Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worried i'm going to be out of work too long

Options
  • 03-12-2009 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭

hi all,

i graduated with a 2.1 in mech eng a year ago. i got engineering work experience for the summer between 3rd and 4th year and after college i travelled and got about 4 months experience in mechanical drafting in sydney before christmas

been back in ireland since june and obviously been having a hard time looking for work. i've had two interviews with different engineering companies, both of which i got through to the final interviews but since then silence, dispite me ringing up both companies several times i just get told vague stuff about managment looking at options and stuff and i never get a call back. sounds to me like they decided not to take anyone on but don't want to say so incase something comes up and they actually end up having a job for someone they interviewed. anyway thats just me speculating.

however these experiences have obviously angered me quite a bit and i'm getting disillusioned with engineering. i'm worried that the country could be like this for a long time to come and i wont have gotten any experience in engineering for 3,4, or 5 years. i'm worried that when jobs do become available companies wont look at me because of my lack of work and instead will employ fresh graduates with equilivent work experience as me. i'm wondering can anyone tell me if this assumption is true?