Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jones Jr beaten by Green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

He has enough money he should quit and let people remember the good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Makes you wonder if Roy ever had a chin. Anyone who landed a clean decent punch on him, as opposed to pitty pat slaps like Calzaghe seems to have stopped him. There's no denying the man was brilliant but from once he lost that split second of speed after going up to heavyweight he just seems to collapse when hit properly. Methinks he never had much punch resistance, just a great defense and reflexes to avoid the power. Thats why he avoided Dariusz Michalczweski for so long.

Hopkins would murder him, once he's butted him and hugged him for a couple of rounds.
    I really hope that fight never happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Makes you wonder if Roy ever had a chin. Anyone who landed a clean decent punch on him, as opposed to pitty pat slaps like Calzaghe seems to have stopped him. There's no denying the man was brilliant but from once he lost that split second of speed after going up to heavyweight he just seems to collapse when hit properly. Methinks he never had much punch resistance, just a great defense and reflexes to avoid the power. Thats why he avoided Dariusz Michalczweski for so long.

Hopkins would murder him, once he's butted him and hugged him for a couple of rounds.
    id imagine that fight will be off now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,357 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Daroxtar wrote: »

I tend to agree. Jones when at peak got away with it because he rarely took flush shots. That is why against hitters like Benn or McClellan, Jone would be a risk. He could still win, but he'd be a risk. I don't think Jones ever had a grade A chin. It was a notch below a Toney or Hopkins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Great win for Green considering Jones Jr. was paying only $1.33 at one point today. Most people over here at it down for a comfortable win but fair play to Green for stopping him so early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

It was a stupid fight for Jones jnr to take(and I felt that as soon as the fight was announced) and that was if the advantages were in Jones' court.
    Instead he fought at Green's, in Green's country just to further stack the odds against him.

Although he probably got a decent purse for this fight.
    Jones should be pretty much done now, he can't improve his legacy or his bank balance(much) anymore so there's nothing left to fight for.

Green should look to see if he can get the Hopkins fight now, and if not he should go for a version of a World title at 175 or 200. His comeback has been fantastic so far in this short 8 month period and I'm sure the former WBC interim Super-Middleweight champion and WBA Light-Heavyweight champion would love to have another strap for his mantelpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Lads this is the saddest sight ive seen in a ring in a while. Off the top of my head dlh getting picked off by forbes and then annihalated by pacqaiou. Brodie losin the other night. Gomez losing to Burns and Kahn is worth a mention is suppose.
    But i was actually in disbelief when i seen the title on eastside. I though it must be some type of hypothetical situation but no. seen it on youtube and was shocked.

Credit to Green in fairness. We all know Jones past it etc but he must have been training for a pretty decent roy jones, who has been looking good, well good enough to beat green anyway. So hats off in that respect as it was unknown how shot he was.

I imagine he will be a superstar in oz now. The commentators sold it a bit too much... beat a legend and u become a legend. Thats just insulting. You wouldnt get that on rte!!!

Jones is done. He should still be able to take on the likes of Jeff Lacy and guys at that level but any fight that is even slightly risky should be avoided, and i think he should only fight again to go out on a win and give us one more exhibition. Could he handle a Jermain Taylor? meaningless win for either man but possibly the biggest name fighter they could negotiate on even terms with?

Anyway, one more fight against a run of the mill fringe nabo level fighter and call it a long eventfull day.

The Green fight: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfkXMFUuWm8

Jones in his prime: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDWnMXzgeZo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Saltour Sossiez

Nice to see Roid get knocked out yet again. :D

For what reasons exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 jjm

joepenguin wrote: »

His left hook is a thing of beauty ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Magpie87

The commentators sold it a bit too much... beat a legend and u become a legend. Thats just insulting. You wouldnt get that on rte!!!

I'm happy with that Kevin McBride....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Good win for Danny and Roy has seen better days but that looked like a club to the back of the head to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

Is it just me or was Jones looking groggy from the first bell ???

He did'nt look right at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 kevinhug

Unfortunately Jones has taken on too much for too long now, going up to heavy then back down again was the breaking point. i admired him for pushing himself to the limit but now I am losing respect for him now.

i don't think we should be questioning his chin when he was prime that would be unfair, he was never hurt or wobbled throught the 90's and was unstoppable. Because he "hastn't been tested" isn't entirely accurate he was in against some big hitters. Do we question Mayweathers chin because he "hasn't been tested"?

