Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could a tanker train pump out the flooded lines?

• 26-11-2009 4:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭

Looking at the pictures of the flooded rail lines, would it be feasible for IE to have a tanker set to pump out water? I see that the Ennis-Galway service is being pushed back now (presumably because of training not being possible during the high waters).

I guess one issue would be where to haul it to without the enviro squad going nuts, and it would have to be able to have locos at both ends to allow a direct reverse I suppose - although the "tail" could be hauled running idle to keep the engine turning over since powered top+tail isn't in the current rule book right?

The same wagons could be used (when cleaned) to bring potable water to areas with contaminated supply. Civil Defence could bear the cost of storage and operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Surely the lines are flooded because they are low lying. In this case a lot of the water in the area will drain down there meaning the volume of water that would have to be removed would be immense.

The number of trains required to even make a dent in the flood level would be impractical I think. Easier and cheaper to let it drain naturally.

dowlingm wrote: »
    Civil Defence could bear the cost of storage and operation.

*scoff* excuuuuse me? You do realise Civil Defence is like St. Johns Ambulance i.e. unpaid volunteers! We haven't the mandate, the training or the know-how to deal with that sorta stuff!

You have to keep in mind that the kind of water containers used to store moved flood waters and those to store drinking water aspire to completely different standards. In Ballinasloe milk lorries were made available in case they were needed to transport water. you could toss floodwater (akin to sewerage) in any aul tank you could find, just don't drink from it after!

I do like the pump-train idea though.
    Easier and cheaper to let it drain naturally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Imagine each tank carries 20 m3 of water and a train has 40 tanks. Thats 800m3.

Thats one seconds worth of what was going through the Inniscarra dam.

Alternatively
    Sponge Bob wrote: »
    kt.jpg
    Aren't those signal masts 3-4m tall? That means a train would remove the water for the width of the track, only for it all to flow in from the sides again?

Unless you are Moses, it won't work.

Victor wrote: »
    Imagine each tank carries 20 m3 of water and a train has 40 tanks. Thats 800m3.

Thats one seconds worth of what was going through the Inniscarra dam.

Alternatively

Aren't those signal masts 3-4m tall? That means a train would remove the water for the width of the track, only for it all to flow in from the sides again?

Unless you are Moses, it won't work.

bit of gaffa tape on the doors and a snorkel on the exhaust will get ya through that no bother :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

another small problem is the time it would take to build 40 tank wagons as Im pretty sure there isnt a siding full of them somewhere....IE cut up redundant frieght stock pretty rapidly I gather...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

This is feckin CIE lads, get real .

The train with the 40 wagons and pump would inevitably get stuck on the wrong side of a flood which flood itself is on the way to the actual flood that de members have agreed to pump out on triple pay for de distress it causes them with dead sheeps floating only 200 feet away etc .

Then de member in the cab would remember that the 3 month of training he got driving around slowly on the line did not equip him for the onerous task of identfying rails under 1cm of water and would refuse to drive through that flood on the way to the real flood in his loco .

Finally the guards vans front and back for the tay breaks would have to be on programmable stilts to lift them above the flood and de hydraulics would break down so de members , train wagons and all, would have to make their way back to de depot to fix de hyraulics on some human rights grounds .

Not even worth starting to think about doing this with sociopaths like Ogle about .

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

If a line gets submerged with water doesn't it have to be balasted and tampered again?

Sponge Bob, not need to be so facetious about the 1cm of water. The rules are the rules. As I understand it, if the rails are covered, trains aren't meant to run on them. While it might start shallow, presumably it can easily get deeper.
    kearnsr wrote: »
    If a line gets submerged with water doesn't it have to be balasted and tampered again?
    I imagine there are restrictions, as the ballast could shift, but certain points have been regularly flooded with no reworking, e.g. one section near Glounthaune.

Limerick-Ennis has been in and out of the water so many times in the last 10 days, they would have serious problems if they had to completely re-do it each time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

This is feckin CIE lads, get real .

The train with the 40 wagons and pump would inevitably get stuck on the wrong side of a flood which flood itself is on the way to the actual flood that de members have agreed to pump out on triple pay for de distress it causes them with dead sheeps floating only 200 feet away etc .

Then de member in the cab would remember that the 3 month of training he got driving around slowly on the line did not equip him for the onerous task of identfying rails under 1cm of water and would refuse to drive through that flood on the way to the real flood in his loco .

Finally the guards vans front and back for the tay breaks would have to be on programmable stilts to lift them above the flood and de hydraulics would break down so de members , train wagons and all, would have to make their way back to de depot to fix de hyraulics on some human rights grounds .

Not even worth starting to think about doing this with sociopaths like Ogle about .

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
    How silly you sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Well let's face it, unless the OP was asking the question tongue in cheek the very idea is ludicrous. This flooding is biblical in proportions and its the level of the ground water that's causing the flooding. It's not like someone emptied out a few thousand gallons on the track and pump it up and you're back in business. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

is that a supersized oil tanker OP was thinking of

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63204723&postcount=2862

The legend is no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Cheaply built railways will always have problems.(like a cheap road) The WRC was a cheaply built railway in the 19th Century and its rebuild is just as cheap in modern day terms. Biblical the flooding may be, but God must have abandoned the priest and his cronies or he's trying to send them a message.

This railway will suffer from the elements on an annual basis.

westtip wrote: »
    is that a supersized oil tanker OP was thinking of

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63204723&postcount=2862

The legend is no more.

