Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Products to stop hair loss

• 01-12-2009 1:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

I'm 22 and my hair is falling out. Baldness isnt that common in my family so its probably not hereditary (then again maybe it is!). Anyways, I was just wondering what is the best product to help prevent or at least slow down hair loss. Would it be Nourkrin, Regain, Crescina, Chinese Herbs etc or something else?

Any help would be great (but please dont tell me to shave it off cos you are just wasting your own time and my time!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I'm 22 and my hair is falling out. Baldness isnt that common in my family so its probably not hereditary (then again maybe it is!). Anyways, I was just wondering what is the best product to help prevent or at least slow down hair loss. Would it be Nourkrin, Regain, Crescina, Chinese Herbs etc or something else?

Any help would be great (but please dont tell me to shave it off cos you are just wasting your own time and my time!!)

Sorry mate but you're wasting your time even considering any of these products, the best you can hope for is a slight delay in the inevitable which would probably be more traumatic than just letting it occur naturally. It's just one of those things that us males have to put up with unfortunately. Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

Sorry mate but you're wasting your time even considering any of these products, the best you can hope for is a slight delay in the inevitable which would probably be more traumatic than just letting it occur naturally. It's just one of those things that us males have to put up with unfortunately. Good luck.

OP, ignore that comment if, like you said it isnt hereditary male pattern baldness. Hair loss can be caused be many things such as stress. In these cases hair can regrow on the effected regions and there is many products on the market to help (such as the ones you listed). I dont know which of these products are the best but hopefully some one else can advice you on that!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Baldness isnt that common in my family so its probably not hereditary
    If it's not hereditary, all the stuff you quoted will most likely be useless. Goto your doc, and get yourself checked for stress, as it's the main reason for loss of hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭HermitHorace

The Syco talks sense plus I don't want to disagree with him.

Doc is your only guy, it may be a symptom of something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've heard the best thing to do is get a recommendation for a dermatologist. Doctors are good, but specialists are well worth the extra money. I had skin problems in the past and met a dermatologist, can't recommend it enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 itsmedee

talk to your doc about propecia. it works for me and a couple of friends

Is it coming off in patches, at the front, at the back, or what?

Me, I started going bald at an early age, and it's hereditary - grandfather, etc, had it.

One guy I know started going bald, but once they lost the current ball and chain, his hair came back - the bitch was stressing him out that much :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

the_syco wrote: »
    If it's not hereditary, all the stuff you quoted will most likely be useless. Goto your doc, and get yourself checked for stress, as it's the main reason for loss of hair.
    Reading a thing there recently on twin research into grey hair. It found grey hair was purely hereditary and not stress related. Interesting aside in the study was that while receding hairline in men had a strong hereditary basis, thinning hair at the crown had a big environmental aspect. I have read before somewhere that certain populations don't suffer with it as much, but when they encounter diet and environment changes the incidence increases. So maybe a better more "natural" diet, less stress would slow it down anyway? Might explain how some suplementation may have some effect? Which ones are the thing though and maybe it's down to childhood environment too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭smellyanus

Coffee is shown to promote hair growth. To ingest enough you would have to drink something like 800 cups a day but rubbing it directly on your scalp is supposed to help (so a scientific study said anyway).
    If you google hard enough I think you will find that diet can influence hair loss too, mackerel is one thing I can remember (it is a while since I was looking into it). I fyou read up on Nourkin there was some legal battle over the name and somewhere I found a list of what is in the stuff and you can figure out foods from that. Edit - possible I am thinking of Viviscal
    As for Crescina.....stay away from it. I accidentally let some run down my face and it burnt it, the part of the skin it touched came out in big red raised lumps. I have read a lot of forums onhair loss and never heard anyone say Crescina helped them. I have however heard a lot of people swear by Rogaine (didn't help me) and propecia/proscar which I can't get and don't want to risk ordering online.

smellyanus wrote: »
    I have read a lot of forums onhair loss and never heard anyone say Crescina helped them. I have however heard a lot of people swear by Rogaine (didn't help me) and propecia/proscar which I can't get and don't want to risk ordering online.
    There's a pill that you can get. It costs about €90 for a 30 pills, and you take one a day. From what I've read about it, it was meant to be very good. Can't think of what it's called, though. If, after you goto your doc, and you find that the hair loss is not caused by stress, check out the "BALD" shop opposite the George in Dubiln, down the alley. They are very informative, and know of different treatments. The only thing I'll say is: they're not a public service, they're there to make money, so check out what they tell you before you buy. Paranoia, maybe, but better safe than sorry.

