Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there no end to the countries shame this year???

• 02-12-2009 1:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭

X Factor twins John and Edward are to appear on an episode of The Simpsons, producers have hinted.

A spokesman for Fox told the Sun that the quiffed Irish pair have the right assets to appear on the show.

He said: "Castings are not something we can talk publicly about, but we are taking a look at the boys.

"We love anything Irish - we set a whole show there last year. They are certainly charming and good-looking fellows."

Naturally, John and Edward – known as Jedward to their fans – are thrilled with the idea.
    Edward said: "We would love to be on the Simpsons- John, Edward and The Simpsons - we're best friends with Bart!"

Maybe Matt Groenig will draft them in for his All Tomorrow's Parties next May? That would be an upset.

http://www.gigwise.com/news/53710/X-Factor-Twins-Jedward-To-Guest-On-The-Simpsons?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭bigdaddyliamo

maybe they can do a comedy triple with sepp!
    God spare us all!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thats a sign of being a cool dude(s), no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Good luck to them.
    So two irish lads manage to get onto a Simpsons episode - and show the world again that we have one of the best sense of humours going - plus it gets the boys more influence in cracking the American media circus.

I won't begruge them. I wish them luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Fair play to them....living the dream!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I think this is more crap made up by the media to sell more papers while Jedward are still newsworthy

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Blah blah doing us proud blah blah blah begrudgery blah blah blah fair play blah balh blah blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Two more celebrity cameos on the Simpsons will save the writers many hours spent producing a quality script.
    Well at least a script on a par with Simpsons of old.
    Everybody's happy........ right? :o

stovelid wrote: »
    Blah blah doing us proud blah blah blah begrudgery blah blah blah fair play blah balh blah blah

LOL That sounds like something Bart would say! :pac:

Supposedly Smithers has a threesome with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Good luck to them, I have to admit I secretly admire them. Admire their ability to speak complete and utter bollox every time they open their mouths that is.

In fairness, they were sat a couple of rows in front of me on the flight back from Heathrow last week and they genuinely looked quite shy and fairly humbled by the attention they got.

lets face it, none of us would turn down the chance to earn the small fortune they are destined for. good luck to them I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

Rebelheart wrote: »
    country's.

I thought the thread was going to be about genocide, pollution or human rights when I read countries. :D
    Anyways, Jedward on the Simpsons. Funny if it does happen, but I doubt it will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

a pair of 18 year old twins friends with a 10-11 year old boy, nothing strange about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

gino85 wrote: »
    a pair of 18 year old twins friends with a 10-11 year old boy, nothing strange about that

Bart must be 25 at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

This really bugs me. People don't like John and Edward and consider them an embarrassment to the entire country. Why? Is every person in England apologetic for Jordan and Jodie Marsh? No! Is everyone in the US cringing because of Paris Hilton? No!!

What is it with Ireland that we're all so convinced that every little thing that is connected to the country is a complete representation of the 4m+ people on the island?

We have two young boys who admittedly are not to everyones liking, fair enough.
    They are however trying to do things as best they can with the talents they have or lack of.

They are/will make serious money by a lot of accounts.
    So they will return home more often than not, buy homes, shop, employ others (directly or indirectly), pay tax and still managed to entertain a lot of folk.

Seriously - I can't see what the hell is the problem!
    If they are on the telly and you don't like them, use the remote.
    If they are in the paper and you don't like them - don't read or buy the paper!
    If you don't like their shows/music, don't buy their stuff. Jeeze...

We have two Irish lads that are having fun for their age, making money, striking while the iron is hot and are by ALL accounts two decent pleasant characters to actually meet and speak to!

I wish the begrudgers/jealous/chip on their shoulders characters would just move on!
    They should save their angst for the too many real criminals of this country. Lord knows there is enough of them - some in elected office I suspect!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

stovelid wrote: »

I see you have started scanning threads in mod mode...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Dear God!! Though if I was them I'd be squeezing every last second of my fame before the impending doom.

I'd care if The Simpsons was any good nowadays. It's an awful, awful show thats years out of date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭AntoSRFC

Fair play but who watches Simpsons anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

this won't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Rebeccas

oh my god they are..?????

when and why would people ruin the simpons no body gonna watch it after them been on it:L:L:L

Ugh leave us alone john and Edwards your not going to be singerssss EVER!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

Rebeccas wrote: »
    oh my god they are..?????

when and why would people ruin the simpons no body gonna watch it after them been on it:L:L:L

OH MY GOD I TOTALLY AGREE LIKE!!!

tbh wrote: »
    this won't happen.
    Second version:
    John & Edward for 'The Simpsons'?
    Eliminated X Factor twins John and Edward Grimes are reportedly being considered for an appearance on The Simpsons.
    According to The Sun, the singing duo could feature as themselves in an episode of the animated sitcom.
    A Fox spokesman said: "Castings are not something we can talk publicly about, but we are taking a look at the boys.
    "We love anything Irish - we set a whole show there last year. They are certainly charming and good-looking fellows."
    Edward said: "We would love to be on The Simpsons. John, Edward and the Simpsons - we're best friends with Bart!"
    Britain's Got Talent star Susan Boyle was namechecked by Homer Simpson in an episode of the Sky1 show earlier this year.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/xfactor/news/a189530/john--edward-for-the-simpsons.html

So never say never... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Jack The Ripper

tbh wrote: »
    this won't happen.

I agree.
    Rebeccas wrote: »

Ummm...they're already singers. That's how people recognise them, from a singing contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ummm...they're already singers. That's how people recognise them, from a singing contest.

Doesn't necessarily make them singers. Bythat logic, everyone who sings is a singer, even if it isn't on a singin contest. I'd class them more as entertainers, they are suited for the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

The simpson's turned to crap year's ago anyway.

Fair play them!

I have to say I have enjoyed their antics. They were the only worth while thing to ever come out of x-factor imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Why would they stick 2 unknowns on a show in a downward spiral when their primary market would never have heard of them.

Britans got talent and X-factor gets massive airplay over there apparently.
    Cowell next year is starting up his USA version of it according to reports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

gatecrash wrote: »
    "We love anything Irish - we set a whole show there last year."

Er, yeah....complete with "police" cars and big red London buses! :rolleyes:

Ireland : the home of lepreachauns, talentless poncy gits, and Bertie Ahern! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm content in my begrdugery.

I'd like them to set their quiffs alight in a hairspray accident. Maybe on live TV. Nothing really life-threatening - just something painful and humiliating.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Biggins wrote: »
    Britans got talent and X-factor gets massive airplay over there apparently.
    Cowell next year is starting up his USA version of it according to reports.

America's Got Talent and American Idol??