Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many on here into dubstep / jungle / d&b

• 05-12-2009 2:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭

Just out of curiosity :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

PatrickD32 wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity :D

not really in2 dubstep, that said i've only heard bits n pieces of the stuff so im still undecided.
    dnb is alright, wouldn't go out 2 a club 2 listen 2 it tho.
    absolutely love jungle, loadsa sets and what not from bitd.

what about yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

Techno mainly.

Listening to a d&b set other day and wasnt bad.

I like to listen to different stuff now and then to see if I like it.

BITD? Could you link to a decent jungle set?

Techno mainly.

Listening to a d&b set other day and wasnt bad.

I like to listen to different stuff now and then to see if I like it.

BITD? Could you link to a decent jungle set?

ill have a look now lad, depends if ya wanna bit of hardcore mixed in with it aswell, most of the stuff i listen 2 is from around '92 - '94.
    the hardcore from around that time is excellent.

es-cee wrote: »
    ill have a look now lad, depends if ya wanna bit of hardcore mixed in with it aswell, most of the stuff i listen 2 is from around '92 - '94.
    the hardcore from around that time is excellent.

Ye man, that would be great! :D

here lad, see what ya make of these, loads more if ya want them.

dj pilgrim & ellis dee live @ dance paradise '94

http://www.mediafire.com/?nliywzmmqmt

ellis dee @ helter skelter anthology

http://mediafire.com/?n0wocgemzan

http://mediafire.com/?2umyajmozwo

Sound, gna grab them now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I like my dubstep :)

Fad wrote: »
    I like my dubstep :)

have ya got any sets i can grab off ya? haven't really heard much of the stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭M O N T O

Theres a Dubstep Mix i made on my Facebook Group page here if you wanna check it out.
    I'm into the really Grimey Dubstep tbh.

http://www.facebook.com/BIGFUKKINGLASER?ref=profile#/group.php?gid=187076806111

Tracklist:
    0:05 : Bare Noize - Chucky/
    2:31: Flux Pavillion - How Rude/
    5:22: Simian Mobile Disco - Cruel Intentions (Joker Remix)/... See More
    7:37: Jack Beats - U.F.O (K-Hole Riddim)/
    9:26: Project Bassline - Drop The Pressure (Jack Beats Remix)/
    11:17: Fake Blood - Fix Your Accent/
    12:42:High Rankin - No Money for Guns/
    14:32: Detboi - Get Low/
    16:07 :Fake Blood - Mars/
    18:00 : Justice - We are your Friends (Monto Remix)/ (one of my own)

M O N T O wrote: »
    Theres a Dubstep Mix i made on my Facebook Group page here if you wanna check it out.
    I'm into the really Grimey Dubstep tbh.

http://www.facebook.com/BIGFUKKINGLASER?ref=profile#/group.php?gid=187076806111

Tracklist:
    0:05 : Bare Noize - Chucky/
    2:31: Flux Pavillion - How Rude/
    5:22: Simian Mobile Disco - Cruel Intentions (Joker Remix)/... See More
    7:37: Jack Beats - U.F.O (K-Hole Riddim)/
    9:26: Project Bassline - Drop The Pressure (Jack Beats Remix)/
    11:17: Fake Blood - Fix Your Accent/
    12:42:High Rankin - No Money for Guns/
    14:32: Detboi - Get Low/
    16:07 :Fake Blood - Mars/
    18:00 : Justice - We are your Friends (Monto Remix)/ (one of my own)

have ya got an mp3 of it? not in2 facebook or anythin like that, just music forums and stuff. like the real dark dirty stuff meself, but never really got a good listen 2 dubstep.

it keeps hiding the FUC K, so just add in between 'big' and 'inglaser' and it should work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I'm not particulary into Dubstep, am massively into Old Skool Jungle, some new stuff is alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Dupstep is the way forward!
    Enjoying Excision and Downlink at the minute.
    Particularly this epic tune:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpAePSP-ni4

BOOM!

And in terms of sets to listen to, try this one out for size. Absolute Filth.

http://excision.crabdance.com/Excision_-_Shambhala_2009_Dubstep_Mix.mp3

Enjoy ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭M O N T O

it keeps hiding the FUC K, so just add in between 'big' and 'inglaser' and it should work

what he said.

