Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you if you could?

• 30-11-2009 10:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

Benefit fraud! If you were on the dole getting €204 per week and were in possession of some of skills that allow you to earn a bit of cash doing some nixers here and there, would you? I know everyone here bangs on about thieving this and thieving that, but would you honestly turn down a bit of extra cash if you were on the scratcher? Or would you inform them that you have been doing some work here and there risking getting your dole cut off and having to go back through the painful process of re-applying when the work dries up.

Would ya? 68 votes

Yes, I'm a Charlie Chancer
    0% 0 votes
    No, I'm Declan Declare-All
    57% 39 votes
    I'm an Atari Fence Sitting Jaguar
    42% 29 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Short cash for Christmas, OP?

I think you get €50 a name from the social.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Yeah I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I am unemployed and I won't go on the dole because I don't like the thought of getting it when I don't trully NEED it. While I do WANT money, I can survive as I am living at home.

So no, I don't think I would do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

stovelid wrote: »
    Short cash for Christmas, OP?

I think you get €50 a name from the social.

:P

I'll pay you €100 to keep schtum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Well considering that you can be on the dole and still work part time, I don't think you're at any real risk from getting cut off if you do this, provided you're earning less than the dole amount. You'll probably get less from the dole though and you should inform them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Thread needs moar poll.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I signed off on the dole the week I got a job but did not get paid for another 5 weeks after starting. It was a tough few weeks but if I had stayed collecting my dole money I would have no right to judge anyone who abuses the system.

People who live in glass houses...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭thatsa spicy

I am unemployed and I won't go on the dole because I don't like the thought of getting it when I don't trully NEED it. While I do WANT money, I can survive as I am living at home.

Mate sign up now! Before it gets cut in half after the budget!

No.

Confab wrote: »
    Thread needs moar poll.

Will PM a mod when I see who is active ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I dont know whether to pat ye on the back and say "fair play" or give ye a shake and tell ya to cop on for turning down €200/week.

edit: ive decided...fair play to ya :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I know at least two people who are working on the side. I won't be turning them in. Yeah, sue me.

anniehoo wrote: »
    I dont know whether to pat ye on the back and say "fair play" or give ye a shake and tell ya to cop on for turning down €200/week.

Well neither really suits because my reasons are;

I have never had a fulltime job and have never paid tax, so why should I claim it back?

While I am looking for a proper job, I am not looking very hard TBH, so again, since I am not a fulltime job seeker why would i take it.

And Finally, the most important one.

Half of one side of my family are benefit scroungers fro years, while working various odd jobs. I don't wanna be like people I resent. (I am not saying people on the dole are like this, just that these particular people are. I do understand some people NEED it, and if I saw someone who needed it but was too proud to get it, I would call them a damn retard!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭LordDorington

anniehoo wrote: »

I too am undecided. But really if you have paid PRSI and you lose your job through no fault of your own then it is your entitlement. Of course there is no obligation to claim, if one is silly enough not to want to. :DEdit: just read your post now sorry! Me wading in as usual ha ha

I have never had a fulltime job and have never paid tax, so why should I claim it back?

While I am looking for a proper job, I am not looking very hard TBH, so again, since I am not a fulltime job seeker why would i take it.

Half of one side of my family are benefit scroungers fro years, while working various odd jobs. I don't wanna be like people I resent. (I am not saying people on the dole are like this, just that these particular people are. I do understand some people NEED it, and if I saw someone who needed it but was too proud to get it, I would call them a damn retard!)
    Why dont you claim and give the money to a deserving charity? I'm honestly not being smart I mean I do admire your reasoning having read your post, but if you really feel that you dont deserve it, why not donate it to a charity? People like the Simon community, Saint Vincent de Paul or the Hospice could do wonderful work with 204 per week, and could make it go very far. Further than the government I am sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

