Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Run-a-muck challenge March 13th 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Sounds brilliant and will be good preperation for one day getting to take part in Ninja Warrior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

guapos wrote: »
    Sounds brilliant and will be good preperation for one day getting to take part in Ninja Warrior

What's the Ninja Warrior? Another race?

Might put together a team of people to get the 20% discount. Anybody interested?

Dapope?!
    MyMojo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Its a japenese tv program they show on challenge tv which involves an extremely difficult obstacle course, would love to get on it one day.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Wonder wud a man need to know how to swim! :)

Probably will do it, not sure which to do, the 5km 1 lap might be enough when u are up to you go-nads in muck and water :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭mymojo

haha that looks hilarious! i def up for running a muck :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Definitely up for this.

I will have to go Solo though, as none of the lads I train with want to do it, something about Daz never getting the mud outta their whites.

Will team up with you Yop old buddy if you want?, would prefer to do the 2 laps.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

CKWPORT wrote: »
    Definitely up for this.

I will have to go Solo though, as none of the lads I train with want to do it, something about Daz never getting the mud outta their whites.

Will team up with you Yop old buddy if you want?, would prefer to do the 2 laps.

Will do header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

Looks like good fun lads....will have to have a think about this but something that I would be interested in. Team idea is a good one as well. Think the two lap options sounds good and that you can stop after 1 laps :D

The 20 quid early bird offers finishes tomorrow 31st December.

Just signed myself and 7 people up for this.

2 laps it is. Well, we'll see if all my group finish the two laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Dothehustle

ok signed up
    serious question do you need to know how to swim
    cause if you do i have 12 weeks to learn
    edit oh crap i have less then 10

ok signed up

Jebus!! Good question, thats me out if you have to!!! :) Even though I suspect that you dont have to know

yop wrote: »
    Jebus!! Good question, thats me out if you have to!!! :) Even though I suspect that you dont have to know

"Each lap will take in many different obstacles and challenges which include various bale "jumps", climbs, crawls under cargo nets, pipes, tunnels, various ditch dash and other water challenges"

this bit makes me think other wise
    it will give me a reason to learn:o

ok signed up

Doubt you need to know how to swim, I've sent an email to the race organiser. I'll let you know what comes back.

"Each lap will take in many different obstacles and challenges which include various bale "jumps", climbs, crawls under cargo nets, pipes, tunnels, various ditch dash and other water challenges"

this bit makes me think other wise
    it will give me a reason to learn:o

Yikes...One would want to know for sure if there is swimming or not before signing up...

I'm sure Yop with his many connections will find out shortly:D

EDIT: looks like GoHard is on the case already...

Yikes...One would want to know for sure if there is swimming or not before signing up...

I'm sure Yop with his many connections will find out shortly:D

EDIT: looks like GoHard is on the case already...

Will try for an answer but doubt I will get it before end of day.

If no swimming exp required I will sign up.

Will try for an answer but doubt I will get it before end of day.

If no swimming exp required I will sign up.

No swimming experience required. Clarified that there with the organisers.

Good Man Yop!

We signing up for the 2 laps so??

Good Man Yop!

We signing up for the 2 laps so??

Aye, it seems we are!! :)

Ahem, yep. I concur! Didn't get a chance to reply until now. No swimming required. Judging by one of the photos though I reckon we'll have to wade through a tunnel with water in it.

cheers yop
    it should be a pice of cake now:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

Some infor for Boardies from the Organisers:
    Course and indeed venue for the Runamuck have been finalised and entries are close to 250 and growing steadily every day :)!

There were some access issues with originally intended venue so the event has been relocated down the road a little towards Dublin to a 500 acre farm with lots of mud and an authentic down n durty agricultural feel to it :D.

Location is a few km south of Johnstownbridge, Co Kildare which is easily accessed from the Enfield by-pass.

The 5k should be achievabable by all within an hour or so and the hard core can continue for a second lap but for sure don't come expecting a PB - unless you have not done a 5 or 10 k event before ;)

Regular entries (€25) are still open until 28th Feb with a 20% reduction available for teams of 6 or more - just enter as a team as Go Hard has to get reduction.
    Up to yourselves whether you race together or go for individual Glory

One further recent change is that All Profits will be going to support the work of the Niall Mellon Township Trust - The landowner is a participant in these South African building trips hence the decision to go with that charity.

So who is signed up for this then :)

What you doing 1 or 2 laps? :)

2 Laps Serious Mucker

But after reading that post above, one hour to do one lap....I might be opting out if i am wrecked after that.

