Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is wrong with my faith?

• 25-11-2009 09:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭

Why is the Catholic church to which I belong, controlled by men who have no compassion, remorse or love for the abused victims of this land. Let us have no doubt that if the many church scandals could have been contained, they would have been. Any apologies and compensation offered is out of legal necessity and is not voluntary. So I ask my myself, why should I listen any more to to the preachings of a church that is rotten. Why do the religious institutions have such wealth? why? Where is our modern day Peter? oh ya he sits on his ornate throne in Rome and washes his hands of all scandals.
    I don't think Jesus left these instructions - to acquire vast wealth and replace the Roman Empire with 'The Holy Roman Empire'. This scandalous behaviour within the church has made me examine my own faith and look at the history of the church. What I found has shocked me, I saw for the first time that the vast majority of my faith, it's rituals and beliefs were truly man made centuries after the death of Jesus. The message of Jesus has been warped, they say Satan's greatest ability is mimickery. I don't think Jesus wanted us to venerate the bones of 'saint', pray to images or statues or except a man as being infallible. There is only one God who is infallible, to suggest an 'emperor' in Rome elected by his peers is equal to or represents God is simply wrong. Satan must be proud, Jesus's message has been perverted. I could go on and on, I have formed this opinion
    through my own examination of the church and it's history. I would also like to point out that I am not some Born Again 'nut' or evangelical 'Fruitcake'. I am simply a Catholic that has finally seen the man made manipulation of Jesus and a church used for power, wealth, ego and wrong doing. So please don't attack me I'm just interested in how other Catholics are feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

What exactly do you mean by "born again nut" or "evangelical fruitcake"?

I would have thought that if you are so dissatisfied with the RCC, and don't see a way to overcome your bones of contention, then perhaps you should explore other denominations without such prejudice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Indeed, evangelicalism is present in numerous denominations in Ireland other than Pentecostalism including Methodism, Anglicanism, and Presbyterianism, and we are all aware that the Scriptures say that through belief in Jesus Christ, we are born again with Him in His resurrection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭homer911

I'm pretty sure that guy that stands on Hill 16 with his John 3:7 banner would describe himself as Catholic

apart from that, Congratulations, - sounds like you are on your own journey of faith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I think the simple answer is it was a different time. People believe the Church was infallible and literally holy. The Church had great power and it would have been madness to stand in opposition or suggest wrong doing.
    There were probably people trying to both help the priests and protect the Church with good intentions the whole "path" thing comes into play then. As the Church has lost power the information became more apparent. The old cover-up method still continued but the truth was coming to light.

Now you have an organisation that if it admitted everything and paid up would probably fall apart. While people think of such organisation as moral the practicalities of what they actually do means the people in the organisation feel they must do the best for their organisation.

In other words they are protecting themselves from both the reality of their actions and false claims with equal tenacity. Priests are not divine beings and either is their organisation but to a certain extent they were thought as such.

The nature of the Church seems to be becoming apparent to you it will depress you and make you question everything. I would say it is best to take what you can from what you thought it was and don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. It certainly isn't a bad code to follow if it is moderate but that is assuming you don't believe in the eye for an eye type parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

homer911 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure that guy that stands on Hill 16 with his John 3:7 banner would describe himself as Catholic

apart from that, Congratulations, - sounds like you are on your own journey of faith

You'd be wrong!

http://www.hoganstand.com/common/ads/down/john37/john37.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

Very best of luck on your journey medicman...I thought you had changed over to Islam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

Why is the Catholic church to which I belong, controlled by men who have no compassion, remorse or love for the abused victims of this land. Let us have no doubt that if the many church scandals could have been contained, they would have been. Any apologies and compensation offered is out of legal necessity and is not voluntary. So I ask my myself, why should I listen any more to to the preachings of a church that is rotten. Why do the religious institutions have such wealth? why? Where is our modern day Peter? oh ya he sits on his ornate throne in Rome and washes his hands of all scandals.
    I don't think Jesus left these instructions - to acquire vast wealth and replace the Roman Empire with 'The Holy Roman Empire'. This scandalous behaviour within the church has made me examine my own faith and look at the history of the church. What I found has shocked me, I saw for the first time that the vast majority of my faith, it's rituals and beliefs were truly man made centuries after the death of Jesus. The message of Jesus has been warped, they say Satan's greatest ability is mimickery. I don't think Jesus wanted us to venerate the bones of 'saint', pray to images or statues or except a man as being infallible. There is only one God who is infallible, to suggest an 'emperor' in Rome elected by his peers is equal to or represents God is simply wrong. Satan must be proud, Jesus's message has been perverted. I could go on and on, I have formed this opinion
    through my own examination of the church and it's history. I would also like to point out that I am not some Born Again 'nut' or evangelical 'Fruitcake'. I am simply a Catholic that has finally seen the man made manipulation of Jesus and a church used for power, wealth, ego and wrong doing. So please don't attack me I'm just interested in how other Catholics are feeling.

Hello Medicman, you're not the only one who's shocked by what happens within the Church but the Church isn't a monolithic entity - it's made up of individual members, some good, some bad. I believe that the Catholic Church is the same Church founded by Jesus and it's teachings about doctrine and morality are true because they are guided by the Holy Spirit. Jesus promised us this. What He didn't promise was that the members of the Church would be without sin. It's important to distinguish between the two.

But let's not throw the baby out with the bath-water. The majority or priests, bishops and religious are good people who are concerned with preaching the good news of Christ.

