Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lost my passport - urgent query

• 01-12-2009 5:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭

Can you assist me with a query

I had a flight today booked at 5pm. Naturally i have missed that. I left my passport in a cab and have no way of tracing the cab back . I plan on getting ferry tomorrow to wales and train to london.

All i have is a work ID - justs show my name and photo .

Will this suffice ?

Is there anyway i can get something from the guards maybe to identify me ?

Thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

in all the time i've gotten ferries over and back from wales i've only been asked for id once. and that was when i was the last person on the ferry. you should be grand with just a driving license. you can still travel between the two countries without a passport (officially that is, although ryanair or aer lingus will demand a passport, they are not border control).
    the passport office in knightsbridge will sort it out for you then, but you may need a form from the gardai to say you've lost the original one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

in all the time i've gotten ferries over and back from wales i've only been asked for id once. and that was when i was the last person on the ferry. you should be grand with just a driving license. you can still travel between the two countries without a passport (officially that is, although ryanair or aer lingus will demand a passport, they are not border control).
    the passport office in knightsbridge will sort it out for you then, but you may need a form from the gardai to say you've lost the original one.

dont have a driving licence unfortunately ..only have a work id. was think of popping down to garda station to see if they could write something fro me to explain that i have lost my passport in case i get asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

dont have a driving licence unfortunately ..only have a work id. was think of popping down to garda station to see if they could write something fro me to explain that i have lost my passport in case i get asked.

they have something to give you along those lines anyway. the last time i travelled by ferry was in july, and i was in the back seat asleep when we got to check in. the ticket was for 2 people, i was going to buy a foot passenger ticket when we got there, but the guy at check in didn't look in the back, and didn't ask for id. it's really amazing the lack of security at the ports!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

yeh think i see if guards can do anything for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Bring a couple of passport type pics to the Garda Stn.