nor the kids feature in the promo for the finale.
    I loved how Trinity stalked Dexter and then boldly and confidently walked right in the heart of the Homicide Department. Great tension!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Very good.
    Fecking hell, that was a tense last few minutes!. excellent ep. didnt see the suicide coming at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Meh.
    The LaGuerta and Baptista storyline was still boring as ****, its a real shame its still around as its one of the few weak points of a very strong season.

The scene with Arthur walking into the police station/seeing the investigation chart was brilliantly done. Also quite enjoyed his and Dexters game of cat and mouse. The show has always been its best when Dexter has a worthy adversary, and Trinity is the first since Doakes.

Season finale should be good, although it still seems far too obvious Deb will find out about Dexter, or get on the path to finding out about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Um.... WTF is Dexter doing setting up some randomer who they've already ruled out via DNA as the Trinity Killer, using... DNA!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Rich1691

Meh.
    Neil3030 wrote: »
    Um....WTF is Dexter doing setting up some randomer who they've already ruled out via DNA as the Trinity Killer, using... DNA!?
    I'm not sure they, ruled him out as the trinity killer, I think Lundy did, but because Dexter stole his files they had never heard of him before

Rich1691 wrote: »
    I'm not sure they, ruled him out as the trinity killer, I think Lundy did, but because Dexter stole his files they had never heard of him before

Did he not find him on the database from the DNA sweep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Meh.
    A good solid episode leading into what will be an explosive finale.

I think that Dexter's framing of the truck driver will be his undoing. Do we know if the trucker had committed any crimes? Was he an innocent caught up in the web?

Tbh the suicide was not unexpected. She was hardly going to give up her father and she would be facing the lethal injection for Lundy's murder and the attempted murder of a police officer, so she had nothing to loose in topping herself.

I am looking forward to next weeks finale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Meh.
    Neil3030 wrote: »
    Did he not find him on the database from the DNA sweep?

The guy Dexter framed wasn't from the DNA sweeps,it was a suspect from Lundy's files,but the police never saw those files. The guy also killed a hooker and got off on a technicality,hence why Dexter killed him.

Arthur walking into the police station and coming face to face with Dexter was brilliantly done. I think Dexter made a mistake framing the truck driver but its probably down to the fact that he is trying to juggle all those personas. The scene where he is looking into the four mirrors was brilliant. "Which one of these are you", "All of them". But all of them is becoming far too hard for him to juggle.

tvnutz wrote: »
    The guy Dexter framed wasn't from the DNA sweeps,it was a suspect from Lundy's files.

Right you are, I must have gotten sidetracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Meh.
    tvnutz wrote: »
    Arthur walking into the police station and coming face to face with Dexter was brilliantly done.

Agreed, great acting by Lithgow there. Striding about with his chest puffed out in confidence, preening in front of the boards showing all his killings, being so bold as to walk into homicide, right up to Dexter's face and actually picking up his name tag, towering confidently over a terrified Dexter. Was there any better way to declare 'game on'?

He really does come across as the seasoned vetern, completely untouchable and at ease with what he does. Really shows Dexter is totally out of his depth right now, and like a cornered animal is going to make a fatal mistake somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Rich1691

Meh.
    OctavarIan wrote: »
    like a cornered animal is going to make a fatal mistake somewhere
    I think that fatal mistake could already have been made when he was careless enough not to cover his trail on the way back to the police station to comfort Deb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Furet wrote: »
    I thought it was quite a bit better than last week's episode. Number 11 was an episode of constant escalation. I believe Dexter made a serious mistake in framing the truck driver, as only someone in the Department could have done it,
    and I think Trinity will be found out in the The Getaway. Ominous, too, that neither Rita nor the kids feature in the promo for the finale.
    I loved how Trinity stalked Dexter and then boldly and confidently walked right in the heart of the Homicide Department. Great tension!

Spoilers on the fcuking finale info, jesus.

Gonna be the longest week ever, finale is going to be epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

Very good.
    I'm glad to see the supposed industry insider spoilers posted by Furet in the season 4 predictions thread have been proven to be BS.