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Starfox

im just getting into dubstep its pretty cool, i prefer the more mellow/deep/euphoric dubstep to the other (main) all out sound effect/wobbler rapped grime style.. can anyone direct me in the way of some good tunes/artists :D

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭paulelectronica

Love drum n bass myself . not really into jungle and i like some dubstep

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

A fair few of us judging by the amount of threads that get made about it!

Good few Irish labels, loads of nights - there's at least seven DnB promoters in Dublin alone, as well as at least two labels and a good few radio shows; Nick Fury, Donny Wang and LP Master Wong do a Tuesday night slot on Power FM, Myself and Class A do a slot each from 9pm till 12 every Wednesday night on Radio Na Life 106.4FM as well... There's also Source's Phase 2 DnB show on RTE Pulse as well as the Don Rosco and Stacks show playing the best in Dubstep, Garage, UK Funky and Jungle on PowerFM.org every Wednesday evening...

Marcus Intallex is playing in Kennedy's on the 19th of December and then there's Rockwell, Loxy, S.P.Y, Kenny Ken, Randall, Breakage, Kode 9, 2562 all confirmed for the first few months of 2010...

PM me for any more info.

You can buy records in All City now that Freebird has closed down too, get on their mailing list and you'll be mailed the ST Holdings catalogue every friday, just pick the tunes you want and they turn up the following Thursday, no hassle at all...

Personally I play right across the board really, feel compelled to on the radio anyway just to rep everything that's out there, but i'm generally into the deeper and the more forward thinking Drum and Bass as well as into the Dub Techno and Garage influenced Dubstep, but there's people in Dublin playing a very broad range of styles, and no one style really gets 100% of the limelight here because everyone has their own take on things and the music is pretty healthily diverse right now.

There's a really friendly forum over at www.irishdrumandbass.com as well as it's sister forum www.irishdubstep.com - news from scenes all over the country (Limerick is on fire and is the home of one of the most highly respected labels in Drum and Bass, Code's Subtle Audio label)

Other Irish labels:

Phase 2 (outta Cork) - Quality homegrown Cork productions from Source and Jet Li
    Absys Recordings (Polish Run but Dublin-based label, free net releases on their website and two fully distro'd CD compilations under their belt, generating quite a bit of buzz for themselves)
    Ancient Wayz - Limited run vinyl pressings, some incredible music lined up)
    Subtle Audio - 6 years of quality vinyl releases, and one CD compilation featuring a mix by label owner Code as well as a CD of unmixed tunes). Just released an album by Macc and dgoHn that's been picked up and licensed by Rephlex - if you know your music you know that's big news :)
    Fíor - Netlabel releasing classic experimental DnB sounds
    The Fear / Ruff Revival - Vinyl label releasing old Jungle influenced tunes as well as Dubstep that draws from the same influences
    Space 2 Pace - Ricky Force's project, digital releases of new school Jungle-techno - not a million miles away from some of the Hardcore Breaks stuff Jonny's into ;)
    Crysis - Galway based Dubstep label, vinyl releases from the likes of RSD
    Alphabet Set - mainly outlets for T-Woc's Dubstep and experimental Dub excursions
    Kaboogie! - Dubstep, Electronica and Breakcorey stuff
    Signature - Calibre's label, nuff said

And of course shouts out to the tragically defunct Bassbin / Breakin / Looney Tunes family : here's Rohan's cover CD from Knowledge magazine a few years ago (jaysus, half a decade ago!) http://www.kmag.co.uk/listen/cd_covers/issue_67_bassbin_covercd

Here's the Ruff Revival Promo mix featuring their release schedule for the next wee while..
    on 1260455159:
    An early Christmas present from Ruff Revival featuring Naphta, Ricky Force, El-B, Ramadanman and Gremino:

RUFF REVIVAL Promomix 09/10:

rr_anim_338sq.gif

Naphta - Upriver - (Long Time Burning RR001 CD)
    Naphta - Jungle Republic (Ricky Force Relick) - (RR003 12")
    Naphta - Can't stop - (Long Time Burning RR001CD)
    Naphta - Soundclash (Ghost Relick) - (RR002 12")
    Gremino - Face It - (RR White)
    Naphta - Jungle Republic (Ramadanman Refix) - (RR003 12")
    Naphta - Fully Loaded - (RR002 12")

