Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Submissiveness in pups - how worried should I be?

• 01-12-2009 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭

I have two red setter pups which will be five months old next week. In the past three weeks or so, one of them has started to display submissive behaviour e.g. rolling over when I approach, and also rolling over when he meets people when out for a walk. He is not showing signs of nerves as such - he will not sulk away from anyone and although will be cautious when meeting a strange dog (as is his brother), he will not run the other way or anythig like that. He is not involuntarily urinating ether which can be a symptom.
    It may or may not be a problem and I am not making a big deal about it but at the same time I would rather he wasn't displaying this behaviour. I had an English setter years ago who did the same thing and he turned out to be no good for the field - a great nose but no drive. I suppose I am worried that this one will go the same way - even though there is no reason why this should be the case!!
    For the record, I kept two dog pups from a litter of seven. The dog now displaying the submissiveness was the pup that picked himself - he was always the most confident and forward right up until all pups were sold at about 10 weeks. Obviously I am not writing off the dog or anything but as I've said, it is behaviour that I would rather he didn't display. As far as I know there has been no incidences with another man or dog that could have spooked him. I have been putting both dogs through basic obedience for about the last six weeks or so - the drop, stay, come to call etc - all done very gently. This may have dented his confidence? Has anyone had similar experiences? Will he grow out of it? Do I have anything to worry about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I wouldn't be too worried.
    My mate's springer rolls over & p***ses herself evertime one of us passes her. Thing is we don't rub her when she does this this as it encourages it. We only give her a rub when she sits.
    She's not bad in the field, plenty of go.
    My own little springer can be very timid also but he's now about 7 months & is starting to harden up a bit. I've had him out a few times to get him using his nose & used to light cover & he's met 1 or 2 pheasants & it has done him wonders. The gun is slowly been introduced also. He was pining away in a run on his own so I moved him in with the other fella who is a pure softy & the difference in him is unreal. He spends the days fighting & chewing on the older dogs ears without consequence & now when he's out he's hopping off the ground full of confidence & mad to go. Not too bothered by other dogs anymore either.
    Is the other pup more dominant around food etc? He might be putting him off.
    I would be taking him out on his own to start with & not encouraging the submissive behaviour...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

I wouldn't be too worried.
    My mate's springer rolls over & p***ses herself evertime one of us passes her. Thing is we don't rub her when she does this this as it encourages it. We only give her a rub when she sits.
    She's not bad in the field, plenty of go.
    My own little springer can be very timid also but he's now about 7 months & is starting to harden up a bit. I've had him out a few times to get him using his nose & used to light cover & he's met 1 or 2 pheasants & it has done him wonders. The gun is slowly been introduced also. He was pining away in a run on his own so I moved him in with the other fella who is a pure softy & the difference in him is unreal. He spends the days fighting & chewing on the older dogs ears without consequence & now when he's out he's hopping off the ground full of confidence & mad to go. Not too bothered by other dogs anymore either.
    Is the other pup more dominant around food etc? He might be putting him off.
    I would be taking him out on his own to start with & not encouraging the submissive behaviour...

plus one on that..ignore it , 99 percent of them will soon stop the rolling about and get up onto their feet..when he lays on his back remove your eye contact..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

i have a red and white setter bitch the very same. she has plenty of drive and no problem in the field. the only problem you might happen on is in training cause she may opt to lie down when you try to correct her. if you try something new she may lie down. it can get annoying but given time and not loosing the head she should be fine. she might take a little more thinking and effort. and if your going to teach her to drop watch she stays on her belly cause she will prob try to roll over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Wolfhillbilly

Thanks lads. All good advice. I'm glad I didn't get the dreaded phrase 'I've never had a good un that did that!'