Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perfect timing, Father.

• 02-12-2009 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭

Senior church officials in the diocese of Cloyne are to meet later this morning after a priest in the diocese is reported to have branded Revenue Officials 'the biggest showers of bastards on the planet'.

According to an article in today's Irish Star, Fr Tadhg O'Donovan, who is curate in the parish of Whitechurch, and a convicted tax evader also called them 'an almighty shower of c**ts'.

Fr O'Donovan is said to have made the comments to the newspaper after yesterday's publication of his name on a list 76 tax defaulters.

It showed that he had made a settlement of €433,475 with the Revenue Commissioners.

In March 2008, Fr O'Donovan was fined €6,000 at Cork Circuit Criminal Court on ten charges relating to his tax affairs - after agreeing a separate €213,000 settlement with the Revenue Commissioners.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1202/odonovant.html

Considering the scandals swirling around the chuch, and the state of the public coffers, you have to hand it to the tax-evading priest. He really picked his moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

How does a priest end up owing the taxman close to half a million euro? Must be paying well, the old collar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Frizzaldo

probably inheritance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

How does a priest end up owing the taxman close to half a million euro? Must be paying well, the old collar.

Probably selling indulgences. Or driving a taxi.

Frizzaldo wrote: »
    probably inheritance...

Inheritance doesn't end with you having to make 2 separate settlements with the Revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

It was just resting in his account, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Inheritance doesn't end with you having to make 2 separate settlements with the Revenue.

Depends how often you inherit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Anyone else got a picture of Fr. Jack in their heads?

Dougal: What was it that Jack used to call the Revenue Officials again Ted?
    Ted: Oh yes, i think it was an almighty shower of c**ts. Never did like those guys did our Fr. Jack.

prinz wrote: »
    Depends how often you inherit...

well, if he'd just been meek he'd inherit the earth.

What I really enjoy is "Senior church officials in the diocese of Cloyne are to meet later this morning after a priest in the diocese is reported to have branded Revenue Officials 'the biggest showers of bastards on the planet'."

Have ye nothing better to discuss? I think ye do.... Recent "reports" perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

omahaid wrote: »
    It was just resting in his account, no?

That was an awful long rest to get close to half a million euro.

gavredking wrote: »
    That was an awful long rest to get close to half a million euro.

Ya, but Fr. O Donovan now claims that the Revenue Officials are (and I quote) "A great bunch of lads".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I lol'd at the ''biggest shower of bastards on the planet'' comment... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

And he said unto them, Render therefore unto Lenihan the things which be Lenihan's, and unto God the things which be God's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

How does a priest manage to earn that much that he settles with the Revenue for 213k and then later 433k. A priest only earns 250 a week. I think its 300 after 60 years of service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I thought they took vows of poverty ?

awaits inevitable play on the word poverty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

The Revenue Commissioners revealed before the District Court that Fr O'Donovan had an interest in a total of 13 properties in various parts of Cork dating back to 1989 -- and was in receipt of a substantial rental income from at least 11 of these holdings.

"Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also."
    Matthew 6:19-21

Feckin priests...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

I'd say twas either indulgences or simony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Vow of Poverty My Hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

I wonder did he indulge in strict mental reservation like the more senior members of his organisation.

I thought they took vows of poverty ?

awaits inevitable play on the word poverty

actually, priests don't take vows of poverty generally (I'd assume some orders of priests do) but the majority don't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1202/odonovant.html

Considering the scandals swirling around the chuch, and the state of the public coffers, you have to hand it to the tax-evading priest. He really picked his moment.

Best username ever to start a thread about the church!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I thought they took vows of poverty?

For the record:
    There are some religious institutes whose members are required to take vows of poverty, chastity, and obedience. Occasionally additional vows particular to their institute are required as well. Carmelites, Dominicans, and Jesuits (to name only a few) fall into this category.

Members of such institutes generally receive a small monthly stipend, perhaps $100 per month in the U.S., for personal expenses. With this tiny amount they can buy a birthday gift for a relative, or go to a restaurant occasionally for lunch, or get a pack of cigarettes. They often have full-time jobs, maybe as university professors or hospital administrators, and as such they earn full-time salaries-but they cannot touch this money as their paychecks are immediately turned over to their religious superiors.

The cars they drive, the houses they live in, and sometimes even the clothes they wear are not the property of the religious themselves, for these things as a rule belong to their religious institute.

http://catholicexchange.com/2008/11/20/114501/

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Do all Catholic priests take a vow of poverty?[/FONT] [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No, they do not. Priests who are members of religious communities (and lay men and women who belong to such communities) make vows to God of poverty, chastity and obedience. However, the diocesan clergy (the usual parish priests and other priests who belong to a diocese rather than to a religious order) may own, inherit, invest and control their own possessions and are responsible for their own insurance, taxes, etc.[/FONT]

http://www.dioceseoflincoln.org/purple/priesthood/index.htm#4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

actually, priests don't take vows of poverty generally (I'd assume some orders of priests do) but the majority don't.

That's true; they can be Rich Rich Rich
    Although, it does make a bit of nonsense out of things like;
    "And when Jesus heard it, he said to him, "One thing you still lack. Sell all that you have and distribute to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me."

and
    Jesus looking at him said, "How hard it is for those who have riches to enter the kingdom of God

especially as a priest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Nah, ya pick the things you like out of the Bible and discard the rest.
    That's how the Christians do it!

Muslims don't(With the Koran)..which probably explains a lot of the extremist laws and behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Well done to him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

DamienH wrote: »
    I'd say twas either indulgences or simony.
    No point in blaming anyone else, twas Fr. O'Donovan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Vow of Poverty My Hole.
    Oh., your poor arse....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

Thats brilliant. Love his descriptions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I went to school with him.