Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Returning Problems

• 30-11-2009 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭

So the new dog is working well. She returns to the whistle most of the time and I give her treats and plenty of affectation for doing so. She’ll also retrieve and returns to hand. However have a couple of questions.

She has a tendency to hunt out to far away from the gun. And if she is on a sent will not return to the whistle. She is ok in a big field but anywhere near a forest and a lot of scent she can run off for while before returning.

How can I get her to return to the whistle every time even on a good scent. By getting this bit right I might be able to control how far out she hunts. She is a beagle cross with a pointer 2 year old. Only have her 3 weeks. Was thinking maybe an e collar? Has any one used one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Antoennis wrote: »
    So the new dog is working well. She returns to the whistle most of the time and I give her treats and plenty of affectation for doing so. She’ll also retrieve and returns to hand. However have a couple of questions.

She has a tendency to hunt out to far away from the gun. And if she is on a sent will not return to the whistle. She is ok in a big field but anywhere near a forest and a lot of scent she can run off for while before returning.

How can I get her to return to the whistle every time even on a good scent. By getting this bit right I might be able to control how far out she hunts. She is a beagle cross with a pointer 2 year old. Only have her 3 weeks. Was thinking maybe an e collar? Has any one used one?

I use one & have mentioned it a good few times on here. Very useful if used right...
    If she will not return when on a scent the recall is not strong enough & needs to be worked on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

I use one & have mentioned it a good few times on here. Very useful if used right...
    If she will not return when on a scent the recall is not strong enough & needs to be worked on.

I agree, the recall is too weak to cope with field conditions, most faults in gundog training are due to the animal being introduced to field conditions when its not ready.During its pre shooting training, you must be satisfied that your dog is bombproof before introducing it to shooting, cos its only when the dog is in the field during a shooting day, when he will be truly tested. He will build up a head of steam and with plenty of scent up his nose will soon forget all he has learned and maybe run riot.

There is no cure other than to go back to basics and reinforce the recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

have to agree with the lads, back to basics. just to add on the e-collar, beware. i'm not knocking them but in inexperienced hands it has the potential to ruin a dog. you must know what your doing and know your dog inside out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

Thanks for the replys. Back to basics for me. This might be a stupid question and prob depends on the dogs but what are the best treats to give the dog for doing something good.

Giving treats to your dog is something I have always tried to avoid, although in saying that it does have its uses, if you are going to give your dog a treat for answering a recall whistle then only give the treat an odd time and wean the dog off as soon as you have him doing what you want.
    small pieces of cheese make a nice treat for most dogs.

Bought an e-collar last week and used it for the first time on Saturday. Great invention. Had it set a level 3 which just tickled the dog. By Sunday she was coming back to the call, waiting at gates and hedge rows for me to cross first, not charging off without me telling her to do so. Honestly can’t believe the difference. Maybe the treat of sausages helped as well! Good weekend all in all 3 pheasants and 2 duck. If only I could get the wife to be so obedient!!!:rolleyes:

Put the collar on her! :D:D:D

If used right they are a god send. Manners come on a long way when you use them right. Don't be tempted to get over exhuberent with it, just remind the dog at times that no matter where he is you can correct him
    What type you get?
    I use a PAC ndxt type... Put it on my leg to test the strengths before I used it.

Put the collar on her! :D:D:D

If used right they are a god send. Manners come on a long way when you use them right. Don't be tempted to get over exhuberent with it, just remind the dog at times that no matter where he is you can correct him
    What type you get?
    I use a PAC ndxt type... Put it on my leg to test the strengths before I used it.

I bought the Petsafe 400m. Tested it on my arm before using gives a good kick as you get up the levels. You are right about not using it much. Only needed to use it a couple of times on sunday and i'd say less and less as she learns to do what i am asking. Some times even the beep is enough for her to know to stop doing what she is doing. Are you still using yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭shannonpowerlab

I don't know if it works for gundogs but would you consider giving something that she would think it is worth coming back for...?

Like dog choc bones?:D

I bought the Petsafe 400m. Tested it on my arm before using gives a good kick as you get up the levels. You are right about not using it much. Only needed to use it a couple of times on sunday and i'd say less and less as she learns to do what i am asking. Some times even the beep is enough for her to know to stop doing what she is doing. Are you still using yours?

I keep it on for safety reasons just in case.
    The only problem I have is that if you train with it, it becomes a required training aid no different to a whistle.
    If you don't have it for some reason, the dog knows it's not on also & can get a bit free willed. For a soft dog this may not be the case. My pointer needs it constantly, without it he can be wild. My springer has never needed it & I don't think he will as he's a totally different dog. The pointer is unreal to find birds, point em & retrieve em from anywhere but you need to be on top of him or he'll get a notion to do his own thing. He's still very young though & is improving with time. The springer is grand & handy & naturally more obediant but I have it on him when he's out just in case he gets near a road etc

when do ye decide that it's needed to use the e collar, just out of interest?

When she stopped doing what she is supposed to do.

the way i see it is each to their own and i wouldn't knock the use of them but i just don't understand why anyone would use one.

For momements of "forgetfullness", selective hearing, those moments a hare runs across their nose, livestock, roads etc etc...
    I always call them an extention of my hand & they know you are always in control. It's easy say a dog should not be in the field until it is 100% & all that but the distractions of the field are far more enticing than the back yard so the collar it invaluable.
    As said a beep or a tickle is all that's needed more often than not.
    Saves a lot of whistling or talking. As time goes on the dog will just do what it should anyway through experience so you'd find you use it less & less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I was looking at them e-collars a while ago. Some of them have a vibrate on them. It said after the dog gets a shock a few times the vibrate will be enough. Was getting one for my own dog as a last resort but he seems to be copping on the last few days for some reason:)

Dusty87 wrote: »
    I was looking at them e-collars a while ago. Some of them have a vibrate on them. It said after the dog gets a shock a few times the vibrate will be enough. Was getting one for my own dog as a last resort but he seems to be copping on the last few days for some reason:)

he knows xmas is coming dusty and doesnt want a collar as a pressie:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I know well, hes as cute. He'll walk to heel no problem, good as gold, but once the lead is off he knows and will run. No flys on him:D:D

Dusty87 wrote: »
    I know well, hes as cute. He'll walk to heel no problem, good as gold, but once the lead is off he knows and will run. No flys on him:D:D

use a rod, and when your walkin him on a lead gently tip his nose, and when the lead is off.he will remember;)