I think leaving the Church could be compared to deserting Jesus when He was captured by Roman soldiers in the garden of Gethsamane. We're supposed to be one Church, one Body of Christ. Let's not tear the Body up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭homer911

keano_afc wrote: »

Thanks for that! Nobody's perfect ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Hi OP,

[Non Christian Response here]

There is nothing wrong with your faith in Catholicism (unless you're having doubts about God/Jesus).Please do not think that your problem is unique to catholicism. The sad fact is that the world isn't perfect, scratch that humans aren't perfect. In every world organisation, religious or non-religious there is possibility of corruption. Thankfully, society has safe guards in place to limit these e.g Democracy doesn't allow any one person to have all the power.The reason why you're so appalled with the scandal within the Catholic Church is mainly because the Catholic Church in Ireland had a huge amount of power and influence and was simply left unchecked by the politicians and government departments. Any organisation, no matter how good its initial intentions are, left unchecked, will nearly always tend towards some scale of corruption. The longer the organisation goes unchecked the worse that corruption may become.
    The administrators of the Catholic Church need to take account for their failure to act, but so too do the politicians and civil servants that stood idly by all those years. Anyways, the point I'm making is that it was certain individuals that should be held accountable. Given any organisation (religious or non-religious) human beings won't always do what's in the best interest or ideals of that organisation.
    These people weren't following Catholicism (some may have been deluding themselves into thinking that they were following Catholicism), they were merely serving themselves. All one can do is hope that the Church learns from its mistakes and better regulates itself. However, given it's current attempt in trying to brush stuff off and lack of cooperation, one would wonder whether it is facilitating an environment that would allow a repeat of these horrid events all over again.:(

Speaking as a non-religious person, the reason any religious organisation needs wealth is because, without it, they'd die.

@ Uprising,

Emm how do I say this politely...

That stuff you posted is woefully wrong and misleading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭uprising

Where is my first post and why has it been removed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

uprising wrote: »
    Where is my first post and why has it been removed?

It was removed (twice) because it was contrary to the Forum Charter. I suggest you read the Charter before posting here again.

Does anyone ever wonder why there is so much hate aimed at the Catholic Church? Is it really because of the abuses of power (often exaggerated) throughout history or because it's actually the one true Church of Christ and the primary target of Satan for that very reason? Serious question.

People don't like it when their trust in an organisation has been abused.
    Some people are remarkably good too at holding grudges and reminding others of them.
    Again, nothing do with the truth value of the Catholic Church, just its misuse of the ordinary peoples trust.
    I wouldn't say though that the abuse of power has been exaggerated, maybe by tabloids, but the attempts to conceal everything and cover ups makes me shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

kelly1 wrote: »
    Does anyone ever wonder why there is so much hate aimed at the Catholic Church?

I don't think many people wonder why there is so much hate aimed at the Catholic Church.

There are many reasons why someone would hate a hugely powerful and corrupt organisation which has been the perpetrator of countless heinous crimes against humanity ever since its inception.
    Is it really because of the abuses of power (often exaggerated) throughout history
    What "abuses of power" are you referring to? And what have been exaggerated?
    Institutional child abuse? Support of fascism and genocide? The Inquisitions? Disapproval of condom use in AIDS ridden Africa? Oppression of women? Indoctrination of children?
    or because it's actually the one true Church of Christ and the primary target of Satan for that very reason?
    Are you suggesting that attacking the church for crimes against humanity is sinful or the result of Satan?

Even if the RCC was the "one true Church of Christ", it still has to act in a humane and responsible manner, and be responsible for its actions.

I find it a bit sickening that you claim the abuses of power are "often exaggerated" today, on a day when the newspaper headlines are filled with such damning reports of pedophilia, corruption and collusion in the Dublin diocese. There are thousands of people in Dublin alone who as children were raped or beaten at the hands of clergymen.

This should be a time for reflection and reconciliation. Digging your heels in and defending the Church on these matters makes you look insensitive, to put it mildly, but implying that Satan is responsible for hatred of the RCC is quite insulting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Does anyone ever wonder why there is so much hate aimed at the Catholic Church? Is it really because of the abuses of power (often exaggerated) throughout history or because it's actually the one true Church of Christ and the primary target of Satan for that very reason? Serious question.

Well you did ask...How about this for starters. I'd like to see any of you guys try to defend the church on this. I'm still furious and sickened after reading it.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055752206

It's not just the Catholic church that gets criticised. Islam takes far more flak and evangelicals are ridiculed.(Creationist museums.) So it's hardly a case of more criticism equals more truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

lmaopml wrote: »
    Very best of luck on your journey medicman...I thought you had changed over to Islam?

No I haven't changed over, but it is looking like a very attractive options. I've researched a lot of options and to be honest Islam is looking good to me. They believe that Jesus was a Holy prophet/messenger, I never knew this. They also believe that his message was manipulated by the church in the subsequent centuries and as I mentioned in the initial post, when I researched the amount of man made amendments in the centuries after Jesus I was truly shocked. I've looked at some some Islamic religious channels and I've been shocked by the level of ignorance I had towards it. They view Christians as having lost their way from Jesus's teaching, this just so happens to be how I also feel.
    I would like to apologise for my harsh words in the initial post when I mentioned the following - 'Born again' or 'evangelical nut'. This was absolutely wrong on my part and I apologies if I have caused offence to anyone. No matter what I believe in or convert to, for me regardless of your faith if you have a good heart, respect others and help those who need it, then god will judge you kindly. So if you are a Jew, Christian, Muslim or Hindu etc, matters not, it is how you treat others. I am on my own journey at the moment, we all must be true to ourselves whatever that may be. Islam at the moment is shining a light for me that I must investigate further. Again I meant no offence to anyone in my initial post.