Gawan outta dat CK!

How could anyone from Mayo not class themselves as a Serious Mucker?

The 1 hour for 1 lap is the estimate for a very slow jogger / walker but there is always the option of the early shower ;) for the soft core!

Go Hard the Boardie to beat of those "Declared" so far

Excuseless wrote: »
    Gawan outta dat CK!

I stand corrected.

I'll do the two laps so, try and stop me.

Excuseless wrote: »
    Gawan outta dat CK!

How could anyone from Mayo not class themselves as a Serious Mucker?

The 1 hour for 1 lap is the estimate for a very slow jogger / walker but there is always the option of the early shower ;) for the soft core!

Go Hard the Boardie to beat of those "Declared" so far

Lol, I think we might have to drag you through the muck now in April :):)

Its not the winning.. its the taking part that counts.... lol... thats what I have to keep telling myself now :)

yep i am in for 2 laps*
    also have talked 5 more idiots in to doing it:D

*that means i have paid for 2 laps if i do both is a diffrent thing

Entries now at 425 and flying in - insatiable appetite for muck apparently:)

Several GAA teams are confirmed on board, a group of 24 from Limerick and Tipperary (The Bally Boys!) and we have just had confirmation that the Defence Force's Cadet 86th Class of 2010 will be participating - All 35 of them so that should make for a great occasion and a chance to test yourself against them in the Serious Muckers section :eek:

Regular entry available until this Sunday night and finishers prize only available to the first 450 entered as the order has been placed based on anticipated numbers of 450 which it is expected will be well exceeded.

All aboard boardies!

Yikes, really gonna be a small fry in the serious muckers category after reading that.
    Gulp!

Yikes, really gonna be a small fry in the serious muckers category after reading that.
    Gulp!

The bigger they are the harder they fall ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭girvtheswerve

I can see myself dropping out after one lap by the sounds of things. Ill give it a good go though and it will be a laugh if nothing else.

Does anyone know how much water will be involved and what will be the best thing to wear? hope it warms up a bit in the next couple of weeks!!

Bit dependent on the weather between now and then as to how much n deep the water will be but you will get wet and dirty but won't need to swim!
    Prob best to wear leggings and long sleeved top but not baggy type of each as wet n soggy makes for very baggy and heavy = rubbing n running:eek:

Current entry is 523 spread fairly evenly between the 1 and 2 lap events.

Entries will be closing next Sunday night 7th March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭acurno

Is there any point wearing proper Gortex trail runners for this or should I just bring along my worst pair of normal runners? I don't wanna lose one in the middle of the bog!

acurno wrote: »
    Is there any point wearing proper Gortex trail runners for this or should I just bring along my worst pair of normal runners? I don't wanna lose one in the middle of the bog!

Bit late now to reply perhaps but your feet will definitely be submerged above the ankle so the gore-tex runners won't keep you dry. You will have better grip with the trail runners though compared to the road runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

I'll be wearing my cheaper road runners. They'll get filthy but what the hell.

Apart from that it's base layer leggings and shorts - base layer top and running shirt. I wouldn't wear anything cotton that will absorb water and muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭hoganpoly

photos from todays challenge here :)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/40084026@N05/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

It was great fun I have to say. Fair play to the organisers - it went swimmingly (if you'll excuse the pun :D ) The course was great - queues at some sections but it was the first year of it - they'll do better next year I'm sure. Overall it was a great fun event. Looking forward to next year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Causeway

Looks like there was some tough challenges on route, pictures look great.
    If anyone is doing a report on it your can email it to me to be included on Sleepmonsters.ie site.

ivan.park at sleepmonsters.ie

That was some crack. Muck/water/spills/falls/ropes but overall great laughs and a massive spirit between everyone which was there.

Well done to the organisers, music was top and commentary was funny, great to get the old teeshirt and cup and the photos are class.

Really looking forward to the next one.

Brilliant craic! Can't wait for the next one. Don't think I'd want to train for it though. Who wants to wade through muck and slop! There was a submerged cargo net that we were supposed to crawl under. There would have been some very messy people coming out of that! Next time they'll have marshals there.

Did you see the blue ninjas? Well that's what I called them. Bit freaky! :)
    Loads of army cadets, GAA players, Dodgy Muckers, grown men in onesies! We need a Boards team in the next one.

Bit freaky for me leading the race for all of 30 seconds before the faster runners took their rightful place ahead of me. Anybody who had to queue would have lost several minutes at each obstacle. Good incentive then to kill yourself getting to the obstacles ahead of other people.

I would have liked more bales of hay!