Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Re chroming in Ireland

• 26-11-2009 3:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

A newly established business in Co. Wexford is now doing this kind of work, which will be of interest to Classic Car owners. I sent a few old badges to be done and this is the result, which I must say is excellent.
    312trhf.jpg Badges
    1z6urm9.jpg Badges.
    1zolj.jpg Badges..
    14m8iv4.jpg Re chromed
    123uvrl.jpg Re chromed.
    2zgupmq.jpg Re chromed..

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

very nice !!!!

who would they be ? any contact details ?

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

The contact name there is Adam Waters, southeastchroming@gmail.com.
    Tel No 053 9175730
    Mobile 086 3515655

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

any prices ?? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Mr. 'H'

That's fantastic news! Can you please give prices for the above items so we can gauge how much this procedure costs?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Are they chromed or polished alloy ....?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Lovely job there,pity the old buses cant be refurbished as well!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭quattro777

Very nice.

Is it possible to "re chrome" plastic badges and trim?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Silvera

When it comes to re-chroming, how solid does the base have to be?

I have an old 1962 Berini autocycle awaiting restoration. However the wheels have a lot of rust on them, they are solid but the rust is very 'bumpy' on the surface ...if you know what I mean.

Therefore, could they be treated some way and re-chromed?
    Or would I need to source new wheels? (Probably near impossible to get Berini wheels Id reckon)

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭124 man

Do they also do powder coating ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

Is it triple plating? Or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

How long is a piece of string?

And more importantly, does it come with fries?

:p

Jaysus lads - The mans number is on the thread. Would ye not ring him and ask? In the morning like. Obviously ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Pagoda113

Nice to hear and see that you got good results Sean.

My experience was fine with straightforward items - easy poilishing & re-chroming, but anything which requires very intricate polishing and a little repair - I'm afraid the results leave a bit to be desired. Adam is re-doing a couple of bits for me so hopefully there will be an improvement the second time around. Being honest though, his idea of an acceptable finish and mine are very very different.

The guy is still learning the business and hopefully he will get to know what he can & can't do but be careful what you get done there ! I have some parts which I can't decide whether they are acceptable of whether I should try to get someone else to re-do them ! !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

I hope he knows that hexavalent chromium is carcinogenic!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭Milly33

Uhhhhh this is very interesting stuff, was looking into it ages ago and only found places in England that do it...Thanks for the details

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

quattro777 wrote: »
    Very nice.

Is it possible to "re chrome" plastic badges and trim?

was on to him today as I need some plastic bits chromed and he's not able to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

kev1.3s wrote: »
    was on to him today as I need some plastic bits chromed and he's not able to do it.
    Is it possible to even get plastic stuff rechromed?

yeah it is possible but he doesn't have the right equipment for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Royal Man 1

Hi there can anyone tell me if this guy can chrome my plastic grill on my car:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Hi there can anyone tell me if this guy can chrome my plastic grill on my car:confused:

PanhardPL wrote: »
    The contact name there is Adam Waters, southeastchroming@gmail.com.
    Tel No 053 9175730
    Mobile 086 3515655

http://www.celticchrome.ie/
    Even tho royal man doesn't seem to be around any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

http://www.celticchrome.ie/
    Even tho royal man doesn't seem to be around any more.

That website doesn't do anything to instil confidence..

not really no but where else are you going to get it done in Ireland?

England..........:)

Yes that's true but I like the personal touch

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Silvera wrote: »
    When it comes to re-chroming, how solid does the base have to be?

I have an old 1962 Berini autocycle awaiting restoration. However the wheels have a lot of rust on them, they are solid but the rust is very 'bumpy' on the surface ...if you know what I mean.

Therefore, could they be treated some way and re-chromed?
    Or would I need to source new wheels? (Probably near impossible to get Berini wheels Id reckon)
    HG Metal polishing drogeda ,

3 years....:confused::)