condra wrote: »
    I don't think many people wonder why there is so much hate aimed at the Catholic Church.
    Condra, at the time I wrote my reply, it didn't occur to me the OP was a response to the Murphy report released today. When I mentioned abuse of power, I was talking about the sale of indulgences and persecution of Galileo etc. When I said there were exaggerations, I'm talking about things like the exaggeration of Pope Pius XII's complicity in Jewish persecution and the Church's involvement in the Spanish inquisition.
    Are you suggesting that attacking the church for crimes against humanity is sinful or the result of Satan?
    I'm saying that priests in particular are targets for Satan's temptations because when the clergy fall, they take lots of people down with them.
    Even if the RCC was the "one true Church of Christ", it still has to act in a humane and responsible manner, and be responsible for its actions.
    I totally agree. I would never condone the horrific crimes that happened in our country.
    This should be a time for reflection and reconciliation. Digging your heels in and defending the Church on these matters makes you look insensitive, to put it mildly, but implying that Satan is responsible for hatred of the RCC is quite insulting.
    Again, sorry I gave the wrong impression. You're not the only one who's upset by the abuse perpetrated by the clergy who are supposed to be servants of God and became servants of the devil!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I agree with Kelly1.
    Historically on balance the Church is a good institution. However it does seem to be prone to hubris, which leads to such dark chapters as detailed in the recent report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

No I haven't changed over, but it is looking like a very attractive options. I've researched a lot of options and to be honest Islam is looking good to me. They believe that Jesus was a Holy prophet/messenger, I never knew this. They also believe that his message was manipulated by the church in the subsequent centuries and as I mentioned in the initial post, when I researched the amount of man made amendments in the centuries after Jesus I was truly shocked. I've looked at some some Islamic religious channels and I've been shocked by the level of ignorance I had towards it. They view Christians as having lost their way from Jesus's teaching, this just so happens to be how I also feel.
    I would like to apologise for my harsh words in the initial post when I mentioned the following - 'Born again' or 'evangelical nut'. This was absolutely wrong on my part and I apologies if I have caused offence to anyone. No matter what I believe in or convert to, for me regardless of your faith if you have a good heart, respect others and help those who need it, then god will judge you kindly. So if you are a Jew, Christian, Muslim or Hindu etc, matters not, it is how you treat others. I am on my own journey at the moment, we all must be true to ourselves whatever that may be. Islam at the moment is shining a light for me that I must investigate further. Again I meant no offence to anyone in my initial post.

Have you read the Koran yet? I'd suggest trying that before you start calling yourself a Muslim. Also, bear in mind that officially the only real Koran is one written in Arabic so good luck learning a new language.

Malty_T wrote: »
    Hi OP,

[Non Christian Response here]

There is nothing wrong with your faith in Catholicism (unless you're having doubts about God/Jesus).Please do not think that your problem is unique to catholicism. The sad fact is that the world isn't perfect, scratch that humans aren't perfect. In every world organisation, religious or non-religious there is possibility of corruption. Thankfully, society has safe guards in place to limit these e.g Democracy doesn't allow any one person to have all the power.The reason why you're so appalled with the scandal within the Catholic Church is mainly because the Catholic Church in Ireland had a huge amount of power and influence and was simply left unchecked by the politicians and government departments. Any organisation, no matter how good its initial intentions are, left unchecked, will nearly always tend towards some scale of corruption. The longer the organisation goes unchecked the worse that corruption may become.
    The administrators of the Catholic Church need to take account for their failure to act, but so too do the politicians and civil servants that stood idly by all those years. Anyways, the point I'm making is that it was certain individuals that should be held accountable. Given any organisation (religious or non-religious) human beings won't always do what's in the best interest or ideals of that organisation.
    These people weren't following Catholicism (some may have been deluding themselves into thinking that they were following Catholicism), they were merely serving themselves. All one can do is hope that the Church learns from its mistakes and better regulates itself. However, given it's current attempt in trying to brush stuff off and lack of cooperation, one would wonder whether it is facilitating an environment that would allow a repeat of these horrid events all over again.:(

Speaking as a non-religious person, the reason any religious organisation needs wealth is because, without it, they'd die.

Cheers MaltyT, and very well said! :)

As a Catholic myself I almost feel nauseated at the thoughts of it all.....I'm a good bit through reading the report and it is truely unbelievable that these children were preyed apon and NOBODY did anything....Crikey!

I suppose at the end of the day these Peadophiles find places to hide. I noticed one of the worst offenders saying that he joined the Church as a priest because he 'knew' he was attracted to children, and it 'scared' him, so he thought that because priests just 'don't have sex at all' that it would help him to cure himself...Others were sex addicts, Gay etc etc. and obviously felt rejected by society and thought they would find safe refuge in the Church - which some of them did thanks to the Archbishops and the Authorities at the time...and the 'blind eye' society we had.

I'm beginning to wonder would there be a rejuvenation of interest should they be allowed to at least have the 'choice' to marry?? I know it's not 'up to me..lol' whether they do or not, but in light of the events in Ireland. The Archbishops failed dismally to look after those kids..

.....I know there are orders where celibacy is a way of life and fair enough, but an out and out ban - along with the society we had at the time, and just look what happened....

I'm truely sickened...and I must admit to blushing privately when I hear the surname of some priests who were exported to the States and beyond.....WHAT where we doing here? God love those kids.

Well best of luck medicman whatever you choose :) I would have regarded myself as agnostic / atheist at one time, but it didn't suit me :o I ended up researching and found what I was looking for within my faith. I'm happy. I wish everybody the same happiness....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭Pete M.

@Malty_T

1. There is nothing wrong with your faith in Catholicism

That's debatable.
    2. In every world organisation, religious or non-religious there is possibility of corruption. Thankfully, society has safe guards in place to limit these e.g Democracy doesn't allow any one person to have all the power.

That too.
    3. Any organisation, no matter how good its initial intentions are, left unchecked, will nearly always tend towards some scale of corruption. The longer the organisation goes unchecked the worse that corruption may become.

And by Jingos, has the Holy Roman empire been around a long time or wha?
    All one can do is hope that the Church learns from its mistakes and better regulates itself.

