Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much bragging would a guy do after a one night stand.

• 02-12-2009 4:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

Any opinions on this would be great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

OK, basically, Yes, he is likely to tell his friends you are a freak in the sack. TBH, what were you expecting when you checked into a hotel? Were you gonna have sex with him?

Secondly, he is by no means a charmer, he told you that he PREFERS ANOTHER GIRL. WTF? No charmer would say that, but you went back to him!!!

Thirdly, why would you get involved with him? He sounds like a right cnut TBH. Ignoring you because of the lads?

If you start getting looks and chatted up by his mates, tell them he didn't have sex with you. (If feeling particularily mean say he couldn't get it up). But set them straight and lay that embarrassment at his feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Okay the first thing that jumps out at me here - is that he told you he was seeing someone else, who he liked better than you and you got a hotel room with him and then returned to said hotel room after the second revelation and got into bed with him!

What were you thinking????

This guy sounds like a total head-wrecker and a thoroughly unpleasant person as well. Delete his number and stay away from him, and any guy that is seeing someone else!

At least he was entirely honest with you in the hotel room. He said he liked you but he had met someone else in the meantime and liked them better. He clearly has very little respect for you - and in a way can you blame him after you returned to the hotel room despite him having told you that you are his second best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭XarcherX

Unfortunately you can't really prevent him from bragging and adding on bits to his story if that's what he intends to do, but if he's seeing someone then he'll probably be more careful about the bragging in case she hears about it & he doesn't want to get caught.
    either way OP he sounds like a total a$$ and i would steer well clear of him. If he's so concerned about what his mates think it then he's very immature and obviously can't think for himself.
    The fact that he's seeing someone else and still went to a hotel room with you... i don't know, he sounds like he's just playing around and not looking for anything serious.

has he tried to contact you since?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Barracudaincork

The only person who cares less about what he says and thinks regarding your night together is you, everyone else couldnt give two hoots! I dont mean to be mean when i say that, but honestly if this is the kind of person he is, his mates will have heard his "stories" before and trust me they wont be believing them at all.

He is a player, or more to the point wishes he was a player.

If the topic of your night together comes up with his mates, laugh and say nothing happened and then add a knowing wink/nod with a "if you know what I mean" and wave your pinky finger, followed by a sigh and a mutter of if only it was that big. His mates will be to busy laughing at his expense to care about the truth etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I'm sorry to say this OP, but it seems like you were taken in by a complete arsehole. What I don't understand is why you'd seem so interested in a guy who treated you with ignorance boardering on contempt for quite a while. But that's besides the point.

Guys who brag are as individual as different personalities. You cannot say we all do it because we don't. Some do, others don't. I myself had a one-night stand with a friend a few weeks ago. Afterward, I sure as hell didn't brag about it. I told one or two close friends, but they knew the situation anyway and it came as no surprise to them. But I have no interest in bragging and keep it to myself other than discussing it (discreetly) with one or two mates. None of these guys are the bragging types either.

So it is individual. But from how you described this guy, I'm not really surprised he bragged about your situation, and probably even exaggerated it to his mates. I suggest you learn from the situation and maybe not trust someone who doesn't seem that much of a good person in the first place in future.

But to reiterate the point, no not all guys brag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Well, TBH, his mates probably said Sweet feck all to him.....he was making excuses.

He is a liar and is willing to cheat. Do you want to be the other woman who he likes less?

When he said "I don't want to cheat on her"

Bullsh1t, he wouldn't bring you to a hotel if he didn't want to cheat, those places are expensive and you could have definitely found a different place!

My advice, just don't contact him, and don't talk to him. He sounds like a right Numpty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Treat em mean, keep em keen. Works brilliantly on some women. Don't say anything OP and hope he does the same, unlikely though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I'd stay away from him. It sounds like he wanted to sleep with you, when being nice didn't work the first few times, he tried to playing hard to get and mean and it worked.

He might brag, but practically speaking you don't seem to know his friends or vice versa. He'll generally just brag with vague details, he's not going to be giving out your name and number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭abceire

i wonder how some men get any women, and then i hear you tell your tale, he was an ass, why would of wanted anything to do with him, and why would you go to a hotel room with him,there are enough nice guys out there, if u hear an rumours flying around,i d go up to him and his mates next time you see them all and just tell them out straight, we didnt have sex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭suspectpackage

This is a funny one.

Girl leaves nightclub with guy.
    Girl checks into a hotel room with guy.
    Girl sleeps in same bed as guy.
    Girl wonders if people will think she had sex with guy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭suspectpackage

I love how the OP SLEPT IN THE SAME BED as the guy lol. I wonder what she is leaving out???? You know what I mean OP ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Why cant you just say you chatted to him outside and went home (alone)? No one knows you were there. They didnt see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 MaggieZ

Seems like you have low self-esteem and very little self-respect. The thing is, whether he brags or not, there is nothing you can do about it at this point. All you can do is to forget about this jerk (although, I have to admit, he was honest with you and he didn't have to), learn from this mistake and move on. We all make mistakes and it is not the end of the world. Just try to respect yourself a bit more, you deserve better.