Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man held after arriving at Mountjoy with gun

• 30-11-2009 1:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭

LOL at those crazy Romanians, how thr fukk did he get the gun into Ireland and why the fukk did he think it was OK to drive around with a concealed weapon :eek:

A man has been arrested after he arrived at Mountjoy Jail this morning carrying a loaded gun.

The 37-year-old man was driving a waste disposal truck.

When the driver was asked at the security checkpoint if he had anything on him that he should not have, he showed them a loaded Walther semi-automatic pistol and two cartridges with 14 rounds of ammunition.

AdvertisementThe handgun was taken from the man by prison officers.

Gardaí from Mountjoy Garda Station, which is next door, were called in and the man was arrested.

Detectives are now trying to establish where he got the gun, how long he had it and why.

While the man may have had a license for the weapon in his home country, Romania, he did not have it licensed in Ireland.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1130/mountjoy.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

DonJose wrote: »
    LOL at those crazy Romanians, how thr fukk did he get the gun into Ireland and why the fukk did he think it was OK to drive around with a concealed weapon :eek:

A man has been arrested after he arrived at Mountjoy Jail this morning carrying a loaded gun.

The 37-year-old man was driving a waste disposal truck.

When the driver was asked at the security checkpoint if he had anything on him that he should not have, he showed them a loaded Walther semi-automatic pistol and two cartridges with 14 rounds of ammunition.

AdvertisementThe handgun was taken from the man by prison officers.

Gardaí from Mountjoy Garda Station, which is next door, were called in and the man was arrested.

Detectives are now trying to establish where he got the gun, how long he had it and why.

While the man may have had a license for the weapon in his home country, Romania, he did not have it licensed in Ireland.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1130/mountjoy.html

You clearly are mistaken Romanian for roma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Some people think that it's perfectly reasonable to carry a concealed weapon for protection.

This may well have been de rigeur where he came from. If he intending on doing something specific with it, he wouldn't have told Gardai about it.

Some people are just clueless and/or insane. Go down to the depths of Co. Wicklow and you'll find people who carry shotguns in their vehicles and have no qualms in pulling it out if you annoy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

seamus wrote: »
    and have no qualms in pulling it out if you annoy them.

where would they put the shotgun while "pulling it out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Shazbot

snyper wrote: »
    You clearly are mistaken Romanian for roma

It states nowhere in the article that the man was a Roma. It simply says he's from Romania.
    You're quick to judge there. You're clearly mistaken what's writen for your imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Now thats a news story, imagine the guards response asking him what he expect to be a routine question, do you have anything on ya and then he pulls the gun :pac:

Priceless, although one has to imagine did he get the gun here or did he bring it with him whenever he came here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Idiot write. The Cartridges are the rounds. He has 2 magazines.
    Shazbot wrote: »
    It states nowhere in the article that the man was a Roma. It simply says he's from Romania.
    You're quick to judge there. You're clearly mistaken what's writen for your imagination.

Snyper never said the man was a Roma, but the OP made it sound like he thought the man was a Roma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

the OP made it sound like he thought the man was a Roma.

And he did this how exactly? By saying "those crazy Romanians"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Snyper never said the man was a Roma, but the OP made it sound like he thought the man was a Roma.

I never mentioned "Roma", I said Romanian based on "While the man may have had a license for the weapon in his home country, Romania, he did not have it licensed in Ireland."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I never mentioned "Roma", I said Romanian based on "While the man may have had a license for the weapon in his home country, Romania, he did not have it licensed in Ireland."

Just case he's from Romania and identifies himself as Romanian and for all intents and purposes is Romanian doesn't mean you can call him a Romanian.

Don't be a daft racist now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Gardai have arrested Mr Permis De Conducere pending further enquiries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Makes a change from them having a concealed bunch of roses, then forcibly trying to sell them to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Besides he was driving a waste disposal truck, so I assume he was gainfully employed. From that I extrapolate he was definitely not Roma.

I went out with a Romanian girl in school and she was hawt, and she would be more than happy to tell you the MAJOR difference between a Romanian and a Roma!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Idiot write. The Cartridges are the rounds. He has 2 magazines.
    Dirty mags and guns. That man needs locking up

Look, I'm as racist as the next guy but of we are gonna discriminate then let's do it right.

We know the guy was Romanian. We don't know he was a Roma so it is pointless refering to him as if he was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Where he get the gun from I'd like to know?
    He didn't go through Dublin Airport with it (I hope) when he first arrived in the country so he had to have gotten it by other means.
    Bit mad. Surely he should have know that you just don't turn up at a prison with a gun.

Like Duh!!!

Biggins wrote: »
    He didn't go through Dublin Airport with it (I hope) when he first arrived in the country so he had to have gotten it by other means.
    Bit mad. Surely he should have know that you just don't turn up at a prison with a gun.

It's easy to get a gun in this city.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    It's easy to get a gun in this city.

O' I know that only too well.
    I'm sure he will he asked some very hard questions as to where he got his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Like Duh!!!

You would swear there was a wall built around the country. Maybe he drove from Romania with it. There is very little security checking at ferries.

Also, the guards asked him was there anything he shouldnt have. By admitting he had it, then logically he did know he shouldnt have had it otherwise he would not have admitted having it.

The headline should read "Man arrested for being honest"

syklops wrote: »
    You would swear there was a wall built around the country. Maybe he drove from Romania with it. There is very little security checking at ferries.

Also, the guards asked him was there anything he shouldnt have. By admitting he had it, then logically he did know he shouldnt have had it otherwise he would not have admitted having it.

True. One would think though that if I know I got an illegal gun and also that I shouldn't bring it to a prison - then jeasus, maybe I should leave it at home!
    Credit to him for being honest and forthright for handing it over but he was a bit of a fool for bringing it there in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

O' I know that only too well.
    I'm sure he will he asked some very hard questions as to where he got his.

Questions like : '' Where did you get this? ''

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Honest? Wasn't he just stupid in admitting that he had a weapon in the first place ?

Surely it's a question they ask of everyone entering the complex rather than suggestion that they were suspicious of him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 TripleXXX

I suppose he'll be allowed remain in the country regardless of this crime :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

TripleXXX wrote: »
    I suppose he'll be allowed remain in the country regardless of this crime :rolleyes:
    Yeah, down with honest immigrants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Ponster wrote: »
    Honest? Wasn't he just stupid in admitting that he had a weapon in the first place ?

Surely it's a question they ask of everyone entering the complex rather than suggestion that they were suspicious of him?

The I guess he goes through the same security check as I do when I'm on offical business in the prisons, namely a metal detector, so he would have been busted either way.

Then again as he would not have direct contact with prisoners maybe he wouldn't and it could have been merely a check for mobiles.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

syklops wrote: »

Could be worse. There was that chap (Paul Clarke) in the UK last month who was convicted for turning in a shotgun that he found into a police station. The law did not make any allowances for posession of an unlicensed shotgun, even if you were honestly turning it in. He's due to be sentenced the end of next week.

NTM