That's not all one can hope for. Sure there are a lot of people out there, once Catholic, who hope that they do the right thing and the church goes back to its roots, poverty, sandals, the whole shooting match. Then they may be able to lay claim to being somewhat spiritual, whereas now they claim a monopoly, obviously much argued, but as far from being actually spiritual as could be.
    They've made a right golden calf of themselves.

They don't need wealth, they want it, greed, avarice, pride, total corruption. The Organisation would be shut down if they were a legit business.

At the OP.

I reckon that you have at last woken up to the absolute lie that the whole thing is, fair play and good luck with filling that void with some worthwhile stuff, you seem like someone who actually thinks about their religion, when many don't and take it for granted. If you didn't think about it, it wouldn't be worth it now would it?

Blind faith, yeah right.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Manach wrote: »
    Historically on balance the Church is a good institution.

Depends on who is writing or teaching the history there I reckon.

Pete M. wrote: »

They don't need wealth, they want it, greed, avarice, pride, total corruption. The Organisation would be shut down if they were a legit business.
    Actually aside from it's huge amount of assets in comparison to the US evangelical Church the Vatican has a paltry budget.

That's debatable.
    Regardless of how corrupt an organisation is, it has nothing to do with value of truth behind their ideology. It is quite clear that certain members in the organisations weren't following this ideology.(Ideology probably not the right word?)I'd also prefer it if a believer renounced their faith from mutual conclusions about it, not corruption within an organisation.
    That too.
    Power corrupts; absolutely power corrupts absolutely.
    A Dictator can be as corrupt as s/he likes, the US President does not have all the power and cannot do whatever s/he wishes. For instance, Barrack Obama has pledged to cut Carbon Emissions within the US, however, he cannot do this solely by himself congress have to approve of it and before that they usually have to listen to many a lobby group with different interests. If the US was corrupt Barrack could simply go "To Hell with them, I'm the President, Emissions are gonna be cut!!".
    And by Jingos, has the Holy Roman empire been around a long time or wha?
    Holy Roman Empire was initially rejected by Catholicism until the Germans (I think) laid siege to Italy. (My History is shady, can someone back me up or correct me on this?)
    Edit : I've done a bit of googling it looks like it was rejected outright by the Vatican??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Zillah wrote: »
    Have you read the Koran yet? I'd suggest trying that before you start calling yourself a Muslim. Also, bear in mind that officially the only real Koran is one written in Arabic so good luck learning a new language.

I don't remember calling myself a Muslim......let's see, eh no I never did. To translate clearly what I said was is - it is looking like a very attractive option at the moment. Surely you must have taken from my posts the following.
    1) I'm not a blind follower, certainly not anymore.

2) I'm the kind of person who will carry out my own analysis/research.

Regarding the Qur'an - I went to great pain to ensure the translated version I have in no way alters or changes the original Arabic. I appreciate your concern here but it is unfounded.

Malty_T wrote: »

Power corrupts; absolutely power corrupts absolutely.
    A Dictator can be as corrupt as s/he likes, the US President does not have all the power and cannot do whatever s/he wishes. For instance, Barrack Obama has pledged to cut Carbon Emissions within the US, however, he cannot do this solely by himself congress have to approve of it and before that they usually have to listen to many a lobby group with different interests. If the US was corrupt Barrack could simply go "To Hell with them, I'm the President, Emissions are gonna be cut!!".

Holy Roman Empire was initially rejected by Catholicism until the Germans (I think) laid siege to Italy. (My History is shady, can someone back me up or correct me on this?)
    Edit : I've done a bit of googling it looks like it was rejected outright by the Vatican??

You're correct in the strictest terms. Although a lot would differ as to the definition of 'Holy Roman Empire'....Therein lies the arguement....unfortunately! We can't change our history, but we can choose not to throw the baby out with the bath water......if we're 'aware' and not blinded to the fact there is a 'baby' there...lol.

Medicman I do wish you the best of luck, and I do hope you find solace and a way to express yourself wherever you may find it!

I just happen to believe my own..and sure that's ok, cause I have the utmost regard for yours..and I ain't God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭wolfsbane

Yes, it is because the RCC has historically been a power-hungry, power-crazed empire that kept its subjects like spiritual - and often physical- serfs. The points of co-incidence with the Church revealed in the New Testament are few indeed. Look at the pomp, splendour and power and ask yourself is this the persecuted Church Jesus spoke of, the Church shown in its various states in the letters of Christ to the Seven Churches in Revelation 2 & 3?

It would be impossible for a corrupt church like the RCC to continue part of the true Church for some 1700 years. Take an honest look at the descriptions of two women in Revelation and ask yourself which matches best with the Roman Catholic Church?
    Revelation 12:1 Now a great sign appeared in heaven: a woman clothed with the sun, with the moon under her feet, and on her head a garland of twelve stars. 2 Then being with child, she cried out in labor and in pain to give birth.
    3 And another sign appeared in heaven: behold, a great, fiery red dragon having seven heads and ten horns, and seven diadems on his heads. 4 His tail drew a third of the stars of heaven and threw them to the earth. And the dragon stood before the woman who was ready to give birth, to devour her Child as soon as it was born. 5 She bore a male Child who was to rule all nations with a rod of iron. And her Child was caught up to God and His throne. 6 Then the woman fled into the wilderness, where she has a place prepared by God, that they should feed her there one thousand two hundred and sixty days...
    13 Now when the dragon saw that he had been cast to the earth, he persecuted the woman who gave birth to the male Child. 14 But the woman was given two wings of a great eagle, that she might fly into the wilderness to her place, where she is nourished for a time and times and half a time, from the presence of the serpent. 15 So the serpent spewed water out of his mouth like a flood after the woman, that he might cause her to be carried away by the flood. 16 But the earth helped the woman, and the earth opened its mouth and swallowed up the flood which the dragon had spewed out of his mouth. 17 And the dragon was enraged with the woman, and he went to make war with the rest of her offspring, who keep the commandments of God and have the testimony of Jesus Christ.