=-=

Wibbs, two interesting things: chinese people are said not to go bald, as they have a large amount of sun down there. We have little or no sun, and thus we go bald quicker. How this works, I don't know, Due to pre-existing gene's, I'd say the stats aren't the same in Oz, but I see VERY few bald chinese people.

Another thing is that most of the hair products that are designed to keep your hair warn of the possibilty of a lowered sex drive, as they reduce your testerone levels. Asian women, on the other hand, are meant to love bald guys in their culture because of this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

the_syco wrote: »
    Wibbs, two interesting things: chinese people are said not to go bald, as they have a large amount of sun down there. We have little or no sun, and thus we go bald quicker. How this works, I don't know, Due to pre-existing gene's, I'd say the stats aren't the same in Oz, but I see VERY few bald chinese people.
    Yep and the further south you go in europe the same. My money is on Vit D(and would explain the herring in those hair tonic tablets). It would explain why few hunter gatherer types go fully bald, by comparison to westernised types(even in the same populations). Many people according to the WHO living in northern climes are lacking in vitamin d. I'd even say most. When you see what amount of sun exposure you need to generate it in the skin I'm not surprised. Something like your chest exposed for 20 mins in direct sunlight. Have the exact figure somewhere hereabouts. Dietary vit d helps of course, but you do need to take in a fair amount and it is dangerous like a few vitamins in higher doses. It seems mild sun exposure coupled with diet is the best way to get it. Of course the skin cancer scare will likely mean more people have lowered vit d levels than ever.

It would be interesting to compare two groups of the same population. Australia would be an ideal place for it. Look at the northern european populations there and see if the men have less of a tendency to go bald than men from the same groups who stayed in europe.
    Another thing is that most of the hair products that are designed to keep your hair warn of the possibilty of a lowered sex drive, as they reduce your testerone levels. Asian women, on the other hand, are meant to love bald guys in their culture because of this.
    I understood it wasnt testosterone itself thats the issue, but a byproduct(?) of test in the body and an individuals responses to it. The notion of bald guys being more virile actually has no basis in reality. You could have a guy with a thick head of hair with far more test in his body than a bald guy. I suppose to reduce the bad byproduct you have to reduce the test itself and hence libido going south. It sounds like the drug isnt very targeted.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Thanks. This thread is very helpful, I'm losing my hair too.

Here's a copy of my post in the beer gut forum(I was told to come here instead):

Does Regaine work?(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regaine)

I'm losing my hair. I was trying to ignore it for ages, reading stuff like "All humans lose 100 hairs per day and it's normal" But it's not. I had my hair long as an adolescent and never lost a single one. Washing my hair/putting wax in it just covers my hands in hair - my computer desk is covered in the stuff too.

Anyway i finally took some pictures with my camera and it's plain to see.

However I'm screwed. I wouldn't be considered the most attractive lad around and losing my hair would make me look like a complete freak altogether. It's easy to say "shave your head - you'll be grand" but the one time I did shave my head I looked like a drug addict/HIV case.

So does Regaine do any good?

Please see photo. :(

m_SDC10401.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 4,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shane732

There are things out there that do work. I wouldn't really recommend any of the products the OP mentioned. I would, however, recommend you go to see Dr. Maurice P. Collins (http://www.hairtransplantsurgery.ie).

I was suffering from severe hair loss at the age of 18. Had tried all different types of products none of which worked. Then I went to Maurice Collins and since then have regained almost all my hair and am unbelievably happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 RealRadio

Shane732 wrote: »
    There are things out there that do work. I wouldn't really recommend any of the products the OP mentioned. I would, however, recommend you go to see Dr. Maurice P. Collins (http://www.hairtransplantsurgery.ie).

I was suffering from severe hair loss at the age of 18. Had tried all different types of products none of which worked. Then I went to Maurice Collins and since then have regained almost all my hair and am unbelievably happy

Hi Shane , surely your not suggesting that Dr Collins (as good as he is ) is a magician and reversed male pattern baldness . If he has he deserves an OBE as nobody in the world has managed that yet .