He was a sad sight on the weekend and has been like that for a while in the ring. He might have been in shape, but just like any sport boxing football golf etc, when your skills leave you, call it a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Thank you Kevinhug. Nice to know there are some boxing people out there whose memory is better than the average goldfish.

I've gone over this before (and doubtless will do so again) so it's getting a bit tiresome, but, besides when Lou Del Valle caught him off-balance (Jones won every other minute of the fight) can anybody out there point out a time when Jones was actually wobbled/hurt/floored/rocked/woozy before he turned THIRTY FIVE YEARS OF AGE, FIFTEEN YEARS after turning professional???

I can't remember, but maybe it's my memory that needs checking !!

By the same logic used on Jones, Sugar Ray Robinson must have been useless, sure he lost SIXTEEN times. Roberto Duran the same. Sugar Ray Leonard had no chin whatsoever, sure an old, fat super-feather knocked him out. As for Muhammad Ali, he lost to a seven fight novice (one draw) and people have the cheek to call him The Greatest.

I could go on but why bother, there are people out there who judge people's achievements on whether they like their personality or not - a certain poster here only a few months ago said Jones "deserved to lose" the Olympic final because of his showboating !!! I kid you not.

There was nothing wrong with Jones chin in his prime (and even quite a while past it). There is now. But he's not even close to his prime, just like Robinson when he lost most of those sixteen, just like Duran when he lost most of his sixteen, just like Leonard when he was ko'd by Camacho, just like Ali when he lost to Spinks. You can't beat Father Time.

Jones was a special and great fighter, but his KO losses to Tarver and Johnson were brutal, and maybe the weight gain and loss routine and a bit of age caught up with him. Anyway, at peak, he did taste some flush shots and held up okay. I still think had he met a Gerald or Nigel and either landed fairly flush, he is in serious trouble. His chin was a grade B I would say.

BTW, As for his olympic final, yes, I think he should have been DQd for being such
    an ass in an AMATEUR Olympic sport. He showed nothing but contempt and disdain
    in the final, and this is the Olympics, not the pro game.

He clearly won the fight, but his antics and the way he conducted himself
    was out of order. And I was glad he lost the decision.

walshb wrote: »
    Jones was a special and great fighter, but his KO losses to Tarver and Johnson were brutal, and maybe the weight gain and loss routine and a bit of age caught up with him. Anyway, at peak, he did taste some flush shots and held up okay. I still think had he met a Gerald or Nigel and either landed fairly flush, he is in serious trouble. His chin was a grade B I would say.

BTW, As for his olympic final, yes, I think he should have been DQd for being such
    an ass in an AMATEUR Olympic sport. He showed nothing but contempt and disdain
    in the final, and this is the Olympics, not the pro game.

He clearly won the fight, but his antics and the way he conducted himself
    was out of order. And I was glad he lost the decision.

I agree that it shouldnt be a part of the sport at amature level. Its bad enough seeing it in the pro game but at least it can be justified as entertainment.

What should be in place is something that penalsies athletes for this. Roy could have got warnings/point deductions. But if this is not in the rules then it cant be punished, and shouldnt be punished. Robbing someone of olympic gold must be heartbreaking. He won that hands down and deserved it. Ive no time for showboating for the most part but he should have gotten warnings if he was going to lose because of it.

He doenst have much like that end of the world does he!!

joepenguin wrote: »
    I agree that it shouldnt be a part of the sport at amature level. Its bad enough seeing it in the pro game but at least it can be justified as entertainment.

What should be in place is something that penalsies athletes for this. Roy could have got warnings/point deductions. But if this is not in the rules then it cant be punished, and shouldnt be punished. Robbing someone of olympic gold must be heartbreaking. He won that hands down and deserved it. Ive no time for showboating for the most part but he should have gotten warnings if he was going to lose because of it.

He doenst have much like that end of the world does he!!

Yeah, he should have been sternly warned. Anyway, I was glad he didn't get the decision for the way he behaved during the fight and the disrespect he showed the Korean. It is the Olympic games, not the showbiz pro world.