Revelation 17:3 So he carried me away in the Spirit into the wilderness. And I saw a woman sitting on a scarlet beast which was full of names of blasphemy, having seven heads and ten horns. 4 The woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet, and adorned with gold and precious stones and pearls, having in her hand a golden cup full of abominations and the filthiness of her fornication. 5 And on her forehead a name was written:

MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND OF THE ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH.
    6 I saw the woman, drunk with the blood of the saints and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus.
    And when I saw her, I marveled with great amazement.

You asked a serious question, and I've given a serious answer. I do not wish to offend anyone, and I respect you and all who seek for the truth, but the wickedness and corruption that rules in the RCC demands plain speaking.

wolfsbane wrote: »
    Yes, it is because the RCC has historically been a power-hungry, power-crazed empire that kept its subjects like spiritual - and often physical- serfs. The points of co-incidence with the Church revealed in the New Testament are few indeed. Look at the pomp, splendour and power and ask yourself is this the persecuted Church Jesus spoke of, the Church shown in its various states in the letters of Christ to the Seven Churches in Revelation 2 & 3?

It would be impossible for a corrupt church like the RCC to continue part of the true Church for some 1700 years. Take an honest look at the descriptions of two women in Revelation and ask yourself which matches best with the Roman Catholic Church?
    Revelation 12:1 Now a great sign appeared in heaven: a woman clothed with the sun, with the moon under her feet, and on her head a garland of twelve stars. 2 Then being with child, she cried out in labor and in pain to give birth.
    3 And another sign appeared in heaven: behold, a great, fiery red dragon having seven heads and ten horns, and seven diadems on his heads. 4 His tail drew a third of the stars of heaven and threw them to the earth. And the dragon stood before the woman who was ready to give birth, to devour her Child as soon as it was born. 5 She bore a male Child who was to rule all nations with a rod of iron. And her Child was caught up to God and His throne. 6 Then the woman fled into the wilderness, where she has a place prepared by God, that they should feed her there one thousand two hundred and sixty days...
    13 Now when the dragon saw that he had been cast to the earth, he persecuted the woman who gave birth to the male Child. 14 But the woman was given two wings of a great eagle, that she might fly into the wilderness to her place, where she is nourished for a time and times and half a time, from the presence of the serpent. 15 So the serpent spewed water out of his mouth like a flood after the woman, that he might cause her to be carried away by the flood. 16 But the earth helped the woman, and the earth opened its mouth and swallowed up the flood which the dragon had spewed out of his mouth. 17 And the dragon was enraged with the woman, and he went to make war with the rest of her offspring, who keep the commandments of God and have the testimony of Jesus Christ.

Revelation 17:3 So he carried me away in the Spirit into the wilderness. And I saw a woman sitting on a scarlet beast which was full of names of blasphemy, having seven heads and ten horns. 4 The woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet, and adorned with gold and precious stones and pearls, having in her hand a golden cup full of abominations and the filthiness of her fornication. 5 And on her forehead a name was written:

MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND OF THE ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH.
    6 I saw the woman, drunk with the blood of the saints and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus. And when I saw her, I marveled with great amazement.

You asked a serious question, and I've given a serious answer. I do not wish to offend anyone, and I respect you and all who seek for the truth, but the wickedness and corruption that rules in the RCC demands plain speaking.

But that wasn't plain speaking, with respect Wolfsbane, that was quoting from the bible?? Without your interjections as to it's 'meaning'?

....and

....ouch! :confused:

6 I saw the woman, drunk with the blood of the saints and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus.
    And when I saw her, I marveled with great amazement.

How do you know the harlot refers to the Catholic Church?

It might or it might not. I didn't say it did - just asked which woman was the closest match to the Catholic Church.

I know which one matches the profile as far as I can see. Anyone else see a clear resemblance (in either)?

But that wasn't plain speaking, with respect Wolfsbane, that was quoting from the bible?? Without your interjections as to it's 'meaning'?

....and

....ouch! :confused:
    I thought the first two paragraphs were plain enough. But let me put it another way - the RCC bears a striking resemblance to the harlot, and very little to the lady.

Wolfsbane your on a mission with us RC's tonight :) and I wouldn't mind we quite like you guys mostly...

I read a beautiful reponse to this that I couldn't hope to put together so eloquently, so I'll transcribe it if you'll forgive me....The concept seemed to be postcarded and framed by a guy called Dave Hunt...but it's a fallacy and misleading or even 'leading' lol...in the extreme...imo of course.

Hunt argues that the Whore "is a city built on seven hills," which he identifies as the seven hills of ancient Rome. This argument is based on Revelation 17:9, which states that the woman sits on seven mountains.

The Greek word in this passage is horos. Of the sixty-five occurrences of this word in the New Testament, only three are rendered "hill" by the King James Version. The remaining sixty-two are translated as "mountain" or "mount." Modern Bibles have similar ratios. If the passage states that the Whore sits on "seven mountains," it could refer to anything. Mountains are common biblical symbols, often symbolizing whole kingdoms (cf. Ps. 68:15; Dan. 2:35; Amos 4:1, 6:1; Obad. 8–21). The Whore’s seven mountains might be seven kingdoms she reigns over, or seven kingdoms with which she has something in common.

The number seven may be symbolic also, for it often represents completeness in the Bible. If so, the seven mountains might signify that the Whore reigns over all earth’s kingdoms.

Even if we accept that the word horos should be translated literally as "hill" in this passage, it still does not narrow us down to Rome. Other cities are known for having been built on seven hills as well.

Even if we grant that the reference is to Rome, which Rome are we talking about—pagan Rome or Christian Rome? As we will see, ancient, pagan Rome fits all of Hunt’s criteria as well, or better, than Rome during the Christian centuries.