But aren't you scrounging by living off your folks? Just a thought :p

Why dont you claim and give the money to a deserving charity? I'm honestly not being smart I mean I do admire your reasoning having read your post, but if you really feel that you dont deserve it, why not donate it to a charity? People like the Simon community, Saint Vincent de Paul or the Hospice could do wonderful work with 204 per week, and could make it go very far. Further than the government I am sure :D

Because I am greedy, I would set out with the best of intentions but end up keeping it. So I couldn't be bothered me hole.
    buckieburd wrote: »

No, I work hard for what I get off them. And I have a job now and then at festivals and stuff, when I need money I get it and I pay them back. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Don't think you would be eligible anyways in that case!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

if you work on the side just drop a note in to the dole office with your PPS number on it, no queuing, saying what days you were working/unavailable for work and they will deduct those day's from you , up to 3 days per week

€68.10 on Friday :(
    Looks like they docked me twice for the same day

Because I am greedy, I would set out with the best of intentions but end up keeping it. So I couldn't be bothered me hole.

You're obviously not that greedy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

I signed off on the dole the week I got a job but did not get paid for another 5 weeks after starting. It was a tough few weeks but if I had stayed collecting my dole money I would have no right to judge anyone who abuses the system.

People who live in glass houses...

See if you kept the dole til you got paid i'd have zero problem with it,people need to live on something but of course fess up and pay it back once you got your first pay cheque. Otherwise i'd never claim unless i needed it nor scam it in another fashion (tho of course ive no leg to stand on having ok'd your scam :P)

No, I work hard for what I get off them. And I have a job now and then at festivals and stuff, when I need money I get it and I pay them back. :)

Reading from your situation on that other thread, you could probably get carers allowance. That way you get paid for doing what you do, rather than your parents having to, and it makes it cheaper for the state too. Everyone wins!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

on a practical level I feel that most people simply cannot turn down a bit of extra cash if it comes their way to add to their dole money

Don't think you would be eligible anyways in that case!

Passing off a near-certain rejected dole claim as an act of selfless altruism is pretty clever to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

If someone was to put the welfare of the public finances over the immediate welfare of their family/themselves I'd be repulsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

I had the opportunity to do this a few years back. Was made redundant a few days before Christmas, went into the dole office after the break and applied. Felt kinda guilty, even though I had paid in and all. Everything was fine and they said to come in the next week with some more documents and I wouldn't be too long waiting. On the day that I was due to go back in, I got a call and offered some part-time work (was cash in hand). I could easily have gotten the dole and worked (wasn't put on the books for about 6 months, steadily increasing hours until it became full time) but I was living at home, had a good bit saved and didn't feel right about it so didn't show up at the office and let the application slide.

People were telling me I was mad but meh, I'm not a scumbag :pac:

That money is probably sitting there somewhere not going to be touched, like all those bus ticket change reciept things. Shame to waste it too.

Welfare fraud is going to be on Prime Time tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Have done. Not anymore though.

I really needed it and when I didn't "Really" need it anymore, my concience made me sign off.

WindSock wrote: »
    Welfare fraud is going to be on Prime Time tonight.

More's the pity a section on TV License money fraud is on the agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Odd jobs on the side I'd have no problem with. I do odd jobs on the side, I'm employed now and don't see why I should stop helping out friends and taking some money for it if I am ever unemployed.

Having a full time job or some kind of regular employment and going out of your way to screw the system I wouldn't abide.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

can i be a Danny Declare All instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

I know to many people who have their boyfriends living with them claiming their money for their kids plus rent allowance,their bfs working or claiming and living in the house with them.Both of those type of people bf and gf are a disgrace :mad:

And no i have not committed nor do i wish to commit it and if i ever did was without knowledge :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I don't put a price on my moral highground... I hold onto it like my balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I need the money, you can claim it and give it to me.:)

Hey it wasn't on. I thought I heard the ad say it was on tonight :confused:

whats tv license money fraud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

The day before I was heading to Vegas 2 years ago I collected 2k in dole money which I was entitled to. I then got a freelance contract confirmation while away. As I was self employed after that I am not entitled to any payments now the work has dried up. I was paying over 2.5k a month in taxes but was on the self employed PRSI for over a year. I am entitled to nothing and Fas have just removed any payments for back to work schemes for people like me.