DOWNLOAD

http://www.myspace.com/ruffrevival
    http://www.baked-goods.com/

RR001 + RR002 AVAILABLE NOW. RR003 COMING SOON.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭evlis

Love all that jazz yeap, love all kinds of music. Here are a couple of mixes from me in them styles:

EVLIS - DUBSLEPT - Dubstep Mix

Breakage – Higher
    Skream – Hitch
    Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo
    Skream – If You Know
    JUS WAN – Flashpoint
    Pearson Sound – PLSN
    Joe – Grimelight
    Ramadanman – Blimey
    Joe – Rut
    Brackles & Shortstuff – Broken Harp
    Clouds – Protecting Hands
    Pinch – Motion Sickness
    Skream – Shake-It
    TRG & DUB U – Harajuku
    Ramadanman – Every Next Day
    Panagea – Memories
    Luke Envoy – So

EVLIS - YESYES - Jungle/D'n'B Mix

****mat – ‘94 Abyss
    Doc Scott – Drums ’95 (Nasty Habits Rmx)
    Asylum – Da Base II Dark
    Digital – Watch It
    Nucleus & Paradox – B-Boy Ascendance
    Data – Blowpipe
    Spirit – Conscious Mind
    Teebee – Objects In Motion (2001)
    Naibu – Piper Dream
    Cyantific – Quiet Star
    Sub – Skadi (Nebula Blue Notes Rmx)
    Kemal – Plan B
    Loxy & Ink – Shine VIP
    Marcus Intalex – Temperance
    Klute – We Are The Ones (Klute Remix)
    Deep Inc – Inc Grand Piano
    John B – Take Control
    DJ Zinc – Casino Royale
    Dice – Gimmie Your Love
    Klute – I Minder
    Ed Rush & Optical – Kerbkrawler
    Universal Project – Swampthing
    Lemon D – Get On Down (DJ Die Rmx)
    Baron – Effortless Chic
    Ram Trilogy – Huggy Bear
    Shimon & Andy C – Body Rock

Evlis - THE STEP - Dubstep/Jungle

Appleblim – Fear
    Spac Hand Luke – Grime II Dark
    The Black Dog – Floods V3.2 ( Surgeon Remix )
    Caspa – Noise Disorganiser
    Unitz – The Drop
    Hawerchuk – Camel Toe
    Sub Version Ft. Paul St. Hilaire – Rise Up
    Santogold - Creator ( Dub&Run Remix )
    Kotchy – Sing What You Want ( Rusko’s Skwee Remix )
    Pinch Ft. Rudey Lee – Step 2 It
    Clouds Ft. Tiiu – Under The Dancing Feet
    Pinch – Chamber Dub
    Martyn – Vancouver ( 2562’s Pure Natuur Dub )
    Martyn – Broken
    Mala – Forgive
    Toasty – Angel ( Si Begg Remix )
    Jus Wan – The Crossing
    Skream – If You Know
    Skream – Wobble That Gut
    Sub Scape – Tomahawy
    Fugees – Ready Or Not ( Dirt Bag Mix )
    Caspa – Ohh R Ya
    12th Planet Ft. Lobsta, Skimpkin & Inity – Just Cool
    Stivs & Pieface – Big Tune
    Wax Doctor – The Step

DJ EVLIS - MURDERATION - Reggae/Jungle

General Dub - eh?
    Zeb - Rude Boy Style
    Polar - Sit Down & Dance
    White Label - eh?
    Inta Warriors - Inta ( Special Forces Remix )
    Alpha Omega - Tribal Instinct
    Martyn - Tanglewood
    Motive - Domino
    eh? - MA2 ( Ray Keith Remix )
    NastyNasty - Time To Burn
    ****mat - That Track
    Ohio Players - Funky Worm

Loving Junglewise Subtle Audio and the influence Dubstep is having on Jungle. The techier more tribal sounds in both dubstep and jungle but don't discriminate in my old age love the mangler tunes too, a tune is a tune is a tune.

Friday the 22nd of January in the Twisted Pepper :::

REACH 3rd Birthday - two floors of music - Dubstep, Jungle and DnB

Bassment: Kenny Ken & Randall Back to Back with Mc GQ - 93/94 oldschool set, support from REACH residents.

Upstairs: KODE 9 (Hyperdub), Micky [nakedlunch], support from REACH residents.