Now bring in the distinction between Rome and Vatican City—the city where the Catholic Church is headquartered—and Hunt’s claim becomes less plausible. Vatican City is not built on seven hills, but only one: Vatican Hill, which is not one of the seven upon which ancient Rome was built. Those hills are on the east side of the Tiber river; Vatican Hill is on the west.

Hunt notes that the Whore will be a city "known as Babylon." This is based on Revelation 17:5, which says that her name is "Babylon the Great."

The phrase "Babylon the great" (Greek: Babulon a megala) occurs five times in Revelation (14:8, 16:19, 17:5, 18:2, and 18:21). Light is shed on its meaning when one notices that Babylon is referred to as "the great city" seven times in the book (16:19, 17:18, 18:10, 16, 18, 19, 21). Other than these, there is only one reference to "the great city." That passage is 11:8, which states that the bodies of God’s two witnesses "will lie in the street of the great city, which is allegorically called Sodom and Egypt, where their Lord was crucified."

"The great city" is symbolically called Sodom, a reference to Jerusalem, symbolically called "Sodom" in the Old Testament (cf. Is. 1:10; Ezek. 16:1–3, 46–56). We also know Jerusalem is the "the great city" of Revelation 11:8 because the verse says it was "where [the] Lord was crucified."

Revelation consistently speaks as if there were only one "great city" ("the great city"), suggesting that the great city of 11:8 is the same as the great city mentioned in the other seven texts—Babylon. Additional evidence for the identity of the two is the fact that both are symbolically named after great Old Testament enemies of the faith: Sodom, Egypt, and Babylon.

This suggests that Babylon the great may be Jerusalem, not Rome. Many Protestant and Catholic commentators have adopted this interpretation. On the other hand, early Church Fathers often referred to Rome as "Babylon," but every references was to pagan Rome, which martyred Christians.

Hunt tells us, "The woman is called a ‘whore’ (verse 1), with whom earthly kings ‘have committed fornication’ (verse 2). Against only two cities could such a charge be made: Jerusalem and Rome."

Here Hunt admits that the prophets often referred to Jerusalem as a spiritual whore, suggesting that the Whore might be apostate Jerusalem. Ancient, pagan Rome also fits the description, since through the cult of emperor worship it also committed spiritual fornication with "the kings of the earth" (those nations it conquered).

To identify the Whore as Vatican City, Hunt interprets the fornication as alleged "unholy alliances" forged between Vatican City and other nations, but he fails to cite any reasons why the Vatican’s diplomatic relations with other nations are "unholy."

He also confuses Vatican City with the city of Rome, and he neglects the fact that pagan Rome had "unholy alliances" with the kingdoms it governed (unholy because they were built on paganism and emperor worship).

Hunt states, "She [the Whore] is clothed in ‘purple and scarlet’ (verse 4), the colors of the Catholic clergy." He then cites the Catholic Encyclopedia to show that bishops wear certain purple vestments and cardinals wear certain red vestments.

Hunt ignores the obvious symbolic meaning of the colors—purple for royalty and red for the blood of Christian martyrs. Instead, he is suddenly literal in his interpretation. He understood well enough that the woman symbolizes a city and that the fornication symbolizes something other than literal sex, but now he wants to assign the colors a literal, earthly fulfillment in a few vestments of certain Catholic clergy.

Purple and red are not the dominant colors of Catholic clerical vestments. White is. All priests wear white (including bishops and cardinals when they are saying Mass)—even the pope does so.

The purple and scarlet of the Whore are contrasted with the white of the New Jerusalem, the Bride of Christ (Rev. 19:8). This is a problem for Hunt for three reasons: (a) we have already noted that the dominant color of Catholic clerical vestments is white, which would identify them with New Jerusalem if the color is taken literally; (b) the clothing of the Bride is given a symbolic interpretation ("the righteous acts of the saints;" 19:8); implying that the clothing of the Whore should also be given a symbolic meaning; and (c) the identification of the Bride as New Jerusalem (Rev. 3:12, 21:2, 10) suggests that the Whore may be old (apostate) Jerusalem—a contrast used elsewhere in Scripture (Gal. 4:25–26).

Hunt ignores the liturgical meaning of purple and red in Catholic symbolism. Purple symbolizes repentance, and red honors the blood of Christ and the Christian martyrs.

It is appropriate for Catholic clerics to wear purple and scarlet, if for no other reason because they have been liturgical colors of the true religion since ancient Israel.

Hunt neglects to remind his readers that God commanded that scarlet yarn and wool be used in liturgical ceremonies (Lev. 14:4, 6, 49–52; Num. 19:6), and that God commanded that the priests’ vestments be made with purple and scarlet yarn (Ex. 28:4–8, 15, 33, 39:1–8, 24, 29).

Hunt states, "[The Whore’s] incredible wealth next caught John’s eye. She was ‘decked with gold and precious stones and pearls . . . ’ [Rev. 17:4]." The problem is that, regardless of what it had in the past, the modern Vatican is not fantastically wealthy. In fact, it has run a budget deficit in most recent years and has an annual budget only around the size of that of the Archdiocese of Chicago. Furthermore, wealth was much more in character with pagan Rome or apostate Jerusalem, both key economic centers.

Hunt states that the Whore "has ‘a golden cup [chalice] in her hand, full of abominations and filthiness of her fornication.’" This is another reference to Revelation 17:4. Then he states that the "Church is known for its many thousands of gold chalices around the world."

To make the Whore’s gold cup suggestive of the Eucharistic chalice, Hunt inserts the word "chalice" in square brackets, though the Greek word here is the ordinary word for cup (potarion), which appears thirty-three times in the New Testament and is always translated "cup."

He ignores the fact that the Catholic chalice is used in the celebration of the Lord’s Supper—a ritual commanded by Christ (Luke 22:19–20; 1 Cor. 11:24–25); he ignores the fact that the majority of Eucharistic chalices Catholics use are not made out of gold, but other materials, such as brass, silver, glass, and even earthenware; he ignores the fact that gold liturgical vessels and utensils have been part of the true religion ever since ancient Israel—again at the command of God (Ex. 25:38–40, 37:23–24; Num. 31:50–51; 2 Chr. 24:14); and he again uses a literal interpretation, according to which the Whore’s cup is not a single symbol applying to the city of Rome, but a collection of many literal cups used in cities throughout the world. But Revelation tells us that it’s the cup of God’s wrath that is given to the Whore (Rev. 14:10; cf. Rev. 18:6). This has nothing to do with Eucharistic chalices.

Now for Hunt’s most hilarious argument: "John’s attention is next drawn to the inscription on the woman’s forehead: ‘THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH’ (verse 5, [Hunt’s emphasis]). Sadly enough, the Roman Catholic Church fits that description as precisely as she fits the others. Much of the cause is due to the unbiblical doctrine of priestly celibacy," which has "made sinners of the clergy and harlots out of those with whom they secretly cohabit."

Priestly celibacy is not a doctrine but a discipline—a discipline in the Latin Rite of the Church—and even this rite has not always been mandatory. This discipline can scarcely be unbiblical, since Hunt himself says, "The great apostle Paul was a celibate and recommended that life to others who wanted to devote themselves fully to serving Christ."

Hunt has again lurched to an absurdly literal interpretation. He should interpret the harlotry of the Whore’s daughters as the same as their mother’s, which is why she is called their mother in the first place. This would make it spiritual or political fornication or the persecution of Christian martyrs (cf. 17:2, 6, 18:6). Instead, Hunt gives the interpretation of the daughters as literal, earthly prostitutes committing literal, earthly fornication.

I had to edit: I know it verrrrry long...BUT it convinced me that I'm ok staying Catholic

I'll leave it at that, cause I know it's not meant to be about apologetics.....but felt absurdly like apologising...

Wolfsbane your on a mission with us RC's tonight :) and I wouldn't mind we quite like you guys mostly...

I read a beautiful reponse to this that I couldn't hope to put together so eloquently, so I'll transcribe it if you'll forgive me....The concept seemed to be postcarded and framed by a guy called Dave Hunt...but it's a fallacy and misleading or even 'leading' lol...in the extreme...imo of course.

Hunt argues that the Whore "is a city built on seven hills," which he identifies as the seven hills of ancient Rome. This argument is based on Revelation 17:9, which states that the woman sits on seven mountains.

The Greek word in this passage is horos. Of the sixty-five occurrences of this word in the New Testament, only three are rendered "hill" by the King James Version. The remaining sixty-two are translated as "mountain" or "mount." Modern Bibles have similar ratios. If the passage states that the Whore sits on "seven mountains," it could refer to anything. Mountains are common biblical symbols, often symbolizing whole kingdoms (cf. Ps. 68:15; Dan. 2:35; Amos 4:1, 6:1; Obad. 8–21). The Whore’s seven mountains might be seven kingdoms she reigns over, or seven kingdoms with which she has something in common.

The number seven may be symbolic also, for it often represents completeness in the Bible. If so, the seven mountains might signify that the Whore reigns over all earth’s kingdoms.

Even if we accept that the word horos should be translated literally as "hill" in this passage, it still does not narrow us down to Rome. Other cities are known for having been built on seven hills as well.

Even if we grant that the reference is to Rome, which Rome are we talking about—pagan Rome or Christian Rome? As we will see, ancient, pagan Rome fits all of Hunt’s criteria as well, or better, than Rome during the Christian centuries.

Now bring in the distinction between Rome and Vatican City—the city where the Catholic Church is headquartered—and Hunt’s claim becomes less plausible. Vatican City is not built on seven hills, but only one: Vatican Hill, which is not one of the seven upon which ancient Rome was built. Those hills are on the east side of the Tiber river; Vatican Hill is on the west.

Hunt notes that the Whore will be a city "known as Babylon." This is based on Revelation 17:5, which says that her name is "Babylon the Great."

The phrase "Babylon the great" (Greek: Babulon a megala) occurs five times in Revelation (14:8, 16:19, 17:5, 18:2, and 18:21). Light is shed on its meaning when one notices that Babylon is referred to as "the great city" seven times in the book (16:19, 17:18, 18:10, 16, 18, 19, 21). Other than these, there is only one reference to "the great city." That passage is 11:8, which states that the bodies of God’s two witnesses "will lie in the street of the great city, which is allegorically called Sodom and Egypt, where their Lord was crucified."

"The great city" is symbolically called Sodom, a reference to Jerusalem, symbolically called "Sodom" in the Old Testament (cf. Is. 1:10; Ezek. 16:1–3, 46–56). We also know Jerusalem is the "the great city" of Revelation 11:8 because the verse says it was "where [the] Lord was crucified."

Revelation consistently speaks as if there were only one "great city" ("the great city"), suggesting that the great city of 11:8 is the same as the great city mentioned in the other seven texts—Babylon. Additional evidence for the identity of the two is the fact that both are symbolically named after great Old Testament enemies of the faith: Sodom, Egypt, and Babylon.

This suggests that Babylon the great may be Jerusalem, not Rome. Many Protestant and Catholic commentators have adopted this interpretation. On the other hand, early Church Fathers often referred to Rome as "Babylon," but every references was to pagan Rome, which martyred Christians.

Hunt tells us, "The woman is called a ‘whore’ (verse 1), with whom earthly kings ‘have committed fornication’ (verse 2). Against only two cities could such a charge be made: Jerusalem and Rome."

Here Hunt admits that the prophets often referred to Jerusalem as a spiritual whore, suggesting that the Whore might be apostate Jerusalem. Ancient, pagan Rome also fits the description, since through the cult of emperor worship it also committed spiritual fornication with "the kings of the earth" (those nations it conquered).

To identify the Whore as Vatican City, Hunt interprets the fornication as alleged "unholy alliances" forged between Vatican City and other nations, but he fails to cite any reasons why the Vatican’s diplomatic relations with other nations are "unholy."

He also confuses Vatican City with the city of Rome, and he neglects the fact that pagan Rome had "unholy alliances" with the kingdoms it governed (unholy because they were built on paganism and emperor worship).

Hunt states, "She [the Whore] is clothed in ‘purple and scarlet’ (verse 4), the colors of the Catholic clergy." He then cites the Catholic Encyclopedia to show that bishops wear certain purple vestments and cardinals wear certain red vestments.

Hunt ignores the obvious symbolic meaning of the colors—purple for royalty and red for the blood of Christian martyrs. Instead, he is suddenly literal in his interpretation. He understood well enough that the woman symbolizes a city and that the fornication symbolizes something other than literal sex, but now he wants to assign the colors a literal, earthly fulfillment in a few vestments of certain Catholic clergy.

Purple and red are not the dominant colors of Catholic clerical vestments. White is. All priests wear white (including bishops and cardinals when they are saying Mass)—even the pope does so.

The purple and scarlet of the Whore are contrasted with the white of the New Jerusalem, the Bride of Christ (Rev. 19:8). This is a problem for Hunt for three reasons: (a) we have already noted that the dominant color of Catholic clerical vestments is white, which would identify them with New Jerusalem if the color is taken literally; (b) the clothing of the Bride is given a symbolic interpretation ("the righteous acts of the saints;" 19:8); implying that the clothing of the Whore should also be given a symbolic meaning; and (c) the identification of the Bride as New Jerusalem (Rev. 3:12, 21:2, 10) suggests that the Whore may be old (apostate) Jerusalem—a contrast used elsewhere in Scripture (Gal. 4:25–26).

Hunt ignores the liturgical meaning of purple and red in Catholic symbolism. Purple symbolizes repentance, and red honors the blood of Christ and the Christian martyrs.

It is appropriate for Catholic clerics to wear purple and scarlet, if for no other reason because they have been liturgical colors of the true religion since ancient Israel.

Hunt neglects to remind his readers that God commanded that scarlet yarn and wool be used in liturgical ceremonies (Lev. 14:4, 6, 49–52; Num. 19:6), and that God commanded that the priests’ vestments be made with purple and scarlet yarn (Ex. 28:4–8, 15, 33, 39:1–8, 24, 29).

Hunt states, "[The Whore’s] incredible wealth next caught John’s eye. She was ‘decked with gold and precious stones and pearls . . . ’ [Rev. 17:4]." The problem is that, regardless of what it had in the past, the modern Vatican is not fantastically wealthy. In fact, it has run a budget deficit in most recent years and has an annual budget only around the size of that of the Archdiocese of Chicago. Furthermore, wealth was much more in character with pagan Rome or apostate Jerusalem, both key economic centers.

Hunt states that the Whore "has ‘a golden cup [chalice] in her hand, full of abominations and filthiness of her fornication.’" This is another reference to Revelation 17:4. Then he states that the "Church is known for its many thousands of gold chalices around the world."

To make the Whore’s gold cup suggestive of the Eucharistic chalice, Hunt inserts the word "chalice" in square brackets, though the Greek word here is the ordinary word for cup (potarion), which appears thirty-three times in the New Testament and is always translated "cup."

He ignores the fact that the Catholic chalice is used in the celebration of the Lord’s Supper—a ritual commanded by Christ (Luke 22:19–20; 1 Cor. 11:24–25); he ignores the fact that the majority of Eucharistic chalices Catholics use are not made out of gold, but other materials, such as brass, silver, glass, and even earthenware; he ignores the fact that gold liturgical vessels and utensils have been part of the true religion ever since ancient Israel—again at the command of God (Ex. 25:38–40, 37:23–24; Num. 31:50–51; 2 Chr. 24:14); and he again uses a literal interpretation, according to which the Whore’s cup is not a single symbol applying to the city of Rome, but a collection of many literal cups used in cities throughout the world. But Revelation tells us that it’s the cup of God’s wrath that is given to the Whore (Rev. 14:10; cf. Rev. 18:6). This has nothing to do with Eucharistic chalices.

Now for Hunt’s most hilarious argument: "John’s attention is next drawn to the inscription on the woman’s forehead: ‘THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH’ (verse 5, [Hunt’s emphasis]). Sadly enough, the Roman Catholic Church fits that description as precisely as she fits the others. Much of the cause is due to the unbiblical doctrine of priestly celibacy," which has "made sinners of the clergy and harlots out of those with whom they secretly cohabit."

Priestly celibacy is not a doctrine but a discipline—a discipline in the Latin Rite of the Church—and even this rite has not always been mandatory. This discipline can scarcely be unbiblical, since Hunt himself says, "The great apostle Paul was a celibate and recommended that life to others who wanted to devote themselves fully to serving Christ."

Hunt has again lurched to an absurdly literal interpretation. He should interpret the harlotry of the Whore’s daughters as the same as their mother’s, which is why she is called their mother in the first place. This would make it spiritual or political fornication or the persecution of Christian martyrs (cf. 17:2, 6, 18:6). Instead, Hunt gives the interpretation of the daughters as literal, earthly prostitutes committing literal, earthly fornication.

I had to edit: I know it verrrrry long...BUT it convinced me that I'm ok staying Catholic

I'll leave it at that, cause I know it's not meant to be about apologetics.....but felt absurdly like apologising...
    Thanks for that, lmaopml. Like I said, I'm not pressing the issue that the RCC is the Whore, just asking which woman does the RCC most resemble - the Whore or the Lady?

I'm not a fan of Dave Hunt, BTW. He is very hostile to Calvinism (which I hold to) - his arguments are so poor on this that I take anything he says on other subjects as needing careful scrutiny.