Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trimming the meat and two veg

• 02-12-2009 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Apologese for going Unregged for this one.

The missus has mentioned trimming for myself. A few pints with the lads confirms some have done this and found positive results.

What is the best way to do this? head shaver perhaps? some sort of beard trimmer? I don't wanna be bald but I don't wanna have a loada curlys!

Anyways what do yas recommend? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

The thread title suggests you want to chop some of your willy off! I came in to discourage you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I started trimming about 8 months ago (just after I became single). I have found that the results are truely amazing. I am kind of seeing a girl at the moment, casually so far and she loves that part of my body becos of the trimming - had mentioned on the first night we shared a bed.

I use a beard trimmer and keep it to about "2". Not too short that it's stubbly and not long either. I trim the penis, on all sides and the scrotum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Beard trimmer will do the job, if you've got the balls (pun very much intended) go all out and wet shave down there, takes a bit of patience and a steady hand though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭A Doozer

Er for the first outing I would suggest just trimming with any beard trimmer. An all out wet shave brings with it many many many woes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭suey71

Oh please just wet shave. I've tried the beard trimmer and it will take chunks out of your precious :eek:. believe me.

Fair play to you for doing this, its also what a lot of the professionals do to make your precious look more, well, precious.:D.
    Also condoms wont get trapped in any curlies.

I'm sure some of the guys from fashion and appearance might be able to give you some better advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I'd say the itching is terrible if you did a wet shave! Fcuk that, use a beard trimmer.

And suey71 I don't know what you were doing with the beard trimmer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Depending on how hairy you are,maybe give it a trim with a nail scissors first,that will give you more visibility.

Going on feedback from past partners,totally bare is not a good look and Im told that it resembles a plucked chicken in this state.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Insurgent wrote: »
    I'd say the itching is terrible if you did a wet shave! Fcuk that, use a beard trimmer.

And suey71 I don't know what you were doing with the beard trimmer!

+1, maybe he didn't use the plastic comb attachment.

Seriously, don't shave down there if you cycle a bike, drive a taxi, or anything els that involves sitting for long periods of time cos the risk of ingrown hairs is not worth it... that region is particularly prone to infection in exposed hair follicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

milod wrote: »

Seriously, don't shave down there if you cycle a bike, drive a taxi, or anything els that involves sitting for long periods of time cos the risk of ingrown hairs is not worth it... that region is particularly prone to infection in exposed hair follicles

I've never had a problem with it, get the odd one but they're not sore, as long as you exfoliate the area a bit you'll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭suey71

My Electric raser didn't come with one.:D.

I would only shave the base and sack, and lightly trim the rest so it looks neat and tidy. I like to keep it looking good.

I didn't know that about ingrowing hairs, sounds really nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

suey71 wrote: »

My Electric raser didn't come with one.:D.

I would only shave the base and sack, and lightly trim the rest so it looks neat and tidy. I like to keep it looking good.

I didn't know that about ingrowing hairs, sounds really nasty.

Yeah the beard timmer on the back of my electric shaver does the job.

Havent yet found a girl in the local barbers who will do it for me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Agricola wrote: »
    suey71 wrote: »

Yeah the beard timmer on the back of my electric shaver does the job.

Havent yet found a girl in the local barbers who will do it for me. :(

You're not looking in the right places my man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Veet Sensitive also works for getting rid of it all, just time it carefully...

*taps nose*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I use a trimmer and have been doing it for years.
    Wet shaved twice with bad results.

Anyone ever try hair removal cream?
    I thought that would be the perfect product for this kind of job

Edit:
    Ah, thought veet sensitive was some kind of trimmer :P
    Think ill give that a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Hovercraft

I've often thought about doing it with a beard trimmer.

Question......... Would it cause the hair to grow more and therefore turn grey earlier than it might otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

With Veet - patch test, patch test, patch test. I have pretty sensitive skin and tried Veet once, and left myself with a nasty burn. It's potent stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Krieg wrote: »
    I use a trimmer and have been doing it for years.
    Wet shaved twice with bad results.

Anyone ever try hair removal cream?
    I thought that would be the perfect product for this kind of job

Edit:
    Ah, thought veet sensitive was some kind of trimmer :P
    Think ill give that a go.

Hair removal cream specifically states it is not for ano genital regions. I know because i once bought some thinking i could finally sort out my ass-crack hair. Too good to be true unfortunately :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

In for a penny in for a pund go all out and wet shave. Just take your time, hold you hand steady and use a new blade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭St James

Why not go all the way all the way and use the open razor, after a feed of pints and maybe, just to be really daring, use the left hand and wear a blindfold.

on second thoughts, veet might be less of a mess