Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halifax & Visa Debit Card?

Options
  • 27-11-2009 2:31am

Hey all

With my credit history, theres no chance of getting a credit card. :p

I've been using 3v for a few years now. And have also moved to the payzone alternative.
    But, its just the fact you have to go to the shop after taking money from the ATM and putting cash on it etc etc etc.

Too much hassle for my liking !

Anyway, long story short, have been thinking of moving to Halifax, mostly because they have the Visa Debit card, which would make life a lot easier, especially when buying stuff online.

Few brief questions.
    1. Is it 100% like a Visa CC in terms of use online, like can it be used everywhere, its not restricted like Lazer.
    2. I've seen posts / threads about hassle using it on paypal and a few other websites, like HMV, is this still the same?
    3. I've also seen posts about people having difficulty using it in Lidl / Aldi....rarely shop there, but would be mortified if I did my shopping then they refused the card, again, is this still the case?
    4. I recall a lot of media banter about Halifax closing branches, is this still on the cards, if so would that mean they are gone out of the country or would they just be an online-type bank....I very rarely do go into the bank itself, but at least I know I can with AIB.

Any other bad or good points that might help me make up my mind?
    Similarly, good or bad points about halifax in general.

Cheers All,
    Spy

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭almalahide

Hey all