If you are entitled to dole money you should claim it as you never know why you won't be able to claim in the future.

The guy claiming he is not claiming for moral reasons is a bit of a joke as stated he would get nothing.

I don't think anybody should scam the system but inequity in the system frustrates many. Last I heard they were thinking of allowing single parents keep benefits if they get a new partner which I actually understand and agree with. Why should a new partner take on the financial burden of somebody else's kids?

whats tv license money fraud?

Spunking my exorbitant TV license money into fat, oleaginous TV presenter's pockets.

good point actuall, we were only saying that the other night watching the toy show, that we hardly ever watch RTE. Most of the channels we watch we pay for separately through our ntl box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

at 204 i don't think i would.
    if it went down to 150 or 120 say probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

if you work on the side just drop a note in to the dole office with your PPS number on it, no queuing, saying what days you were working/unavailable for work and they will deduct those day's from you , up to 3 days per week

€68.10 on Friday :(
    Looks like they docked me twice for the same day

I too would probably qualify for "Xs & Os" as I only work Friday, Saturday and Sunday (and rarely all three). However like Minidazzler I don't need the money as I don't smoke or drive, rarely go out and my rent is very low. What I want to know is how does this work if you have a job (i.e. earning money) but no employer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

buckieburd wrote: »

Minidazzler that is ridiculous. Running a house, buying food, etc costs a lot of money. I think you should clamin dole and give your parents some money every week. Obviously I have no idea about your parents finances but I suspect they would appreciate the money.

You could use the money to get a fabulous Christmas present for your parents who are enabling your lifestyle.

You could make more use of the free time by having some money to go out and about with.

You could boost the economy by spending the €200 a week (lots of it would go back to the Government anyway)

I expect you don't plan on continuing this student lifestyle forever. You will pay tax in the future so you could pay the Government back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Adyx wrote: »
    I too would probably qualify for "Xs & Os" as I only work Friday, Saturday and Sunday (and rarely all three). However like Minidazzler I don't need the money as I don't smoke or drive, rarely go out and my rent is very low.

You could use the extra money to pay for driving lessons or just save it in case you do need it.

I too would probably qualify for "Xs & Os" as I only work Friday, Saturday and Sunday (and rarely all three). However like Minidazzler I don't need the money as I don't smoke or drive, rarely go out and my rent is very low. What I want to know is how does this work if you have a job (i.e. earning money) but no employer?

If you dont have an employer then you are either working for cash or are self employed, in which case you are obliged to pay income tax on an annual basis based on a declaration of your earnings. Contrary to popular belief, the self employed are not exempt from paying tax and PRSI (although they do pay a different class) and are subject to random audits (I know from experience!)

It baffles me all these people saying that they dont want to be greedy etc etc and do not claim their entitlements. Thats fair enough, there is no obligation to claim, but if they really wanted to be that altruistic they would surely claim the money and donate to charity rather than put it back into a corrupt governments pocket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

If you dont have an employer then you are either working for cash or are self employed, in which case you are obliged to pay income tax on an annual basis based on a declaration of your earnings. Contrary to popular belief, the self employed are not exempt from paying tax and PRSI (although they do pay a different class) and are subject to random audits (I know from experience!)

Thanks but I already get the tax part. Perhaps I should have been clearer. My question was in relation to earning money on an irregular and part-time basis and what (if any) benefits would I have if this was my only source of income. For the record this is hypothetical for the moment as I am actually employed by a company (for now). Anyhow I'll be raising it in a more suitable forum.

In that case you can claim for the days you are not working.