To be very clear on this , there is no and i repeat no cure for male pattern baldness as it is in our make up . It comes from x-chromosomes for the mothers side of the family . You can certainly slow it down by using minoxidil, Seranoa or laser light or even massage therapy has been known to work but you cant stop it happening and too suggest that a doctor can return a dead follicle to life is at best a lie . Dr Collins is one of the best transplant surgeons in his field when it comes to follicular transplants but he can not make a hair follicle come back to life once the receptors are dead . FACT!!!

If you have a hang up about your balding head and trust me some men do and what to get your youth back to some extent well the only the thing is a good cover up job and the best i have seen so far is the Guys in Evolve in swords that were on and demonstrated it on the Late Late show last year and it only cost a few hundred ...being there bought the T-SHIRT and it really happy about it .

www.evolveireland.com

Cheers

Niall

RealRadio wrote: »
    Hi Shane , surely your not suggesting that Dr Collins (as good as he is ) is a magician and reversed male pattern baldness . If he has he deserves an OBE as nobody in the world has managed that yet .
    From what I've read on the subject while reversal when the hair follicle has shrunk is very rare, prevention of further loss with some regrowth can happen with some treatments.
    To be very clear on this , there is no and i repeat no cure for male pattern baldness as it is in our make up . It comes from x-chromosomes for the mothers side of the family .
    Again from what I've read on it, this notion is being challenged. That study into grey hair recently did find a strong genetic influence in receding hair, but a strong environmental influence in general hair thinning at the top of the head. It has been noted that tribal hunter gatherer types suffer from less of the western ailments, such as diabetes, heart disease etc, baldness was another thing they suffered less from. So diet and environment may play a part in this.

AFAIR the genetic line can come from both the fathers and the mothers side too. The notion it's all on the mothers side is an old wives tale and its seems its not that simple. I've a mate whose mothers male family members went rapidly bald very young. His brother was completely bald save for the ear warmer bits by 20, yet he's got a head of hair that would make the yeti look a bit thin and hes 40. As an aside on the attractiveness front as far as the ladies go the bald brother has had far more success.
    If you have a hang up about your balding head and trust me some men do and what to get your youth back to some extent well the only the thing is a good cover up job and the best i have seen so far is the Guys in Evolve in swords that were on and demonstrated it on the Late Late show last year and it only cost a few hundred ...being there bought the T-SHIRT and it really happy about it .

www.evolveireland.com

Cheers

Niall
    Fair play. I mean women can wear wigs so I dont see why men can't, so long as they're not the obvious ginger kind.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Im 28 my hair its pretty thin and getting thiner. its got a 1 blade all over well did im growing the top a bit more and getting a mowhawk.

personally speakin hair loss = beign wise and stuff :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

My hair started to thin when I was 19. Needless to say I was freaked out.
    Took a few years for me to finally take a Mach 3 to it. I've never looked back.

I actually think I look better with a shaved head than a full mop of hair. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 realdude

Hi lads,

Just wondering is there anyone who has actually went to the evolve place. I am receeding on top and from the late late show they look pretty good. Do they shave your head and then give you the head piece?? what is the maintenance and cost like??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭kincaid

i've been using regaine for 2 years now, it says that it only to be used for the top/back of head... im thinning at the front as well as the back..

honestly i've quit using it as it had no effect and was getting worse i thought it would halt it at least...

ive spent alot of money on the product ...:mad:

regaine is for life anyway as with people who had hairloss halted they will have to continue using it to maintain and keep what they have .. so you would have been better off getting a hair transplant i think...cheaper in the long run

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

You know , I would'nt worry about it too much, i for one think bald men are very attractive as do a lot of my friends. Just shave it off, its very sexy ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭voluntary

Believe it or not but I found a miracle. I think I tried it all over the years (I'm a naturally balding man), minoxidil, months on loreal's aminexil, various stuff, nothing worked.
    A shampoo with 1-MNA is what worked, there's a brand Revium being sold on amazon now, I haven't used it yet, but I've used Dermena Men and currently using more gentle Allerco brand, the common thing is the 'magic' 1-mna molecule ingredient.
    My fallen hair was always all over the sink, but no more. It took a while until the effect kicked in though. I'm on the 1-mna for nearly 2 years now and there's no more hair on the sink in the bathroom and I'd say the hair loss has completely stopped.

• Site Banned Posts: 22 Guava Juice

Oral Minoxidil works very well, but makes sure you get a prescription from a doctor, as it has potential side affects for your cardiovascular system. In small doses I personally think it's worth trying if you get the all clear from a doctor.