Excellent ending to the episode. Lithgow is the best thing that could have happened to this show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'd also really appreciate if people are going to talk about the kunting promo for next's week ****ing episode if they could ****ing spoiler it or start a new thread.

Dexter framed that guy to just give himself a couple of days to catch Trinity himself, with no body found they're going to take DNA from his hairbrush/toothbrush which will "confirm" he's Trinity til they find some new evidence to show otherwise.

Didn't think this episode was great, little too slow, though I know it's really just about building to next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Very good.
    Time for a little reminder on spoilers....

If you are discussing something that happened in this episode, you don't need to put it in spoiler tags (the thread has [** SPOILERS WITHIN **] in the topic). If people come in here before seeing the episode, then tough.

If you are discussing something in NEXT WEEKS episode (like the promo that I've watched 4 times) can't wait can't wait can't wait can't wait, please USE spoiler tags.

Even something as innocent as the title of the next episode can be a spoiler too, so bear that in mind.

I've added and removed spoilers from this thread where appropriate.

Thanks for your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

It was good this week, a massive case of calm before the storm which i love!

going to be a LONG week:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

Meh.
    We now know that Hardrain is not a fan of the show - the meh'r:p

Good episode, really looking forward to next weeks episode. But I am dreading the wait after that, until Sept '10:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Very good.
    Appreciate your work there Mr E. No promo at the end of this weeks ep for me and really don't want to see any info on the finale.

This episode was as good as the promo last week looked. Brilliant final scenes. As all season Dexter is slipping up. I doubt season 1 Dexter would be tricked and followed so easily. 'Hello, Dexter Morgan'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Meh.
    Really good episode that has me begging for next week to come along quickly. "Hello, Dexter Morgan".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Very good.
    Great episode, the final10 minutes were terrific.

On the subject of spoilers, there's a thread started by pwd which I dread to read as the thread title looks like a possible spoiler for next week. I'm sorry I even read the thread title now.

As said I haven't opened the thread so if I'm off the mark I apologise.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

adox wrote: »

On the subject of spoilers, there's a thread started by pwd which I dread to read as the thread title looks like a possible spoiler for next week. I'm sorry I even read the thread title now.

If it's dexter blamed for two murders, it has no spoilers. It's about some people who killed in real life and blamed it on the show because, you know, imitating stuff on tv is always a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Meh.
    Stop taking my post out of context in a way that makes me sound like a twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

adox wrote: »

It actually isnt as far as i can see, its just about 2 murderers in America that are blaming the show for turning them into psycho's.
    pwd wrote: »
    Stop taking my post out of context in a way that makes me sound like a twat

He said hes sorry if hes off the mark, chill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Very good.
    If it's dexter blamed for two murders, it has no spoilers. It's about some people who killed in real life and blamed it on the show because, you know, imitating stuff on tv is always a good idea.

Yeah that was the thread I was talking about. Thanks for clearing it up and apologies to pwd for the presumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Very good.
    Excellent episode. Loved every minute - even the Batista/LaGuerta stuff...
    Gonna try very hard not to watch the promo for next weeks episode...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

That was a great episode.

Absolutely loved the final scene as he walked through the station to find Dexter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Meh.
    mdwexford wrote: »
    It actually isnt as far as i can see, its just about 2 murderers in America that are blaming the show for turning them into psycho's.

He said hes sorry if hes off the mark, chill.
    I thought it was obvious my comment was tongue-in-cheek. It was also directed more at thealmightycushion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Meh.
    I did enjoy the episode and it built nicely to the final scene though the f**king promo from last week did kinda ruin the brilliant "Hello, Dexter Morgan" line... Haven't watched a promo for next week and going to stay well away at this stage.

I still don't care about Angel and LaGuerta - even more so now. One of them better get the chop by the finale. And anything to do with Quinn so far seems to have been nothing more than to weave Christine into the story (so he turns out to be insignificant for a second year in a row).

