Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Premier league stickers!

• 30-11-2009 8:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭

What a great pastime that was. I will always remember during breaks in school, there just groups of people huddling around each other swapping stickers.

I also remember remeber getting a 100+ stickers for my Eric Catona sticker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

God I remember I used to be so happy when I got a "shinie".

Those were the days. The new match attax are nothing compared to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Oh god, there's someone who was (I presume) born in 1992 participating in a retro thread... :(

Can we spread the net wider and make this a Panini football stickers discussion thread? :)

Or just stickers in general? Few things filled me with more excitement than getting my weekly sticker packs (Barbie, then My Little Pony). It was the '80s and they were 10p a pack. :o

My older brothers feverishly collected football stickers - one used to send away for specific ones he didn't have... yet continued to buy stickers while awaiting their arrival :confused: (six to eight weeks for delivery - oh my god :o). Always amused me to witness his fury at the inevitable inclusion in the hallowed package of several stickers he already had. Not the sharpest way of going about things. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I remember sitting right at the back of the class:
    "Have, have, have, have, need"
    "I'll trade you it for Savo Milosevic
    "Give me Colin Hendry as well and I'll throw in a shiny"
    "Deal"
    And so forth!! Before I even learned to appreciate the value of money I learned to appreciate the value of football stickers. It was my first induction into the world of business :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

think I still have the 93/94 and 94/95 albums at home (completed sticker albums)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Oh I still have the books at home too I think! Never filled any of them and coz I went to an all girls school, trading stickers was kind of hard! I had the '99 and 2000.

Wow, this is really a blast from the past.

I remember when I would be trading with some lads, I would NEVER trade the David Beckham ones. Even for stickers I needed, that's how much I loved him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Oh man, '98 was the best. Does anyone remember how nobody had the catalogue that year? When I finally got mine after a few months, I remember gleefully filling it out. In fact, I'll check if we still have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Oh man, '98 was the best.

:o

Have a picture of me at home (in Manchester then) as a very young kid (honest) around 1978 or 1979 I think. I was holding my Panini album open to the Manchester United page because I was so proud of completing it. You had to get the whole team, manager, crest and team photo. I think the team photo or crest came in two separate stickers, the robbers.

Was obsessed with filling it....Sexton, Bailey, McQueen, Albiston, Thomas, Greenhoff, Ritchie, Coppell, Buachan, Macari, Jordan were all in there I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mexico 86 was the first sticker album I remember having. Fantastic stuff altogether.

We were only allowed get them for the European Championships and the World Cup as my Ma said we couldn't afford stickers every year! :(

These days the kids have Match Attax apparently.

http://www.toppsfootball.co.uk/matchattax/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

I remember collecting the full Panini sticker album for the 1970 world cup in Mexico, and of course it was thrown out a couple of years later:(, I was going to buy one on Ebay but the prices are mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I had the 95/96 edition with Cantona, Andy Cole and Shearer on it. Never did finish it. Great days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭blue movie

i remember finding £10 on the road one day and went straight to the news agents for £10 worth of premier league stickers.... fantastic
    Going up to people in school ""any swaps?" I have a few shinys and crests.... great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭jamser89

way better than these f***king match attack cards!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭JoeTurner

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Mexico 86 was the first sticker album I remember having. Fantastic stuff altogether.

That was the first one I ever completed - I remember to this day opening a packet in Easons in Dun Laoire to find the Canada crest (a shiny of course) - the one sticker I was missing. Think I nearly went on a lap of honour in the shop after getting it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I was just thinking about these yesterday

Premier League '94 (Blue)
    '95 (Red)
    '96(Black)

they were my favourites!

I needed Willie Boland i think for '96. Coventry player. Once i got him i could complete my book.

My mate had it and was swapping me.... until someone told him it was the last one i needed. Then he wouldnt give it to me.

Even after i said i'd give him all of my swaps (+600).

Fecker!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I was just thinking about these yesterday

Premier League '94 (Blue)
    '95 (Red)
    '96(Black)

they were my favourites!

I needed Willie Boland i think for '96. Coventry player. Once i got him i could complete my book.

My mate had it and was swapping me.... until someone told him it was the last one i needed. Then he wouldnt give it to me.

Even after i said i'd give him all of my swaps (+600).

Fecker!

You needed to get new friends!

mars bar wrote: »
    You needed to get new friends!

He still wont give it to me

MrStuffins wrote: »
    He still wont give it to me

You definitely need to ditch him...

...once you have cunningly got your hands on that sticker of course!

mars bar wrote: »
    You definitely need to ditch him...

...once you have cunningly got your hands on that sticker of course!

I've been concocting a plan since '96.......

... accumulating in a heist to end all heists in 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Loved premier league cards. I'm going to see my left over swaps tomorrow morning when I have to get into the attic to get the xmas decorations.

They kind of got me interested in football as well. I wasnt very sporty when I was kid but through collecting premier league I started to develop an encyclopedic knowledge of players and goalkeepers in particular.

I remember my fifth class teacher saying to me, "if only you knew your irish verbs as well as you know your goalkeepers!". Cheeky bastard. I think he's the principal now...

Anyway, yeah premier league cards were great. I always remember the mcdonalds crest and the premier league logo being the most elusive.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

kenon wrote: »
    Loved premier league cards. I'm going to see my left over swaps tomorrow morning when I have to get into the attic to get the xmas decorations.

They kind of got me interested in football as well. I wasnt very sporty when I was kid but through collecting premier league I started to develop an encyclopedic knowledge of players and goalkeepers in particular.

I remember my fifth class teacher saying to me, "if only you knew your irish verbs as well as you know your goalkeepers!". Cheeky bastard. I think he's the principal now...

Anyway, yeah premier league cards were great. I always remember the mcdonalds crest and the premier league logo being the most elusive.

Yeah me too, that "Number 1" sticker was hard to get.

I think that they made an equal amount of all the stickers but it just seems they were the most elusive!

Ah the memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Ah, the Ireland World Cup 94 sticker book- can still smell the opened sticker packet :) 50p they were, if I recall correctly.
    I got Packie Bonner far too many times though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

loved collecting them the swap shops where brilliant

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Panini ftw!!! No hang on....Airline stickers ftw!!! It was an album to collect stickers of the world's Airline logos and fleet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Oh man, '98 was the best. Does anyone remember how nobody had the catalogue that year? When I finally got mine after a few months, I remember gleefully filling it out. In fact, I'll check if we still have it.

Found it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I have a couple of these from the 90s at home most were nearly filled i remember robbin me brothers who didnt even follow football :p And legging it into jacks peeling off ones out of his book i needed haha.

Used to turn the gaff upside down to just find couple of pence so could go down to buy a packet or two!!

I remember the day the shop down road that got a box in one year didnt sell many so i said go on sell me the rest the box *2/3 full* so i went down with me mates bought the box for i think 10 pound or so at the time and legged it back to mine haha all kids chasing me up street gimme a packet gimme one :D

Ill try and take pics of the ones i have at home the albums and my jigsaw box of swaps i still have in me room. I do be showing me little brother whos mad into football like meself all the old stickers and swaps i had its class looking back at that stuff :)

Remember the old 90s league one sticker books ?? i got one or two free with match i think one year there were other rival sticker books as well that were impossible to find any places that sold them.

Actually just found a really cool website that has most the stuff i was on about
    http://www.classicfootballstickers.co.uk/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

hahaha! that 98 book brings me back. i dont think i ever finished any of those. does anybody remember a part in the middle of some of those books thats had stamps for some kind of lego thing and you got some free lego if you sent away a filled out sheet?

i remember those stickers being the biggest thing in school back in the day, there was always trouble when somebody threw somebody else's pile into the air in the yard! good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

_sparkie_ wrote: »
    hahaha! that 98 book brings me back. i dont think i ever finished any of those. does anybody remember a part in the middle of some of those books thats had stamps for some kind of lego thing and you got some free lego if you sent away a filled out sheet?

i remember those stickers being the biggest thing in school back in the day, there was always trouble when somebody threw somebody else's pile into the air in the yard! good times.

O GOD LOL ya just reminded me of this i remember this happening so many times at break time be like a swarm of kids all running for them :D

I remember the lego section they had a mc donalds one as well which i think only worked in UK were there was section things on back the stickers like say free bag chips free hamburger coke so on.

I forgot to look for me albums yesterday got side tracked :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Theres an old sticker album for the 1979/80 season knocking about at my parents house.Some of the hairstyles on those guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

what year was the black one that was the only one I ever completed :-(

the shinies hahaha

these were great memorabilia, if i still had them to show my kids, when i have some, all the old players and before laptops/PS3's/Xboxs kids would be out on the street or in lunch trading these!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

darkdubh wrote: »
    Theres an old sticker album for the 1979/80 season knocking about at my parents house.Some of the hairstyles on those guys!

For younger 'uns, this guy was on my Manchester United page (albeit he's in Scotland gear here) . Everybody looked similar. Scary times.

6e1e077b-4218-42be-a7da-11471460c004.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

AnonoBoy wrote: »

We were only allowed get them for the European Championships and the World Cup as my Ma said we couldn't afford stickers every year! :(

These days the kids have Match Attax apparently.

http://www.toppsfootball.co.uk/matchattax/

That was my 1st one too. Even though i have no recollection of that WC, but somehow I have a sticker album from that. I bet it was my dad who really wanted it :)

I do remember the Euro 88 one, my uncle owned a shop back then and the day before the albums went on sale, i got a free album from him. Remember arriving into school next morning so proud I had the album before anyone plus already 36 stickers in it, and 24 more to open later!!

Got the English league (as it was back then) ones in 88/89/90/91 and of course best of all that World Cup 1990 album.
    Wow they made that one very impressive, in its big binder...with so many different sections. At the time it seemed amazing, and panini did a great job with that one.
    Still have it here and unlike the 86 one which has fallen apart, the 1990 one is as good as new.

Great memories tho :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Casei11

could never get rid of steve stone!