Careful now! Are you trying to reintroduce the WRC thread by the back door? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Well seeing as though it got locked for no obvious a reason than pure innocence, lets get it going again.

I'm waiting on the miraculous parting of the waters by said priest, followed by loaves and fishes for the homeless hungry folk affected by flooding. Its the least he can do after securing a few miles of track!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Back to basics time everybody . A Hectare is about 2 acres .

If 1cm of rain ( crudely half an inch) falls on a hectare that is 1cm of rain for every 10000 square metres or 10 CUBIC metres a hectare.

Half an inch of rain was the norm in recent days .

One of these long tanker trucks shown below carrys about 25 cubic metres = half an inch of rain falling on 7 acres in a single day or 25000 litres.

We had 10mm every day for the last week, probably even today , in Galway ( click here and click graph bottom left to see the readings ) . The wet days last week were c.30mm all over. 30 cubic metres a hectare a day.

a 40 wagon train with tanks like the laddie below could carry off all the rain that fell on about 6 typical acres in Galway in the past 7 days .

The salmon weir in Galway with a spate discharge of 250,000 litres or 250 cubic metres a SECOND spews 10 Wagons a second of water over, much more efficient than CIE is and no members to complain :D

A veritable TGV of liquidity it is .

LZQ5317GYYA.jpg

What everyone is forgetting of course is if you have the pump, pumping is how long is the hose goung to be to take far away enough not to flow back again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

I guess it's a dumb idea, although to be honest I was thinking more of the more regular localised flooding like Ennis-Limerick than the Dambusters type stuff we're seeing recently.

I'll get me coat...

Back to basics time everybody . A Hectare is about 2 acres .

If 1cm of rain ( crudely half an inch) falls on a hectare that is 1cm of rain for every 10000 square metres or 10 CUBIC metres a hectare.

Half an inch of rain was the norm in recent days .

One of these long tanker trucks shown below carrys about 25 cubic metres = half an inch of rain falling on 7 acres in a single day or 25000 litres.

We had 10mm every day for the last week, probably even today , in Galway ( click here and click graph bottom left to see the readings ) . The wet days last week were c.30mm all over. 30 cubic metres a hectare a day.

a 40 wagon train with tanks like the laddie below could carry off all the rain that fell on about 6 typical acres in Galway in the past 7 days .

The salmon weir in Galway with a spate discharge of 250,000 litres or 250 cubic metres a SECOND spews 10 Wagons a second of water over, much more efficient than CIE is and no members to complain :D

A veritable TGV of liquidity it is .

LZQ5317GYYA.jpg

Mind you sponge it could bring a whole new meaning to rail freight on the U no WOT. Pump the water into freight water rail tankers- take up north - pump it back into the system - train it back down to the flood point repump it out etc.....

FAS/WRC/WOT job creation scheme. Careful now .....they might just adopt it....after all just check this thought out below....
    =SeaSlacker;63200963
    I do like the pump-train idea though.

There is only one true original.....:mad:

God moves in mysterious ways and I suspect the WRC thread will be back before the flooding subsides. :)

Well, if you guys are going to start your whinging on this thread, then so am I.

First, I've been misquoted

Easier and cheaper to let it drain naturally.

I could write about the obvious forum charter infringement in other posts here, but I won't.
    There is only one true original.....:mad:

Bring it to AH.

Toys. Pram.

Well, if you guys are going to start your whinging on this thread, then so am I.
    First, I've been misquoted
    I could write about the obvious forum charter infringement in other posts here, but I won't.
    Bring it to AH.

picard-facepalm.jpg

Toys. Pram.

may as well add a thumbs up too...only a matter of time before this thread is locked too.....:D

dowlingm wrote: »
    I'll get me coat...
    You'll also need your wellies. :pac:

could we send spongebob up there...He might soak up a bit....(also getting coat...)

This thread sounds like a group of scriptwriters plotting a scene from "Thunderbirds". ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Nostradamus

You can't drain the Shannon. But incredibly (perhaps not) Fianna Fail for a about 2 decades ran on such a platform in Clare after a priest demanding the Shannon be completely drained and turned into farmland. I kid you not. For about 25 years TDs in Clare spoke about getting the Shannon drained and the free up land handed to local famers at no cost. Look it up.

Interestingly the origin of the idea was the Nazis who had a plan to drain the Mediterean Sea and do the same. This resulted in crazy Dry Shannon idea being brought to Ireland.

You can't drain the Shannon. But incredibly (perhaps not) Fianna Fail for a about 2 decades ran on such a platform in Clare after a priest demanding the Shannon be completely drained and turned into farmland. I kid you not. For about 25 years TDs in Clare spoke about getting the Shannon drained and the free up land handed to local famers at no cost. Look it up.

Interestingly the origin of the idea was the Nazis who had a plan to drain the Mediterean Sea and do the same. This resulted in crazy Dry Shannon idea being brought to Ireland.

Crist! There must be something in the water! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Nostradamus

God moves in mysterious ways and I suspect the WRC thread will be back before the flooding subsides. :)

moses-parting-red-sea.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Hungerford

I can't see one unless you are arguing that the posters who are opposed to the reopening of the WRC are inciting hatred against the project. :D

:eek::eek::eek:

what exactly were they planning to do with all the water that flows into the shannon?
    that is was such a monumentally stupid idea!