I'm also not sure about Arthur's shocking attitude change - a few episodes ago, he seemed genuinely terrified to have accidentally killed a deer. At that point, it seemed that outside his 3 (or 4 as we now know) kill cycle, he was completely harmless. But now, he is going around killing with ease as needed - is it because his cycle was interrupted or because he feels cornered? It's just a very sharp contrast in his behavior (and again, really brought to life by Lithgow).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

Meh.
    Decent ep, felt last week's was better (kinda spoiled this week's by watching the promo last week...). One slightly minor thing I found interesting was Quinn questioning Dexter: "So where DO you go off to at lunchtime?". Could this be hinting towards Quinn growing more suspicious of Dexter and maybe setting him up as a Doakes replacement? Time will tell....

Anyway, looking forward to the finale and avoiding promos etc. like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Very good.
    Having not seen the promo last week for this entire episode I thought the episodes title was referring to how Dexter was answering the phone. He took loads of phone calls in this episode, far more than usual episodes, depending on who was calling he had to answer it as one of his different personas.

I was expecting Dexter to get sidetracked, not check the caller and answer "Hello, Dexter Morgan" to Arthur... I think this was just a red herring to distract from that ending and what an ending. Loved this episode. So glad I didn't watch the promo that spoiled that reveal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Very good.
    RVD420 wrote: »
    Could this be hinting towards Quinn growing more suspicious of Dexter and maybe setting him up as a Doakes replacement? Time will tell....

Clyde Phillips talks about that here: http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/2732822

The interview deals with season 4 generally, but he gives away nothing about the finale (despite being pressured).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭No1XtinaFan

Meh.
    L31mr0d wrote: »
    Having not seen the promo last week for this entire episode I thought the episodes title was referring to how Dexter was answering the phone. He took loads of phone calls in this episode, far more than usual episodes, depending on who was calling he had to answer it as one of his different personas.

I was expecting Dexter to get sidetracked, not check the caller and answer "Hello, Dexter Morgan" to Arthur... I think this was just a red herring to distract from that ending and what an ending. Loved this episode. So glad I didn't watch the promo that spoiled that reveal.
    Same here and I was so tempted!!!
    Defo not watching any this week!!! I can't believe it's over next week until Sept :(
    This is the first time I've had to wait as we only discovered Dexter in Sept this year so watched them all in one go!!
    This is gonna kill us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Meh.
    This is the first time I've had to wait as we only discovered Dexter in Sept this year so watched them all in one go!!
    This is gonna kill us!

:) - the same thing has happened to me with so many shows that I discover after their first season is over, watch them in one go and get hooked, then have to wait week after week for new episodes.

At least seasons of Dexter are shown in one single run, with practically no breaks at all, unlike a number of other US shows that take maddening mid-season breaks of 2-3+ months!

But the wait to next week is going to be very, very long...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭FedEx

Bad, just plain bad.
    Good episode ---- sets up the final nicely ... .

a pity just one more ep ... (I haven't watched the promo and don't think
    I will .. )

I may start from season 1 again after next week ... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭FedEx

Bad, just plain bad.
    DAMN !!! just watched the promo for next week's finale !!!!!!!

It's gonna be a good 'un !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Suck-tacular.
    Was really dissapointed. i watched the promo and after watching the episode it just reminded me of an episode of the Hills. The ad told you the start and the finish with 48 minutes of filler. Roll on the finale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Very good.
    Great episode. Trinity setting Dexter up with the phone call in the arcade that he knew Dexter would recognise was great. Dexter should have been more careful on his way back though. The ending was fantastic. Cruising his way into the police station. Finding Dexter's picture in the bowling team. Looking at all his 'work' and finally strolling up to Dexter. "Hello, Dexter Morgan".

Can't wait for next week.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Well 'Dexter' should be in no danger of cancellation - this episode was Showtime's highest viewed broadcast in ten years! The future is safe.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

ixoy wrote: »
    Well 'Dexter' should be in no danger of cancellation - this episode was Showtime's highest viewed broadcast in ten years! The future is safe.
    Wow. That's impressive. Looks like we'll be getting another 10 seasons. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy