Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA Handball 'showdown'

• 01-12-2009 12:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭

gaa%20showdown%20logo%20small.jpg

Basically the best handballer's in the country are teaming up with intercounty players for a competition to promote the sport of handball. They'll play games where the handballers play each other, and then the intercounty players play each other, and the scores are added up! overall winner goes through.

- Is anyone going to this?
    - Do you think that this'll promote handball?
    - More importantly - who will win!?

And if anyone is interested the draws are up:

The draws are up (Come on Dublin :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

Gutted I can't make it, has the potential to be a great and interesting day. Some good line ups too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Dublin and Kilkenny teams very strongl Should be a good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

Will be shouting for the Wexford boys myself but would have to fancy the Kilkenny duo.
    Cork could be contenders too Donnacha O Connor is supposed to be pretty good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

same here, cant make it! would be great crack though, so im gutted!

The Meath lads will have it!

id love these things to be streamed! watch it on a laptop while Im going! feck

Titles went to Healy and O'Connor(Cork) in the 40x20, Buggy and Masterson(Wexford) in the 60x30, Hilley and Darcy (Wicklow/Wexford) in the ladies 40x20. Some great games in particular the big alley with Tom Sheridan and Ducksy having a cracker. Level when the initial 10 minutes was up, level after an extra 3 minutes, level after another extra 3 minutes and then they decided to make it the first to 5 with Ducksy scraping it 5-4. Also in the 60x30 final with Ducksy and Buggy level on aces with 30 seconds to go, a long rally went on that ended with Buggy rolling one out in the corner to win it.
    Loch Garman abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Results wrote:
    GAA 125 Handball Showdown Benefit Tournament:
    At: The National Handball Centre, Croke Park:
    Men's Softball (60X30) (Final):
    G. Buggy & A. Masterson (Wexford) bt M. Walsh & T. Walsh (Kilkenny) 19-18.
    Men's (40X20) (Final):
    T. Healy & D. O' Connor (Cork) bt J. McCann & A. Moran (Mayo) 17-16.
    Women's (40X20) (Final):
    S. Hilley (Wicklow) & M. D'Arcy (Wexford) bt M. Daly (Kerry) & M.
    Morrissey (Tipperary) 15-13.

Read the report

Great for handball to do something for such a good cause!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭megadodge

Heard good reports about the whole day.
    Hopefully we'll get to see some of it on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Would be great to see some footage of it alright. Was at a wedding so couldnt make it. Anyone go (hughes2558?)? If so what did ya make of it?

I thought it was a great day. Hector keep things ticking along nicely and was a bit of craic. The timed games made it exciting when scores were close near the end. One thing it really did show up though was the state of the place. In truth a poor representation of our game. It was absolutely freezing too. But my only complaints would be of the venue. The event itself was great. Apparently plans are being unveiled tonight about knocking the small alley part and rebuilding. I only heard this from Ger Coonan. dont no if its true or official.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

Place is a dump alright. If the GAA had their way a few years ago it would have been levelled. Only the hard work (and fighting tooth and nail) kept the place open at all. There have been promises down through the years about rebuilding/replacing. Mostly broken promises. Latest promise however is to have a new or renovated facility in time for the Worlds. With the new branding as GAA Handball, you;d have to think they mean it this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭megadodge

Don't count on it.

As long as the man in charge of Croke Park remains there, don't expect anything other than lies and duplicity !!

I know what I'm talking about. I'm one of those who fought tooth and nail a few years ago to prevent the same man from levelling the whole complex.

Despite everything, 5-6 YEARS LATER there is still absolutely no sign of the oft-promised new complex being built !! Why ?