Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal Canal Cycle Path

• 05-12-2009 6:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45

Cycled from Castleknock to Maynooth on this today for the first time - condition varies hugely along the route, from decent and wide surface to dangerously narrow slippy mud with the dark cold water of the canal waiting for you if you come a cropper as I very nearly did! Very enjoyable though.

just wondering if many here use the route and more particularly what is the canal path like going further west past Maynooth - how far can you go?? What condition is the path in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭mmclo

has been reported here as fairly passbale all the way...just as well you didn't go the other way though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

I've only ever gone as far as Maynooth, but the section between Castleknock and Clonsilla has some pretty dodgy parts. Castleknock to Coolmine in particular has some narrow sections of path above very deep cut canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

It's a fews years now since my Royal and Grand trips. At the time the tow path after Maynooth was similar to the Lucan to Westmanstown stretch. Might be tough going now accross peatlands section at Ballydesmond. From memory there are no dodgy sections. The Deep cutting at Ballymahon is very safe compared to Coolmine. Both canal trips are great . I would suggest doing the easier Grand first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 SOH32

Sean02 wrote: »
    It's a fews years now since my Royal and Grand trips. At the time the tow path after Maynooth was similar to the Lucan to Westmanstown stretch. Might be tough going now accross peatlands section at Ballydesmond. From memory there are no dodgy sections. The Deep cutting at Ballymahon is very safe compared to Coolmine. Both canal trips are great . I would suggest doing the easier Grand first.

thanks for the comments. Certainly found C'knock to Coolmine tricky. Hoping to try the canal as far as Mullingar in a few weeks and possibly leave the full Liffey to the Shannon route untill the weather improves. Must have a look at the Grand Canal routes as not familiar with them, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭deanswift

SOH32 wrote: »
    thanks for the comments. Certainly found C'knock to Coolmine tricky. Hoping to try the canal as far as Mullingar in a few weeks and possibly leave the full Liffey to the Shannon route untill the weather improves. Must have a look at the Grand Canal routes as not familiar with them, cheers.
    Cycled this section today, on a 'DublinBke' and certainly this stretch between Castleknock and Clonsilla is dangerous, weather conditions were very good, but you could easily go into the canal if the weather conditions were wet and slippery as you are cycling over rock on some very narrow paths with a deep fall of 30 feet into the canal.
    Very enjoyable to cycle but exercise extreme caution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 credre

Could anyone tell me the mid way point between Maynooth and Phibsboro along the canal and how long it would take to walk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

It's about 14 miles, half-way should be round Clonsilla I'm guessing. How long it takes to walk depends on fitness and terrain - you have a decent path as far as Castleknock (tarmac mainly), then it's muddy / grass until just before Clonsilla, where it gets better again (hardcore / stone). Have never walked it, but cycled it plenty of times - I'm thinking 14 miles in 3 hours walking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭2x4

Reading a book at the moment called "Towpath Tours - a guide to cycling Ireland's waterways" by John Dunne. The author gives a very good detailed account of riding the The Grand Canal, The Royal Canal, The River Barrow, The Shannon-Erne Waterway, The Newry Canal, The Lagan Navigation and the Boyne Navigation. The book gives the history of building the canals as well as an account of local points of interest.

The book is written from a cyclists perspective and goes into detail on the difficulty of cycling certain sections. It was published in 2005 so there may be upgrades of some sections of the canals. Highly recommend the book for anyone thinking of cycling or walking Ireland's waterways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Just thought I'd give a heads up on this, I cycled the Royal canal last week from the Liffey to Maynooth and the underpass for pedestrians/cyclists at Liffey Junction is closed, I don't know how long it's been closed for or if or when it's going to open again, it meant a bit of a detour through Shandon Gardens/Faussagh Avenue/Bannow Road to rejoin the canal at Broombridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

ah if only we could get the drogheda canal paved all the way to navan and beyond what a magical cycle and walk it would be, but alas not in my lifetime ,if the idiots in government were as good at laying tarmac as they are talking we would be super rich in tourism there was talk at one time to build cycle paths all over ireland give me a break never happen
    ok rant over ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 credre

Can anyone tell me is the pedestrian underpass still closed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

on Dick Warners waterways show there was some pretty rough spots, the barge was pushing overgrown briars out of the way at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭umpire bat

Cycled all of Royal from Leixlip west to Clondra at various stages in the past 3 years on MTB. Did bits on foot nearer the Blanch etc....
    Cycled all of Grand from Robertstown to Shannon Harbour.
    Now doing bits of the Barrow Navigation. It is really nice near Goresbridge and Graiguenamanagh to St Mullins.
    Pity the Boyne Nav is so bitty. Its fine from Navan To stackalllen.
    The paths have great tourist potential...even without boats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

Mr.Success wrote: »
    on Dick Warners waterways show there was some pretty rough spots, the barge was pushing overgrown briars out of the way at times.

In fairness those shows are 20 years old ( :eek: )...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Treadhead wrote: »
    In fairness those shows are 20 years old ( :eek: )...

There was a new series broadcast in October about the Royal Canal.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/waterways/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

credre wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me is the pedestrian underpass still closed?
    Not too sure, it's temporary looking with concrete bollards and that metal rent-a-fence type stuff, a pal of mine lives locally so I'll ask him to update me if or when it's removed.
    Edit: Looks like it's tied in with this.
    http://www.waterwaysireland.org/index.cfm/section/article/page/1123RoyalCanalWo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

There was a new series broadcast in October about the Royal Canal.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/waterways/index.html

sweet! :D must look that up!

damn you wikipedia!! I checked it for just that before posting :rolleyes: