Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Bet For A Very Merry Christmas...

• 30-11-2009 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭

Right lads im after having a bad weekend of it,and intent on making my money back.. I am planning on having one big bet to make money for Christmas, going to have a couple of grand on something and hopefully it works out.. So what im asking you lads is what is your NAP between now and Christmas.. Doesnt matter if its odds on or not.. Personally i am already looking at Arsenal v Stoke on Saturday .. Arsenal are around 1/3 and should do the business at home.. Interested to see what the peoples pick on here is.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭dan de man

dangerous game man,next thing you know arsenal draw with stoke and where are u then,having the same again on in desperation and so on until u are in real trouble.
    i myself am on a shocking bad run of luck but the wheel will turn,have patience there will be plenty of betting oppurtunitys around xmas;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

it ends in the new year but........ Phil Taylor in the Darts World Championship, usually good for balancing the books this time of year. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

.. I am planning on having one big bet to make money for Christmas, going to have a couple of grand on something and hopefully it works out..

This bit I don't like. Not trying to come across as harsh here, but it sounds very much to me like you're chasing. It'll never end well - if you do want to make money gambling it's all about discipline. And having a 2k bet when you normally stake < €100 per bet I'm guessing is not discipline. It's madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

Keep your few grand in your pocket, have a couple hundred on newcastle(8/13), Sheff UTD (11/8), Bordeaux (7/10). I'll be having a few on this myself, get on, good luck. Wouldnt be looking to spunk a grand on anyone in prem this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Arsenal v Stoke is not a game to bank on, if Sunderland can turn them over Stoke certainly can do likewise, you'd be banking on them being sufficently embarrassed by recent results to really apply themselves.

Man City v Chelsea win or + 2.5 goals looks a better bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Former Great

gleep wrote: »
    Keep your few grand in your pocket, have a couple hundred on newcastle(8/13), Sheff UTD (11/8), Bordeaux (7/10). I'll be having a few on this myself, get on, good luck. Wouldnt be looking to spunk a grand on anyone in prem this year.

Im down about 1200 from the weekend and its pissing me off so really want to lump on something to pull it back.. Arsenal will tear stoke apart in my opinion , if the game was in Stoke i wouldnt go near it..

mike65 wrote: »
    Arsenal v Stoke is not a game to bank on, if Sunderland can turn them over Stoke certainly can do likewise, you'd be banking on them being sufficently embarrassed by recent results to really apply themselves.

Dont like betting on away teams mike..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Lay Jenson Button to win Sports Personality of the Year.

1.72 on Betfair. Crazy to be odds on especially as Giggs got into the to 10 to mop up the Welsh vote and the housewife vote while Jessica Ennis is there with the event in her home town of Sheffield and a campaign running on her behalf.

Lay, lay lay!!

mike65 wrote: »

No offence or anything, but a NAP for between now and xmas and that's the best you can find really? :eek:

Im down about 1200 from the weekend and its pissing me off so really want to lump on something to pull it back..

That's called chasing mate and its the quickest way to the poorhouse. I'm not having a go here or anything, quite the opposite - I'm trying to help. Chasing like your thinking about on this thread is dangerous and a bit irresponsible if you ask me. If I were you I'd take a break and try to come back with a clear mind, a new discipline and a long term strategy. That is if you want to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭raheny red

Put it all on red. You don't deserve any real advice to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Treble in La liga
    Mallorca @ home 8/11
    Real Madrid @ home 1/5
    Seville @ home 1/3

A grand returns €2,700

..but imo youg be crazy putting that amount of money on anything..keep it in your pocket for x-mas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭magherakid

Livingston will beat clyde 2moro nite even money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

Im down about 1200 from the weekend and its pissing me off so really want to lump on something to pull it back.. Arsenal will tear stoke apart in my opinion , if the game was in Stoke i wouldnt go near it..

Been there before, some you win some you loose and all that, I wouldnt be risking it on Arsenal, even at home to stoke.
    If you want real value add Chelsea and West Brom at evens to the above, you'll make a nice return (approx €4.5k) on a €200 accum.

Been there before, some you win some you loose and all that, I wouldnt be risking it on Arsenal, even at home to stoke.
    If you want real value add Chelsea and West Brom at evens to the above, you'll make a nice return (approx €4.5k) on a €200 accum.

I d back Chelsea if they were at home for definate , i dont go near first division games..

raheny red wrote: »
    Put it all on red. You don't deserve any real advice to be honest.

Whats your problem you dickhead.

That too much of a risk man..If you were to pick one bet over the next 3 weeks what wouldit be..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

cson wrote: »
    No offence or anything, but a NAP for between now and xmas and that's the best you can find really? :eek:

Non taken and I could find better but no point in leaving it until too late otherwise no time to spend the monies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭markhiggins

for me it has to be a big stake on a football/gaa/rugby match. something which has proper form lines, that experts views are readily available. no away matches full stop. has to be something you have a good knowledge of. If you are going to put serious money down i think you need to have money in reserve to lay off a bet. If you think team A will win and they go one up you should ideally lay it off to make sure of a certain amount of profit. it is a dangerous move but the rewards will be good. be certain that you TOTALLY believe in the bet. and most of all cross you fingers and pray to the gambling gods!!

good luck buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Stick €100 on Newcastle to get promoted and to win the league.

Don't go near the g's figure mate.

You'll find yourself in huge trouble.

It's meant to be fun, and I know losing can be annoying as hell but don't go chasing.

Place smart bets. Like Chelsea for league, Toon for league and Inter for Serie A. Could get a nice treble for that!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Dont underestimate Stoke , Arsenal are at a huge loss without Van Persie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭magherakid

Doocey wrote: »
    Stick €100 on Newcastle to get promoted and to win the league.

Don't go near the g's figure mate.

You'll find yourself in huge trouble.

It's meant to be fun, and I know losing can be annoying as hell but don't go chasing.

Place smart bets. Like Chelsea for league, Toon for league and Inter for Serie A. Could get a nice treble for that!

Nice double wolves 2 go down and livingston to win division 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭qc3

12:40 Hereford Tomorrow
    Ray Mond @ 11/4
    Only hiked 7lb for a very good win at Warick 3 weeks ago.
    You can treble your money and have a good christmas;);)

magherakid wrote: »
    Nice double wolves 2 go down and livingston to win division 3

Too long to wait lad..If i was going to do a long term bet i would be putting it on utd to win the league @ 5/2.. Iv considered it but dont think il do it, not because i am doutful just id rather not wait six months..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭oconnon9

city 2 beat arsenal wed night (Evens)

City desperate for a win, arsenal off the back of a mauling at the weekend, already lost 4-1 to city earlier, and arsenal WILL PLAY THE KIDS(their good but not that good)

Mark Hughes is desperate for a win, he's prob under pressure at this stage, I dont think arsenal will be up 4 it.

But dont but ridiculous money on it, 200 max, once u go over that things dont plan out the way they ought to..

qc3 wrote: »
    12:40 Hereford Tomorrow
    Ray Mond @ 11/4
    Only hiked 7lb for a very good win at Warick 3 weeks ago.
    You can treble your money and have a good christmas;);)

Would love to lump on that but couldnt bring myself to have all of that on a horse ..Ive put a grand on a horse once before at even money but only because i was up a good few pound and i was in great form so wouldnt of minded too much if it lost .. It won easy ..Some buzz having a bet like that on a horse come off..Strangly enough i never done it since probably cos i realise horses are a lottery.. Look at binocular saturday for example , who would of thought he would run so poorly and who would ve though denman could carry the weight in the hennessy..Of course you see surprises in other sports , look at Arsenal against hull last year , but i would be more comfortable betting on soccer or Gaa.

Where did u get 4.5k of a 200 accum?

Arsenal 1/3
    Chelsea Evens
    West Brom Evens

Return = 1066.67

oconnon9 wrote: »
    city 2 beat arsenal wed night (Evens)

City desperate for a win, arsenal off the back of a mauling at the weekend, already lost 4-1 to city earlier, and arsenal WILL PLAY THE KIDS(their good but not that good)

Mark Hughes is desperate for a win, he's prob under pressure at this stage, I dont think arsenal will be up 4 it.

But dont but ridiculous money on it, 200 max, once u go over that things dont plan out the way they ought to..

Yeah looks a good bet if the game is at City although i would never rely on City or back them..

yep its at city

I know what u mean, their like spurs or villa, can beat any1 on their day but just so inconsistent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭jkelly85

Notts County V Darlington - Over 2.5 goals 4-6
    2morrow nite see afew goals in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭raheny red

Whats your problem you dickhead.

I prefer cockhead thanks!

You're attention seeking if nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Too long to wait lad..If i was going to do a long term bet i would be putting it on utd to win the league @ 5/2.. Iv considered it but dont think il do it, not because i am doutful just id rather not wait six months..

thats good cos united wont win the league at all.

Notts County

hUddersfield

Barca

Real

Sevilla

all this week

oconnon9 wrote: »
    yep its at city

I know what u mean, their like spurs or villa, can beat any1 on their day but just so inconsistent

Exactly...

raheny red wrote: »
    I prefer cockhead thanks!

You're attention seeking if nothing else.

Do me a favour and fcuk off with urself.

Right, this thread is gone ridiculous at this stage - trebles for a nap of the next month or so? :eek:

I'd suggest a dose of cop on, merge this into the football tips megathread because it's just turning into an offshoot of that.

And I strongly reccommend the OP take a look at his gambling strategies. :cool:

thats good cos united wont win the league at all.

Notts County

hUddersfield

Barca

Real

Sevilla

all this week

Ha ha who do you support.. Im completely neutral here but never rule out Utd i fancy them strongly to do it again..Chelsea are looking good but they still have to go to Utd, I can see utd winning it comfortably enough.. Utd also outplayed chelsea at stamford bridge two weeks ago..

cson wrote: »
    Right, this thread is gone ridiculous at this stage - trebles for a nap of the next month or so? :eek:

I'd suggest a dose of cop on, merge this into the football tips megathread because it's just turning into an offshoot of that.

And I strongly reccommend the OP take a look at his gambling strategies. :cool:

Hes right lads im looking for a single here no accums.. A double at the most..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

TBH the best bet for this would be an over 2.5 goals in this weeks Europa League fixtures. This is the highest scoring competition in Europe and this is the second last round of fixtures so expect teams with a chance of qualifying to go gung ho in this especially if they are at home. Im not in the mood now to go checkin all the stats but if I was you this is where I would put it on - check the standings, goals for/against and over 2.5. Teams are so mismatched in this comp and the goals do go in.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Thread closed as OP couldn't be civil enough to avoid a 1 week ban.

Also, Raheny Red, if you have nothing constructive to say, the best course of action is to say nothing.