So what you're saying is - you'd prefer to see the whole sport of boxing thrown into disrepute, with talks ever since of it being thrown out of the Olympics, the introduction of computer scoring (which I know you don't like) and very obvious corruption being tolerated - you'd prefer all that to the right man getting the decision, because you don't like him ???

Think about it.

It's perfectly ok for Muhammad Ali and Sugar Ray Leonard to showboat in their Olympic finals (yes they did) but not Roy Jones !!

megadodge wrote: »
    So what you're saying is - you'd prefer to see the whole sport of boxing thrown into disrepute, with talks ever since of it being thrown out of the Olympics, the introduction of computer scoring (which I know you don't like) and very obvious corruption being tolerated - you'd prefer all that to the right man getting the decision, because you don't like him ???

Think about it.

It's perfectly ok for Muhammad Ali and Sugar Ray Leonard to showboat in their Olympic finals (yes they did) but not Roy Jones !!

Don't be putting words into my mouth. I NEVER said I didn't like Jones.
    I didn't like his antics in Seoul, that's all.

Hey, no sweat. I was just happy to see Jones NOT
    getting the decision, that's all.

As for Clay and Leonard, I do not recall Ray showboating in the final vs Aldama. He did show flashy brilliance in an earlier match.

Clay, well, there is Clay and there is Jones. Need I say more?
    Anway, why bring up Clay, it is Jones that is being discussed.

But basically: In the Olympics or any amateur sport, I do not like to see
    the sort of carry on and belittling that Jones displayed. I am glad he lost.
    His display was pure arrogance and disdain.

I also was disgusted with the way a certain Irish amateur behaved in Beijing.

I don't have to put words into your mouth, your own words say it all.

That decision was a near-cataclysmic disaster for all boxing. I know people who know zero about boxing who can still recall that bout. Whitney Houston even had it in one of her videos for God's sake. Leaves a very bitter taste in the mouth, purely because it was WRONG !!

In your opinion Jones deserved to be disqualified.
    What rule did he break?

And I certainly will bring up Clay when he did the exact same thing but nobody ever says anything about it (correctly).

Irish Olympian ?? You've lost me now.

I don't have to put words into your mouth, your own words say it all.

That decision was a near-cataclysmic disaster for all boxing. I know people who know zero about boxing who can still recall that bout. Whitney Houston even had it in one of her videos for God's sake. Leaves a very bitter taste in the mouth, purely because it was WRONG !!

In your opinion Jones deserved to be disqualified.
    What rule did he break?

And I certainly will bring up Clay when he did the exact same thing but nobody ever says anything about it (correctly).

Irish Olympian ?? You've lost me now.

You did put words in my mouth. I never said I disliked Roy.
    As a pro, he was superb, and a superb amatuer too. One incident
    in Seoul I highly disagreed with, his antics in the final. For this, I was
    personally glad he lost the decision. If you want to make it out
    into something much more, go ahead.

A certain fighter in Beijing behaved disgracefully when a verdict
    wasn't to his liking. You still lost?

It's very hard to believe you like Jones having said what you said.

If anyone is making a mountain out of a molehill it's you. When this bout is ever mentioned in boxing (and non-boxing) company NOBODY ever mentions showboating - I wonder why ?

I'm with you now on the Olympics. PB. Thought you were referring to the silver.

It's very hard to believe you like Jones having said what you said.

If anyone is making a mountain out of a molehill it's you. When this bout is ever mentioned in boxing (and non-boxing) company NOBODY ever mentions showboating - I wonder why ?

I'm with you now on the Olympics. PB. Thought you were referring to the silver.

joepenguinn commented, not everyone thinks like you.

Anyway, it was you who brought it up in your post yesterday.
    It's simply ONE incident that really irritatd me. I remember it vividly, and at
    the time, I was happy the dick didn't get the decision, because he was so
    OTT and belittling. Bear in mind, in 1988 nobody knew Jones, or what
    he would become. To me, he was just another talented yank.
    So, my "dislike" for him in the final, was based off the final, and the final alone

So, no need whatsoever for mountains and molehills; simply a disagreement
    on ONE fight in Roy's whole career
    Super talent as a pro. I can't deny that.